Judd

len_jet

Jun 11, 2006
Mernda
Ok I know I am going to cop a fair share of beltings for even bringing this up as everything is still in "speculation" mode... BUT... should (and i honestly hope he DOESN'T!) Nick Stevens retire obviously certain money will free up in the salary cap. Also I think Whitnall qualifies for veterans list next year (need clarification...) would Judd be our logical chase?

Should we through plenty of dollars at Judd... with the kangaroos offering a million a year something like $1.25 a year could be needed...

thought from people, keeping in mind i'm looking at an overall picture should the worst happen... of course I dont want stevo to retire!

Ok I know I am going to cop a fair share of beltings for even bringing this up as everything is still in "speculation" mode... BUT... should (and i honestly hope he DOESN'T!) Nick Stevens retire obviously certain money will free up in the salary cap. Also I think Whitnall qualifies for veterans list next year (need clarification...) would Judd be our logical chase?

Should we through plenty of dollars at Judd... with the kangaroos offering a million a year something like $1.25 a year could be needed...

thought from people, keeping in mind i'm looking at an overall picture should the worst happen... of course I dont want stevo to retire!

Judd won't leave West Coast IMO. But if he does I hope we throw money at him. With Kouta retiring we will have money left in the cap and will be able to offer Judd the million even with Stevo playing

Judd going to Kangas.... Now that's just funny:D

Judd won't leave West Coast IMO. But if he does I hope we throw money at him. With Kouta retiring we will have money left in the cap and will be able to offer Judd the million even with Stevo playing

funny not unrealistic... i mean they are paying 92.5% of the cap at the moment... so say 7.5% of whatever the cap is... 7 million... that is $525,000 right there... and with Hay retiring that is probably up to about $800,000 roughly... but with them moving to the Gold Coast soon he wouldnt go there :D:p

agree with you .. but i think if he does go anywhere , coliingwood have the most to offer unless pratt becomes EXTRA generous ehe lolz =)

Ye. My thoughts exactly. If he did return to Victoria Collingwood would throw everything at him and wouldn't be suprised if he ended up there.

i dont think they would have the cap...

buckley, licuria, obree, rocca, lockyer, burns, clement, then the young blokes about to resign... thomas etc...

i could be over estimating the value of these players however :p

eddie maguire will find a way to get him there .. it would be a miracle if he ended up at carlton or anywhere else for that fact .. my tip : he stays @ west coast , for a LONG time

Whits is only 28 this year....

30 plus to be a veteran....

We don't need Judd....

Let the kids take us, our own developed kids....

No over paid vigilantes!

He is a gun....But one player does not make a side!

Its a very interesting topic isn't it?! Like many of you guys and other Carlton supporters, I would absolutely love to have Judd at the Carlton Footy Club next year. But in saying that, we would have to give up alot in return to the weagles. My gut feeling is that he'll stay in WA despite all the off-season drug issues, etc. Stevo better not retire!!

We don't need Judd....

No over paid vigilantes!

vigilantes ? .. since when is judd a vigilante ? ..
he never done anything ? thats generalisation mate unfair call !

funny not unrealistic... i mean they are paying 92.5% of the cap at the moment... so say 7.5% of whatever the cap is... 7 million... that is $525,000 right there... and with Hay retiring that is probably up to about $800,000 roughly... but with them moving to the Gold Coast soon he wouldnt go there :D:p

I dont think Judd would want to move to a club like the Kangas.

They have an uncertain future, they have an uninspiring list and a poor coach and no money.

If every club is throwing roughly the same sort of figures around, then the kangas wont be a tempting destination.

We don't need Judd....

No over paid vigilantes!

I tend to agree to an extent. I believe we are going to run into some salary cap problems within the next 3-5 years, and having Judd in the team would probably mean one of our future guns might go end up going elsewhere.. I'd rather see us build our own dynasty. - Saying that if any of them turn out to be 3/4 the player Judd is i'll be more than happy

Why would you say that?

He hasn't had any luck chasing J. Brown, Luke Power, Stevens, etc etc.
not that he hasnt had any luck doing it , just the fact that he had so much money to throw at them .. im just saying that collingwood would be the most appealing , and they would be able to offer him the most

I'd love Judd as much as the next,

but if we front load his contract as oppossed to back-loading it then perhaps we can prevent the risk of falling into cap problems in 2-3 years.

But the question to ask, is Judd a mercenary???? If he is he'll go to where the money is greener, if he's not and seriously wants to come to melbourne I think he'll be more than accomodating (money-wise) if he gets to go to the club of his choice. For salary can be covered for in other ways; TV, Media, Sponshorships, Education, etc.

I think if Judd does leave he'll be on around $700K and have a lot of other "promised" benefits.

I dont think he will leave,

First of all (and please correct me if Im wrong) his contract runs out at the end of the year meaning he would go into the PSD and West Coast would get nothing for him. I really cant see him doing that to a club that he has won a premiership with, brownlow etc. I reckon that if he did leave he would also want WCE to get some sort of massive compensation.

If the above is wrong and (hypothetically) Judd informs WCE he wants come back to Vic it will take a monumental trade (top draft picks, another decent player etc) I would not want Carlton to go down that road. After being so severely punished for the salary cap breached we have finally been able to get high draft picks and we are now just starting to see what these boys can do, if Saturdays game was played any previous year we would have been done by 12+ goals!!, and its because we now have some genuine young talent picked up, that can hit Fev on the chest from 40 metres away.

Let Collingwood move heaven and earth to get him, use their top draft picks and give away another top player then watch them crumble as they realise that one man (and damn Judd is awesome) cannot make the team!!.

the only way i can see judd @ carlton is if an 'aka' situation happens and judd says its carlton or he is walking and weagles and carlton make a civilised trade (probably undervalued in market terms). as previously stated by others, we won't have the cap room in 3-5 years and we don't want to give up early draft picks or even worse, our very good young players.

i would rather see muphy, gibbs, kennedy etc together winning carlton premierships than judd

Answer: NO

Remember when Kouta was the best of the best and he signed a multi-million dollar deal?

Lets not make the same mistake twice.... It would cripple us again.

definetley not.

the development of kids is what should be important to the carlton football club- not going on a wild goose chase. Judd is a posioned chalice. We shouldn't waste money on him.

I'd rather us get some young kpp from other clubs, or from the draft, that can play in defence. We need to strengthen our defence. It is the rock in which teams who play finals are built on. We can't expect to have 122 points kicked against us and win every game.

I agree he is the best player in the land but I don't think we should try to hard or spend the big bucks on him. We have some future legends at Carlton and lets blood these young guys and let them take us to SWEET 17!!. Although it would be good if we did pick up Judd, but I wouldnt be throwing the bank at him either, I dont think he is the sort of person who will go for money and like a few others I think he will stay at the Eagles.

Judd