Jesse Smith (Son of Ross Smith)

benno87

Jun 1, 2003
London
It seems the enw story at Arden Street is Ross Smtih bringing his kid Jesse down to do some Pre-Season training before his team Calder Cannons start their Pre-Season Campaign.

It is believed we are just investigating the possibility of picking up Jesse in the 2004 draft under the new father/son rule. Are there any TAC Cup, or even better Calder Cannons followers here that could give me more information. All I know is that he is a 188cm, TAC Key Position player, which probably isn't big enough for AFL Level. And at the yougner age was given a job on Dunn in the Grand Final.

Any information about his game, and weather he could be at AFL level in 2005?

He looked pretty good in the games I saw him play, I think he could develop into a handy flanker at AFL level.

I didn't watch him that closely this year because Calder was filled with good players and I knew he was ineligible, but definitely one to watch next year.

There are two Jesse Smith's at Calder. Jesse D Smith is the older one and is a solidly bit midfielder. Jesse W 'Junior' Smith is the one you are interested in.

He is a wingman or flanker, I wouldn't have said he was a KP type. He occasional plays as a marking target out of the pocket. He is extremely light and as one of the youngest guys at Calder is in and out of the team a little and plays on and off the bench.

As for playing in 2005, I think not. He probably needs 10-15kg in muscle and that will probably take 3-4 years. So more likely to play his first two years in the AFL with Port Melbourne.

We are not exactly crying out for someone like Jesse Smith, but the fact that we are finally using the F/S rule is more important IMO. Would be great to see sons of Ross Smith, and Phil Krakouer too, back at the club in the coming years.

Originally posted by year of the roo
the fact that we are finally using the F/S rule is more important IMO.
You're joking aren't you...:confused:

If a kid is quality you pick him up. If you can get him in the Father/Son and he is worth more than a 3rd round pick, you do it. If he's not, you leave him. You don't have much control over the eligible kids coming through - they're there or they're not.

Using the F/S rule for its own sake is ridiculous.

Originally posted by hurricane
You're joking aren't you...:confused:

If a kid is quality you pick him up. If you can get him in the Father/Son and he is worth more than a 3rd round pick, you do it. If he's not, you leave him. You don't have much control over the eligible kids coming through - they're there or they're not.

Using the F/S rule for its own sake is ridiculous.
No I didn't mean it like that. I meant that it is important sentimentally to have these famous names coming back to the club, if they happen to be very good footballers too, then its a bonus. But I wouldn't just recruit someone because of their last name or who their daddy is.

Originally posted by hurricane
This is true to a point - it does help cement the traditions of a club if you have several generations of a family playing. But first they have to be able to play!!
Exactly right, but I don't think that is a problem in Jesse's case as he is already playing TAC Cup, in a very strong side, and he is much younger then the rest of them and his body hasn't matured yet. Now, I'm not about to declare him the next Michael Voss, but geez there are some good early signs.

Originally posted by year of the roo

We are not exactly crying out for someone like Jesse Smith, but the fact that we are finally using the F/S rule is more important IMO.

Dunno mate, without Teague and Crowe we're a bit light on for the midsize defenders. Urch may turn out ok and Firrito looks more comfortable in the middle. If this kid ends up being a 2nd round standard 188cm utility I reckon that'd be a great pickup for us.

The father/son bit is a very welcome bonus.

Originally posted by Weaver
He is a wingman or flanker, I wouldn't have said he was a KP type. He occasional plays as a marking target out of the pocket. He is extremely light and as one of the youngest guys at Calder is in and out of the team a little and plays on and off the bench.

As for playing in 2005, I think not. He probably needs 10-15kg in muscle and that will probably take 3-4 years. So more likely to play his first two years in the AFL with Port Melbourne.

Thanks for that info Weaver.

Benno87,

The kid is a gun or will be in about 3 or 4 years. He only turned 17 in September 2003 and in the super strong Cannons team he was terrific.

I saw him play about 6 times, including all his Finals appearances and each time I was shaking my head at his efforts. Silky skills, great poise in traffic, footy smarts, hits targets and all the time he was under 17 years of age.

The Roos will snap him up as soon as they can for sure. Mad if they don't.

He's old man must value hes contributions more than anyone else!! "He was given the job on Ryley Dunn" i cant remember him running tooo close during the game, and he spent a bit of time on the bench!! he also started in the BP. Despite that is a good player, tends to take a few to many ppl on instead of taking the 1st option, makes the forwards look out of postion, and makes them double back and have to fight one on one as the ball isn't out in front on the lead

I played against him when he played for rupertswood under 16's i tagged him and kept him to 10 possesions in the half very strong when tackling but soft in the packs and not very strong over head but very quick and has good football smarts

Originally posted by kris
I played against him when he played for rupertswood under 16's i tagged him and kept him to 10 possesions in the half very strong when tackling but soft in the packs and not very strong over head but very quick and has good football smarts

Very quick, u must be very slow!! strong when tackling but soft in the packs!!! whats that mean?? hes strong one minute then he's in a pack and hes weak

strong tackling means he is strong when tackling but very soft going into packs i.e is not an in and under player and yer i m ay be slow but 2 games back from a knee reconstruction wat do u expect will be found out when playing for a strong team i suggest

sorry meant he will b found out when playing for a weak team because both sides he plays for are both the best in each respect

Instinctively very good at smothering the footy, did pick up a smother or two most weeks he played this year. Probably goes with the defensive skills you were talking about above with his tackling.