Free Agency James Worpel - Joins Geelong as a Restricted Free Agent, Hawthorn receive Band 4 Compensation

Why would he retire from success at such a young age?

Make It Rain Money GIF by SpongeBob SquarePants

Is it just not he is going to Geelong now? I was of the idea its either Hawks or Geelong he is choosing between. Given Geelong wanted Oliver last off season it feels like Worpel is a similar albeit cheaper get for them. Given the amount of pace around him at the stoppages he should suit the system well too

And he's well known in the area being a former Geelong Falcons captain. Cats have kept tabs on him for years.
He brings a lot of what Tom Atkins brings for us but is more attacking in a sense (has similar tackling ability and is quite defensive minded for a modern day midfielder)
He does have a bit more pace and burst then what Axman does in the sense that you know what you're getting from Atkins every single week, Worpel has a bit more flair to his game which under Scotty could be an interesting prospect.

Bringing him in without giving up a pick would be ideal but i guess we'll see.

It's becoming clear something is happening. Either Sam is starting to show a preference for Ward and others or perhaps Worpel has declined the offer and is in fact choosing Geelong. Or maybe he's just carrying an injury, but his recent stats are hardly those of a player pushing for a huge contract.

Screenshot 2025-07-09 143635.png

I think he'll struggle to keep his spot in the side as we approach finals and all will become clearer, but it's starting to look like he's leaving and we will use whatever draft capital we receive to secure a big fish....Reid, Butters, JUH.

It's becoming clear something is happening. Either Sam is starting to show a preference for Ward and others or perhaps Worpel has declined the offer and is in fact choosing Geelong. Or maybe he's just carrying an injury, but his recent stats are hardly those of a player pushing for a huge contract.

View attachment 2363500

I think he'll struggle to keep his spot in the side as we approach finals and all will become clearer, but it's starting to look like he's leaving and we will use whatever draft capital we receive to secure a big fish....Reid, Butters, JUH.
He got a corkie in the first quarter of the dogs game and was subbed at half time.

Looking at his disposals for that game and then his return to footy 4 weeks later is pretty silly.

He got a corkie in the first quarter of the dogs game and was subbed at half time.

Looking at his disposals for that game and then his return to footy 4 weeks later is pretty silly.
I get your point, and I agree it's impacted his numbers especially in the game against the dogs. But I'll also say he only missed 2 games with the corky and wouldn't have played against the saints if he weren't ready.

Also worth noting he had 23 disposals in round 6 after missing 4 games, so I'd say whichever way you look at it 14 disposals, 0 marks and 0 free kicks for a guy who attends 80% of centre bounces is off the mark and if it's not a sign that he's leaving then we need to question whether he should be getting a game on current form.

Tough spot to be in. His current club appears lukewarm to him in terms of contract offer and particularly value. Clearly keeping cash ready if a big fish becomes available.

However his suitors are likely doing the same.
Wouldn't mind him but he'd be coming in as the 4th mid, which could balloon out to 5th/6th depending on Butters/Reid.

He'll end up on a list but can't see it being for the cash and/or contract years he'd be hoping for.

Why would geelong waste 500k a year on worpel and just play George stevens?

Id think he might be best suited to port, they need someone to take the contested footy pressure off butters

View attachment 2363500

What on earth is this mate?

You've highlighted (very random stats in) 3 games. The first he had 14 kicks (21 touches), 5 clearances, 5 inside 50's, 4 tackles and a goal in a game we were belted. He was top 3 amongst Hawks for disposals, contested possessions and tackles and the only mid to kick a goal. He was one of our better players on the night but he's leaving cos he didn't get a free kick?

The next game you've highlighted he had 11 touches and 4 tackles in a half of football before being subbed out. Again, he played pretty well in his time on the ground. But no free kicks or marks means he's out?

He then has one relatively quiet game in his return from injury and it's a sign he's gone?

I have no idea if he's staying or going but the reasoning above makes little sense to me. I strongly suspect he'll play multiple games at his normal (i.e. good) level before the year is out to make the 'signs' seem silly.

Id think he might be best suited to port, they need someone to take the contested footy pressure off butters
As good as he was, it's one game. I'd hope we're never basing list management decisions off of one performance.

If he does that a few more times this year though, then yeah, you definitely reconsider things.

What on earth is this mate?

You've highlighted (very random stats in) 3 games. The first he had 14 kicks (21 touches), 5 clearances, 5 inside 50's, 4 tackles and a goal in a game we were belted. He was top 3 amongst Hawks for disposals, contested possessions and tackles and the only mid to kick a goal. He was one of our better players on the night but he's leaving cos he didn't get a free kick?

The next game you've highlighted he had 11 touches and 4 tackles in a half of football before being subbed out. Again, he played pretty well in his time on the ground. But no free kicks or marks means he's out?

He then has one relatively quiet game in his return from injury and it's a sign he's gone?

I have no idea if he's staying or going but the reasoning above makes little sense to me. I strongly suspect he'll play multiple games at his normal (i.e. good) level before the year is out to make the 'signs' seem silly.
Just a little evidence to support my argument. He's out of form and not contributing to the level that warrants the club to keep him in the side. If Geelong want him, perhaps the best thing to do is let him go and play Ward and Mackenzie full time in middle. In fact, I believe that was always the plan.

You think he's going to move cross country to play for the wooden spooner's for less money than he's on now?

Im sure heaps of 26 year old B&F winners move across country for unders. He is so desperate to get back to whereever it is he is apparently desperate to get back to.

Or, he goes for very good money and gets a $1 farm. And we get an end of 1st round pick.

Or, we have a great year and he decides to stay for 2 more years or 6 more years.

Because worpel is miles better than the guys like Clark knevitt clohesy etc that would otherwise play.