ImperialPurple

In it for the long haul
SFFC, Aussie Women's Cricket, HNK
Kicked 7 to follow his bag from last week. Has single-handedly (almost) got the Lions back to being competitive again. Was the reason for convincing wins last week and again this week.

Freo travel to Brisbane to take on the Lions next week.

Which poor sod gets given the news from the coaching staff during the week that he's playing on Brown? And why?

I reckon it will be Grover for sure,held Thompson goaless yesterday,Groves will be licking his chops at this opportunity.

Watched the replay - it wasn't just Brown; Bradshaw kicked 6, and Luke Power ran amok through the middle.

Already feeling nervous about this one.... :(

ImperialPurple said:
Watched the replay - it wasn't just Brown; Bradshaw kicked 6, and Luke Power ran amok through the middle.

Already feeling nervous about this one.... :(

Oh for the love of god they had to pick the ONE game to hit their form for.

This is a massive test of where we're at. But f*** we'd better not lose. I've never seen Freo win when I've been at the ground and I'll be damned if that streak doesn't end this Sunday :mad:

I log on to Bigfooty and find this thread,

I am sure you read my mind IP.

I watched the Port Brissie game on TV and was cursing Port for running them back into form. :(

A week IS a long time in footy.

Might be a job (on Brown) for the "new" Polly.

One Melee will probably get Luke Power.

I'm actually more worried about Lukey Power.

Ripper, Port didn't play them into form, just lulled them into a false sense of security. Well that's what I'm hoping anyway.

RIPPER_46 said:
I log on to Bigfooty and find this thread,

I am sure you read my mind IP.

I watched the Port Brissie game on TV and was cursing Port for running them back into form. :(

A week IS a long time in footy.

Might be a job (on Brown) for the "new" Polly.

One Melee will probably get Luke Power.

Who does Magic get? I'd suspect Action Man will take Bradshaw. Mundy on Brennan. Thornton on McGrath (rotate with Parker). Does Magic get the job of his life on Brown? Does good ol Grover, giving away size and strength, take Brown? Does Thornton come into it and go for 3/4 other power CHF's tieing down (Riewoldt and Tredrea taken - Brown and Hall to go).

Does MJ get the resting ruckman who drifts forward in Charman or Beau?

The midfield who lines up with Power and who lines up on Black. Aker is due for a huge performance at home. I'm interested in hearing a couple of theories.

hoss said:

Ripper, Port didn't play them into form, just lulled them into a false sense of security. Well that's what I'm hoping anyway.

I'm more worried about Black and Aker. Black looks to be getting back into form, Aker due after the controversy and is back on home soil. Power is an issue. Will Schammer stay in and go into the midfield to match an Akermanis or a Power?

Kapow!!! said:
Who does Magic get? I'd suspect Action Man will take Bradshaw. Mundy on Brennan. Thornton on McGrath (rotate with Parker). Does Magic get the job of his life on Brown? Does good ol Grover, giving away size and strength, take Brown? Does Thornton come into it and go for 3/4 other power CHF's tieing down (Riewoldt and Tredrea taken - Brown and Hall to go).

Does MJ get the resting ruckman who drifts forward in Charman or Beau?

The midfield who lines up with Power and who lines up on Black. Aker is due for a huge performance at home. I'm interested in hearing a couple of theories.

Good questions , all of them. One thing we do have are plenty of options.

Watching the game , we will need to be on the ball at the stopages as many times Brisbane set up a goal from a fast, clean clearance.

Being Fremantle supporters we know winning away can take it out of your team both mentally and physically . Brisbane have done a Freo, travelled and won unexpectedly. They arn't the team they once were. We will be fresh and firing. Our last 12 months have shown we are no easybeats on the road. We have had a few historical wins no reason we cannot continue the trend. If medhurst and macca are included we'll have more fresh legs.

To be honest I reckon the game after will be more of a worry.

hoss said:

to be honest Lions were ok just the power were crapp....

As for Brown - Grower to play on him with someone told to stand infront of him....and

Johnson on Bradshaw - with the free man to help both out also

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
Matty Carr on Simon Black, Josh Carr on Power.

Have a look at Brissie's defence and tell me who is going to pick up Pavlich, Medhurst, Murphy etc.

medhiurst wont be back...wiz will be playing....

kanabar said:
medhiurst wont be back...wiz will be playing....

And who will take Luke Mac's spot ? You don't roll an ankle, then miss a half of footy only to back up the following week.

Stick GHD inside fifty as a marking option . The guy is overdue a bag of goals, and this is an opportunity that he must grab.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
Matty Carr on Simon Black, Josh Carr on Power.

Have a look at Brissie's defence and tell me who is going to pick up Pavlich, Medhurst, Murphy etc.

Pav is a hard one for them, Michael might stand him if close to goal. Bradshaw is always an option if Pav dominates, but they'd want him up forward.

Young Roe looks a likely type and quite mobile. Maybe an option if Pav starts pushing up the ground. Michael might then get Murphy if he's up forward, tough gig for our guy.

Someone like Adcock might have a crack at our small forwards. Copeland if fit is another option. He annoys the hell out of his opponents, might try to get under the Wiz's skin.

I think it is similar to our problems down the other end - both teams have sort-of reasonable options in defence, but both sets of forwards look better on paper. I think they have slightly better defensive match-ups than us. But it again comes down to the middle and delivery inside 50.

Alfonz said:
Pav is a hard one for them, Michael might stand him if close to goal. Bradshaw is always an option if Pav dominates, but they'd want him up forward.

Young Roe looks a likely type and quite mobile. Maybe an option if Pav starts pushing up the ground. Michael might then get Murphy if he's up forward, tough gig for our guy.

Someone like Adcock might have a crack at our small forwards. Copeland if fit is another option. He annoys the hell out of his opponents, might try to get under the Wiz's skin.

I think it is similar to our problems down the other end - both teams have sort-of reasonable options in defence, but both sets of forwards look better on paper. I think they have slightly better defensive match-ups than us. But it again comes down to the middle and delivery inside 50.

There's a bit of talk (mainly from an unreliable source in my brother) that Roe will definately go with Pavlich.

Copeland should tie Wizz down to a few dummy spits and a couple of 50's. Micheal will either get Murphy or Longmuir/Polak depending on who's in the ruck. Either way on paper it doesn't look good.

Kapow!!! said:
Who does Magic get? I'd suspect Action Man will take Bradshaw. Mundy on Brennan. Thornton on McGrath (rotate with Parker). Does Magic get the job of his life on Brown? Does good ol Grover, giving away size and strength, take Brown? Does Thornton come into it and go for 3/4 other power CHF's tieing down (Riewoldt and Tredrea taken - Brown and Hall to go)..

Grover > Brown
Parker > Bradshaw (if forward)
Thornton > Brennan
Mundy (loose man)
Schammer > (small forward)

Dodd > Power
Carr > Black

Mal Michael is gonna get torched in this one, if he goes to Pav or McPharlin they will run him around the ground. Not a matchup for him..

murphy ff if no elvis,grover or thorton on brown and brennan ,parker on bradshaw,mj spare man.will they rest jlo its humid and maybe a soft ground,a tough game for a player trying to overcome a knee problem.

Grover and Parker are the only options for Brown, the other boys just don't have the beef. What we really need is Sir Robert up and running.

If McPharlin is fit, you guys don't like the idea of playing McPharlin back on Brown?? McPharlin has a really good record against Brown when they used to match up in the 2002/2003 era.

Vipertooth said:
Dont be foolish lions will beat freo, but we will lose to collingwood the next week :(

Such arrogance is expected of West Coast supporters. Strewth even this arrogance is expected from Brisbane of 2001-2003 yet never was found. Yet, when you're 3-5 after flogging a self admitted crap side you've popped out of nowhere and talking finals. This is just woeful for a once proud club such as yours.

I should know, I live in a house of Lions supporters and they're furious at how arrogant these Lions supporters have gotten. Wise up or get out the knives and forks for a possible dish of humble pie.

Lions should win as you're in form but to say they will and to start anticpating the next week as though you've already won is unacceptable from any supporter.