Joel Bowden

Exactly. We of all people shouldn't need any reminding of Stewie Dew helping a team 'ready to win', although Dew was/is a year younger than Bowden.

As for McGuire, I'd be too worried about his injury-proneness. But bringing an older, more solid body into the team on the cheap is not entirely stupid.

No, Geelong don't need anyone over 30 as a draft pick or a trade. This is a move fraught with absolute failure given that we need to create overlap from our own (good) senior players, and the next generation of youth. We'll manage fine with our midfield, but as previously stated it will be much more advantageous having Scarlett/Milburn/Harley guiding Taylor, Gillies, McKenna, Laidler et al and playing a kid than having elderly Bowden shedding skin and hair in the 22 while Geelong goes down the path of the Australian cricket team - Selecting older players who give you immediate acceptable performances, but then consign you to elimination from comps when you decide you have to play ALL kids because there is no-one in your middle age bracket to pick up the slack (Since your senior players played on too long). In fact I'd rather play Lonergan every week at CHB than have to resort to Bowden getting a run.

FWIW the best time to pick up someone else's player is when they're 25-26 a la Ottens.

Edit: to the above poster citing Dew as a good pick-up - look at the make-up of the Hawthorn 22, the majority of them are kids anyway so it doesn't impact their list like it would with ours.

FWIW the best time to pick up someone else's player is when they're 25-26 a la Ottens.

Edit: to the above poster citing Dew as a good pick-up - look at the make-up of the Hawthorn 22, the majority of them are kids anyway so it doesn't impact their list like it would with ours.

Yeah but that's when they cost more, something we don't have room for.

As for Dew - I'm not so sure it's as simple as an age thing as it was there was a hole and they filled it. As long as it's not done en masse (a'la Carlton this decade & Richmond - well forever), it can be alright. Happens in plenty of other sports, sure it could here too.

Yeah but that's when they cost more, something we don't have room for.

As for Dew - I'm not so sure it's as simple as an age thing as it was there was a hole and they filled it. As long as it's not done en masse (a'la Carlton this decade & Richmond - well forever), it can be alright. Happens in plenty of other sports, sure it could here too.

no it wouldn't, because we have this huge block of players on our list with 100-200 games experience already. We really need to give more of our 0-50 game players the experience that would be taken up by Bowden.

OK these are the facts:

Firstly, Geelong has no room in the salary cap, therefore any recruits will need to be paid the mininum wage, i.e not a player who has been around for 200 games. Secondly, as our draft picks are going to be down the order we need as many youngsters coming in as possible. The strike rate gets lower the more you get down the draft and we need to bring in as many youngsters as possible.

It is stupid discussing the merits of bringing in a decent player, but Joel Bowden that is even beyond the realm of stupidity.

Just lock the thread. One of those times where someone doesn't even deserve their opinion.

Bowden is a disgustingly hopeless footballer.

Terry Wallace is available now too. Should we get him a job on the coaching staff while we're stocking up on Richmond discards?

He could go to the same sun bed place Fabio Lord use to go to,so that's no problem for Wallet.Jade Rawlings could be an assistant.Oh wait,Jade needs a chauffer to get to Geelong.Scrap that idea.

Is Greg 'Dodgey' Miller still around ? Surely Frank can find Dodgey a gig at Geelong.

his uncontested game wont equate to our style of play, to old.

I did give plenty of reasons why it probably wont happen. I am again (not surprised) that people really dont understand how it could work. Just to counter some arguments:

• First Joel Bowden is a good footballer, a good back line leader and a fearless competitor. Whilst I know we all like to bag out other footballers the simple fact is his peers rate him and so do I.
  • Second whilst we do need to develop youth (and probably will with the draft thinning) it shouldnt come at the expense of the team winning silverware. There is no use bringing players into the team who arent ready to play. If we were to have large holes in our backline next year, it would be nice to have a proven AA quality defender to fall back on if required.
  • There isnt anything wrong with recycling players if it is done to fill a specific role and the correct price is paid in terms of salary cap and trade. Saints - King, Gardiner. Hawthorn - Dew. Doggies - Aker are all examples of players many thought were washed up or to much trouble who ended up helping their clubs. If we were to get Bowden for pick 70 in the draft and could afford him why is it such a bad move?
The simple fact is the chance of remaining on top as a force will probably not happen by injecting youth alone and the chance of remaining their indefinately will not happen at all.

I cant believe someone brought up the Australian Cricket team as they are the Current World Champions, still hold the Ashes and are the number 1 ranked test team in the world.

What where the selectors meant to do, tell the last crop of players they had to go before the world cup so we could give some youth experience? No, they did the right thing, won the WC, reclaimed the ashes and now have a few years to get the next crop right so we can get another WC!!

They selectors understood that to win games they picked the best possible team to do the job instead of being half arsed and going into matches and tournaments undermanned because they were planning for another tournament that was no more important in the future.

Can people also stop bringing up our "culture" like we are have had our house in order forever and are completely flawless as a club with no need of any outside influence.

I would argue that our ability to successfully recycle players should be greater now than at any time in recent history due to both the on-field and off-field stability of the club.

Put simply I wouldnt rate the "culture" at GFC very highly at all if it were influenced heavily by a recruit from another club.

IF I had a choice, I would not draft Joel Bowden in the November draft or pre season draft.

I would personally draft Benny Cousins if he is delisted by Richmond.

And, I would go on the lookout for a Centre Half Back. I would seriously play a pitch on Matthew Maguire from St Kilda if Matthew Egan cannot play in 2010!!

IF we go for Matthew Maguire, I would seriously trade our draft picks and Mark Blake to the Saints.

That is right!!

Mark Blake to the Saints to be reunited with his mate Steven King.

We will never win a flag with Mark Blake in the side.

IF I had a choice, I would not draft Joel Bowden in the November draft or pre season draft.

I would personally draft Benny Cousins if he is delisted by Richmond.

And, I would go on the lookout for a Centre Half Back. I would seriously play a pitch on Matthew Maguire from St Kilda if Matthew Egan cannot play in 2010!!

IF we go for Matthew Maguire, I would seriously trade our draft picks and Mark Blake to the Saints.

That is right!!

Mark Blake to the Saints to be reunited with his mate Steven King.

We will never win a flag with Mark Blake in the side.

I posted a similar suggestion on another thread, couldnt agree more.
With the sucess of the saints backline atm, Maguire will struggle to get back into their squad, would be a nice addition to our back 6

I did give plenty of reasons why it probably wont happen. I am again (not surprised) that people really dont understand how it could work. Just to counter some arguments:

• First Joel Bowden is a good footballer, a good back line leader and a fearless competitor. Whilst I know we all like to bag out other footballers the simple fact is his peers rate him and so do I.
  • Second whilst we do need to develop youth (and probably will with the draft thinning) it shouldnt come at the expense of the team winning silverware. There is no use bringing players into the team who arent ready to play. If we were to have large holes in our backline next year, it would be nice to have a proven AA quality defender to fall back on if required.
  • There isnt anything wrong with recycling players if it is done to fill a specific role and the correct price is paid in terms of salary cap and trade. Saints - King, Gardiner. Hawthorn - Dew. Doggies - Aker are all examples of players many thought were washed up or to much trouble who ended up helping their clubs. If we were to get Bowden for pick 70 in the draft and could afford him why is it such a bad move?
The simple fact is the chance of remaining on top as a force will probably not happen by injecting youth alone and the chance of remaining their indefinately will not happen at all.

Och, ye had me on the line Scotty until this wee gem. Now I realise you were just burleying the waters.

The fact is the time is now. We have a good team

As someone else noted in the "eat your own" thread it'll never be this good again.

The only point in exclusively giong for youth and kids is if you're on the bottom now. The theory being that because it can't get any worse, you might as well find some young guns and maybe cut a coupe of your better senior players last years. Harsh but at least the media won't bag you for it

That theory doesn't suit the Cats who are at the top and need to look at ways of extending that stay

I reckon the Cats could have a great opportunity to pick up some talent in their last couple of years for a good price. They should only do this if it's going to suit the team with personality and playing style

But the option shouldn't be ruled out entirely

Our backline has been more vulnerable this year. I reckon Bowden is a great suggestion.

And what about Goose McGuire? The Saints surely owe us for King and Gardner and Leigh Tudor
I love the idea of Maguire, Couchy's nephew, but he had a similar problem to Egan and is always injured. When we delist Egan and Tenace and Milburn, Harley retire next year, there is some money and need to top up. Plus, it may take a while for Josh Hunt to get back to his best.

Wouldn't mind Mcguire either providing the club did the correct due dilligence in regards to his injury concerns. Now in his 8th season of league footy he has only played more than 14 games in a season three times which is a bit of a worry. Perhaps not so bad when you consider his first couple of seasons would have been development years but since he broke his leg he hasnt had much luck.

I think the club needs to look at all options but we need to bolster our backline pronto. Mooney can still give us another year, perhaps two and our midfield is pretty solid but our backline is aging fast. Best senario is we get Egan back and can move Taylor to Harleys role and everything is fine. Worst senario is we loose Egan, Harley and Milburn and we find ourselves coming up short next season.

Joel Bowden can have 40 possessions and do nothing with them.. He kicks the ball 15m sideways then tries to get another touch kicks it another 15m backwards. Did you see that game this year where he made some awful clangers going for a bounce and spilling the ball. No way would he play in Geelong's side it is funny to mention it.:thumbsd:

I'm crying now scotty. Please beam me up

FWIW I think Bowden's a reasonably talented player whose worth to the Tigers is underestimated but who lets himself down through work ethic.
Pertinent point bolded. Bowden will never play for Geelong for a LOT of reasons but this is the main one. We would not put up with his lazy bullshit.

If we lost both Milburn and Harley then I don't think it's that bad an idea. That's a lot of experience we'd be losing from our backline and I think we'd still be a big shout at a premeirship.

He picks up cheap possesions and kicks sideways yes but that's not hard to change when you have a coherent game plan and good players arounf you. The guy is and always has been a class player.

Despite what most are saying he has a good work ethic and fantastic disposal and is clearly not soft. I wouldn't be disapointed if we got him for a 3rd round pick and a decent wage.

If we lost both Milburn and Harley then I don't think it's that bad an idea. That's a lot of experience we'd be losing from our backline and I think we'd still be a big shout at a premeirship.

He picks up cheap possesions and kicks sideways yes but that's not hard to change when you have a coherent game plan and good players arounf you. The guy is and always has been a class player.

Despite what most are saying he has a good work ethic and fantastic disposal and is clearly not soft. I wouldn't be disapointed if we got him for a 3rd round pick and a decent wage.

I'm with you Dan. Our premiership window is now. If we were to pick him up for one or two seasons it may extend that window a little longer with the impending losses of both Harley and Milburn.