Cleric

Now i know alot on here are not the biggest fans of Pets but i want to put a case forward for him.
I have seen Pets playing at SANFL level for the Eagles, and he was a level above everyone else on the park. He had the ability to do stuff other couldnt and actually looked like a leader in the team.
His pros
1. Hard at the man. He hits hard when he tackles to the point where he can hurt people and makes the opposition defenders look over their shoulders to see if he is coming at them.
2. Forward pressure. He really does keep the ball from leaving the forward 50 by the immense pressure he puts on the man with the ball.
3. He has some skill sets. He can really kick a miraculous goal and can pounce on the ball at speed to kick a goal.
4. Big game potential. As was seen in the North Melbourne game last year he can win a match of his boot.
5. He does show emotion and can rev up the team when he does something good.
6. Hes not a dickhead.

The cons
1. Sometimes looses his feet. Dont know if its his boots or what but he does it enough that it annoys you.
2. He is a confidence player and if he is feeling down he can let it effect his game.
3. He doesnt win enough of the ball. He can do some nice stuff, but if he is only getting the ball 10 times in a game theres only so much you can do.
4. His body is kinda dodgy and just when he seems to get it together his shoulder goes.
5. Doesent hit the scorebook enough. And thats linked to his lack of possesions as well.

But if he gets his A game going with a healthy body and with consistancy he is a monster in our forward 50 that we really need. He is a wreaking ball of intensity and will cause turnovers from the defenders which will help us score. I really, really want him to make it as the benefit will be massive for us.

not sure i agree with you pro points #1 and #4...
he's hardly solid enough to be crunching players. and he didn't win that game against the kangas off his own boot. you make it sound like he bagged 12 sausage rolls. as for #5, most of his emotion seems to be sooking when he misses goals from dead in front.

#2,#3 and #6 i agree with though. has x factor (but doesn't consistently perform). and he does run and chase a hell of a lot more than some players i see out on the park.

not sure i agree with you pro points #1 and #4...
he's hardly solid enough to be crunching players. and he didn't win that game against the kangas off his own boot. you make it sound like he bagged 12 sausage rolls. as for #5, most of his emotion seems to be sooking when he misses goals from dead in front.

#2,#3 and #6 i agree with though. has x factor (but doesn't consistently perform). and he does run and chase a hell of a lot more than some players i see out on the park.
Have a look at Pets closely next time, the guy is alot more solid than you think.
Go back and watch that NM game again. In the last qtr jf we have no Pets, we have no win.

Have a look at Pets closely next time, the guy is alot more solid than you think.
Go back and watch that NM game again. In the last qtr jf we have no Pets, we have no win.

i have yet to see a defender look scared of him...

still disagree that he won the game for us. yes he got the last 1.1. but by no means won it for us.

He needs to eliminate glaring issues from his game. Missing easy set shots and falling out of games/having no impact just can't happen, and lacking confidence isn't an excuse you can use for as long as he's seemingly been struggling with it. I hope he makes it though, because he comes across as a decent guy, he has legitimate pace, and you couldn't ever doubt his effort. If he can average 6-7 tackles per game, maintain his manic pressure, and average about 1.5 goals per game then he'd certainly earn a place in the team, he just needs to iron out the flaws. Personally I don't think he'll ever make it, but I really hope I'm wrong.

... a monster in our forward 50... a wreaking ball of intensity... will be massive for us.

Mate, you started talking about some other guy.

Pressure. Can't take it. Will fold at crucial moments and be incapable of executing the simplest skills when the heat is on even after consistently looking like a millionaire against mediocre opposition who offer no pressure.

That momentum burning miss in the Sydney game after Danger got us back in it. Thats why he has no future at the elite level. No place in finals footy. We can pretend though, and waste games on him, and I'll be damned if we won't.

4. Big game potential. As was seen in the North Melbourne game last year he can win a match of his boot.
I wanted to cry after reading this one.

QF vs Sydney: 5 touches, 3 clangers, 1 point
SF vs Fremantle: 8 touches, 6 clangers, 1 point
PF vs Hawthorn: 4 touches, 5 clangers, 1 point.

On the actual evidence, Petrenko is probably one of the worst 'big game' players of all time.

Say what you will about Aaron Keating but at least he didn't have more clangers than touches.

I wanted to cry after reading this one.

QF vs Sydney: 5 touches, 3 clangers, 1 point
SF vs Fremantle: 8 touches, 6 clangers, 1 point
PF vs Hawthorn: 4 touches, 5 clangers, 1 point.

On the actual evidence, Petrenko is probably one of the worst 'big game' players of all time.

Say what you will about Aaron Keating but at least he didn't have more clangers than touches.
Oh i am more than aware of his issues, but his good is real good. I want to see him make it. I dont want to be talking out of turn hear but i have previously spoken to Andrew Mccloud about him and his potential. He was a massive wrap for him. Said he has some amazing talent and skills and if he realizes how good he could be, then look out. I am kind of inclined to believe the great man.

Has impressed me in the last two games. I am hoping this is Eddies influence because he seems to have stepped up in those two games but time will tell on Pets. He has talent, he has pace with genuine closing speed ( something we can't afford to be without) his skills are a bit shy for a small forward though so he really has to excel on the defensive aspects of his game to make it.

Just needs to put it together on a consistent basis

Think I'll just sit back and watch this thread unfold. I believe I made a similar thread a couple of years ago, making many of the same points (pros & cons). It's interesting to see how views have changed over time.
As I've already done.. I'm happy to concede he hasn't come on as I personally thought he might back when we bickered over the 50game statement.
I've got a sliver of hope with his current play... but not enough to bring my Mace Windu/Petrenko Headed avatar back... yet. ;)

He needs to eliminate glaring issues from his game. Missing easy set shots and falling out of games/having no impact just can't happen, and lacking confidence isn't an excuse you can use for as long as he's seemingly been struggling with it. I hope he makes it though, because he comes across as a decent guy, he has legitimate pace, and you couldn't ever doubt his effort. If he can average 6-7 tackles per game, maintain his manic pressure, and average about 1.5 goals per game then he'd certainly earn a place in the team, he just needs to iron out the flaws. Personally I don't think he'll ever make it, but I really hope I'm wrong.

That happens to very small forward. You can't just put that down as a Pets weakness, its the void of the small forward

But no doubt he needs to put more performances in like the past 2 games to keep his spot

Obviously coaches and supporters love his attitude and enthusiasm .
But have never seen a player so over rated by Sando and posters as him.
The simple facts are he does not or ever will have the skills or mental confidence for AFL footy and there are many videos of him missing easy goals and even trying to check side kicks in the middle of oval as so one sided and lacking in co- ordination skills to balance.
If forward pressure is not being in position to get the ball and charging around chasing defenders is pressure then please give me a game.
No I don't dislike Pets but very frustrated when see players like Lyon, Grigg and even Lynch a lot of early last year and previous year carving it up in SANFL who have lots of upside in going forward.
Now we have had Laird playing similar role .
Sando might have come from Geelong but think forgotten how they played game by playing attacking football trying to win the game rather than stop opposition from winning.

He is too bouncy.

Also school friends of his have described him as "not smart".

As long as he does more good than bad and does that better than anyone else on the list that might take his spot, I am happy to have him in the side.

His highlight real is impressive as his lowlight real is depressing. We have all seen him play great games, i want to see him play more like that. Also dont forget he had a really good 2012 until he did his shoulder.

Look if he plays as he has the last 2 weeks then well and good. Possession, goals, tackles etc etc

The issue has been that we just aren't good enough as a side to carry his specialist qualities. We need all hands on deck.

A quality side like Hawthorn can afford a Puopolo buzzing around annoying defenders.

We need Petrenko to be doing that ++

Padawan under the forward master of Eddie Betts. Willing to give him some more time, but has to nail those easy goals when we have the momentum. Not alone on this count thou. HAS to improve his tank, HAS to be able to run through the midfield and would still like to see him and Laird swap for a game and see what happens.

Have seen him do some good stuff this year with the 1sts and 2nds. I was beginning to think he'd turned a corner. Then he lined up 35 out almost dead in front for a set shot against GWS and kicked a point.
No side can carry a forward that constantly misses gimmes. Fix that problem and there is possibly an AFL footballer there.
Jury still out for mine, but with 60 odd games under his belt, it is time to shape up or ship out.

Like i said im not thinking Pets is Rioli here, just that we have seen glimpses of awesome from him and he obviously has talent. But i dont want to see him fail when he is capable of going on. He played well in 2012 when he had an inform Nutta with him. And now he has Eddie there he played a couple good games. Maybe he needs to work with someone else, maybe hes not good enough to take the best small defender but is on the second? Dont know, just thinking out aloud.

Watch his highlight reals to see the things he does well and then think about him in form consistantly playing like that. What to not like?

He has some amazing highlights. But for every highlight, there are two or three stinkers. It's just the way it is with Pets.

I used to compare him to Brett Burton. He used to do some brilliant things, followed by some absolute howlers. But his good-to-shit ratio was probably 1-1. But Petrenko's is 1-2.

If we're looking for a team that is going to win a Premiership, I don't think he's in it.

He has some amazing highlights. But for every highlight, there are two or three stinkers. It's just the way it is with Pets.

I used to compare him to Brett Burton. He used to do some brilliant things, followed by some absolute howlers. But his good-to-shit ratio was probably 1-1. But Petrenko's is 1-2.

If we're looking for a team that is going to win a Premiership, I don't think he's in it.

No dobut. Doesn't do enough. Kicked that great goal and then followed it up with a behind and then went missing again. Its a hard role to play but Laird seemed to be doing it much better.