GilG
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Fremantle
- Other Teams
- New York Mets
I must've set a world record last night (US Pacific Time) watching the game v North Melbourne for how much I cursed at the TV in the second half. Even the Aussie mate I was watching with — a former Collingwood player at that — took the piss out of me by yelling at me to relax and sit down, saying the players and umpires couldn't hear me yelling at them.
Believe me, I was super-pissed at that loss, especially after the ripper first term we had. Like all of you might've thought after that first quarter, I was thinking: "We're officially back. Our mojo's back. We're gonna smash them and kick 100 points and shut up all the haters."
Then, as we got overrun by the Kangas, my superstitions stopped working! That last Roos' mark of the game pushed me over the edge and I stormed off to the bathroom, not wanting to watch the inevitable goal being kicked.
Next, I decided to inflict more torture on myself. I turned on the West Coast-Bulldogs match, hoping for a Doggies upset. We all know how that worked out for us. West Coast's success — except for that of Nic-Nat, who I admittedly have a soft spot for — made me sick to my stomach and further soured my mood. Seriously. I stopped watching midway through the fourth, thinking of how the pundits would gush over the Eagles, say they'd overtake our ladder position and tip them for the flag. Even my cat felt my wrath as my frustration with her insistence on running behind the TV to play near the electrical power strip led me to repeatedly yell at her.
Then I looked at the ladder. And thought about our last two matches. Then I reflected on the season and what lies ahead. And I thought about reality.
We're still on top — even if by a 1/2 game, with two left. Beat Melbourne at home and it doesn't matter what West Coast or Hawthorn do — we lock in a Top 2 spot. Beat Melbourne at home and West Coast loses to Adelaide on the road (entirely possible, with Adelaide fighting to make Finals and motivated by its desire to honor its recently deceased senior coach) and we clinch top spot. Even splitting the last two games will give us a club-record 17 wins in a home-and-away season.
Know what else? This is the only time this year we've ever lost two in a row. And we're still on top. That got me thinking. It actually seems very uncomfortable and dispiriting to lose two games in a row. That's a feeling we haven't had in a long time. And the four losses seem like many more, when in actuality, this is the best win-loss record we've ever had.
My point? This club has been in MUCH worse spots than the one we're in. You guys who've been down since Day 1 would know better than me, since I came on board in '03. We expected to lose many more matches in a row than two. If we hate losing now, how do we think our boys feel? Hopefully, we can just tune out all the West Coast hype, as I'm sure our boys are doing.
This is a rough patch and the footy gods are testing the club.
Even with our recent poor form and many of us not seeing a way out of the malaise, this crisis will pass. I believe in our chances of winning a flag. I have hope.
How 'bout you?
(By the way, after posting this, just saw the MRP dismissed the umpire's report on Nat Fyfe. Things looking better already!)
Believe me, I was super-pissed at that loss, especially after the ripper first term we had. Like all of you might've thought after that first quarter, I was thinking: "We're officially back. Our mojo's back. We're gonna smash them and kick 100 points and shut up all the haters."
Then, as we got overrun by the Kangas, my superstitions stopped working! That last Roos' mark of the game pushed me over the edge and I stormed off to the bathroom, not wanting to watch the inevitable goal being kicked.
Next, I decided to inflict more torture on myself. I turned on the West Coast-Bulldogs match, hoping for a Doggies upset. We all know how that worked out for us. West Coast's success — except for that of Nic-Nat, who I admittedly have a soft spot for — made me sick to my stomach and further soured my mood. Seriously. I stopped watching midway through the fourth, thinking of how the pundits would gush over the Eagles, say they'd overtake our ladder position and tip them for the flag. Even my cat felt my wrath as my frustration with her insistence on running behind the TV to play near the electrical power strip led me to repeatedly yell at her.
Then I looked at the ladder. And thought about our last two matches. Then I reflected on the season and what lies ahead. And I thought about reality.
We're still on top — even if by a 1/2 game, with two left. Beat Melbourne at home and it doesn't matter what West Coast or Hawthorn do — we lock in a Top 2 spot. Beat Melbourne at home and West Coast loses to Adelaide on the road (entirely possible, with Adelaide fighting to make Finals and motivated by its desire to honor its recently deceased senior coach) and we clinch top spot. Even splitting the last two games will give us a club-record 17 wins in a home-and-away season.
Know what else? This is the only time this year we've ever lost two in a row. And we're still on top. That got me thinking. It actually seems very uncomfortable and dispiriting to lose two games in a row. That's a feeling we haven't had in a long time. And the four losses seem like many more, when in actuality, this is the best win-loss record we've ever had.
My point? This club has been in MUCH worse spots than the one we're in. You guys who've been down since Day 1 would know better than me, since I came on board in '03. We expected to lose many more matches in a row than two. If we hate losing now, how do we think our boys feel? Hopefully, we can just tune out all the West Coast hype, as I'm sure our boys are doing.
This is a rough patch and the footy gods are testing the club.
Even with our recent poor form and many of us not seeing a way out of the malaise, this crisis will pass. I believe in our chances of winning a flag. I have hope.
How 'bout you?
(By the way, after posting this, just saw the MRP dismissed the umpire's report on Nat Fyfe. Things looking better already!)