• Thread starter Thread starter hank1

Re: Kyabram District FL

Doona2 said:
Ah the highs and lows of football hey!!! My club paid just $50 a week more than that for our entire club, surely one bloke aint worth as much as an entire team, I mean I know he's good have seen him play. Country footy will be in a bad way within a decade if this is the way were heading!!!

It will turn into Premier League soccer, where the big clubs get bigger (as people support success) as the smaller clubs fight not to get the wooden spoon year after year.

Every few years, a lower team will pull together the funds to match it with the bigger clubs in the bigger towns, but unless you have the committment from the locals - like Rochy, then a lot of country leagues will become boring and one sided. OR - clubs will fold because they can't compete with these larger towns - like Tonny.

fat back pocket said:
It will turn into Premier League soccer, where the big clubs get bigger (as people support success) as the smaller clubs fight not to get the wooden spoon year after year.

Every few years, a lower team will pull together the funds to match it with the bigger clubs in the bigger towns, but unless you have the committment from the locals - like Rochy, then a lot of country leagues will become boring and one sided. OR - clubs will fold because they can't compete with these larger towns - like Tonny.

Well, it's an interesting comparison you make between Tonny and Rochy. How would Tonny have been if they had of had both Campbell's, Scott Hansen, Brunt, Troy Snelson, Jason Moon and Jodie Canavan in their side. obvioulsy probably not finals, but much more competitive and less reliant on their juniors. I don't think all of them left just for $ either...

Guinea said:
Can't tell you much about any of the southern clubs, but expect Ardmona to be a force next year. Looks like the Yze brothers, Damien and Ramadam are about to sign up. Last time Damien played in the KDL he kicked 25 in a game! Very dangerous player...

I suppose with Harro's appointment at Tongala there's a chance a few players might go with him, meaning that Stanhope's depth will be tested. Might bring them closer to the pack...

Would seriously doubt there would be many players from Stanhope who follow Harrison to Tonny.
Sure he's a great player and will probably make a decent coach, but there wouldn't be too many of the Lion's 05 side that would trade the chance at a KDL flag to be a fringe finals chance in the Murray League.
Blokes at Stanhope love Patten. Brenton Gray was even quoted as saying he wouldn't have played at Stanhope next year if Harrison had got the Lion's top job .... There depth next year will be as good as if not better than ever.

lion's_roar said:
Would seriously doubt there would be many players from Stanhope who follow Harrison to Tonny.
Sure he's a great player and will probably make a decent coach, but there wouldn't be too many of the Lion's 05 side that would trade the chance at a KDL flag to be a fringe finals chance in the Murray League.
Blokes at Stanhope love Patten. Brenton Gray was even quoted as saying he wouldn't have played at Stanhope next year if Harrison had got the Lion's top job .... There depth next year will be as good as if not better than ever.

Why would Gray say that?? That's a pretty big statement to make when Gray and Harro are good mates...hope you have good mail. Has Gray committed now that Patten has been re-appointed?

No doubt Stanhope will be a force next year. But with Harro gone (and at the least, you'd think his brother), Newman and Stockdale likely to retire, one of the Aulds and Dave Hansford gone to Darwin and Dale Gordon set to miss the year with a reco, I think their depth will be tested.

Guinea said:
Why would Gray say that?? That's a pretty big statement to make when Gray and Harro are good mates...hope you have good mail. Has Gray committed now that Patten has been re-appointed?

No doubt Stanhope will be a force next year. But with Harro gone (and at the least, you'd think his brother), Newman and Stockdale likely to retire, one of the Aulds and Dave Hansford gone to Darwin and Dale Gordon set to miss the year with a reco, I think their depth will be tested.

Have it on some VERY reliable authority. Harrison and Gray might be good mates, but that doesn't mean an elder statesman like gray would want to take orders off Harrison. His brother may go, but that's far from definite and as for Hansford and Auld in the territory ... we'll see how long that lasts. There some good people at Stanhope with some good friends in Melbourne, who are keen to get away from the big smoke and have a crack at country football and from what I understand .. these firends are VERY VERY talented footballers and won't command a great deal of coin

Guinea said:
Well, it's an interesting comparison you make between Tonny and Rochy. How would Tonny have been if they had of had both Campbell's, Scott Hansen, Brunt, Troy Snelson, Jason Moon and Jodie Canavan in their side. obvioulsy probably not finals, but much more competitive and less reliant on their juniors. I don't think all of them left just for $ either...

You forgot Jake Travaskis!

That's a pretty decent group of talented players. If they were all playing there, then I reckon the club would be more attractive to recruits. With those guys running around they would be pretty close to GV finals.

bradrowe#32 said:
You forgot Jake Travaskis!

That's a pretty decent group of talented players. If they were all playing there, then I reckon the club would be more attractive to recruits. With those guys running around they would be pretty close to GV finals.
I think guineas beer was referring to players that didn't play with tonny this year though rowey, and if they did how good they could perhaps be. jake played this year, albeit not very good hehe.

lion's_roar said:
Have it on some VERY reliable authority. Harrison and Gray might be good mates, but that doesn't mean an elder statesman like gray would want to take orders off Harrison. His brother may go, but that's far from definite and as for Hansford and Auld in the territory ... we'll see how long that lasts. There some good people at Stanhope with some good friends in Melbourne, who are keen to get away from the big smoke and have a crack at country football and from what I understand .. these firends are VERY VERY talented footballers and won't command a great deal of coin
is that you patto?

lion's_roar said:

So who are these VERY VERY talented footballers, any names out there Lions roar?

hank1 said:
So who are these VERY VERY talented footballers, any names out there Lions roar?

No names as yet, still hearing whispers ... apparantly they've been playing ammos and around the south east of Mlebourne.

Thornton-Eildon members are believed to have voted to join the YMDFL leaving only Alexandra without a definite home for 2006

i'm sure i read on YMDFL QWebsite that their clubs had voted for Thornton-eildon and Alexandera in for season 2006 :) so their both got a home.
we may be WELCOMING two new clubs, from the disbanded CGFL to our north. That league had seven clubs, and five have now found homes in either the Picola or Kyabram leagues. The bad news for Alex and Thornton-Eildon is that both those leagues have knocked them back - so if they want to play football (and netball) in 2006, the YVMDFL is their only real option, and our clubs voted strongly in favour of accepting them at a meeting two weeks ago. Bringing Second Division to nine teams would be a great move for the league - had the DRJFL been able to accept Kinglake Juniors for the 2006 season, it may have been ten! More SummerDAZE to follow soon.

Andyt30 said:
i'm sure i read on YMDFL QWebsite that their clubs had voted for Thornton-eildon and Alexandera in for season 2006 :) so their both got a home.
we may be WELCOMING two new clubs, from the disbanded CGFL to our north. That league had seven clubs, and five have now found homes in either the Picola or Kyabram leagues. The bad news for Alex and Thornton-Eildon is that both those leagues have knocked them back - so if they want to play football (and netball) in 2006, the YVMDFL is their only real option, and our clubs voted strongly in favour of accepting them at a meeting two weeks ago. Bringing Second Division to nine teams would be a great move for the league - had the DRJFL been able to accept Kinglake Juniors for the 2006 season, it may have been ten! More SummerDAZE to follow soon.

Alexandra are still in the appeals process to join the KDFL...a result should be known soon...

can't see Alexandera going to KDFL, i think the appeal will fail again, and Alexandera be forced to YVMD who no doubt be doing draw draft to in corporate Alexanderra & Thornton Eildon, i think aleandera would want to keep playing againt thornton Eildon,
i just found it on shepparton online news which is handy to read i signed up to get it , i think VCFL will dismiss Alexandera's Appeal and force em to YVFL or face having no where to go in 2006 , would hate to see alexandera have no where to go in 2006 going to cost Alexandera big bucks so why throw money away ?
The appeal will cost $500, which is non-returnable, plus $1500, which might be returned at the discretion of the VCFL.
why bother appealing, its just wasting money

Flat Track Bully said:
Alexandra are still in the appeals process to join the KDFL...a result should be known soon...

Might be handy for Yea if Alex are forced into the YMVDFL, there's a bit of a suggestion that some senior Rebel players wont head that way and would be keen to go to Tigerland.

Have heard first hand hand that Rushy have landed themselves a handy ruckman, which will allow Hansen to play CHB. Also Sam and Ben Parker will be major inclusions for Rushy in 2006. Not 100% sure but did a Parker play a handful of games for the Adelaide Crows a while back? Snelson will be staying having knocked back a big offer from Gig.

Same bloke reckons Brenton Gray was still a big big show to head to Tonny with coach Harrison which I reckon is good - you need your mates to support you in times.

yeah YVMD is their only option to go, i thought YVMD clubs be closer for Aleandera to travel can ya see alexandera travell all the way to say tallygaroopna or Undera,ardmona,
Stanhope be a long trip

Doona2 said:
Might be handy for Yea if Alex are forced into the YMVDFL, there's a bit of a suggestion that some senior Rebel players wont head that way and would be keen to go to Tigerland.

Have heard first hand hand that Rushy have landed themselves a handy ruckman, which will allow Hansen to play CHB. Also Sam and Ben Parker will be major inclusions for Rushy in 2006. Not 100% sure but did a Parker play a handful of games for the Adelaide Crows a while back? Snelson will be staying having knocked back a big offer from Gig.

Same bloke reckons Brenton Gray was still a big big show to head to Tonny with coach Harrison which I reckon is good - you need your mates to support you in times.

Interesting that your mail suggests Gray WILL go with Harrison, when lions roar reckons there's no chance an "elder statesman" like him would take orders from the younger Harrison...I reckon if Gray did go to Tonny it'd help get a few more blokes to sign up with them.

I reckon Ben Parker played pre-season (wizard cup) matches, but never cracked it for an actual AFL game. Is he the same Parker that played C grade ammos, I think for Mazenoid a couple of years back? If he is, he must go alright, coz he always seemed to be kicking 3-5 goals.

Guinea said:
Interesting that your mail suggests Gray WILL go with Harrison, when lions roar reckons there's no chance an "elder statesman" like him would take orders from the younger Harrison...I reckon if Gray did go to Tonny it'd help get a few more blokes to sign up with them.

I reckon Ben Parker played pre-season (wizard cup) matches, but never cracked it for an actual AFL game. Is he the same Parker that played C grade ammos, I think for Mazenoid a couple of years back? If he is, he must go alright, coz he always seemed to be kicking 3-5 goals.

Yeah Parker got drafted to Adelaide but never cracked a game. Played at Mooroopna and United in GV. Will be very handy in KDL, can slot them through from 60.
Doubt Gray will go to Tonny, more than likely just stay at Stanhope, true though if he did go would be fair chance a few more would jump on board.

Message delivered

By Bill McCarthy

November 2 2005
Shepparton News

Kyabram District Football League has warned the Alexandra Football Netball Club against approaching its clubs.
Alexandra has lodged an appeal with the Victorian Country Football League against the refusal of the Kyabram District league to accept it.

The VCFL board will consider the appeal on November 18.

Kyabram District league secretary Greg Watson sent the following message to Alexandra president Ray Steyger.

"With due respect for the efforts you are putting into the Alexandra Football Club, it is considered inappropriate for you or any member of the Alexandra Football Club to make any official or unofficial approach to any club delegate in the Kyabram District Football League, with a view of convincing them to approve your admittance to the KDFL for season 2006.

"Less than two weeks ago, your club was given the opportunity to address this issue under a properly constituted meeting, which included the presence of a senior VCFL official; CEO Mr Glenn Scott.

"From the KDFL point of view, we consider this matter well and truly closed, and we move on towards season 2006, as we believe all clubs in the GM Region now should."

Violet Town Football Club was accepted into the Kyabram District league at the same meeting as Alexandra and Thornton-Eildon were rejected.

Central Goulburn Football League senior premier in 2005, Yea, has been placed in the KDFL by the VCFL under the GoulburnMurray restructure process.

November 2 2005
Shepparton News

Public relation exercises don't get any uglier than the recent revamp of football across the Goulburn Murray region.
Talk about stumbling from one disaster to the next.

The Victorian Country Football League's decision to disband the troubled Central Goulburn Football League was always going to be contentious, but it should never have been allowed to descend into the chaos that followed.

Club revolts, threats of disaffiliation and possible votes of no-confidence.

They all could have been avoided had a crumb of common sense prevailed.

Here are three decisions that condemned the overhaul to failure.

1. Trying to drip-feed the public - From the outset the VCFL was hell bent on releasing details when, and if, it saw fit.

The cloak of secrecy surrounding the revamp gave the impression something shifty was afoot.

In late July, the VCFL said: " There's no big restructure in the pipeline", as a result of its investigation into the state of football across the region.

Less than two weeks later it emerged the CGFL was gone.

Total disclosure wasn't necessary from the outset, but as the VCFL learnt the hard way, there's no such thing as a secret in footy.

2. The decision to disband the CGFL, and then keep it quiet - The VCFL made it abundantly clear to CGFL secretary Keith Wellman that his league was done and dusted at a meeting in Bendigo.

Then, when Wellman released the details to the media, he was lambasted by a high-ranking VCFL official, giving the impression things were out of hand.

3. The proposal to expand the Picola District Football League to an 18-team competition - This was always going to be a long shot.

The PDFL apparently lobbied for the additional clubs, which initially included Thornton-Eildon, Alexandra, Shepp East, Dookie United and Violet Town.

However, it did so without first consulting its existing 13 clubs. Big mistake.

The other big error was the delay between confirming the 18-team competition and releasing how the expanded league would be structured.

The VCFL announced on August 29 the PDFL would become an 18-team comp, but it wasn't until September 8 that details on how the league would work began to surface.

The delay led to scaremongering and ultimately condemned the idea to the scrap heap.

hank1 said:
Yeah Parker got drafted to Adelaide but never cracked a game. Played at Mooroopna and United in GV. Will be very handy in KDL, can slot them through from 60.
Doubt Gray will go to Tonny, more than likely just stay at Stanhope, true though if he did go would be fair chance a few more would jump on board.

Can't remember Parker playing at either Mooroopna or United. Anyone know how he went? Was it before or after he got drafted?

Also, heard from a pretty good source that although there was talk of them going to Stanhope, Joel & Todd Harrison, and Ash Comer were seriously considering a move to Tonny next year. Seemed a bit far-fetched, and I don't presume they'd make their mind up for a while, anyway, but it'd be good to see them give Daryl some support (and they'd be pretty handy recruits, aswell).

lion's_roar said:
No names as yet, still hearing whispers ... apparantly they've been playing ammos and around the south east of Mlebourne.

Lions Roar - names are news mate. Names are news. Journalism 101

Guinea said:
Can't remember Parker playing at either Mooroopna or United. Anyone know how he went? Was it before or after he got drafted?

Also, heard from a pretty good source that although there was talk of them going to Stanhope, Joel & Todd Harrison, and Ash Comer were seriously considering a move to Tonny next year. Seemed a bit far-fetched, and I don't presume they'd make their mind up for a while, anyway, but it'd be good to see them give Daryl some support (and they'd be pretty handy recruits, aswell).

Couldn't see Joel or Ash travelling back to either Stanhope or Tonny, especially when Jake Trevaskis looks to be playing with them at Sunshine. Todd Harrison is a fair chance to travel back though as he didnt quite crack a consistent senior game at Sunshine.

On Parker he started at United i think before being drafted and then played a year at Mooroopna when he returned, could be wrong on this only going from memory.

ben parker played for lemnos in the thirds i'm quite positive.

hank1 said:
Couldn't see Joel or Ash travelling back to either Stanhope or Tonny, especially when Jake Trevaskis looks to be playing with them at Sunshine. Todd Harrison is a fair chance to travel back though as he didnt quite crack a consistent senior game at Sunshine.

On Parker he started at United i think before being drafted and then played a year at Mooroopna when he returned, could be wrong on this only going from memory.

right on hank, Joel is staying at Sunshine, that is a given, have not heard from ash although if what joel says is correct, then he will be lining up again with sunshine.

Todd if any is the one who is a chance of leaving, but i think when push comes to shove he will stay in sunshine for 2006