Kevin Sheedy

i think who ever gets the freo job is on a hiding to nothing if they are experienced and dont get success people will say why did we pick some one who is past it eg sheedy denehier or laidley ( not so much past it but not achieved too much ) if we get an assistant and promote them the response is thats why they were an assistant not good enough to stand alone . if the have any ties to the eagles people will say thet are trying to take over our club . if we get some from over east people will say they dont understand the culture of fremantle . Good Luck to how ever gets it youll need it with the media and even a number of our own supporters

Now this sucks.
Whoever gets the job, unless they are a former west coast wan.er, is going to be in trouble from day one. and i believe that this is the reason harvey is taking his time over whether he wants to be caretaker coach. Is it worth the constant barreling from the West coast eagle media? if they're victorian, then they are not west australian so the media will say that they dont know the culture. if they are a former docker, then they have a losing culture and are mentally weak, if the are a former coach from another club, they will only bring up their record from that club, if you get a legendary coach like sheeds, then he will be considered over the hill. it just stinks.
wish there was a way we could obliterate the eagles and their lap dog media out of the competition

Lets just hire Sumich as coach, change our name to the Fremantle Eaglets and be done with it.:(

Yes, yes, yes!

If Sheeds is available lets throw the required money his way and get him over here. His performance with a Bombers team widely tipped to be bottom 4 this year has been outstanding and proves he still has the fire to coach.

A change of scenery would do him wonders too I reckon. He'd have to be getting a little stale at Windy Hill even if he doesn't realise it and a move over here would reinvigorate him. I know he has nothing left to prove but if there's one job left in footy for a master coach to increase his reputation it's turning Freo into a premiership team. Would cap off his career nicely.

Plus he has the added bonus that the eagles hate him. And I think if there's anyone that could buy a little time off our rabid west coast media it's a legend like Sheeds.

I would be very happy with Sheedy, not convinced he would relocate to WA but would be estatic if it happens.

and as for the first two posts, you people really are full of the joys of spring lol. :p

I agree with the Sheedy/ Harvey split coaching role with Sheeds as a mentor 100% Sheeds is getting on but 1 or 2 years under his mentorship would be great for Harevs and would be great for the club.
Freo should make him an offer he can't refuse, we have plenty of money.
Shhedy presence at Freo would be a watershed. He would tolerate the bullshit that has been happening
I say reunite the old team of Sheeds and Harvey, come West Kevin it is a challenge you can't resist.

Mate I was throwing that name out there before we took Conolly to begin with...
Sheedy has always had a soft spot for the dockers.

Well he was nearly our first coach.

(I just really dont want Sumich here!!!!!!)

Agreed! I REALLY don't want him here either. Anyone who can't articulate a sentence.... somehow I just can't respect them.

I would love sheeds but don't think he will come here. Lets hope the bombers don't win another game and we can get him

Yes, yes, yes!

If Sheeds is available lets throw the required money his way and get him over here. His performance with a Bombers team widely tipped to be bottom 4 this year has been outstanding and proves he still has the fire to coach.

A change of scenery would do him wonders too I reckon. He'd have to be getting a little stale at Windy Hill even if he doesn't realise it and a move over here would reinvigorate him. I know he has nothing left to prove but if there's one job left in footy for a master coach to increase his reputation it's turning Freo into a premiership team. Would cap off his career nicely.

Plus he has the added bonus that the eagles hate him. And I think. if there's anyone that could buy a little time off our rabid west coast media it's a legend like Sheeds.

I can see a positive impact on this... we need a supercoach to guide this club. this bloke is the man. I can think he can Do Leigh CoMatthews did to Brisbane and collingwood. It took what Leigh Mathews done is no mean feat.

Guiding an interstate side, or in freos case a struggling interstate side is not an easy challenge. Come on Mr Kevin sheedy, you want a challenge, theres one "right here waiting" for you.

Imagine the western derbies!

you do this then youre a legend!

Yes, yes, yes!

Plus he has the added bonus that the eagles hate him. And I think if there's anyone that could buy a little time off our rabid west coast media it's a legend like Sheeds.

I can see a positive impact on this... we need a supercoach to guide this club. this bloke is the man. I can think he can Do Leigh Matthews did to Brisbane and collingwood. It took what Leigh Mathews done is no mean feat.

Guiding an interstate side, or in freos case a struggling interstate side is not an easy challenge. Come on Mr Kevin sheedy, you want a challenge, theres one "right here waiting" for you.

Imagine the western derbies!

you do this then youre a legend!

Get Sheedy....I don't give a damn what it costs, just get him to our club.

I am the same as Wizard and Sabre and was advocating him when we were looking before CC's appointment.

If he is available we would be foolish to miss the opportunity.....

i think who ever gets the freo job is on a hiding to nothing if they are experienced and dont get success people will say why did we pick some one who is past it eg sheedy denehier or laidley ( not so much past it but not achieved too much ) if we get an assistant and promote them the response is thats why they were an assistant not good enough to stand alone . if the have any ties to the eagles people will say thet are trying to take over our club . if we get some from over east people will say they dont understand the culture of fremantle . Good Luck to how ever gets it youll need it with the media and even a number of our own supporters

And if you bring success to our club, you will be hailed as a hero and go down in history. It's not a hiding to nothing, it's a hiding to the pinnacle of football.
You would come over and pick anyone you want to support you and you'd have virtually unlimited resources. I would have thought that's a pretty attractive job for someone like Sheedy.

And if you bring success to our club, you will be hailed as a hero and go down in history. It's not a hiding to nothing, it's a hiding to the pinnacle of football.
You would come over and pick anyone you want to support you and you'd have virtually unlimited resources. I would have thought that's a pretty attractive job for someone like Sheedy.

I agree Rob. If Sheeds is still keen to coach, I reckon Freo would be a pretty huge temptation for him. The opportunity to take the club to it's first flag would have to be appealing.

My 2 cents from a Bomber fan:

If Sheedy did come over to Freo and got them that flag he would become footballing immortality. Make no mistake this scenario has Sheedy written all over it.

The Eagles hate Sheedy, can you imagine the WA derbies...Sheedy would have the WA media wrapped around his little finger and thats what Freo has been lacking for as long as I can remember, a coach who can point his middle finger to the biased WA media

He'd give the playing group a huge kick in the backside because really IMO thats what Fremantle need. They seem to be going through the motions. Fremantle easily have a top 3 playing list but for what ever reason are struggling to gel as a team.

If Sheedy did come over to Freo and got them that flag he would become footballing immortality. Make no mistake this scenario has Sheedy written all over it.

The Eagles hate Sheedy, can you imagine the WA derbies...Sheedy would have the WA media wrapped around his little finger and thats what Freo has been lacking for as long as I can remember, a coach who can point his middle finger to the biased WA media

He'd give the playing group a huge kick in the backside because really IMO thats what Fremantle need. They seem to be going through the motions. Fremantle easily have a top 3 playing list but for what ever reason are struggling to gel as a team.

Well said.:thumbsu:

Relevant and truthful.

Sheedy is our man.

Chase him aggressively please Rick and Cameron!

Those three pars are worth a lot more than 2c. Well said. Especially the bit about Sheedy being able to stare down the WA media.

Get Sheedy....I don't give a damn what it costs, just get him to our club.

I am the same as Wizard and Sabre and was advocating him when we were looking before CC's appointment.

If he is available we would be foolish to miss the opportunity.....
You guys were onto something in 2001. When Drum was sacked, getting the current premiership coach must have seemed really clever. ;)

Got ya :p

You guys were onto something in 2001. When Drum was sacked, getting the current premiership coach must have seemed really clever. ;)

Got ya :p

You make a good point!!:thumbsu:

Back then it was a pie in the sky dream to have someone of his stature.....and who knows what would have happened??

But now it may be a reality.

Maybe.