iscah

5 times champs of europe
I said a few weeks ago that our next few games would be ..

Port Adelaide - Win
Adelaide - not sure
St Kilda - Lose
West Coast - Win (again - 3 in a row !!)

If we can add to that a tough win against Melbourne we are looking at 4-3 after 7 weeks. We then have 15 games left which is basically every one once.

To me Adelaide are clearly the best team in the comp, they were terribly unlucky to play WC on a 5 day vs 9 day break and just have premiership written all over them. Hawks who we lost to in week 1 are clearly better than everyone thought and Tasmania is a long trip so that loss is a little more in perspective (although still disappointing). Saints are the second best team and I am predicting an Adelaide v Saints Grand Final.

So 4-3 after 7 weeks given the teams we play will be a good platform to work from and a 5th or 6th place is very realistic ..

iscah said:
I said a few weeks ago that our next few games would be ..

Port Adelaide - Win
Adelaide - not sure
St Kilda - Lose
West Coast - Win (again - 3 in a row !!)

If we can add to that a tough win against Melbourne we are looking at 4-3 after 7 weeks. We then have 15 games left which is basically every one once.

To me Adelaide are clearly the best team in the comp, they were terribly unlucky to play WC on a 5 day vs 9 day break and just have premiership written all over them. Hawks who we lost to in week 1 are clearly better than everyone thought and Tasmania is a long trip so that loss is a little more in perspective (although still disappointing). Saints are the second best team and I am predicting an Adelaide v Saints Grand Final.

So 4-3 after 7 weeks given the teams we play will be a good platform to work from and a 5th or 6th place is very realistic ..

Your F***ing dreaming

wehavethepassion said:
Your F***ing dreaming

We won (I think) 5 of out last 7 last season, 3 out of 4 pre season games and 2 out of 4 this season. So that is 10 of our last 15. A continuation of that gives us a chance. You give up too easy.

iscah said:
We won (I think) 5 of out last 7 last season, 3 out of 4 pre season games and 2 out of 4 this season. So that is 10 of our last 15. A continuation of that gives us a chance. You give up too easy.

theres only that much energy i have...which keeps gettign sapped out of me eweek in week out...we bloody vetter put in a honest fight against sainters...im gettign sick and tierd of excuses....if i dont die due to old age the dockers will get me with a weak heart....

Rob said:
Ditto.

What on earth in the last 4 weeks has led you to believe we are suddenly going to start beating decent sides?

Concur. Surely they cant continue to play so poorly. Though I think our list is regularly over-rated I do believe they are much better than that. If they dont start to put some decent footy together shortly then it seriously has to asked why ?

They are much better than that ,and we know what they are capable of,thats why its so frustrating,playing hard team football one week,the next a couple of team players and a truck load of passengers.Gee I love this club,please just a bit of consistency.

CC was exactly 50% prior to playing the Crows. We are 2 and 2. Our win loss ratio the last 2 years is 50%

We just played one of the top 4 teams that just happens to win alot of games at Subi..

Talk about a tight rope. Makes me glad to be a Freo fan. I'd like a better a win loss ratio. I'd like to win a few finals.
One thing I dont want, is to lose the adrenaline. I dont want to listen 'we will, we will, rock you' during the breaks to keep the so called fans from being bored. I dont ever want to be so self rightoeus we believe the whole competion revolves around our strip or that we really believe any or all of the premierships that have the Fremantle name attached to them count for Premierships.

We are building a culture. Some would say its a losing a culture. I call it a positive club culture. Not a state team culture, nor a culture that our club does not own. But a culture that will one day match some of the best in the world. We happen to have the 4th or 5th best membership in the comp.

It is 4 games into a 22 game campaign and at 50%. After round 12 and if we are below 50% then I might be calling for the axe until then I'll suffer the losses and enjoy the wins,

i want to go to the footy without worrying about which freo will turn up. they are capable of playing like they don't care for each other. i'm sure their emotion has to be manufactured and therefore is not there every week

dugrene said:
CC was exactly 50% prior to playing the Crows. We are 2 and 2. Our win loss ratio the last 2 years is 50%

We just played one of the top 4 teams that just happens to win alot of games at Subi..

Talk about a tight rope. Makes me glad to be a Freo fan. I'd like a better a win loss ratio. I'd like to win a few finals.
One thing I dont want, is to lose the adrenaline. I dont want to listen 'we will, we will, rock you' during the breaks to keep the so called fans from being bored. I dont ever want to be so self rightoeus we believe the whole competion revolves around our strip or that we really believe any or all of the premierships that have the Fremantle name attached to them count for Premierships.

We are building a culture. Some would say its a losing a culture. I call it a positive club culture. Not a state team culture, nor a culture that our club does not own. But a culture that will one day match some of the best in the world. We happen to have the 4th or 5th best membership in the comp.

It is 4 games into a 22 game campaign and at 50%. After round 12 and if we are below 50% then I might be calling for the axe until then I'll suffer the losses and enjoy the wins,

Well said.

dugrene said:

You must have forgotten the Crows were 14th or something on the ladder only 1.5 seasons ago. They changed their coach and are now (apparently) GF shoe ins. They were clearly operating at a diffeent level of intensity to our players. Our intensity has been suspect since 2003. Its not getting any better.

dugrene said:

What makes you think that in terms of team performance we are building anything. That's the reason people are frustrated. When you go to the footy you want to see your team get better. We're not getting better. We were beaten by the same bunch of players we were beating two years ago.

I think we do have a culture of individual effort. I watch our players busting their guts usually only to see better "teams" beat us. Adelaide were better drilled, better positioned and ran harder. But they don't have better players.

dugrene said:

If we are 6 from 12 at the break, I reckon you'll find the axes have long gone. Bunnings shelves will be bare.

And I'm not meaning to to single out Dugrene. As I've said before unless there needs to be some kind of circuit breaker to shock us up to the next level.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
You must have forgotten the Crows were 14th or something on the ladder only 1.5 seasons ago. They changed their coach and are now (apparently) GF shoe ins. They were clearly operating at a diffeent level of intensity to our players. Our intensity has been suspect since 2003. Its not getting any better.
What makes you think that in terms of team performance we are building anything.
As I've said before unless there needs to be some kind of circuit breaker to shock us up to the next level.
So what makes you think that sacking the coach will be that circuit breaker? Will a new coach get Haselby fit? Will a new coach improve our skills under pressure? Will a new coach improve the clearances?
If so, why, when the new coach most people want is already at the club and still isn't able to do any of this.

Yes, Craig, Thomas and Roos have done well moving from assistant to caretaker to full time coach. But only 1 has really achieved anything so far.

An optimist can say we've been beaten badly on the ground in 2 matches, but only slightly on the scoreboard. Unless Essendon have a big win tomorrow, we'll still be in the 8. We still have our "top 4 list" (to quote the media and other team supporters) generally intact and reasonably fit. We still have 18 games to go. This season isn't dead yet. There is no standout team - the top two teams have well highlighted problems (height and key forwards) that they have managed to overcome by excelling in other areas (run/midfield). The rest of the teams run hot and cold - just like us.

The realist will say nothing has changed, we've been told before every big game that this is the important one and we're ready for it, but we've fallen short almost every time (Port this year and Geelong last year the exceptions). We still get thumped in the clearances. We still often don't have clear options ahead so we mess around with the ball. We still miss too many targets.

So whats the answer? No idea, I'll just continue to bleed purple and turn up and hope for the best. I'll support whoever is in charge and hope that they have some sort of idea of the problems and how to fix them.

Mindless bleating on a fan website ain't going to achieve much.

I just feel worn out and fed up with the inconsistency of our team! If we're 7-5 by round 12 but we're still playing such inconsistant footy then I think the coach has to go!

ThePope said:
So what makes you think that sacking the coach will be that circuit breaker? Will a new coach get Haselby fit? Will a new coach improve our skills under pressure? Will a new coach improve the clearances?
If so, why, when the new coach most people want is already at the club and still isn't able to do any of this.

Yes, Craig, Thomas and Roos have done well moving from assistant to caretaker to full time coach. But only 1 has really achieved anything so far.

An optimist can say we've been beaten badly on the ground in 2 matches, but only slightly on the scoreboard. Unless Essendon have a big win tomorrow, we'll still be in the 8. We still have our "top 4 list" (to quote the media and other team supporters) generally intact and reasonably fit. We still have 18 games to go. This season isn't dead yet. There is no standout team - the top two teams have well highlighted problems (height and key forwards) that they have managed to overcome by excelling in other areas (run/midfield). The rest of the teams run hot and cold - just like us.

The realist will say nothing has changed, we've been told before every big game that this is the important one and we're ready for it, but we've fallen short almost every time (Port this year and Geelong last year the exceptions). We still get thumped in the clearances. We still often don't have clear options ahead so we mess around with the ball. We still miss too many targets.

So whats the answer? No idea, I'll just continue to bleed purple and turn up and hope for the best. I'll support whoever is in charge and hope that they have some sort of idea of the problems and how to fix them.

Your holiness isn't the coach or footy dept ment to improve the clearance problem which is has been our achilles heel for more than two seasons?
Maybe a more radical approach is required at stoppages. Maybe a study of how the Swans went about their business over the last two years with a "working class" midfield mite be a good starting point.

Our messing around with the ball has become too ingrained now when we are put under pressure. More pressure work at training- then your risk getting injuries.

Yes I too will continue to put my hard earned into my membership but we are members/suporters shouldn't need after 11 yrs go to subi every second week "hoping" to win. That is far too simplistic.The expectation has to be more than that.

ThePope said:
Because it is probably the most traditional circuit breaker there is. A new coach may not play Hasleby if he is not fit. He might mix up the centre bounce personnel. A new coach might alter the balance to give confidence so the skills that were evident last week are available consistently.

I'm not so much interested in clearances as the way we play. I still think that after 4 seasons we ought to be better drilled and better at playing the game. Adelaide almost always had someone front and centre. Freo? You summarise the rest beautifully.

All of those have taken their team to a prelim final.

Absolutely agree

Ah, history is made to be broken.

My bleating isn't mindless thanks very much. I have very mindful bleating. :rolleyes:

ThePope said:

Then don't read it.

It's a discussion board and people/fans are entitled to say what they like.

The cold hard facts is that CC and his staff have done nothing with the playing culture. Sure, the club is great shape with the $ and our membership is huge but just like the players that we recruit its all based on potential.

Week IN and Week OUT, its the same fremantle playing group, up one week and down the next. There is NO internal motivation from these players, NO fire on the field, NO angry leadership group stirring up their teammates when we need to lift.

CC stands off playing with a matchup board while his assistants talk to the playing group. WTF??? Screw the matchup board and get stuck into those players and show them what FIRE is. I dont think our players have a healthy respect for CC.

stylor said:
I just feel worn out and fed up with the inconsistency of our team! If we're 7-5 by round 12 but we're still playing such inconsistant footy then I think the coach has to go!

I think that would provide consistency in poor decision making redarding the treatment of our coaches. It would also ensure that we are not high on the list of experienced coaches wanting to come her, which means once again a rookie coach = consistency too I guess.

A record of 7-5 would indicate a potentialfinish around 4th. Strange comment Stylor even though I realise that you are refering to the way the team is playing rather than the win/loss as such.

theGav56 said:
I think that would provide consistency in poor decision making redarding the treatment of our coaches. It would also ensure that we are not high on the list of experienced coaches wanting to come her, which means once again a rookie coach = consistency too I guess.

A record of 7-5 would indicate a potentialfinish around 4th. Strange comment Stylor even though I realise that you are refering to the way the team is playing rather than the win/loss as such.

I really just mean that if the coaches can't get this team playing consistent footy after 2 years of sh*t then they don't deserve to keep their jobs. I just can't understand how we can be so hot and cold!

I'm really just tired of getting confident and excited one week and then being dumped like a sack of sh*t the next, only to drag myself back into a positive frame of mind for the week after! It's doing my head in! :o

Rob said:
Ditto.

What on earth in the last 4 weeks has led you to believe we are suddenly going to start beating decent sides?

Because over the last 12 months we have beaten sides like Geelong (at Geelong) Melbourne (at the Gee) smashed WC in the pre season derby (the only pre season match that both clubs take seriously) and generally have established a very good away record (especially in Melbourne) where our success rate is well over 50% in the last 2 or 3 years. Clearly we have the ability and our home record is what has held us back.

We have the talent otherwise those results would not have been achieved, consistency is our wish.

I cant understand what the fuss over the crows game is?IMO it went as expected the same few senior players let us down.Okay say cc goes and you put in harvey,what if it goes bad and he is no good?what next because there's no coaches available.Do you wait till one comes up,it could be one or two years or more till one is available.Would they be able to do it,remember they have been axed themselves.ayres is the only coach with experience out there i think.What about Walls:D or malcolm ill leave now we're losing blight

dockers_bengals said:
I cant understand what the fuss over the crows game is?IMO it went as expected the same few senior players let us down.Okay say cc goes and you put in harvey,what if it goes bad and he is no good?what next because there's no coaches available.Do you wait till one comes up,it could be one or two years or more till one is available.Would they be able to do it,remember they have been axed themselves.ayres is the only coach with experience out there i think.What about Walls:D or malcolm ill leave now we're losing blight
I'm inclined to agree...the thing with the game on the weekend is that if they hit half of the targets we missed, we win...
Last week, they played good accoutnable footy with good disposal...did they forget how to kick during the week?
Ah well, blame Connolly, it's all his fault :rolleyes:

Lach72 said:
I'm inclined to agree...the thing with the game on the weekend is that if they hit half of the targets we missed, we win...
Last week, they played good accoutnable footy with good disposal...did they forget how to kick during the week?

Thats about spot on. 29 turnovers is like them having an extra first pick midfielder.

Don't woory about roo's umpireassisted 1.6 , most of the shots were taken deep in the pocket , the only place he could get a kick by himself.

Lach72 said:

different opposition. we are in trouble when the opposition put pressure on our ball carrier. Adelaide effectively cut off our ability to switch play and create space. Give us space and we will kill you, starve us of space and we look very ordinary. The good teams take our space.

refresh said:
different opposition. we are in trouble when the opposition put pressure on our ball carrier. Adelaide effectively cut off our ability to switch play and create space. Give us space and we will kill you, starve us of space and we look very ordinary. The good teams take our space.

Just like the Roos took WC's space in the first half and made them look ordinary.

We were up agaist a far better outfit than the roo's and we were not far off.

Yep, those errors cost us the game. Most particularly the delivery into the forward line. If we had made 2 less there we may well have won the game. If our mid field was slightly better at running the lines we would have won the game. If Haze hadnt been injured in the 2nd quarter we may well have won the game. Its not all doom and gloom. We played well below our best and nearly beat the second best team in the comp. I still firmly believe that we need to tweak our mid field for quality pace. The slower a mid field is the easier it is to apply pressure to them, and to that we are susceptible currently.