Jefferey Garlett

• Thread starter Thread starter Dramoth

What a find jefferey is he looks to be very talented. him and eddie will be a great duo in the forward pockets.

yarran doesnt do much for me, i have seen him play in the 18's he wasnt as good as the number 6 pick suggests.

So if you are up n the U18's you would know he was far from 100% and coming back from injury during the champs??

You would also be well aware of his much better form in the WAFL than the champs???

You would have seen the poise, decision making and flashes of brilliance that will become more regular with a much better fitness base and AFL experience?

Thanks in advance :)

So if you are up n the U18's you would know he was far from 100% and coming back from injury during the champs??

You would also be well aware of his much better form in the WAFL than the champs???

You would have seen the poise, decision making and flashes of brilliance that will become more regular with a much better fitness base and AFL experience?

Easy Big Fella

*holds Gilly back*

that is the problem with a lot of small midfielder/forwards they only have flashes, wells, davey, rioli, betts all these players have flashes of brilliance but cannot do it on a regular basis.

Burgoyne, McLeod, Long, Winmar.... I can throw some names around too.

I don't think we would have picked Yarran at 6 if we didn't see him making a significant contribution to the midfield rotation in years to come.

rioli, betts all these players have flashes of brilliance but cannot do it on a regular basis.

Okay now...

Rioli, managed a goal a game DESPITE being the clubs fourth of fifth highest goal kicker. Also managed to nab 6th (?) Best and Fairest amongst a Premiership team including an 100 goal kicker, a 70 goal kicker, 'quarterback' of the decade who was eventually Norm Smith medallist and the club captain. In his debut year no less.

And for Betts, a 23 year old Rookie listed player who averages more than a goal a game despite being in a non-finals playing side for all of his career.

Please.

I just love Garlett's forward defensive pressure. It's what we so desperately need.

Does anyone know if Yarran provides the same forward pressure?

Seen both Garlett and Yarran play for Swans last year, fair to say both have a lot to learn but an absolute crapload of talent.

Yarran bashers need to sit down and take a deep breath, he lead the Swans Goalkicking last year and didn't even play all of the games due to 18's duties. His defensive pressue will get better as his fitness improves.

Garlett will be a STAR. Each Game he has played he has made an immediate impact, not bad for a kid with the physique of a ragdoll.

Seen both Garlett and Yarran play for Swans last year, fair to say both have a lot to learn but an absolute crapload of talent.

Yarran bashers need to sit down and take a deep breath, he lead the Swans Goalkicking last year and didn't even play all of the games due to 18's duties. His defensive pressue will get better as his fitness improves.

Garlett will be a STAR. Each Game he has played he has made an immediate impact, not bad for a kid with the physique of a ragdoll.

People gotta start listening to blokes like this who have actually seen these fellows going around. Although half of me says proceed with caution, it's not the first time we've had this confirmation of our boys quality from SP. :thumbsu:

Interesting post T-man.......I would have thought that their selection from seasoned recruiters like WH and SR would be evidence enough without the need for affirmation from BF posters ;):p.

Perhaps SP is our WA spotter?? :)

The only real stuff-up Wayne Hughes has done at Carlton with a first rnd draft pick is Jordan Russell, so i'm happy to back his judgement.

This kid made his WAFL league debut last year for Swan Districts against my team the Perth Demons (ironically where his cousin Buddy Franklin comes from) and he kicked 4 goals on debut. Swans blooded 4 colts players that day and still won and they have won the last 2 colts premierships. This WAFL club has a friggin production line going out there. I think they've had something like 10 players drafted from them in the last 2 years.

I probably can't name them all but a Swans supporter might be able to fill in the missing names.

Alex Rance (07)
Dennis Armfield (07)
Tony Notte (07)
Nick Natanui (08)
Chris Yarran (08)
Jeff Garlett (08)
Michael Walters (08)
Clancee Pearce (08)

I think Melbourne picked up a couple of SD boys this year that the WCE and Frem were also hoping to pick up and I think one of them is a Jetta and they have another 2 Jetta's coming through the ranks this year. There is another couple of Swans boys that could easily have got picked up. There young players just come in and seem to have an immediate impact at league level.

Interesting post T-man.......I would have thought that their selection from seasoned recruiters like WH and SR would be evidence enough without the need for affirmation from BF posters ;):p.

Perhaps SP is our WA spotter?? :)

Mate, you know as well as I that us tragics are more likely to harp on our recruiters stuff-ups than their triumphs *coughtooobviouscough*.

SP has absolutely no reason to guild the lily with players from another team.

Your decision to ignore my pathetic schizophrenic flavoured gag is your business.

Apparently better than his cousin.

Lock him up in a room with a pair of weights.

He's definitely better than Buddy.
I didn't even need to read your posts fellas to have thought of my new signature.;)
What do you guys think of it?
As soon as I watched the game yesterday (and I was already impressed by his first one), there you go. Nuff said.:)
Looks a player, and I'm putting that very modestly.:cool:
Not sure about the rookie situation but get him on the SL as soon as you can please.:thumbsu:

This kid made his WAFL league debut last year for Swan Districts against my team the Perth Demons (ironically where his cousin Buddy Franklin comes from) and he kicked 4 goals on debut. Swans blooded 4 colts players that day and still won and they have won the last 2 colts premierships. This WAFL club has a friggin production line going out there. I think they've had something like 10 players drafted from them in the last 2 years.

I probably can't name them all but a Swans supporter might be able to fill in the missing names.

Alex Rance (07)
Dennis Armfield (07)
Tony Notte (07)
Nick Natanui (08)
Chris Yarran (08)
Jeff Garlett (08)
Michael Walters (08)
Clancee Pearce (08)

I think Melbourne picked up a couple of SD boys this year that the WCE and Frem were also hoping to pick up and I think one of them is a Jetta and they have another 2 Jetta's coming through the ranks this year. There is another couple of Swans boys that could easily have got picked up. There young players just come in and seem to have an immediate impact at league level.

rnb, any idea why that amazing list of talent has come from the Swans? Something in the water? Better indigenous programs? Gun recruiters? Has this club always had a history of producing stars that successfully make the transition to the top league? Cheers for the info - keep it coming any time. :thumbsu:

I didn't even need to read your posts fellas to have thought of my new signature.;)
What do you guys think of it?
As soon as I watched the game yesterday (and I was already impressed by his first one), there you go. Nuff said.:)
Looks a player, and I'm putting that very modestly.:cool:
Not sure about the rookie situation but get him on the SL as soon as you can please.:thumbsu:

Agree 100%, tgm. Drop the hyphen and your sig will rock sweeter. :thumbsu:

Alex Rance (07)
Dennis Armfield (07)
Tony Notte (07)
Nick Natanui (08)
Chris Yarran (08)
Jeff Garlett (08)
Michael Walters (08)
Clancee Pearce (08)

rnb, any idea why that amazing list of talent has come from the Swans? Something in the water? Better indigenous programs? Gun recruiters? Has this club always had a history of producing stars that successfully make the transition to the top league? Cheers for the info - keep it coming any time. :thumbsu:
No worries thylacine60. I'm not sure of the reason really. They always seem to produce very good players but what they have produced the last couple of years is amazing. I am sure you've heard of the story about Natanui, Yarran and I think the third player is Pearce who all grew up in the same little street in a suburb close to SD home ground, I think in Midvale.

Sometimes clubs just get a freakish run of talent that is the envy of all other clubs. It is probably a combination of that plus some very good development programs.

Garlett just looks so composed out on the field, and really does have that X-Factor that alot of clubs are looking for. If he can get a bit of muscle on him over the next couple of years, we could have really picked up an absolute ripper in the rookie draft.

He, Betts and Yarran could be out of this world in 12 months time.

Blokette actually!!!! :D Freo (hence my split personality) picked up a few swans boys too so was happy to have so many to watch each weekend this season!

Was stoked when Yarran got picked, he will really benefit from the club's professionalism. Swans had an absolutely horrible forward line last year so he was quite often playing against the best defender, or even more than one.

Garlett looks to have put on 2-3 kgs since the last time i saw him play. Hope they dont bulk him up too much!

Blokette actually!!!! :D Freo (hence my split personality) picked up a few swans boys too so was happy to have so many to watch each weekend this season!

Was stoked when Yarran got picked, he will really benefit from the club's professionalism. Swans had an absolutely horrible forward line last year so he was quite often playing against the best defender, or even more than one.

Garlett looks to have put on 2-3 kgs since the last time i saw him play. Hope they dont bulk him up too much!

Apologies, SP. :o I was in two minds about you.

No worries thylacine60. I'm not sure of the reason really. They always seem to produce very good players but what they have produced the last couple of years is amazing. I am sure you've heard of the story about Natanui, Yarran and I think the third player is Pearce who all grew up in the same little street in a suburb close to SD home ground, I think in Midvale.

Sometimes clubs just get a freakish run of talent that is the envy of all other clubs. It is probably a combination of that plus some very good development programs.

Swans have a super development program at the moment, it seems a huge amount of young indigenous players are actually staying in the game instead of wasting their natural talent. Looking forward to watching the colts and ressies this year!

It's good to have a hobby, c_p. :thumbsu:
A shame it's a dead hobby horse.

Does anyone else still get excited when they see the name Chris Yarran?

If Robinson and Garlett are that good, I can't wait to see Yarran hit his straps on a HFF and in the midfield.