Eddie19

Norwood, Nets, Bucs, Ducks, Liverpool
Its in the papers that he is likely to go to port what do you guys reckon hes worth maybe we could get their no 5 pick if we add houlihan whats your thoughts?

i wouldnt trade houlihan alot of people think hes weak ect ect but it doesnt matter hes a good player with good skill. So now Jordan Russell wants to go well were starting to sound like the brisbane lions , but it doesnt matter alot of people have talked jordan russell up on this site but i dont see what all the hype about him is never appealed to me but if we were to trade him then id be asking for abit because everyone else seems to rate him highly .. exept me :S .. what do you guys think we can get for him ..

Nobody is going to give up anything decent for him in this years draft. The best we could hope for would be a second rounder and frankly I would rather keep him then take a punt on a 50/50 pick.

Im not sold on Russell.

Like many others i had high hopes for him at the start of the season, but i havnt seen very much to be impressed about.

Seriously doubting weather or not he can cut it AFL level. Just doesnt seem hard enough at the footy or enough grunt in general.

If we could offload two of our soft players (houlihan and russel) for a pick 5...well you'd have to be temped.

I reckon he can cut it given time. Seems to have good pace and skill, but he hasn't shown an ounce of commitment to the club.

He can go. It was a stupid selection to begin with.

Funkalicous said:
I reckon he can cut it given time. Seems to have good pace and skill, but he hasn't shown an ounce of commitment to the club.

yea we should have got Danyle Pearce instead or somebody else thats better but i gues you just never know with the draft do you

FieryNayta said:
Im not sold on Russell.

Like many others i had high hopes for him at the start of the season, but i havnt seen very much to be impressed about.

Seriously doubting weather or not he can cut it AFL level. Just doesnt seem hard enough at the footy or enough grunt in general.

If we could offload two of our soft players (houlihan and russel) for a pick 5...well you'd have to be temped.
i would take that trade any day of the week...princess is an above average player who will not win us games...russell just doesn't seem to handle the rigours and pace of AFL too well...gimme pick 5 and i'll drive them to port.

I don't mind trading Russel. He's soft and doesn't appear passionate about the club.

I think we will most likely get their second rounder or maybe if we were extremely lucky we could get a young victorian like Chaplain. To do this though we would probably have to throw in a third rounder. I would also love Salopek but I doubt they'd trade him even if we did throw in a good pick. Fabien Deluca could also be an option.

Eddie19 said:
Its in the papers that he is likely to go to port what do you guys reckon hes worth maybe we could get their no 5 pick if we add houlihan whats your thoughts?

Which papers mate? Could you please post a link.

Russell and Houlihan for pick 5? :eek:

That is nearly as good as the Hawthorn supporter wanting Salopek for Harry Miller.

Houlihan should be kept, has experience which we lack and is better than what people give him credit for. Russel doesn't go hard enough of the footy, probably needs time like Simpson did, but I don't remember Simpson ever being soft regardless of his weight. Wouldn't be overly fussed if hes traded, but it will have to be a decent trade.

Could be a potential 3 way trade involving Port, Freo and Carlton.

Carlton >>>>> Russell
Fremantle>>>> Polak
Port Adelaide>>>>> 2nd round pick (23?)

Polak>>>>>>>> Carlton
pick 23>>>>>> Fremantle
Russell>>>>>> Port Adelaide

Anyone object to that?

Funkalicous said:

Carlton >>>>> Russell
Fremantle>>>> Polak

Polak>>>>>>>> Carlton
pick 23>>>>>> Fremantle

Anyone object to that?
Works for me, but I'm prepared to be patient with Russell. I'm hoping he won't always **** himself when the heat's on.

Funkalicous said:

Carlton >>>>> Russell
Fremantle>>>> Polak

Polak>>>>>>>> Carlton
pick 23>>>>>> Fremantle

Anyone object to that?
I'm up for it...

We dont want people at the club who are sooks and wusses...

So we piss off Thornton to the Hawks and Russel to Port... get pick 15 from the hawks for T-Bird and the trade above for Russel and I reckon that we are in a good position there...

Funkalicous said:

How so?

Wayne has done a good job picking alot of the Victorian born players for the Dockers and does his homework so I think we should give the kid a go like Rhys87 suggested. I think he'll show a similar level of improvement to Simpson and we shouldn't accept anything less than a pick that would get an O'Brien.

Cypher, I was on the Monfries bandwagon in the 2004 draft. I couldn't believe we overlooked him for Russell, and I've held a grudge ever since.

I know he's your boy though. Just like T-Bird was mine. :(

Take it easy on Russell he has only been at the club for 2 years and has enormous potential as a half back flanker with his pace and disposal and to call him a wuss after 1 or 2 bad games with Carlton is crap, if any of you watched Bullants games during the year you would see he is not a wuss and was playing really good footy at the end of the year and especially in the Finals. Look at Brendan Goddard everyone was bagging him and calling him soft after his first couple of seasons at the saints and now with more game time under his belt he is becoming a champion, give Jordan the time to prove himself not everyone is a Marc Murphy that can step up and play seniors straight away. No Trade:thumbsd:

murphster said:
Take it easy on Russell he has only been at the club for 2 years and has enormous potential as a half back flanker with his pace and disposal and to call him a wuss after 1 or 2 bad games with Carlton is crap, if any of you watched Bullants games during the year you would see he is not a wuss and was playing really good footy at the end of the year and especially in the Finals. Look at Brendan Goddard everyone was bagging him and calling him soft after his first couple of seasons at the saints and now with more game time under his belt he is becoming a champion, give Jordan the time to prove himself not everyone is a Marc Murphy that can step up and play seniors straight away. No Trade:thumbsd:
If he wants to stay, sign on the dotted line thanks...

I would prefer to see good players staying with us than waiting until the end of their contracts and then saying that they want to go...

Brereton praised him after a couple of good efforts against Hawthorn where he kept getting up or providing a contest so I wouldn't say he's soft. I think he's just being developed the wrong way by Pagan so he is low on confidence and he might not be happy with the man in charge. ;)

That Croad hit shook him up badly and it must be hell trying to come back and impress Pagan by playing 3 quarters of a game on the bench. He shows great voice in the VFL so I think he is a leader and I fear we will be badly burnt if we let him go cheaply. I feel he'll be better than Massie who is a similar size but he has the ability and pace to play on ball and push forward to kick goals on the run.

That was another trade that bit us on the bum and I'm fearing a similar result if we trade him. :mad:

Thornton is hard to replace and his loss will hurt us next year, but I think losing JR will hurt us more down the track than a player who can only play in defence.

I'm 50/50 with Russell right at the moment. If he doesn't want to play for Carlton and he wants to go back to Adelaide, then we should try to do the best deal with Port or the Crows.

I don't want a player at Carlton that doesn't want to wear the Navy Blue.