youngsaint

Real Madrid & Blake Griffin
How do you all go about them?

What strategies have you taken in and succeeded with in what type of environment?

Who has fluffed up big time and peed their pants? (Peeing your pants is the coolest)

What's your standard attire?

Be friendly but not overly familiar - plenty of eye contact, smiles, that sort of thing but no colloqualisms or whatever.

Even if you're not usually interested, it pays to know a little about current affairs and especially recent sport results (AFL down south, NRL up north). There's always smalltalk.

Take the time with someone you know to practice and develop a good handshake. Firm but not dominant - don't assume that yours is fine, it's surprising how few people's are.

Dress neat and professionally but not ostentatious. Personal preference but although I like French cuff shirts I don't wear them to interviews - I go for something plainer. Subdued tie, dark suit and you can't go wrong.

Sounds simple, but know your resume back-to-front. If someone asks you when you started your last job and you have to refer back to your notes, it just looks bad.

Do your research. Again, sounds obvious. At the very least check out their website, know a little about the company and the industry. Doesn't have to be thesis-worthy, but enough to show you've made an effort. At a minimum try and know basics like how many people they employ and who their major competitors are.

Be prepared for the 'weaknesses' question. Don't come out with a variation on the "sometimes I work too hard" answer - it's pat and obvious and they're expecting it. The point of this question is to show that you're self-aware and know how to manage your failings - so be honest, but give them solutions. e.g. "I'm too prone to get wrapped up in the detail of projects, so I find that I work best if I set clear milestones with my manager and touch base with him regularly on the bigger picture".

There will also probably be a question about a time you've previously stuffed up, and what you learned from it. Have something ready.

If they send you into a meeting room to wait, be healthily suspicious. It's not normal but I've been to some interviews where they have tests - a PA comes in for a 'casual chat', a phone rings and they want to see if you have the initiative to answer it. One firm I worked at used to send someone down to the carpark to look through the windows and see how tidy your car was, since the partner figured that it would be roughly equivalent to the state of your desk after a month or so.

Most of that lot is common sense really. Above all, be honest and try and relax. If they see that you're being straight with them and not sugar coating stuff then they're more inclined to (a) take the good things you say seriously, and (b) think more of you as a potential employee.

Turn up 10 minutes early
Dress neat and tidy
Research the job before the interveiw
Keep calm and don't look nervous

A FEW FROM ME (Not all are suited to some people)

- Button up shirt, black dress pants and black shoes are dress of choice for me.

- I like to turn up about 30 minutes early, but like to generally take a walk around the block before going into the venue of job interview to calm the nerves.

- Also maintain eye contact when answering questions, looking down generally is a sign of disinterest or lack of knowledge.

- If you have anything like a disability or mental impairment, then give it a mention but don't make a song and dance about it.

- Always have a question regarding the job after they finish their block of questions, again shows interest and helps research. Also interviewers do like people who are prepared to ask a question rather than just be a Yes or No person.

- I like to turn up about 30 minutes early, but like to generally take a walk around the block before going into the venue of job interview to calm the nerves.

- Always have a question regarding the job after they finish their block of questions, again shows interest and helps research. Also interviewers do like people who are prepared to ask a question rather than just be a Yes or No person.
These. Great suggestions.

With the latter, one is crucial but there is no harm in a few. Doesn't hurt to make one fairly technical if you're familiar with the type of job - subtle way to reinforce expertise and demonstrate intelligence and insight.

I always do the proper business shirt, dark pants and posh shoes, but I don't use a tie - probably not as important in my field being a tradie. Always be honest, they can tell when someone is bullshitting them. Otherwise, good advice already posted here.

Following story was related by a very crestfallen mate of mine and caused a great deal of amusement at the time. You have to know how hilariously scatterbrained the guy in question is to get full enjoyment from this story, but nevertheless...

In final year at uni, he had his heart set on a particular law firm- had done all the vacation work with them, and had more or less decided this was what he wanted to do. Sure enough, when the time comes he gets a call for an interview.

He was too nervous to eat anything that morning. To make sure he wasn't late he went into the city two hours before the interview, and wandered around aimlessly until interview time. After an hour or so wandering around he realises he is very hungry after all, and being a poor student still, he stops into maccas for a feed.

Half way through his quarter pounder, he looks at his watch and realises the interview starts in 5 minutes.

He drops everything, and runs like hell, looking like a, well, crazy man running across the city in a suit and tie. Gets to the office only a minute or two late, and is ushered straight into the interview room- he describes himself at this point as being a 'wild eyed, greasy faced panting weirdo'

He sits down, and is just trying to get control of his voice and make pleasant small talk when he realises he doesn't feel well at all, which is not surprising given he has just had a fair crack at a 4 minute mile with a bellyful of undigested maccas and a tight belt/button down shirt/tie ensemble.

He goes to answer the first question, and instead of words, a kind of grunting/growling noise comes out, along with a good couple of tablespoons or so of brownish puke, which drips down his chin onto the glass table. Everyone just sits there in stunned silence. He stares at them, they stare at him, and he gets up, without saying a word, and leaves.

Turns out he didn't get the job...

Following story was related by a very crestfallen mate of mine and caused a great deal of amusement at the time. You have to know how hilariously scatterbrained the guy in question is to get full enjoyment from this story, but nevertheless...

In final year at uni, he had his heart set on a particular law firm- had done all the vacation work with them, and had more or less decided this was what he wanted to do. Sure enough, when the time comes he gets a call for an interview.

He was too nervous to eat anything that morning. To make sure he wasn't late he went into the city two hours before the interview, and wandered around aimlessly until interview time. After an hour or so wandering around he realises he is very hungry after all, and being a poor student still, he stops into maccas for a feed.

Half way through his quarter pounder, he looks at his watch and realises the interview starts in 5 minutes.

He drops everything, and runs like hell, looking like a, well, crazy man running across the city in a suit and tie. Gets to the office only a minute or two late, and is ushered straight into the interview room- he describes himself at this point as being a 'wild eyed, greasy faced panting weirdo'

He sits down, and is just trying to get control of his voice and make pleasant small talk when he realises he doesn't feel well at all, which is not surprising given he has just had a fair crack at a 4 minute mile with a bellyful of undigested maccas and a tight belt/button down shirt/tie ensemble.

He goes to answer the first question, and instead of words, a kind of grunting/growling noise comes out, along with a good couple of tablespoons or so of brownish puke, which drips down his chin onto the glass table. Everyone just sits there in stunned silence. He stares at them, they stare at him, and he gets up, without saying a word, and leaves.

Turns out he didn't get the job...

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Nepotism has the right job for you, do away with tedious time wasting job interviews, throw that resume in the bin, big $$$ for little work. Yay for nepotism!!

Yeh great work people. That story above is a ripper.

I've got one Friday and have just realised that my black suit is choking my waist line, so grey suit it is. When i saw the job offer and applied, the name of the person listed was fairly individual so i though she might be an easy find on facebook, have a look, see who im going to be dealing with. She was also the one who rang me the other day confirming i had got an interview. It turns our that 1. she is quite attractive and 2. she is from the same area of new zealand as all my mum's family is and where i've spent quite a bit of time. Obiously i can't mention it straight up as i would look like a super creep, but could be decent small talk if i can slide in that i'm half kiwi...

Dress appropriately I guess - my last interview for a gig came through a head hunt so I could rock up in jeans and a collar shirt. If it was a cold open (apply online), then it would be the full kit and caboodle.

Don't turn up TOO early as it really makes you look desperate - 10 min early is very acceptable (and whilst you sit in the waiting room, read the latest report on the company or articles they have lying around - pick something interesting from this and use it in conversation during the interview).

Be confident without being arrogant - look into their eyes when you talk and remember that it is a frank discussion that is a TWO WAY conversation - too many people decide to make it a 1 way from the company point of view and it's a applicant hunting version of a starfish lay. Nobody likes one sided interviews, and before too long they end the interview.

Don't use too many rehearsed answers - if you've been planning too much to say the answers, there is a pretty good chance they've heard them all before. These people hear lots of crap every day, and they can pick it anywhere. Believe in your answers.

Research the company because YOU need to ask the questions like a dude said previously at some point. Pick the points about the company that legitimately excite you and use that as fuel.

A good indicator that the interview is going well is that it hasn't felt like work from both sides and when it approaches the time to finish, nobody is ready to finish and it feels like an absolute pleasure. A big thing that recruiters look for is culture fit, and if you've held your own in a long conversation, it bodes well.

I used to suck at job interviews, I had about 10 in a row that were just disasters and I came off like a desperate loser and never even got called again

Then I was working on my company which was making enough to pay rent and travel but not really getting rich. So every now and then I'd feel like I should try get a 'real job' and line up some interviews, but deep down I wanted to continue doing my own thing.

With this attitude I owned, I was so relaxed and got offered job after job including once at big company in europe that i wasnt qualified for at all. The guy interviewing me lived in aus for a while and we spent the whole time talking about australia like old friends or something and at the end he just offered me the job on the spot

SO my advice would be to keep as many 'balls in the air:)' and options open in your life, so that the interview feels like its just 1 door out of like 100 :):thumbsu::heart: and with this comes a relaxed and natural style

If you go in thinking you absolutely must get this job, your whole future depends on it, etc, you are fked imo

Interviews are a game. Play it well and you'll waltz into any job you want.

Two key approaches:

1. Research the company and their values. Make sure all the qualities that you profess to have relate to those values somehow. It shows that you'd fit in well and that you've done your homework.

2. Tie anything you can back to how you added value, and how you can add value to the business. All well and good to give examples of teamwork and stuff but if you can't define the result that it had and the value that it added, it's just wishy-washy. If you go in there with a business context and able to show tangible results of your actions, you're home.

I try to have 2 or 3 past work examples in my head that I can adapt to just about any question starting with "tell us about a time or experience when..."

These are always questions about leadership, operating in a team or how you overcome problems etc. For people who've just finished uni and don't have much experience using examples from uni group assignments work well too.

I tend not to wear a tie to interviews. I don't like to wear a tie at work and hate highly formal company cultures so would prefer a job where this isn't expected. If I don't get the job because of it then I know it's not the sort of place I'd want to work at anyway. A dark suit with a simple buttoned shirt works fine for me. Depends what image you want to sell though obviously. I try and be as genuine as possible...I figure most others are trying to act a part so like one of the above posters said, coming across as comfortable can be a big differentiator.

Couple more strategies:

Make friends with the receptionist while you're waiting for the interview (or at least try to). The receptionist often has some sway and will see everyone who goes for the job pass through. If you take some time to chat with them they might put in a good word for you. Also helps calm the nerves while waiting.

Follow up! Don't necessarily wait to be called after your interview. The day after or even later that afternoon send the person that interviewed you a short note by email thanking them for the opportunity to meet with them and that you feel the job would be a really good fit. You don't want to come across as desperate so be succinct, but it's always good to reinforce that you want the job and show some initiative.

I have interviewed quite a few candidates the past few years. A few things that myself and my boss always agree on:

1. Nervous candidates will usually always get a second interview. Nerves usually go hand in hand with keenness and really wanting the job. They're usually calmer the second time around that the initial meet is over and done with. Would much rather nerves than cockiness.

2. Never ramble. It means you're making shit up, and you'll probably do that on the job too if you **** up. We've thrown in a curveball in the past hoping for a response of "sorry, I'm not too sure on that", rather than a ramble. Honesty is easy and will leap you ahead of other candidates believe it or not.

3. Conducting an interview takes time out of their day too, so don't worry about turning up too early. 2 minutes should do it, you'll just sit around and worry yourself into a pool of sweat otherwise. Unless you're on a conveyer-belt of grads interviewing with a HR consultant on a tight schedule (and never fear the HR lot, they've got no idea) even 5 minutes late is fine, as the interviewers will have a decent enough idea about you after 20 mins anyway, and more than likely be working up until they're ready to see you.

4. Depending on the feel and culture of a place, general chit-chat before/after often tells more of a person than cliched and prepared answers. If the interviewers are bantering about the footy, travel, wine, food, Angry Boys, whatever, and you feel comfortable enough, chime in. Like all things, you'll work harder and put in more effort for people you hit it off with and respect. We interviewed a young guy last week, and as we were walking out my boss asked what he has planned for the rest of the day. His response of "probably take a quaddie at Warnambool then work on my Supercoach" had me flick a wink and a nod to my boss. He's down to the final 3. We also made an offer to a girl last year who when asked if she was any good at tennis responded "I reckon I could beat Philippoussis in straight".

5. Researching the company is a good idea, but use it for asking questions rather than just regurgitating info you've memorised off a website. You're better off asking only a couple of questions to get familiar with your actual role you've applied for, save the truckload more about the broader company for when you start.

6. Agree with the dress well, especially your shoes. At least shine them. Don't be too fussed if you don't have a suit, you can buy one before you start.

7. Never, ever lie about your golf handicap. You'll be found out either way, high or low.

**The above may only apply if you're looking at a role on a trading desk at an investment firm where the interviewers would rather talk about shiraz and sport multi's than how you achieved your HD in Corporate Finance at Melbourne Uni.

I knew you were a merchant banker as soon as you mentioned golf handicaps. The only places that have ever asked me that question were Macquarie Bank and Merrill Lynch.

Uncanny.

**The above may only apply if you're looking at a role on a trading desk at an investment firm where the interviewers would rather talk about shiraz and sport multi's than how you achieved your HD in Corporate Finance at Melbourne Uni.

Interesting and thinks for sharing this.

So would you say that personality can sometimes be as much of a factor for getting hired as qualifications/intelligence?

As an off topic, if all the people in the office are educated university graduates why are they just so fixed over things that are usually associated with blue collar people? it seems as though if you like sports, drinking and gambling then you are a good chance of getting in. I have noticed that there seems to be a bit of an anti-intellectual thing in Australia.

In my time working here in South Korea it is not uncommon to see offices with books on philosophy or history in the lobby for guests to have a look and many people like to read and talk about important things like world affairs. On the subway in Seoul I see many people reading intellectual books for fun and most recently just about every Korean owns a copy of the book "Justice" by political philosopher Michael Sandel. On the subway I always see people of all ages with that book in hand.

I even see poor old street sellers with their portable TVs tuned to education programs where tutors explain academic things like algebra. I have even seen homeless people in Seoul reading books inside their cardboard box houses.

Yet in Australia I know many well educated professional people that just have no intellectual life, they are intelligent to the extent that they do their work well but they just have no interest in intellecual pursuits like history, philosophy, political economy, religion, etc. This trend seems to be the strongest in Australia. In Korea people will respect you if you turn up to a workplace and say you like history, philosophy, computers, etc; in Australia most people will think "boring".

Interesting and thinks for sharing this.

So would you say that personality can sometimes be as much of a factor for getting hired as qualifications/intelligence?

As an off topic, if all the people in the office are educated university graduates why are they just so fixed over things that are usually associated with blue collar people? it seems as though if you like sports, drinking and gambling then you are a good chance of getting in. I have noticed that there seems to be a bit of an anti-intellectual thing in Australia.

In my time working here in South Korea it is not uncommon to see offices with books on philosophy or history in the lobby for guests to have a look and many people like to read and talk about important things like world affairs. On the subway in Seoul I see many people reading intellectual books for fun and most recently just about every Korean owns a copy of the book "Justice" by political philosopher Michael Sandel.

Yet in Australia I know many well educated professional people that just have no intellectual life, they are intelligent to the extent that they do their work well but they just have no interest in intellecual pursuits like history, philosophy, political economy, religion, etc. This trend seems to be the strongest in Australia. In Korea people will respect you if you turn up to a workplace and say you like history, philosophy, computers, etc; in Australia most people will think "boring".

Our culture is work for the weekend. And it is the best ever.

So, after being in Canada for a year now and doing a bit of contract work here and there, I finally just landed a dream job. It's with a very large, multi-national company and will involve a bit of travel around the country. It's kind of my first senior role so I'm looking forward to having some influence right up to Vice President level. My tips would be:

- Know the job description well and do a bit of research on the company. Don't go in quoting a ton of facts and figures though because anybody can do that.
- Know your key selling points. Whether it be how you interact with people or a technical skill. Showing some versatility can be important.
- Try to have a bit of back-and-forth with the interviewer. It can be related to work or even a big news event. Being able to look somebody in the eye and have a friendly chat goes a long way.
- Always be respectful and polite to not just the interviewer but to everybody else you make contact with. HR, Reception etc.
- Admit your limitations. No point lying. Just try and spin it in a way that makes you keen to learn and develop.
- Always have some food in your stomach but don't drink too much. Nothing worse than being uncomfortable. Makes it tough to focus.

Anyway, time to crack that first beer and celebrate :D