Ken McGregor

Why are the Crows (again) persisting in turning McGregor into a CHB? I still have nightmares of him being taken to the cleaners by Chris Grant when the Crows hierachy floated this idea 12 months ago.

I gather that Hewitt is injured at the moment, but there is talk they are going to persist with Kenny @ CHB. Hewitt didn't do much wrong last year when Stevo moved forward - ie. good solid performances on the likes of Fat Red. I would prefer the Crows to try someone like Crowell @ CHB whilst Hewitt is injured as he would give more drive for the backline.

Personally I think McGregor's best option (if they persist on picking him) is @ FF, as he is a good mark & kick for goal - but he lacks mobility for either CHF or CHB.

Hewitt played in the ten-a-side game against the Power reserves, so I presume he's either coming back from that injury or the Crows haven't been happy with his form. I think Hewitt had off-season surgery so maybe he's a little behind in his preparation.

I agree about Kenny though, I don't like him at CHB but he did have some good games in that position last year. And I don't see Hewitt as necessarily being the answer either, despite what many think, as he had poor games at CHB in our last two matches in 2001 (he wasn't alone though). I've heard Kenny has lost a bit of his puppy fat from previous years and maybe this will make him a little more agile and better suited to the key defensive position. I'm not really sure. I suppose CHB is between these 2 and whichever takes his chances will get a good crack at it.

Anyway, I trust Ayresy and the boys know what they're doing and hopefully Kenny is able to perform well over the next few weeks and beyond.

I just don't understand why the Crows are again going down the track of playing McGregor @ CHB when it didn't work before. I can only hope I am proved wrong, but I seriously it doubt given his past performances demonstate he doesn't have the mobility for either CHB or CHF. He doesn't stay on his feet enough as he keeps falling over.

Unlike Kenny, Hewitt has played some consistent footy @ CHB & when the Crows were playing their best footy of 2001. Most of the team had a shocker in the last 2 games, so I wouldn't make a decision on the basis of that. If he was fit enough to play in the reserves game, I find it strange he wasn't picked for tonight. Shirley is also unlucky in this regard, although he may get a game if they extend the bench.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
I just don't understand why the Crows are again going down the track of playing McGregor @ CHB when it didn't work before. I can only hope I am proved wrong, but I seriously it doubt given his past performances demonstate he doesn't have the mobility for either CHB or CHF. He doesn't stay on his feet enough as he keeps falling over.

Unlike Kenny, Hewitt has played some consistent footy @ CHB & when the Crows were playing their best footy of 2001. Most of the team had a shocker in the last 2 games, so I wouldn't make a decision on the basis of that. If he was fit enough to play in the reserves game, I find it strange he wasn't picked for tonight. Shirley is also unlucky in this regard, although he may get a game if they extend the bench.

Sorry mate, but it seemed to me you were basing you thoughts about Kenny on a bad game he had against Grant, which any player can have as the Bulldogs champion is all class.

I thought Kenny did play reasonably consistent footy across the half back line early last year but was moved forward as our options dried up there (prior to DJ going to FF) He looked particularly slow and uncoordinated against Geelong (if I recall) at CHF and was dropped thereafter. Personally, I'm not sure where he's best suited.

I was quite astonished myself that Hewitt wasn't picked as well, because, it he was fit, I thought he'd be a starter in the 18(or so I thought) Maybe we're just trying a few things, such as Rutten.

To be fair Kenny was having a reasonable game on Brown until he was injured (looks like he will be out for a month with the knee injury). Athough you need to question how seriously the Lions were taking the game in the 1st half.

Ant - I'm certainly not basing Kenny's game based on the one against the Bulldogs - however that one did stand out for the wrong reasons. I have only missed one home game whilst Kenny has been playing (against West Coast when I was doing my impression of a Dees supporter skiing @ Falls Creek). I hope you are right in saying he has lost some of the puppy fat, because he just hasn't had what it takes to play either CHF or CHB in the past (still reckon FF is his best option). It seems like the Crows hierachy are trying to prove they didn't make the wrong choice in selecting him over Pavlich & giving him every opportunity. Meanwhile Hewitt is playing reserves & has done little wrong.

On tonights game - Welshy did well to kick 4 goals with the limited game time (I hope they will give him more of a go come the real season). Bode was reading the packs well & looks like he is for a good season. Doughty got a bit of the ball & used it well. Schell kicked 3 goals, but wasn't in the game much. Crowell whilst beaten by Brown battled hard (eg. smother on the mark). Birdman looked very danerous early until getting injured. The key midfielders did their job without really setting the game on fire. Now all we need to do is get Stevo & Fitzy on the park. Early days yet, but some positive signs.

Originally posted by Port01
Unfortunately I think he hurt himself tonight.

He apparently has medium damage to his medial ligament which is not as bad as a cruciate ligamnet (apologies in advance if the spelling is off).

I don't think he did it to himself though. Accident not Kennys fault.

He was doing fine on Brown up till that point. As soon as it happened, Lions started to come back in the game. Crowell tried hard but didn't have the size. Great effort by undermanned Lions, but then again Crows lost a key position and had the heat to contend with and just held on against the premiers, so that wasn't too bad also.

"... just held on against the premiers..."! What? An undermanned Brisbane team. To beat them by only two points was a bit disappointing from my point of view.

The commentators said that if the Crows lost they would be severly embarrassed. I don't think we can be too excited by this result. How about a little bit of manning up - how many times did the Lions get the ball out of defence down to the goal square without a Crowboy in site? If all the Lions had been playing we would have been belted by about 10 goals!

I wouldn't get too worried about beating Brisbane by only 2 points when they had numerous player missing as we were also not at full strength either without 3 key position players (ie. Stevens, Fitzgerald & Hewitt). We dominated the first half, then Brisbane's key players (ie. Lappin, Akermanis, Power & Brown) lifted & combined with the warming conditions over-ran us in the 2nd half. There were some positive signs with our forward line & the likes of Doughty & Bode. Whist, you can never take these games too seriously as a form indicator of the real season, its better to be winning than loosing.

I also thought that Hewitt would be the best bet at CHB. AFC are not happy with him for some reason, as he played in the B's against Centrals as well. Hopefully he will get a go this week, if not they could try Sarge at CHB.

Whilst I am not happy with the second half of the Crows, their work in first half and last quarter was quite good. I was impressed with the amount of marks we took during the game, not only up forward (Beinke, Burton) and but around the ground and in one on one contests Clarke's marking was good Stenglien's courageous mark in the third was excellent. Our skill level and ground level work also seems to have improved.

Bode, Burton, Beinke, Hart and McLeod were our best for mine. I liked the look of Rutten. He did'nt set the world on fire, but he worked hard and provided a contest. He kicked a good goal too.

Good signs, but still a bit more work to be done.

Jerome

I don't think anyone is getting excited but I'm pretty happy with what occured last night. An easy 10 goal win would have done nothing but give us an inflated opinion of ourselves....instead we got a hard-fought, tough, close game. The 2 point win helps develop that winning feeling and gives us a bit of confidence, but also with the knowledge we still have to improve quite a bit to be a top eight side. I reckon the addition of Stevens and Fitzy in the coming weeks can only help our conversion rate up forward, while in the mean time there were some promising signs.

Originally posted by Crow54
"... just held on against the premiers..."! What? An undermanned Brisbane team. To beat them by only two points was a bit disappointing from my point of view.

The commentators said that if the Crows lost they would be severly embarrassed. I don't think we can be too excited by this result. How about a little bit of manning up - how many times did the Lions get the ball out of defence down to the goal square without a Crowboy in site? If all the Lions had been playing we would have been belted by about 10 goals!

Brisbane were heavily undermanned, but so were Crows to a lesser extent. Fitzgerald, Stevens, Gallagher, Massie, Hewitt, Johncock & McGregor for the major part of the game is not insignificant. Brisbane had a few more missing it is true, but then again were surely a little more acclimatised to the conditions than were Crows.

All in all you can safely ignore the commentators and their bull about Crows being embarrased if they lost. Crows are just about the only team that seem to be able to beat Lions at the Gabba, and they did it again. In the first half when the conditions were having less impact on Crows, Crows basically put Brisbane out of the game. Lions had to nobble Crows CHB and clock Burton & Goodwin to give themselves any show at all, and even then it wasn't good enough.

Crow54, with your reference to "Crowboy" and your hanging off Vic commentators words, are you sure you are a Crows supporter at all? Troll maybe in sheeps clothing?

Your slip is showing here I think.

How dare you! I don't wear slips. And I'm certainly not a troll.
"Crowboy" is a term of endearment..... you just don't like people criticising your posts. :p

How dare you! I don't wear slips. And I'm certainly not a troll.
"Crowboy" is a term of endearment..... you just don't like people criticising your posts. :p

OK keep your shirt on. I was very annoyed by the commentators comment about Crows being embarrased if they lost, yet at the same time many people were tipping Crows to lose by up to 50 points. It just seems to me that fans of other sides want to have it both ways ... whatever interpretation turns out to look bad for Crows, that must be it. Then when the same comment turns up on the Crows board ... I guess you wore the brunt of that frustration.

Kerley in the Mail is another turncoat ... what was all that carpola about Carlton getting fourth and Crows struggling to make the 8?

Does no-one else have any faith, or what? We did win, after all!

Sure Brisbane were undermanned, but so too were we, and they are the premiers, and it was at the Gabba. How about one or two of us looking at the positives for a damn change!

Yes, I'll keep my shirt on, thanks, even though it's so warm today.

I didn't hear anyone predict the Crows would lose on Saturday night. In fact, everyone I heard said they'd win by 6 goals or more. Which is why I couldn't believe they almost lost that game - another 10 seconds.....

I am a very pessimistic person and usually prefer to expect the worst, then if things turn out better I'm happy.

Last year I couldn't believe everyone was saying the Crows would come bottom - I actually felt they'd do quite well, and we did get in the 8 at the end. However during the year some of our performances were so poor I felt we would be an embarrassment in the finals - and we were.

THIS YEAR I'm expecting a lot less. I don't think we'll do that well - maybe 10th. I'm sorry, but I can see the footy going in and then straight out of the forward lining, making those poor defenders give up and go home.

Hope I'm proved wrong.

Yes, I'll keep my shirt on, thanks, even though it's so warm today.

I didn't hear anyone predict the Crows would lose on Saturday night. In fact, everyone I heard said they'd win by 6 goals or more. Which is why I couldn't believe they almost lost that game - another 10 seconds.....

I am a very pessimistic person and usually prefer to expect the worst, then if things turn out better I'm happy.

Last year I couldn't believe everyone was saying the Crows would come bottom - I actually felt they'd do quite well, and we did get in the 8 at the end. However during the year some of our performances were so poor I felt we would be an embarrassment in the finals - and we were.

THIS YEAR I'm expecting a lot less. I don't think we'll do that well - maybe 10th. I'm sorry, but I can see the footy going in and then straight out of the forward lining, making those poor defenders give up and go home.

Hope I'm proved wrong.

Have a look at the main board - tips for wizard cup round 1. Less than half tipping Crows.

This is a comment from one media source "After leading by 35 points at half-time, the Crows tired in the second half – which they attributed to the oppressive conditions – but were relieved to save face and escape with the victory."

Why is it only just "face saving" that they beat the premiers in an away match and are the only side that can beat Brisbane at Gabba in a long time?

Another quote: "There were no standouts among Adelaide's forwards but Scott Welsh (four goals), recruit Daniel Schell (three), Bryan Beinke (two) and Brett Burton all played cameos."

Well Crows did manage 14 goals in a night game in Brisbane in February, without their two probable first choice key-position forwards in Stevens & Fitzgerald.

What aspect of that was lacking in promise do you feel?

If you are feeling pessimistic, might I suggest to you that it is only the unjustified negative press that Crows seem to be getting that causes it.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Why are the Crows (again) persisting in turning McGregor into a CHB? I still have nightmares of him being taken to the cleaners by Chris Grant when the Crows hierachy floated this idea 12 months ago.

I gather that Hewitt is injured at the moment, but there is talk they are going to persist with Kenny @ CHB. Hewitt didn't do much wrong last year when Stevo moved forward - ie. good solid performances on the likes of Fat Red. I would prefer the Crows to try someone like Crowell @ CHB whilst Hewitt is injured as he would give more drive for the backline.

Personally I think McGregor's best option (if they persist on picking him) is @ FF, as he is a good mark & kick for goal - but he lacks mobility for either CHF or CHB.

I agree. His best asset is his hands. Too slow in the above (chb and chf;)

What the heck are Crows selectors doing? Apparantly Marsh is going to come into the team to replace McGregor & play on Everitt in the backline. What has Hewitt done wrong? Shagged Mrs Ayres or Trigg or something? If the Crows are looking at blooding a young key defender then Handby should be given a go. Whilst I agree about playing the best starting 18, the Crows should name some of the youngsters/rookies (eg. Bock) on the bench, so they can be given a few minutes if we are in control of the game.

Good call

Bock has been named in the squad for this week. So has Mark Stevens! Hopefully Fitzy and Massie might get a run next week. Full squad for this week:

1 - Andrew Crowell
4 - Matthew Clarke
5 - Matthew Shir
6 - Ben Nelson
7 - Nigel Smart
8 - Nathan Bassett
9 - Tyson Edwards
10 - Matthew Bode
11 - Michael Doughty
12 - Robert Shirley
17 - Scott Welsh