Jackson Barling

legend_killer

Draftee
Brisbane Lions
Can anyone tell me if this Jackson Barling bloke will or has any chance of getting drafted this year.

Just going off what people have told me is a good player and a decent leader on and off the field. I was told he was in the top half a dozen players in the premiership winning Calder Cannons side.

Seems to have an average height and weight for the TAC competition.

Is he any chance on getting drafted or rookie listed this year.

barling is an interseting one! i've seen him play a few times and reckon he is a bit slow. he has a very strong build but i don't think he is versitile enough to play AFL. don't know what position he would play at AFL standard. However, was very good this year, and always makes it known when he is at a contest! big unit!

Yeah, a little bit short for a key position and a little bit slow for a flank. Most AFL flankers are dashers with skill. He is tough though, a good leader, can kick a long torp from fullback, throws himself around at the ball (perhaps too much). He is going to be a mid-sized defender like Bizzel, Archer or Teague allthough not quite as good. Players like that tend to not be too high on the shopping lists so I would guess a rookie-list type.

legend_killer said:
Can anyone tell me if this Jackson Barling bloke will or has any chance of getting drafted this year.

Just going off what people have told me is a good player and a decent leader on and off the field. I was told he was in the top half a dozen players in the premiership winning Calder Cannons side.

Seems to have an average height and weight for the TAC competition.

Is he any chance on getting drafted or rookie listed this year.
jackson who? :confused:

SLOW AND SHORT???????????? That is the worst thing i have ever heard!! He runs under 3 seconds in a 20m sprint, 192cm & 91kg. The kid does anything for his team and team mates. What more do you want??
There is no other player in Australia that is similar to him.

When you ask recruiters/coaches what they are looking for in players, they say they want players that are willing to do all the team things and 1%. And can you tell me he doesn't do that? That what makes him such a special and inspirational player.

Everyone's too ********** picky!!
Everyone's searching for this perfect footballer that they will never find!

Surely you'd be pushing it to call Barling "average height and weight for the TAC Competition". I would have thought size/strength wise he would be among the highest bracket in the comp.

Personally I prefer him up forward - and leading at the ball he doesn't worry what's in his way. But I agree with those who question his position at AFL level.

Never shuts up on the field so leadership potential is good.

I'm not convinced that he'll get drafted, his type don't always get taken, but he's a player I'd be happy if my team drafted him with a late pick.

And if footy doesn't work maybe he can try and bob up on Blue Heelers again...

I have played local footy with Jack at Williamstown and his dad is my wood teacher at school and he is a fantastic leader, and does everything he can for his teammates. He is a big unit, good player and top bloke. Is the most determined footballer i have ever come across and i respect him alot. He is a gun!!!!! What ever club gets him knows they will get 110% out of him. He can play Back or Foward and is not too small for a KPP. I wish him all the best and hope he gets picked up because he deserves it.

Snickers said:
I have played local footy with Jack at Williamstown and his dad is my wood teacher at school and he is a fantastic leader, and does everything he can for his teammates. He is a big unit, good player and top bloke. Is the most determined footballer i have ever come across and i respect him alot. He is a gun!!!!! What ever club gets him knows they will get 110% out of him. He can play Back or Foward and is not too small for a KPP. I wish him all the best and hope he gets picked up because he deserves it.
here here

Barling's big problem will be his kicking not his hardness. Great player who will end up a very good VFL player but I would be surprised if he was drafted. Travis Clokes will still be waking up in the middle of the night having nightmares about him.

grub29 said:
Barling's big problem will be his kicking not his hardness. Great player who will end up a very good VFL player but I would be surprised if he was drafted. Travis Clokes will still be waking up in the middle of the night having nightmares about him.
yeah he gave him an absolute bath

he is a good player, but dont think he is a superstar. i wont question his effort and sprirt, but i do question his ability to play football. he does the 1% things and will do a lot for his team mates, but dont think he is AFL material IMO. don't forget when he plays at an AFL standard he wont be knocking that many poeple around. everyone will be his build and will no longer be the tough man. this is when his fitness capabilities, footy brain, and general skills come into hand. All these things i think jacko is lacky at the moment. however, those things he can improve on. He is a good leader in a team, but i dont think he stands up enough when needed. IMO he may get drafted as a developtment player really late, or will get out on a rookie list. if not, he will go play VFL and do alright for himself.

Why does everyone compare a potential draftee to the imaginary perfect footballer that everyone seems to be searching for??

don't forget when he plays at an AFL standard he wont be knocking that many people around. Everyone will be his build and will no longer be the tough man.

What do you think that he wont do weights at an AFL club? or do you think he can't get bigger? or maybe you think too much "juDDa"

In every footy team that has ever existed there hasn't been 22 outstanding players in one single team. Every team only has a number of superstars and the rest are players who do there job for the team to win.
Every time someone mentions a player on this board everyone starts being picky. It's not all about your stats like height weight etc what about other qualities like natural competitiveness and the desire to win. That's what makes excellent players.

The Sensation said:
Why does everyone compare a potential draftee to the imaginary perfect footballer that everyone seems to be searching for??

What do you think that he wont do weights at an AFL club? or do you think he can't get bigger? or maybe you think too much "juDDa"

In every footy team that has ever existed there hasn't been 22 outstanding players in one single team. Every team only has a number of superstars and the rest are players who do there job for the team to win.
Every time someone mentions a player on this board everyone starts being picky. It's not all about your stats like height weight etc what about other qualities like natural competitiveness and the desire to win. That's what makes excellent players.
Good call "The Sensation"

juDDa said:
he is a good player, but dont think he is a superstar. i wont question his effort and sprirt, but i do question his ability to play football. he does the 1% things and will do a lot for his team mates, but dont think he is AFL material IMO. don't forget when he plays at an AFL standard he wont be knocking that many poeple around. everyone will be his build and will no longer be the tough man. this is when his fitness capabilities, footy brain, and general skills come into hand. All these things i think jacko is lacky at the moment. however, those things he can improve on. He is a good leader in a team, but i dont think he stands up enough when needed. IMO he may get drafted as a developtment player really late, or will get out on a rookie list. if not, he will go play VFL and do alright for himself.
that's what i think mate. i said that he can improve and could definately be a pretty good player. however, i just think that you need to be a superstar or definately a very very good player at under 18 level to be able to get drafted. don't think he was at this level when i watched him play. hope he does prove me wrong and plays 300 games at AFL standard. i do agree what your saying though that people want these young kids to be perfect. but ultimately, thats what every footy fan wants out of the draft. A player who will be a star in the team. not just a second rate player.