Knocked Unconscious

I play hockey and in one game my teammate tried tackling a guy from another team and knocked the guy over. I was on the other side of the bloke and as he lost balance his arms flailed wildly and his stick smashed me across the back and side of the head.

I woke up a minutes or so later 'apparently' in the dugout with sand all over my face (synthetic ground) and then got placed in the back of an ambulance. Had a massive headache. Had to remain lying down with a neck brace strapped on, on a table at a local emergency for over eight hours. Was not allowed to get up at all.

Ever tried taking a wizz lying down? It's impossible!!!:thumbsd:

Embers said:
Got a bouncer playing cricket didnt wear a helmet and smack in my head. I woke up with blood everywhere, busted my lip my nose and a scratch on my head aswell.

I didnt even get a apology

What is this ? Netball ? ;) No apologies

First and second times where when I was twelve in a fight at school. I was facing up to a kid my age and I woke up looking at the sky. Didn't see or feel the punch.
I got straight up and chased him, got a few good ones in and let him get up. (note to self: Never, NEVER let them get up!!) I reckon he threw about twenty in ten seconds. Most landed and I remember going down and waking up with a teacher's handbag under my head. I tried to get up for another go but they held me down pretty easily. I spent a few hours in hospital getting checked out and went home. Felt like crap for about a week. I walk away from fights now:)

Times 3 through to 11 were all on the footy field until I retired at the ripe old age of twenty. I got kicked in the head at 13, cleaned up Pickett style at 15,
an accidental head clash and a shirtfront at 16. 1988 was the worst year when I was concussed four times yet kept playing:mad: :eek: :o

Retired after round 1 of '89 and have never played since.

When I woke up, it felt like coming out of a general anesthetic except you had the physical pain from the responsible blow. When I was king hit in '88, I woke up on the ground about 20-25 seconds after the event and it felt like someone had stabbed my ear with an icepick and that kind of affected me more than the grogginess. My jaw still clicks from that one nearly 20 years later.

My advice in regards to being knocked unconcious?

Try not to let it happen.....

It hurts.

Jimmy Gwilt said:
who here has been knocked out and how and wat did it feel like - could u remember what happened before hand and describe wat the feeling is like

Got knocked out and had concussion, strange feeling indeed. missed a week of school and couldn't remember the week prior at all.

I've been out twice.

First time was when I was playing school footy in Year 9, went up for a mark, came down and smacked my head on the turf, out for about 30 seconds. Some guy was videotaping the match for some project of his so I was able to see what it looked like and it was not pretty at all! What's the deal with the arm being stiff and straight up?

Second time was a drunken incident at Maccas. Why is it that whenever you're drinking you feel like fatty crap! So we drove to maccas and for some reason I raced my mate to the toilet and that stupid cleaner had just cleaned the floors and they were wet n crap so I slipped and fell backwards and split my head open, out for about 15 seconds. My other mate slipped as well but just hurt his tailbone.

Terrible feeling the day after. Headaches, feeling sick and I remember once I woke up and my vision was really blurry, blinked heaps and tried to get my vision back but couldn't. I was tripping over things and being freaked out for about 30 minutes. Eventually it slowly came back. Very scary.

Only once, from drinking. Blacked out... next thing I knew was vomiting in a sink in the toilets, blacked out... was lying on the floor in the bar, about to be escorted from the premises, blacked out... came to lying on a brick fence. Somehow I managed to get home after that... I couldn't eat for a day.

When I blacked out I simply have no recollection of what happened. The hangover was killer.