Jason Cloke

Merv Neagle said:
So you expect a 17 or 18 year old kid to come in and play CHB straight away?
You have no idea mate

BTW, the word is our not are

lolk my mistake should have thought about that before i said anything dah.
but i would rather risk a 17/18yr old play then have that big dud playing in are 1st team we already have most likely mad a mistake with cole!

mickyt888 said:
lolk my mistake should have thought about that before i said anything dah.
but i would rather risk a 17/18yr old play then have that big dud playing in are 1st team we already have most likely mad a mistake with cole!
Cole was struck down with injury. Theres not much you can do about that, he was unlucky. He CAME to the Bombers injured. That decision can be questioned because who recruits an injured player? Well, we recruited McPhee whilst he was out of the Freo team for a couple of years and look where his gone. :)

Cloke is different. He will be able to have a good pre-season wherever he goes, given that he does get traded.

Not sure Sheedy will want any talls though, we basically just want to get a couple of quality on ballers to help our kids out. In doing so we may have to give up a kid or two.

Jasiano said:
Bradshaw has played his best footy at FF. You don't recruit a FF to play consistenly at CHB. You just don't do it.

Don't be so smug about Cloke as well. The guy has talent and look at what McPhee has done off half back since Sheedy saw he had talent and recruited him. I reckon Cloke could do the same.
He had more than one good season, don't be so harsh just because he plays for Collingwood.

Thornton, sure, i would want to recruit him. However, why would Carlton give him up? They won't, there is NO WAY they would end up giving him up unless they got a very good quality defender through a different trade.

Bradshaw has played his best footy at FF. You don't recruit a FF to play consistenly at CHB. You just don't do it.

I agree that Bradshaw is a good FF, but he is also a very capable CHB.
You stated that he didn't have the build for a CHB?

Don't be so smug about Cloke as well. The guy has talent and look at what McPhee has done off half back since Sheedy saw he had talent and recruited him. I reckon Cloke could do the same.
He had more than one good season, don't be so harsh just because he plays for Collingwood.

Not sure why my reply is smug, but don't really care either way.
I don't agree with you that he has talent and gave my reasons why he doesn't, what are yours as to why he does?
He has not had more than 1 good season and i couldn't care less what team he comes from
I Don't hate Collingwood nearly as much as i hate Carlton, but i still wanted Campo.
I judge players on their ability and what they bring to a club, not who they play for.

Thornton, sure, i would want to recruit him. However, why would Carlton give him up? They won't, there is NO WAY they would end up giving him up unless they got a very good quality defender through a different trade

Highly unlikely we would get him, but it's not a matter of Carlton "giving him up" it's about us making an offer to him, far superior to Carltons that they are unable to or refuse to match.
That way we force them to trade him or he ends up in the PSD

Umm, Mods, is there any way a spellchecker could be incuded on the forum?
Maybe a simple spelling test before gaining membership?

I mean we all make typos etc, but some of the replies are almost unreadable.

Surely this thread should be about Polak? Surely.

Cloke is terrible. I will genuinely walk away from the game in disgust if Essendon seriously try to grab Jason Cloke. As for Bradshaw.....no. Did think about it for 5 seconds but no. Thornton might get 10 seconds thought before i remember that Essendon could try to go after a disgruntled Polak and any thoughts of Thornton are gone from my mind.

POLAK....SURELY.....

Merv Neagle said:
I agree that Bradshaw is a good FF, but he is also a very capable CHB.
You stated that he didn't have the build for a CHB?

As i said previously, he is a FF, you can't play a FF at CHB for 22rounds.

And yes, he doesn't have the build for a CHB. He has a build of a FF because he was working his ass off in the gym over many summer's at Brisbane to become THEIR next FF and a solid replacement for Lynch.

You can't strip down to a CHB after becoming a FF your whole career. Especially whilst moving clubs as i also said earlier....

Your reply was smug as most people's are when discussing Collingwood or one of their players.

Cheers. :)

Only reason we have seen the Clokes ever play AFL is because of their name simple as that. Let him get delisted and move into the football history books never to be seen again.

-mav

Shedmania said:

Cloke is terrible. I will genuinely walk away from the game in disgust if Essendon seriously try to grab Jason Cloke. As for Bradshaw.....no. Did think about it for 5 seconds but no. Thornton might get 10 seconds thought before i remember that Essendon could try to go after a disgruntled Polak and any thoughts of Thornton are gone from my mind.

POLAK....SURELY.....

hmm bradshaw no??? a player that can play back or forward and is capable of kicking 8 goals in a game, i think he would haveto come under consideration.
thornton who continually plays on the best forwrad week in week out in a terrible team that has an even worse backline has to be seriously considered too before polak. Polak has the potential but at what price, because there are a few clubs sniffing at his feet.

if any of those 3 players turned up at our club i would be extremely happy. however we only seem to attract the duds these days so dont be surprised to see cloke in the red and black and be a distinct failure.

blumfieldisback said:
hmm bradshaw no??? a player that can play back or forward and is capable of kicking 8 goals in a game, i think he would haveto come under consideration.
thornton who continually plays on the best forwrad week in week out in a terrible team that has an even worse backline has to be seriously considered too before polak. Polak has the potential but at what price, because there are a few clubs sniffing at his feet.

if any of those 3 players turned up at our club i would be extremely happy. however we only seem to attract the duds these days so dont be surprised to see cloke in the red and black and be a distinct failure.

We don't need 8 goals a game. We already have two legends who are established at kicking goals and winning games. Lloyd and Lucas. There isn't any other room for a key forward in there besides maybe a Johns who can sort of play out of the pocket.
Bradshaw is like a LLloyd styled full forward, he demands to be leading from the goal-square, his a true FF. No way is there room for Bradshaw in our forward line.

And down back....You can't get a FF and turn him into a CHB just because his played a few good games in the backline. His just about or nearing 30, thats far too old to be switching around.

OldMav said:
Only reason we have seen the Clokes ever play AFL is because of their name simple as that. Let him get delisted and move into the football history books never to be seen again.

-mav

Joel Reynolds syndrome?

Jasiano said:
As i said previously, he is a FF, you can't play a FF at CHB for 22rounds.

And yes, he doesn't have the build for a CHB. He has a build of a FF because he was working his ass off in the gym over many summer's at Brisbane to become THEIR next FF and a solid replacement for Lynch.

You can't strip down to a CHB after becoming a FF your whole career. Especially whilst moving clubs as i also said earlier....

Your reply was smug as most people's are when discussing Collingwood or one of their players.

Cheers. :)

Please do not profess to know my thoughts or feelings towards a club when you don't know me and havent been here long enough to see my replies to make a guess on my thoughts for Collingwood.
My reply was not smug at all it was my thoughts on a player, and as i said i have given my reasons as to why i believe he is no good, you still havent answered as to why he is good?

Why would he have to strip down to be a CHB?

He has not been a FF his whole career as Lynch played that role while he was there.
He has actually played more away from FF than he has at FF.
He has also played some very good games at CHB

Thornton is ahead of Polak easily at this stage and I'm not sure but might be younger and doesn't like to get high from what I understand. Thornton is really growing as a very good defender which is what we need, badly.
Who knows how much of a chance we really have of nabbing him but this thread should really be about Thornton

Thornton>Polak>Cloke

DaSawx said:
Thornton is ahead of Polak easily at this stage and I'm not sure but might be younger and doesn't like to get high from what I understand. Thornton is really growing as a very good defender which is what we need, badly.
Who knows how much of a chance we really have of nabbing him but this thread should really be about Thornton

Thornton>Polak>Cloke

Thornton>length of the straight>Bradshaw .....don't know enough about Polak

GET THORNTON

Shedmania said:

POLAK....SURELY.....

Don't think he's is completely terrible and he might provide some value to a club that needs some backup defenders but not for us. Bradshaw - same as Cloke no thank you.

I would take Thornton over Polak any day as I don't think Polak has the mental capacity to play AFL to his peek level.

We're not recruiting Bradshaw. Simple.

We're not recruiting Thornton, Carlton will sign him up. Simple.

We may or may not recruit Cloke or Polak. They are far higher in possibilities.

Jasiano said:
We're not recruiting Bradshaw. Simple.

We're not recruiting Thornton, Carlton will sign him up. Simple.

We may or may not recruit Cloke or Polak. They are far higher in possibilities.

Glad to see things are so simple and straight forward with you.

I notice you havent responded at least twice now as to what Cloaks good qualities are...What?...not simple?

Jasiano said:
We don't need 8 goals a game. We already have two legends who are established at kicking goals and winning games. Lloyd and Lucas. There isn't any other room for a key forward in there besides maybe a Johns who can sort of play out of the pocket.
Bradshaw is like a LLloyd styled full forward, he demands to be leading from the goal-square, his a true FF. No way is there room for Bradshaw in our forward line.

And down back....You can't get a FF and turn him into a CHB just because his played a few good games in the backline. His just about or nearing 30, thats far too old to be switching around.

first off lucas is far better of roaming the half forward line and pushing up to half back to hel the defense out and if lloyd or lucas go down next year as lloyd did this year it leaves a huge hole. I think our forwrad line has been predictable and our Half forward line has been a dismal failure. If we got bradshaw id almost play him from ff and puch lloyd to chf and interchange them during the game.

doesnt matter i dont believe bradshaw will leave brissy for essendon if anywhere he would go to the bulldogs or collingwood.

blumfieldisback said:
first off lucas is far better of roaming the half forward line and pushing up to half back to hel the defense out and if lloyd or lucas go down next year as lloyd did this year it leaves a huge hole. I think our forwrad line has been predictable and our Half forward line has been a dismal failure. If we got bradshaw id almost play him from ff and puch lloyd to chf and interchange them during the game.

doesnt matter i dont believe bradshaw will leave brissy for essendon if anywhere he would go to the bulldogs or collingwood.

Or the Hawks

blumfieldisback said:

How can you say he's better at pushing back? He played as our CHF in a Premiership season and didn't you watch this season? :)

He was our leading goal kicker by a mile and kicked the most amount of goals he ever has in a season. Sure, it was because of Lloyd's absence. Nevertheless, we want him at CHF. Did i mention that he won the Best and Fairest this year? ;)

I do see your point though and it's quite valid in some ways. However, i feel that with Johns in that forward line too, there is no need for Lloyd, Lucas, Johns and Bradshaw. That would just be way too many talls and theres no way that Sheedy would do that.

----------------------------------------------------------

As for Jason Cloke.

He's played in big games on big time players. Collingwood weren't too far away from a Premiership with him as their CHB. He is a good one on one player. Sure, he gets beaten the odd time. Who doesn't EVER get beaten? Different story for Premiership sides as they ussualy get better cover and also their midfeild's are ussualy winning most of it which cuts down the supply that is thrown down back to the opposition forwards.

This debating is all in good fun and don't try and be too harsh at each other Neagle. :)

Jasiano said:
As for Jason Cloke.

He's played in big games on big time players. Collingwood weren't too far away from a Premiership with him as their CHB. He is a good one on one player. Sure, he gets beaten the odd time. Who doesn't EVER get beaten? Different story for Premiership sides as they ussualy get better cover and also their midfeild's are ussualy winning most of it which cuts down the supply that is thrown down back to the opposition forwards.

This debating is all in good fun and don't try and be too harsh at each other Neagle. :)

He is a good one on one player

He is actually a very poor one on one player and only plays well when he is allowed to roam around loose and not be responsible for a man.
This is why he is not getting a game with Collingwood as opposition teams have worked him out now.

This debating is all in good fun and don't try and be too harsh at each other Neagle

Yes debating can be good fun for sure.
I look forward when you produce a valid set of points and we can have a real debate.
Until then enjoy the school Holidays

Dude...I have my opinion and you have yours. Sure, he got beaten a few times but he has shown he has talent.

He played on Jonathon Brown and did some good jobs when Brisbane were hot in that 3-4 year period. Thats not a bad accolade right there.

Your choosing the odd time his been beaten when his been coming back from injury.

I don't see any depth in your points mate. At least my points have a bit of structure about them.

Continue winging if you like or come back with some factual opinion.

Jasiano said:
Dude...I have my opinion and you have yours. Sure, he got beaten a few times but he has shown he has talent.

He played on Jonathon Brown and did some good jobs when Brisbane were hot in that 3-4 year period. Thats not a bad accolade right there.

Your choosing the odd time his been beaten when his been coming back from injury.

I don't see any depth in your points mate. At least my points have a bit of structure about them.

Continue winging if you like or come back with some factual opinion.

There's better out there though...Mal Michael for starters but we'd be silly not to at least look at the Clokes....preferrably Cameron. More scope to improve than Jason

Crave said:
There's better out there though...Mal Michael for starters but we'd be silly not to at least look at the Clokes....preferrably Cameron. More scope to improve than Jason
Mal Michael doesn't want to comitt to full training. Besides, his a full back that will be around for a couple of years. At full back we have Fletch.

Cameron Cloke isn't going to add to our list much. Sure, his got some talent and improvement but his a ruckman/forward, we don't need any of those at the momment.

We need a key CHB. And amongst what is out there the best two options in my opinion would be Polak or Jason Cloke.

Then again, we may just decide to continue the development of Keplar/Lee as our key CHB.

Can't wait for trade week!

Jason Cloke