heartbroken

I was sitting behind the goals on Sat where a couple of the Richmond boys were sitting. At the end of the game, JON walked past me. My observations:

-very wiry (he needs another 2-3 preseasons) and tall. I think my lower leg is thicker than his upper leg. Would be interested in knowing whether he is 188cm or whether he has grown since we recruited him.

-was walking with a very noticeable limp. Anyone know what is wrong with him?

I would not be expecting JON to do anything more than be a bit player in 5-10 games this year.

Don't worry he is a freak talent with class.

His superior reading of the play suits him for CHB in the future and his leadership and quality character are great assets on the field.

The kid doesn't even have a drop of alcohol with the rest of the players. He is a professional athlete with a football brain.

He also had excellent goal sense and is an Adam Goodes style utility, could play midfield, wing, CHB, forward or anywhere.

You can watch him in action here.

I was sitting behind the goals on Sat where a couple of the Richmond boys were sitting. At the end of the game, JON walked past me. My observations:

-very wiry (he needs another 2-3 preseasons) and tall. I think my lower leg is thicker than his upper leg. Would be interested in knowing whether he is 188cm or whether he has grown since we recruited him.

I would not be expecting JON to do anything more than be a bit player in 5-10 games this year.

great :( i think he had shin splints or stress fractures(or the beginning of) in his lower leg for most of the pre-season

It will be a couple of years before we know for sure I reckon.

One thing that I did like in a couple of games for Coburg was his willingness to back into packs. I don't remember courage being one of his selling points but he seems to have some.

Ofcourse he showed courage doing his shoulder in the seniors last year but he will need another 10kg before he can do that on a regular basis.

shocking pickup

is nothing more than a hb flanker who can take a strong grab and show some run out of defence, kicking is horrible

no doubt the kid might turn out good but he will never be a midfielder which is what we needed with pick 8 and stuffed it

he just copped a knock to the shins, nothing serious.
agree with benny, his reading of the play in the backline is wonderful but he really needs to work on his disposal.

shocking pickup

is nothing more than a hb flanker who can take a strong grab and show some run out of defence, kicking is horrible

no doubt the kid might turn out good but he will never be a midfielder which is what we needed with pick 8 and stuffed it
yep was gutted we didnt take hurn aklthough he played his footy of hb. or marcus drum a really well rounded footballer.
on jon he has good pace excellent agility and is very evasive. what i saw of him he mainly played outside and his skills were adequate. to me he was always a wing hbf i see nothing to change that.
i will also say i have an aversion to useing 1st round picks on super skinny hbf types. give me the bigger bodied well rounded safe bet types anyday.

yeh i reckon higgins will be a player but i wouldnt want him

hurn/jones/clark etc would of set us up nicely

shocking pickup

u r so fos!!!

he was a gr8 pick, and will be a star. u have no idea and he will make u eat ur words!!!

pessimistic pri k !!!

Jarrad's a great kid. He will be a very very good player for the RFC. I would say he has grown to nearly 190cm and has added a bit of bulk, but no doubt needs more. I watched him playing for Coburg last year and his courage shocked me. I dont want to sterio type but when you think tall skinny aboriginal you usually dont think of courage and leadership and Jarrad has both.

JON is another type of player that will definitely take a few years of development before we start to see some return on investment.

Unfortunately the RFC seem to love these types, such as Tambling, Meyer and Edwards, so we won't see much initially. These players are all high picks, yet need 3+ years development.

Yes Hurn/Jones/Clark can turn it on now, but don't judge the effectiveness of these types until they have the proper development behind them. These players haven't even got the proper body yet, so give them some slack.

Jarrad's a great kid. He will be a very very good player for the RFC. I would say he has grown to nearly 190cm and has added a bit of bulk, but no doubt needs more. I watched him playing for Coburg last year and his courage shocked me. I dont want to sterio type but when you think tall skinny aboriginal you usually dont think of courage and leadership and Jarrad has both.

I don't think the racial comment is necessary. You could name heaps of skinny white kids who lack those qualities too.

u r so fos!!!

he was a gr8 pick, and will be a star. u have no idea and he will make u eat ur words!!!

pessimistic pri k !!!

tissue?

all i said was when you have a pick 8 you either want a top 5 kpp or top 5 midfielder

we got neither :thumbsd:

You maybe ! You've just undone your disclaimer

David Bourke and Ray Hall for starters.

Most of the kids who hang around with their skateboards down at the mall.

You want more?

Why should I? I wasnt asking you.
My comment was not racist.

I'm not saying that you're a horrible person but most stereotypes are racist
especially when they talk about such intangible things as courage.

We all do it to some degree, 40 years of DNA testing is just about to put the lid on a fact that yours ,or my DNA has the same chance of being closer to an indigenous Australian as it would be to someone whose heritage is from the same place as us.
It is pseudo-scientific race theory used to justify slavery and colonialism that still lives and makes us believe that there are fundamental differences. There are not.

I don't mean this to be a personal attack on you just thought you might like to know

Few players have excellent courage and leadership skills.

Because there is a much smaller percent of aboribinies than 'skinny white kids' then obvously there will be a smaller percentage with the combination "courageous, leadership and aboriginal".

There is no correlation, there are less simply because there are less aboriginal players to start with!

Even if there was a slight difference in the ratio of courage/leadership to non those things, it wouldn't be due to race. Maybe body type or upbringing if you had to find something, and this applies to everyone.

About racists, did you know that EVERYBODY is unconciously a little bit racist? You don't even know it. I will find the website and post it here tonight and you will prove it to yourself through testing.

Our society has successfully changed it's culture to "everyone is equal" and I believe 99% of people legitimatelly (Conciously) are not racist and do not act racist.

No need for knee jerk responses though such as "there was no need to make that comment" it is not a taboo subject and it merely highlights a degree of sensitivity that is still in the air.

I don't think the racial comment is necessary. You could name heaps of skinny white kids who lack those qualities too.

It's not racist, just not well thought out.

THere is a reason why there are less aboriginal kids with courage and leadership.

That reason is simply because of the ratio which is in favour of 'white kids' and that is all. Percentage wise it's probably the same amount (Maybe 1 in 10 players have this quality)

It is also a fact that there are more white kids who lack courage and lack leadership, not because of their race, but being in the majority thre will be more.