Crowman32

ADELAIDE
If the crows traded Ken McGregor at the end of the year what would he worth. The team that may be interested in him would be the Western Bulldogs as they have a real lack of height especially in defence. Would the crows get a second round draft pick or could the crows get more for him. Im not saying i want to trade Kenny but im just interested to know what the crows could get for him.

How many games has McGregor played at the Eagles now? I would have thought he would be back in the side by now.

Change "Ken McGregor" to "Ian Perrie" in the post above and there would be an outrage on this site :rolleyes:

Perrie reckons this may be his last year and he's preparing for life after footy. Don't blame him.
Funny game this. A few years ago Keny was being touted as the best CHB in the comp, killed everyone. Now he can't make the side. Guess it's a matter of balance, but it does point out the strength of the side.

Perrie reckons this may be his last year and he's preparing for life after footy. Don't blame him.
Funny game this. A few years ago Keny was being touted as the best CHB in the comp, killed everyone. Now he can't make the side. Guess it's a matter of balance, but it does point out the strength of the side.
Well he never said that ....he did say that he's playing as if it is his last year ....and that an injury can cut you down.

Mcgregor was an average footballer in a very good side ....he was admired by Crows supporters and probably respected by opposition teams.

The speed and athleticism of AFL footy is IMO probably making the current game beyond his reach

Still reckon Kenny would be a better option than Stevens in the side.

Would probably command a 2nd round pick.

Would have to disagree with that.

Maybe two years ago yes but i agree with WW that McGregor is not athletic enough to play most positions on the ground. Probably his only option would be as BP on a lumbering opposition tall or as a FF in the square (though if the ball was brought to ground it would be cleared away from him every time).

Stevens on the other hand can play CHB/BP, floating tall across HF and FF lines, is a better goalkicker, and a deceptively good mark (though Kenny is meant to be a great contested mark, this is usually cos he gets so many opportunities at it cos he cannot get away from his opponent).

Ken still valuable on the list as a servicable tall while Hentschel out and Sellar/Tippett/Griffen still developing as forward options but i would certainly trade him at the end of the year. IMO his reputation is higher than his real value so yes trade!

Change "Ken McGregor" to "Ian Perrie" in the post above and there would be an outrage on this site :rolleyes:

Change "Ken McGregor" to "Ben Rutten" and there'd be outrage on this site.

Fact of the matter is the discussion in this thread seems to centre on Ken McGregor.

think ur a bit harsh on kenny, i still feel he has to be pretty close to a spot in the side. dont think its past him at all he just cant make it in for team balance after his injury. very similar to the way bock struggled to get back in for a while. having him there puts great pressure on the talls in the side and makes scotty stevens continually have to perform.

he has also been playin pretty well in the sanfl so lets not let it get too out of hand. on the off chance we can do a get a good trade for him go ahead but im not sure what it is we will get. our major area that needs attention is tall forwards and we arent going to get any better tall forwards for him. maybe draft picks but that takes time.

Ken (+ about 10 1st round draft picks) for Pav. How ironic would that be.

Even moreso if Connolly (Longmire? Harvey? Bond?) uses them all on WWT players as we seemed to do during that era.

Would have to disagree with that.

Maybe two years ago yes but i agree with WW that McGregor is not athletic enough to play most positions on the ground. Probably his only option would be as BP on a lumbering opposition tall or as a FF in the square (though if the ball was brought to ground it would be cleared away from him every time).

Stevens on the other hand can play CHB/BP, floating tall across HF and FF lines, is a better goalkicker, and a deceptively good mark (though Kenny is meant to be a great contested mark, this is usually cos he gets so many opportunities at it cos he cannot get away from his opponent).

Ken still valuable on the list as a servicable tall while Hentschel out and Sellar/Tippett/Griffen still developing as forward options but i would certainly trade him at the end of the year. IMO his reputation is higher than his real value so yes trade!
:eek: Kenny has got to be a better option than Stevens.
- Better kick
- More Skilled
- Far better contested mark
- Faster with his decision making
- Doesnt make the awful errors that Stevens makes
- Works harder around the ground (I admire Perrie but he's not the only one who work hard).
- Better Key Position defender

:eek: Kenny has got to be a better option than Stevens.
- Better kick
- More Skilled
- Far better contested mark
- Faster with his decision making
- Doesnt make the awful errors that Stevens makes
- Works harder around the ground (I admire Perrie but he's not the only one who work hard).
- Better Key Position defender
- Better kick -couldn't kick over a jam tin last year
- More Skilled -only at marking, dreadful below his knees and has very limited mobility
- Far better contested mark -I'll give you that but if he doesn't mark it he falls over and is out of the contest
- Faster with his decision making - you kidding, takes an eternity
- Doesnt make the awful errors that Stevens makes Stevens makes 1 bad decision per game, although its usually a shocker - kick inside to a contest
- Works harder around the ground - works hard and is aerobically good but so slow at CHF his defender continually runs off him.
- Better Key Position defender - good at negation but provides no rebound from CHB

I agree Stevens isn't great mainly due to poor body strength for a tall but apart from contested marking don't think Ken is any better.

If Craig wanted McGregor as a defender then he would already be there. I think his main concern with Ken is the fact that the game is ultra-quick now and there are questions over Ken's pace and movement. I think Stevens is under pressure to hold his spot, but I think they want McGregor to develop into a forward line player where he is capable of taking marks. At the moment though, Perrie and Welsh are doing their jobs. The only player McGregor could replace - if we take on the view that he is too slow for a defensive position - is Bock. And Bock is under pressure. We need to see more from Bocky.

But at this stage, there just isn't a place in the current Crows mix for Kenny. Even though he's one of my favs.

McGregor should be in the side, for either Perrie, Bock or Stevens.

But he should be in there.
I agree with you, and those 3 are obviously the candidates.
- Perrie: Would not drop him, does alot for the team
- Bock: Too many upsides, this guy could be a star (fingers crossed he picks up some form)
- Stevens: Basically Ken does everything Stevens does just that bit better, is more versitile and Stevens is too inconsistant, catchya later mate.

McGregor wouldnt be worth hardly a thing. He is struggling to make it into the Crows forward line, which is known for not being very strong.

Ken Ian, and first round (10-16 most likely) for Cooney seems good but i dont think WB would take it. But imagine being able to yell "COOOOOOOOONEY" then "ROOOOOOOOOOOOO" haha sweet

Personally I think there was the option a couple of weeks ago for Ken to make a case for his inclusion back in the side but he had a shocker of a game for the eagles.

Kenny's form for us has been fantastic over a number of years.

however, he was poor last season and many speculated he must have been carrying an injury (which I personally believe). Now, he's still struggling to make our side, and the old kenny is, without question, part of our best 18.

is new kenny, an underdone kenny needing some more time to get right, or is new kenny just slowed by the wear n tear and this is all that's left?

Kenny's form for us has been fantastic over a number of years.

however, he was poor last season and many speculated he must have been carrying an injury (which I personally believe). Now, he's still struggling to make our side, and the old kenny is, without question, part of our best 18.

is new kenny, an underdone kenny needing some more time to get right, or is new kenny just slowed by the wear n tear and this is all that's left?
I think thats a good question that deserves some consideration.

David Noble was on 5AA the other day and he said that Kenny is not getting a game because his hands are a bit off. He is not holding his marks as well as he used to so they want him to improve in that area before recalling him to the side.