Jason Johnson

blumfieldisback said:
well some coaches have gone close i think to getting to the granny in their first year, neale daniher in 98 and paul roos in 2003?

Blight wasn't a first year coach at Adelaide in 97 (as has been pointed out) but he was a first year coach at Geelong in 89 when he took them within a goal in one of the greatest grand finals ever. So, can we win it next year with a first year coach? Of F#cking course we can.

GO SAINTERS!

Fehring said:
Blight wasn't a first year coach at Adelaide in 97 (as has been pointed out) but he was a first year coach at Geelong in 89 when he took them within a goal in one of the greatest grand finals ever. So, can we win it next year with a first year coach? Of F#cking course we can.

GO SAINTERS!

i think you'll find that blight coached north for a season before geelong. and was sacked. but yeah geelong was his first stint at a full time role

blumfieldisback said:
well some coaches have gone close i think to getting to the granny in their first year, neale daniher in 98 and paul roos in 2003? From the outside u needed to sack Thomas, he may have changed the culture around which was great but his coaching philosophies i think cost you a premiership especially in 2004. de-listing capuano mid season, letting nobel go, losing penny and jones then heath black for fiora and then really questioning whether harvey should go on?????

then this year playing brooks in a game which he played well enough to warrant selection for that final against melbourne but was unduely dropped. Gehrig isn't getting younger and your backline is fragile and your midfield is devloping cancerous growths in it.

Hopefully a new coach can actually bring in players to even out your list and play kosi and the clarkes in there correct positions. (Forward and wings)

See children, this is why you don't go on opposition forums and post rubbish; you just look foolish.

Cancerous growths indeed!

Capuano was finished, and patently didn't try in the game against Collingwood preceding his sacking.

The Knobel call was 50/50; he is tall, not especially skilled, but willing. Offers little around the ground after the ruck contest is over, but we may have been better off keeping him. Now, Rix offers what Knobel did, but also can play defence if needed.

Penny retired due to chronic knee problems. Aussie had had enough. You cannot force people to want to put in the enormous effort required for top level sport. They do, or they don't.

Heath Black was always going back to Perth. We couldn't/wouldn't meet the financial requirements of Simmons, so it was Fiora or nothing, and still lose Black. Yes we got shafted, but there was little alternative.

At 35, Harvey should be asked the questions of whether he can put in the work required. He says he can, no problem. GT worded it badly, but that was what he meant.

Brooks has played one good game in 2 years against poor opposition; hardly world-beating form. The QF side was picked for the conditions, expected to be wet. He'd hardly have been suited then.

The "fragile" backline was the 3rd best performed, mainly with 22 yrs and under players (excluding Max, who had a stellar year).

GT has many detractors, but his philosophies had us a kick away from a GF berth in 2004, so they can't have been too far off the mark.

[Hit the nail on the head. Are you a chance for the St Kilda job. JJ would be a great inclusion. We need a pemiership now not in a few years. If Kosi, Ball, Dal Santo, Montagna Goddard & Riewoldt etc go a couple more without a flag they will start getting offered the big doe and go where they think they might win one.
Kiss them goodbye and you can kiss living to see the saints winning a premiership good bye

Good work St DAC

Good post Stkildonan.

I agree with you that our squad is somewhat overrated. Had we not suffered from the large spate of injuries we would have been in a better spot to challenge the top two teams but at the end of the day the Eagles and Swans are better than us. People who say we had the best list in the league and underachieved are just wrong. The way the Eagles midfield ran rings around us in round 17 was just scary. That's the area we need to improve and I think JJ would be a welcome inclusion. We still need an influx of speed but I reckon we can get that from pushing Gram and Montagna into the midfield a little more. Same goes for X if he can remain injury free.

I don't want to give up a lot for an ageing midfielder but I'd welcome him. We're not throwing away our youth policy by any means. The draft has a lot of depth and we're certainly not giving up #9.

This is my concern. We need to put aside our first and second round picks and regard them as untouchable.

Given this constraint, I will reluctantly consider trades to fill our weaknesses.

If this side was so weak, how could GT have been expected to win premierships with it ???

Preserve the squad as much as possible and infuse quick midfielder kids from the draft.

You could sure use someone to give Ball a bit of protection. Poor guy just gets belted week in week out. JJ could be like his older brother on the field, protecting him from the bullies and letting Ball shine.

Big John said:
You could sure use someone to give Ball a bit of protection. Poor guy just gets belted week in week out. JJ could be like his older brother on the field, protecting him from the bullies and letting Ball shine.

Agree entirely. Ball needs another hard body in the packs to help him, as does Hayes. JJ fills the void perfectly.

But it all comes down to price.

What Bomber fans are mooting - JJ + 22 for 9 or JJ for 27 - is just too big a price for us.

I think the Ferguson + late pick deal has a lot of merit. It's the best we can offer. If Essendon can get better elsewhere, good for them, but we can't afford to trade either 1st or 2nd round picks this year.

All that needs to be said is that Jason Johnson got dropped from a team that finished 15th.
Are we going to go down the path we always do and draft has beens. examples of them are: Tony Francis, Damien Monkhurst, Robert Powell, Mark Gale, Tony Delaney, Aaron Fiora, Mark McGough, Nick Stone. None of these players brought us any success nor will JJ.
If we trade for him or get him in the draft i will not be renewing my membership thats for sure.

saints said:
If we trade for him or get him in the draft i will not be renewing my membership thats for sure.

What a ridiculous attitude to have.

sainter said:
What a ridiculous attitude to have.

Mate i have seen it to much, St Kilda has all the potenitial in the world then we sack our coach (Grant Thomas, Ken Sheldon, Stan Alves) there is history, we pick up old has beens and before you know it we have the number 1 pick in the draft again! GET YOUNG TALENT THAT HAS SPEED

saints said:
Mate i have seen it to much, St Kilda has all the potenitial in the world then we sack our coach (Grant Thomas, Ken Sheldon, Stan Alves) there is history, we pick up old has beens and before you know it we have the number 1 pick in the draft again! GET YOUNG TALENT THAT HAS SPEED

You don't understand the mechanics of football, so you can be forgiven for your naivity.

Yes, we should also get Chris Judd because he's available. :)

Come back when you understand how footy works.

saints said:

We're all Saints fans and we've all suffered.

We do need some more speed through the midfield but spare us the histrionics. ;)

Essendon midfielder Jason Johnson will remain at Windy Hill next season after signing a two-year deal with the club.

Johnson, who was linked with a move to St Kilda had previously been offered a one-year deal by the Bombers.

Essendon recruiting manager Adrian Dodoro said while their had been interest from several other clubs, the Bombers had always wanted Johnson to remain with the club.

Dodoro also said the Bombers had dropped out of the race to secure the services of mercurial Geelong forward Steve Johnson.

Geelong football operations manager Garry Davidson said the Cats were seeking an early second round draft pick for Johnson but as yet had not agreed to a deal with any club with Collingwood also rumoured to be interested

Meanwhile, St Kilda goalsneak Stephen Milne who had been mentioned as a possible trade to Essendon has come to terms with the Saints and will play under newly appointed coach Ross Lyon next season.

Sportal

A shame on our part, JJ would have been a good pickup IMO. For him, a good result, remaining a one-club player, which would have been his first preference all along. Win some, lose some.

Glad to see Milney staying. :thumbsu:

evertonfc said:
Agree entirely. Ball needs another hard body in the packs to help him, as does Hayes. JJ fills the void perfectly.

But it all comes down to price.

What Bomber fans are mooting - JJ + 22 for 9 or JJ for 27 - is just too big a price for us.

What price was a much improved shot at the flag ? JJ would have been huge for you next season.

Darealrath said:
What price was a much improved shot at the flag ? JJ would have been huge for you next season.

I was interested but we both know he wasn't worth a first round selection.

What price do you put on giving up a first round pick in this draft?

Akermanis went for the last second round draft pick (Pick #34), essentially a low third round pick.

I would have thought that given Johnson is slightly younger, they would be around the same value.

sainter said:
I was interested but we both know he wasn't worth a first round selection.

I think he was for a side close to a flag.

sainter said:
What price do you put on giving up a first round pick in this draft?

It's a big price, though no guarantee that draft pick will even play a game of course. Just think you might have been in a good position to aim short-term. Obviously if Maguire wasn't going to miss next season you'd be in a stronger position but you should still be thereabouts.

Not saying you've necessarily done the wrong thing but i'm getting the impression a lot are underrating what JJ could bring.