Coach John Longmire - Part II

• Thread starter Thread starter RW

What should we do about the coaching situation?

So Paul Kelly was wasted talent even in all our awful losses.
Kelly was utilised to his optimum. I think what King is saying is that Buddy hasn't been. The failure isn't in the decision to recruit him. Its in the way he has been utilised in an obsolete game plan. If you drive a Rolls Royce into a ditch don't blame the vehicle.

How many Colemans should he have won with us?

He was recruited for premierships not Colemans. Jury is still out. And Longmire's game plan of playing him up on the wing so he can pass to Kieran Jack who cant kick over 45 metres anymore gives no confidence that we can win one under Longmire.

Well that's your opinion I guess & I won't get into any argument today over it.

He was recruited for premierships not Colemans. Jury is still out. And Longmire's game plan of playing him up on the wing so he can pass to Kieran Jack who cant kick over 45 metres anymore gives no confidence that we can win one under Longmire.
ALL players are recruited for premierships, not just Buddy. This notion that only Buddy was recruited for premierships is as dumb as they come

How do we play him?

We’ve tried keeping him deep this season, and it worked against West Coast, but then one-out became three-out.

Even Clarkson ended up playing him up the ground as basically a massive hybrid flanker.

ALL players are recruited for premierships, not just Buddy. This notion that only Buddy was recruited for premierships is as dumb as they come
Did anyone say that ONLY Buddy was recruited to win a premiership? With respect I think you mean the claim that " Buddy was recruited for a premiership" is trite. Some players particularly champion forwards are recruited with more expectation that they will deliver a premiership than others. Here is another trite statement. Its yet to be delivered.

How do we play him?

We’ve tried keeping him deep this season, and it worked against West Coast, but then one-out became three-out.

Even Clarkson ended up playing him up the ground as basically a massive hybrid flanker.
One out becomes three with slow ball movement. Which is what the current game plan delivers him on average. Hawthorn of those days also played a slow hold and pass game plan. Its obsolete now.

It was a pretty good post from Robbie K. Following the Bloods for umpteen years helped inure me to the downs life can chuck at you.

I guess in my Autumn, now Winter years, the joy the Club has provided over the past 23 years has been unbridled.

My old cricket team's motto was Win nervously, lose tragically. I cannot but think it is apt for how I see the Bloods at the moment.

The Mule's coaching and selection leads inexorably to heart in mouth games.

Through good management the Club has a terrific list. The wheel of injury fortune has hit us this year, but I still think we should better than 4-3 at the moment.

I don't judge Buddy's recruitment by the absence of Premierships with our mob or any other player (though I am still critical of BBBH's lack of composure in the 2006 GF v the coked up Weasels). I judge Franklin's recruitment by the contribution and effort he makes in every game he plays for us. In my view he has been an unqualified success.

Did anyone say that ONLY Buddy was recruited to win a premiership? With respect I think you mean the claim that " Buddy was recruited for a premiership" is trite. Some players particularly champion forwards are recruited with more expectation that they will deliver a premiership than others. Here is another trite statement. Its yet to be delivered.
Buddy is our best player. He has also been one of our most consistent performers in both the H& season and finals. If we've been in frame for a premiership since signing him (which we have) he has played a huge part of that.

The notion that champion players deliver premierships is trite. Champion teams deliver premierships.

Buddy is our best player. He has also been one of our most consistent performers in both the H& season and finals. If we've been in frame for a premiership since signing him (which we have) he has played a huge part of that.

The notion that champion players deliver premierships is trite. Champion teams deliver premierships.

Wish I could treble like that post. Maybe our Mods could look at setting up a "Pure Gold" thread and repost gold contributions like that of Bloody Swan's.

Mate I feel like the strawman in the Wizard of Oz. Did I say that champion players deliver premierships? Buddy was recruited into a champion side. We had just won a premiership. Usually in those circumstances premierships follow. Not yet apparently.

Wish I could treble like that post. Maybe our Mods could look at setting up a "Pure Gold" thread and repost gold contributions like that of Bloody Swan's.
Or maybe they could establish the " I will make a strawman and then knock the stupid bastard over" thread.

Having a bit of a problem with the technology. But in reply to Robbie. Mate please don't equate critical football discussion with being a weak supporter. If we become hopeless like the toffs I will be where I have been for the past 68 years. Supporting the Bloods through some of the worst and longest periods of defeats, drubbings, thrashings, rogerings and pantsings. Its really silly to equate educated football discussion with defeatism.

Look I respect this but so much of it (the criticism) is simply uneducated.

"No Plan B".

"Our gamestyle is rubbish".

It's all just cliche ridden crap.The football world was falling over itself in masturbatory joy about Essendon 8 weeks ago and look where that has wound up.

Footy is bloody hard. It's supposed to be. This fast, spectacular footy that everyone seems to want is very easy (in relative terms) to stop. And it rarely results in success.

It's a long season. You hope to win more games than you lose and come into finals with a strong and fit list. As it stands we have our 3 best talls watching, as well as a key defender and a key midfielder. Richmond, who everyone seems to think are the next Hawthorn, have a couple of rookies injured. That's the difference.

It's a game of inches. Papley kicks that goal and we are 5-2. Anyone would take that with our injury list and draw.

Mate I feel like the strawman in the Wizard of Oz. Did I say that champion players deliver premierships? Buddy was recruited into a champion side. We had just won a premiership. Usually in those circumstances premierships follow. Not yet apparently.

I often agree with your posts and views on how our Club is going. However on this issue I do not. While you are not the Strawman, we had already recruited the Tinman at the end of 2012.

Since 2012, the Club has made heaps of player trades, delistings and trade decisions. Some have been sensible or terrific; others not so.

I am now more convinced than ever the Buddy recruitment has been terrific for our Club.

I often agree with your posts and views on how our Club is going. However on this issue I do not. While you are not the Strawman, we had already recruited the Tinman at the end of 2012.

Since 2012, the Club has made heaps of player trades, delistings and trade decisions. Some have been sensible or terrific; others not so.

I am now more convinced than ever the Buddy recruitment has been terrific for our Club.

It’s been great because he has managed to cover up the shit game plan a lot

By media...history... supporters

Media: I literally could not care less what that motley mob of idiot ex-players (a high number of which are suffering through the early stages of CTE) and Damien Barretts think.

History: history is actually pretty kind to the great ‘almost’ teams, imo. With distance comes clarity.

Supporters: not this one.

It’s been great because he has managed to cover up the shit game plan a lot

Our Game Plan is as old as Methuselah. The Game Plan is an ancient insect swallowed in amber. The insect is stuck there, a bit like our attempts to move the ball out of defence. It is entirely unpredictable

The genius of Buddy is that he both adheres to and supercedes the Game Plan at the same time. He is as unpredictable and joyful as our Game Plan is not. The manner in which he plays encourages the expression of skills in others.

Thesis: Unimaginative predictable Game Plan
Antithesis: Buddy's organised anarchy
Synthesis: Joyful success.

Media: I literally could not care less what that motley mob of idiot ex-players (a high number of which are suffering through the early stages of CTE) and Damien Barretts think.

History: history is actually pretty kind to the great almost-ran teams, imo. With distance comes clarity.

Supporters: not this one.

Media I agree but that will be the driving narrative although will be too busy on academies

History time will tell but I think the reason the lynch deal for instance was a success is because at the back end he was a key part of the 3 peat, history will say Sydney took a big gamble paying 9 years at big cash.

How it goes will depend on wether he lasts and how guys who left went

Supporters I suspect we have a lot of supporters in Sydney especially happy to sit and watch buddy kick goals and enjoy it so perhaps you are right

I think and know plenty who will be disappointed that the list from 2013 to today with the elite talent and some of this clubs greatest players could not get it done

That doesn’t mean you don’t support the club

I mean win the spoon every year still getting my membership dollars and always will

Nothing on bud at all he has done his part unlike some recruits

I agree Buddy has been terrific for the club. He has boosted membership and interest in the barbarian dominated land of NRL. But football is not just show business. He was brought here to put a very very good team over the edge and into a run of premierships. On recruitment of Buddy we already before his recruitment had a team good enough to play off in a Grand Final. That wasn't expectation but fact. Why do you think that arse clown Fitzpatrick went ballistic when we recruited him? Which by the way was probably the greatest recruiting coup in the history of the game and hats tipped to Ireland and Colless. The grubs running the AFL went mad because on any reasonable expectation with the list we had we could expect a run of premierships with that team given the added brilliance and goal scoring power of the best forward in at least a generation. It hasn't happened. Our club so long the worst administered club in the history of Australian football had pulled off the greatest recruiting move in the history of the game. Off the paddock we have played a blinder. Not so much on it. Reasonably questions are asked. Attention focuses on the on field utilization of Buddy. Spotlight on the coach.