Jamie Bennell

• Thread starter Thread starter Tulip

I reckon i've spelt his name wrong but this kid was just outstanding. Could be my MoM. Ran and ran and ran and decisions improved tenfold from last week. Wanted him out after collingwood but not any more.

Well done Jamie:thumbsu:

Might have been read the riot act during the week about his efforts last week, but certainly put that right today.

Has found his spot as a defensive forward, now just to work on those set shots.

If this is No 43, I only caught the last quarter, but i thought he was fantastic. Ran hard, took the game on and broke the lines.

Much better this week. Very impressed that he toughed up so quickly - maybe it was the facial hair!!! What a classic.

He's got to keep taking the game on with his run and backing his skills, because his accelleration is just great to watch.

His best game definitely. Maybe he's struggled recently because his buddy Jetta has been out.

It is good that he's using his pace. If he is to play as a forward though, his set shot kicking needs a LOT of work.

Took a couple of very strong marks where his eyes didnt leave the footy too.

Excellent game from the young fella and good to see him learning from his mistakes.

I loved the way he ran and took on players, looked a valuable member to the team this week. Great future at the club if he keeps that effort up.

A lot of people say to me who is that guy? I say that is little Adam Goodes minni me goodes. he is a GUN!

loved his game. showed eyes only for the ball, and has a class and ability to break the lines that only Davey has in our side.

Don't want to be one of those guys..... BUT! Last year I did say this on this thread
he is extremely quick and he somehow gets the ball constantly. What I also said was that his disposal needs work. I haven't yet watched the game as I was working today but recorded it on iq. But I'm guessing his disposal has improved. If this is the case this kid is gonna be a breakout this year.

2010... A year for tanking? NOT FOR MELBOURNE :)

Could have been dropped for this week in many peoples view, and probably justified. But Dean sticks with the kids and gets games into them. They have the ability and they will have there day in the sun to show what they can do. Well done Dean and well done Bennell.

Don't want to be one of those guys..... BUT! Last year I did say this on this thread
he is extremely quick and he somehow gets the ball constantly. What I also said was that his disposal needs work. I haven't yet watched the game as I was working today but recorded it on iq. But I'm guessing his disposal has improved. If this is the case this kid is gonna be a breakout this year.

2010... A year for tanking? NOT FOR MELBOURNE :)

You'll enjoy that IQ recording :thumbsu:

Had faith in the speedsta. Knew he had the potential when he provided class and run last year in the west against west coast were we lost by 8 points. Round 6 i think but dont quote me.

Thought he should have been dropped last week after those two horrendous marking attempts against Collingwood. Was awesome today with his run and pressure. Has lightning acceleration and has been a revelation as a defensive forward, although skills lack some polish and decision making still not great.

He is very quick, looks even quicker than flash ATM & his will to be in the contest 3 was second to none.

I just watched one section of play on the replay on slow motion - he recieves a handball - thinks about offloading it but looks across - sees his persuer is the Crows ruckman - I swear you can almost see a smirk come across his face and off he went.

Love seeing the young guys start to back themselves - love it even more when it comes off.

DL

I just watched one section of play on the replay on slow motion - he recieves a handball - thinks about offloading it but looks across - sees his persuer is the Crows ruckman - I swear you can almost see a smirk come across his face and off he went.

Love seeing the young guys start to back themselves - love it even more when it comes off.

DL

You talking about the run around maric? If so yeah that was awesome. He just looked at him and you could almost sense time stopping bennell side stepping him and time starting again AWESOME!!!

He is very quick, looks even quicker than flash ATM & his will to be in the contest 3 was second to none.

You know how Bailey oftens says he'd love three Aaron Daveys so he could play one forward, one in the middle and one back? Well if JB keeps playing like that, we'll effectively have two Aaron Daveys out there. Bennell looks every bit as fast and elusive as Flash (maybe lacking the sublime footskills, but close enough!)

You talking about the run around maric? If so yeah that was awesome. He just looked at him and you could almost sense time stopping bennell side stepping him and time starting again AWESOME!!!

That was awesome, and just after Davey's incredible save on the boundary if I'm not mistaken. I was thinking it was someone other than Maric when he picked up the ball, but saw the big 20 on the back of his jumper and yelled "Run!" a little too loudly. Then i said f**kin, beauty, ripper and a bunch of other ocker celebratory utterances as Junior kicked the goal.

Just needs to build his engine up and keep backing himself with run and carry.

His skills and decision making will improve in a few seasons - I think we have a player for the future here.

Certainly wasn't anything wrong with his little pass over the top to Bruce in the last quarter. He was in traffic and just had the vision and skill to float the ball so Bruce could run back and mark. Was a waste to see it become a point.

Really glad I have been proven wrong about this kid.

If he can improve on the crows game he will be a very handy player.