borgy

Oct 24, 2006
J.R Parsons Reserve
I wouldnt mind some thoughts on him.

Can he do what Roe did last year and fire?

Will he be a regular that we can count on to play 22 games?

Is he worth $319,400?

A bit of info from North fans will be much appreciated:thumbsu:

Roe did what he did from about $90k didn't he? Starting at $319k is a much bigger gamble.

I'd go for Polak of the two, especially with all the injured big men at Punt Rd. at the moment.

I wouldnt mind some thoughts on him.

Can he do what Roe did last year and fire?

Will he be a regular that we can count on to play 22 games?

Is he worth $319,400?

A bit of info from North fans will be much appreciated:thumbsu:

Best thing happened to Gibson was Hay retiring he will be the Birchall, Swan, Pearce of this year heaps of natural ability nice kick of the footy has some toe with kanga's change of gameplan he runs the ball through back line gather 3 to 4 possies before actually not being in the play link up man handball recieves will be high which mean extra points

Polak should rate around 80-90 this year.

Gibson is very inconsistent and not very good.

Typical Richmond supporter, what makes Polak more consistent than Gibson, let alone a 80-90 player, I suppose Schulz will be the same?

I am not going to say Schulz will be great, but he will rate higher than last year as his aerobic capacity has gotten bigger and he is able to run games out more than last year, I am not saying he will rate very highly though, but he will rate higher.

What makes Polak more consistent is the fact that he was a No.4 pick in the original superdraft, picked right after Judd, Gibson was a Rookie, so instantly that would put Polak on more of a pedestal considering Gibson hasnt done much in his carrer and neither has Polak, but with a change of club and gaurenteed gametime Polak is a certainty to score at least 60-70, I saw 80-90 because I have seen him over the summer and he looks in excellent physical shape, he can play both back and forward and he doesnt have to play as a defender or marking forward, he can be a sweeping defender or a running forward.

I am not going to say Schulz will be great, but he will rate higher than last year as his aerobic capacity has gotten bigger and he is able to run games out more than last year, I am not saying he will rate very highly though, but he will rate higher.

What makes Polak more consistent is the fact that he was a No.4 pick in the original superdraft, picked right after Judd, Gibson was a Rookie, so instantly that would put Polak on more of a pedestal considering Gibson hasnt done much in his carrer and neither has Polak, but with a change of club and gaurenteed gametime Polak is a certainty to score at least 60-70, I saw 80-90 because I have seen him over the summer and he looks in excellent physical shape, he can play both back and forward and he doesnt have to play as a defender or marking forward, he can be a sweeping defender or a running forward.

Firstly, good by you for not being a sook whe someone challenges you.
I will say however that draft picks lose their relevance after a few years, I mean Goodes was taken in the forties where as some real stinkers were taken in the top 5. Wont Polak have to play accountable footy, in your thin defence, if (god forbid) something were to happen to Gaspar he would probably have to play on the best forward each week, what Im saying is that this year more than ever accountable defenders are going to have a rough time compared to loose men, due to the new hands in the back rule, and the quality of most teams forward lines.

Firstly, good by you for not being a sook whe someone challenges you.
I will say however that draft picks lose their relevance after a few years, I mean Goodes was taken in the forties where as some real stinkers were taken in the top 5. Wont Polak have to play accountable footy, in your thin defence, if (god forbid) something were to happen to Gaspar he would probably have to play on the best forward each week, what Im saying is that this year more than ever accountable defenders are going to have a rough time compared to loose men, due to the new hands in the back rule, and the quality of most teams forward lines.
True.

But Bowden managed to get good possesion games last year while being accountable, in all bar about 3 or 4 games Joel was a good possesion getter.

Polak is very much like Bowden in that he knows when to go off his man and when to hold back.

And hopefully some of our kids can help Polak out if Gaspar were to go down, we have Thursfield who you Swans supporters would remember vividly, and we also have Luke McGuane who could step up according to his destructive effort of Brad Miller against Melbourne absolutley stopped him from moving.

There are a couple of player who might take points away from him with there backline possesion, but Polak would be a very good investment, Gibson just aint that great, he is a massive bloke but doesnt have a whole lot of skill to put with his size.

gibson is a gun, will blossom this year. I would put my house on him scoring more points then polak. he scored 149 points in the last nab game, he has cemented the possie as a rebounding defender and that is where the points are.

You would have to be mental to get Gibson at $320,000

There are even a few Roos players much cheaper in the backs who have as much chance at cementing a spot this year.

Last season the kangaroos had a very slow defence and could'nt set up plays very well.....who will make the difference this year with laidleys new game plan ??? ( gotta admit i respect laidley alot ) i hope he gets a good run with the roos cos he's got potential to be in the coaching business for 20 years plus !!!

you lost me at....i respect laidley alot

LOL.... I respect him for his attitude towards youth !!! he came to the roo's during a tough time. I hope they let him grow the team over the next few years !!!

Josh Gibson