News Justin Reid Departs

Apart from footballer, that's all St Kilda needed for the role. It's not primarily a football talent judgement role. The coaches bring most of that to the table.
Because committees. The committees are the **** blocks.

Given there is talk of Reid being on the chopping block, this might be his last year in charge.

It also looks like it might be an off season with huge possibilities. So basically this could be the make or break for his career as a list manager.

It seems like there are a lot of player movement possibilities outside the club and some huge decisions internally.
Will Tex get another year? What about Smith?

Is Oliver still a possibility? Is he worth it or is he cooked?
Petracca? A pipe dream sure, but we would surely ask the question.
Lukosious? What is his worth?
Richmond are dumping players to speed up their rebuild before the Tassie teams enter. Can we nab one?

How do we position ourselves to ensure we draft at least one gun mid, given that this year has a number of evenly rated mids. Can we get two?

Lot's of questions. Get it right and this one off season could set us up for a substantial run. Stuff it up and we might be looking at a new rebuild and Reid a new job.

Brad Crouch FA, Bryce Gibbs (the first try), and failing to trade up in the Rozee/Rankine/Luko draft were badly handled.

In the last few years he’s been ok (Rankine) to good (Doedee, Macadam, Dawson, retaining reqd players, getting long deals for Rachele, Soligo).

He’s well down the list of current football dept problems imho.

Brad Crouch FA, Bryce Gibbs (the first try), and failing to trade up in the Rozee/Rankine/Luko draft were badly handled.

In the last few years he’s been ok (Rankine) to good (Doedee, Macadam, Dawson, retaining reqd players, getting long deals for Rachele, Soligo).

Been a very good pick trader for the most (Curtin deal, GC trade-up where we also got Burgess, NM deal which prevented a good pick being used for Max, Melb trade which helped us get Taylor etc)

Generally I think he has done a good job.
Biggest complaint I have is giving old guys contracts / too long a contract
Not valuing talented young guys enough early on, this has improved

I'm not sure if the top three you listed where all Reid's decisions
Crouch probably Nicks, Gibbs maybe Fagan, 2018 draft maybe Hamish

We appointed him in 2014?

He was a disaster for the first few years - we gave out way too many long contracts to medium range players, didn't trade very well (unless forced to).

Might've improved recently, but seems more like things have fallen in his lap (ie, Dawson and Rankine), than him making magic happen for us.

Does Smith have an automatic extra year?
Laird contract is too long.

Been a very good pick trader for the most (Curtin deal, GC trade-up where we also got Burgess, NM deal which prevented a good pick being used for Max, Melb trade which helped us get Taylor etc)
Yep. Plus the 2 best ones:

Blues pick swap in 2019 (from 2018 draft) that should have landed Anderson

Extra 1st rounder from GWS by dropping 2 spots in 2019

* Also an extra second rounder one year but I forget the details

He was a disaster for the first few years - we gave out way too many long contracts to medium range players, didn't trade very well (unless forced to).

Might've improved recently, but seems more like things have fallen in his lap (ie, Dawson and Rankine), than him making magic happen for us.

How do you rate the pick swaps Reid and team have done? Easily best quartile IMO and quite possibly best in the whole league

And Rankine and Dawson collectively were the best in bound trades over 2 years (for a fair/bargain price respectively) in the whole league also. Missed Day and Redman last year but excited for this off season

List that got is to a GF in 2017

On SM-S928B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Very harsh IMO. Why is it anytime one of the despised group of Crows officials (Reid, Hamish, Nicks) do something well that some posters can’t be balanced and give credit where it’s due? He took over and we made the GF 3 years later. Hardly horrible list mgt.

And then saying Rankine and Dawson - collectively the best inbound trades in the WHOLE league over 2 years - “fell into his lap” just seems totally out of balance. Criticise all you want but the criticism becomes more valid and meaningful if you can be balanced with views and actually hand out some occasional plaudits IMO

He took over and we made the GF 3 years later. Hardly horrible list mgt.
This is the easiest one to dismiss

He did not assemble the 2017 GF list.

M Crouch drafted 2013
Laird 2011
Cameron 2013
Knight 2013
Betts - traded 2013 played 2014

Jake Kelly :ballotcheck:
Paul Seedsman :ballotcheck:
Jake Lever :ballotcheck:
High Greenwood :basketball:

Thats 4 - not really an Avengers Assemble lineup

This is the easiest one to dismiss

He did not assemble the 2017 GF list.

M Crouch drafted 2013
Laird 2011
Cameron 2013
Knight 2013
Betts - traded 2013 played 2014

Jake Kelly :ballotcheck:
Paul Seedsman :ballotcheck:
Jake Lever :ballotcheck:
High Greenwood :basketball:

Thats 4 - not really an Avengers Assemble lineup
King Elvis was arguing he 'was a disaster' in his first few years.

What evidence is there to support that?

King Elvis was arguing he 'was a disaster' in his first few years.

What evidence is there to support that?
I provided the evidence that he wasnt responsible for the GF list

Its up to you to refute his claim

There were a few training wheel issues a good player manager would have avoided

It seemed he followed others direction instead of taking the wheel himself

ie his issues were not of his making

I provided the evidence that he wasnt responsible for the GF list

Its up to you to refute his claim
All good mate. Let’s leave it here as I really don’t care enough and huge day on the market upcoming

Have a good day, cheers

Have said before that I think Reid has got better as he went on.

The first Gibbs effort was a rookie error.
He signed up senior players who spearheaded the 2015-2017 finals years to long contracts which hurt us in hindsight

Since then he's learnt. A couple of high level trade wins, good pick swaps, long term contracts to younger players rather than rewarding veterans for their service

The difficulty he has now is attracting players to a perennial non-finalist. It's a fork in the road trade period for us imho. You feel that a couple of big gains this trade period could catapult us up the ladder, especially if combined with a new senior assistant and a new Rahilly-quality line coach. If we have another Chris Burgess trade period though we'll continue to tread water.

Have said before that I think Reid has got better as he went on.

The first Gibbs effort was a rookie error.
He signed up senior players who spearheaded the 2015-2017 finals years to long contracts which hurt us in hindsight

Since then he's learnt. A couple of high level trade wins, good pick swaps, long term contracts to younger players rather than rewarding veterans for their service

The difficulty he has now is attracting players to a perennial non-finalist. It's a fork in the road trade period for us imho. You feel that a couple of big gains this trade period could catapult us up the ladder, especially if combined with a new senior assistant and a new Rahilly-quality line coach. If we have another Chris Burgess trade period though we'll continue to tread water.
Pretty much this

Key trade period coming up though as we have good picks and potentially some players keen to move to SA

Nail this and he’s looking like one of our stronger guys in footy departments

seeing sweet dominant over obrien tonight makes you wonder what Justin does during year, just one of those things that a good list manager ticks off, bringing a 2nd ruck in on the cheap as a bit of competition as an older rucks career comes to the end, instead we'll be paying a premium for a ruck or be at a disadvantage as it's become a problem area for us now