joel smith

have heard a rumour that were set to offer him a 2 year deal after the scummy hawks gave him the arse. bring him back to the club were it all started i say would add some experience back there to help the two sammys. especially with vossy retiring.

thoughts? any1 else heard it?

not heard it, no.

did not see too much of him but my hawks mates were not happy with his last season. it would have been a great story, but perhaps not the best for our future.

was gutted to see the bloke leave originally.

On one hand you can't really blame him for leaving because he knew he had to miss all of 1998 and suddenly a club come in and offer him a lucrative 3 year deal. For a young guy who had just a suffered a horrific knee injury the security of a long term deal would have been very reassuring. Still, he was a kid that we had put a lot of faith in and there was no doubt that we would have stuck by him.

In any case he's run his race now and we need to look forward.

cant see it happening

This can't be true. If we were going to offer Joel Smith something, it would be a one year contract. Why would we offer someone two years straight away, after being delisted by another club.

have heard a rumour that were set to offer him a 2 year deal after the scummy hawks gave him the arse. bring him back to the club were it all started i say would add some experience back there to help the two sammys. especially with vossy retiring.

thoughts? any1 else heard it?
He's retired so you guys can't. Nice try though

especially after he sat out a whole year with a bung knee while we paid his wage and involved him in football operations......only for him to leave the following year.

That's not true, he sat out the whole year with a bung knee while he was on the Hawthorn payroll!!!! Get your facts right!@#$%. I nearly got a Red Card again.

Yep...what Helen said without the special characters.

Joel had some ripper games this year but some dreadful ones as well! Thought he deserved one more year with the Hawks only because no-one has really stepped up from BoxHill that would replace him.

You are an absolute MUPPET mate!!

"The scummy Hawks" thats the most idiotic thing i have ever heard, Hawthorn has been anything but scummy to good old Smithy! We gave him a lifeline & took a punt on this boy 10 years back when your mob gave him the boot after being injured for 18 months.

If anything we prolonged Smithy afl career a further 10 years where he won All Australian & a club BnF.

Joel Smith retired on his own merit and all credit to him for a stellar career why would he want to go back to a club that had no faith in him & threw him out after he put his body on the line for that club. Joel Smith has retired at the right time and i predict he will walk into VFL footy next year!

You are an absolute MUPPET mate!!

"The scummy Hawks" thats the most idiotic thing i have ever heard, Hawthorn has been anything but scummy to good old Smithy! We gave him a lifeline & took a punt on this boy 10 years back when your mob gave him the boot after being injured for 18 months.

If anything we prolonged Smithy afl career a further 10 years where he won All Australian & a club BnF.

Joel Smith retired on his own merit and all credit to him for a stellar career why would he want to go back to a club that had no faith in him & threw him out after he put his body on the line for that club. Joel Smith has retired at the right time and i predict he will walk into VFL footy next year!

Actually you should get your facts right.

We did not give him the boot at all.

Your club stepped in and offered him a lucrative 3 year deal that proved impossible to resist. We wanted to keep him and I remember Stan Alves being extremely disappointed at the time. He walked out on us. To suggest we had no faith in him is ridiculous.