Louie22

Josh Kennedy should play his first game this week after another impressive performance in the VFL.

What a forward line we are going to have

Kennedy, Whitnall, Waite

Fisher, Fevola, Betts

Everyone talks about the collingwood Forward line but potentially our forward
could be just as good.

Collingwood will be favourite to win but i have a feeling the match will be close.

one of our weaknesses is we don't have any front and square forwards. betts has kicked about 2 goals for the year. not good enough. that forward line you have there is far to top heavy imo.

Kooley said:
one of our weaknesses is we don't have any front and square forwards. betts has kicked about 2 goals for the year. not good enough. that forward line you have there is far to top heavy imo.

Good point. Might be worthwhile rotating Simpson down there - lots of pace, and deadly in front of goals. Looking forward to Josh playing next week - he's already pretty big. From what I've seen in the VFL not only does he have lots of ability, he's got a natural instinct for doing the team things, like apply defensive pressure and blocks etc. He'll learn heaps from lance and Fev. Have a feeling we'll beat the Pies next week, who are grossly over-rated by the Media. :)

Kooley said:

Lappin?

If Walker takes his role as the sweeper/runner out of the backline can we chuck him forward for this role. Sometimes I think I'm the only one who remembers how devastating this guy could be up forward. He did kick 5 in a final against Adelaide once!

iluvparis said:
Lappin?

If Walker takes his role as the sweeper/runner out of the backline can we chuck him forward for this role. Sometimes I think I'm the only one who remembers how devastating this guy could be up forward. He did kick 5 in a final against Adelaide once!

I agree it is an option. You get the feeling Denis is always frightened our defence will entirely capitulate, and is therefore reluctant to move either Lance or Lappin to the forward line. He's was even playing Eddie Betts and Simpson down there on Friday against the Tiges. :)

iluvparis said:
Lappin?

Lappin is butching the ball in the backline. Time to move him forward again.

Timed a trip up to Bendigo to see family and dropped in on a beautiful regional ground to have a look at the Bullants and in particular Kennedy and Bower.

It was a wet greasy night that didn't suit forwards. Kennedy tried his but off, kept leading and most impressively kept contesting and chasing. He worked really hard and played nearly a full game. I look forward to seeing him after a full year in the gym. I wouldn't expect him to tear any games apart when he gets a go but you could see a determination to try, try and keep trying. Took a couple of nice contested grabs. Kicked a few and had a shot at one stage from a long way out with a wet greasy ball and although missed got the distance no worries. Looks a great prospect for the future but lets not put too much pressure on him now.

Bower didn't do too much wrong, he could have tackled more as it was that type of game. He showed good pace and footskills and was sporting a great Fro. He beat his man no worries and tried to offer a lot to run off half back. He wasn't honored too often as the ball was that greasy that they just had to get it on boot and bang it forward. Liked the look of him.

Our kids showed a lot more than Essendon's listed juniors which was a positive for us and a concern for them. Not that I'm concerned one bit.

Gentleman, where we lost the game on Friday night was the midfield.
Our midfield got carved up. You can have the best forwards running around all night but if the midfield isn't supplying the ball properly or getting the pill you can kiss your winning score good bye.

SurreyBlue said:
Gentleman, where we lost the game on Friday night was the midfield.
Our midfield got carved up. You can have the best forwards running around all night but if the midfield isn't supplying the ball properly or getting the pill you can kiss your winning score good bye.

Totally agree with you there, can't argue with that one. I think this young Josh Kennedy is going to be an absolute champion for the Carlton Footy Club but we have to give him time. Like any new recruit at any club, you can't expect them to star straight away and stuff. The bloody media have to always put so much pressure onto them - as seen with #1 pick Marc Murphy. It'll take at least 2 or 3 seasons before he really starts to take games at the scruff of the neck. He'll develop and get even better in time. Lots of work in the gym bulking up, keeping real fit and getting some games at AFL level but developing his game mainly in the VFL with Carlton's affiliate club the Northern Bullants.

Louie22 said:
Josh Kennedy should play his first game this week after another impressive performance in the VFL.

What a forward line we are going to have

Kennedy, Whitnall, Waite

Fisher, Fevola, Betts

Everyone talks about the collingwood Forward line but potentially our forward
could be just as good.

Collingwood will be favourite to win but i have a feeling the match will be close.

Should be a high scoring game coz both teams have crap defences.

no. 4 said:
Should be a high scoring game coz both teams have crap defences.

Haha, Collingwood are in the top 5 teams in terms of defense.

The reason why weve been good this year is because our forward line has functioned and thats what was lacking last year. Our backline has always been solid.

Carlton will only beat us if they rise to the occasion like they always do but on paper this is a comfortable win for the pies!

Josh Kennedy WILL play this week,

Silky said:
Haha, Collingwood are in the top 5 teams in terms of defense.

The reason why weve been good this year is because our forward line has functioned and thats what was lacking last year. Our backline has always been solid.

Carlton will only beat us if they rise to the occasion like they always do but on paper this is a comfortable win for the pies!

dirk pitt said:
Lappin is butching the ball in the backline. Time to move him forward again.

Agreed. For a bloke who's normally pretty reliable by foot, his kicking has been terrible lately.

it be good to see Josh Kennedy he should have a good game against the Pies good time for a debut ;) wonder if nathan Buckly will get Injured like he did last time when he did his hami no buckley no Collingwood
it will be fevola v Rocca Show ;) .

if their was one team i'd like to see Carlton beat is Collingwood more then anyother side in the afl :) even more then Essendon can;t wait for that clash :) and i bet there be heaps of boos to campo if he plays for Essendon hope he gets crunched :) hope he's enjoying a 1-4 record he's gone to another clubs thats no better haha if he thinks he'll play in finals sorry campo won;t happen well not this year :)