Kogan Electronics

Aussie Assault

Hey guys. Just after some advice about Kogan Electronics. I saw this on one of the great Today Tonight or A Current Affair shows a while back about Kogan.

He sells big TVs and other electronics on eBay at a fairly cheap price because he established business relationships with the manufacturers of the components that make up a TV and cut out all the middle men.

His user rating is great, and also offers 1, 3, 5 year warranties on his products as well as free pick up from Melbourne. Just wondering if anyone has purchased any of their goods? Any reviews of them?

The link to his eBay store is: http://myworld.ebay.com.au/kogan_direct

Mate of mine had all sorts of trouble with Kogan, tv got dead pixels and the warranty was a pain. Get this, the Kogan bloke said over the phone that they drop each tv, inside its box, from a height of 10 feet onto a floor before they send them out, they don't break, they're good to go...........:eek:

Haha. Sounds like they run a good business.

I had a good read of a thread on the DTV forum and think I will steer clear of them. There were a lot of good reviews about them, but when something did go wrong (as you say Herbs) then it seems as though its a bit of stuffing around to get it sorted.

I actually picked up one of their 46" LCD's last week, (won on ebay for 1450$, picked it up from warehouse in Carrum Downs)

People knocking the warranty, well, mine had a dead pixel, talked to their support team on msn, told me to take it back to the warehouse. (kind of annoying, the tvs have an "onsite warranty" (note, doesnt start till after the DOA period, and doesnt do anything about pixels, leaving you with a 7 day 0 dead/2stuck pixel warranty)
Got down there, they tested it for me immediately, and 5 mins later i was leaving with a brand new one. New tv has one stuck pixel but, cant see it from my viewing distance anyway.

As for the quality of the actual tv... Well the picture is outstanding considering the price, using it as a computer monitor as well and had no problems at all. ps3 looks great on it.

Now for the big and... (only one so far) problem. Anyone familiar with the Sony Bravia backlight bleed problems on certain models (can get pretty bad) knows how annoying it is.. One thing Kogan Tvs have, is bad backlight bleed (only visible in really dark scenes, but still gets annoying)

For those not familiar with backlight bleed, its where parts of the screen are brighter than others (especially on black backgrounds), whereas both Kogan Tvs i've had have had it pretty bad in the corners.

But hey, a 46" LCD TV for under 1500$??? Can't complain. Only bought it to tide me over till Lasers are out and decently priced :P.

(btw for anyone wondering, extremely easy to mount onto a wall as well)

These TV's do seem to give off a fair bit of heat (not sure if all LCD TVs are the same, never really noticed)

Another thing, for some reason my first tv came with the menu in chinese, also made some crackling noises when turning on/off. No such problems with the replacement though.

If anyone wants to know anything else, feel free to ask. All in all a decent Tv for the price, but not without its faults.

I actually picked up one of their 46" LCD's last week, (won on ebay for 1450$, picked it up from warehouse in Carrum Downs)

People knocking the warranty, well, mine had a dead pixel, talked to their support team on msn, told me to take it back to the warehouse. (kind of annoying, the tvs have an "onsite warranty" (note, doesnt start till after the DOA period, and doesnt do anything about pixels, leaving you with a 7 day 0 dead/2stuck pixel warranty)
Got down there, they tested it for me immediately, and 5 mins later i was leaving with a brand new one. New tv has one stuck pixel but, cant see it from my viewing distance anyway.

As for the quality of the actual tv... Well the picture is outstanding considering the price, using it as a computer monitor as well and had no problems at all. ps3 looks great on it.

Now for the big and... (only one so far) problem. Anyone familiar with the Sony Bravia backlight bleed problems on certain models (can get pretty bad) knows how annoying it is.. One thing Kogan Tvs have, is bad backlight bleed (only visible in really dark scenes, but still gets annoying)

For those not familiar with backlight bleed, its where parts of the screen are brighter than others (especially on black backgrounds), whereas both Kogan Tvs i've had have had it pretty bad in the corners.

But hey, a 46" LCD TV for under 1500$??? Can't complain. Only bought it to tide me over till Lasers are out and decently priced :P.

(btw for anyone wondering, extremely easy to mount onto a wall as well)

These TV's do seem to give off a fair bit of heat (not sure if all LCD TVs are the same, never really noticed)

Another thing, for some reason my first tv came with the menu in chinese, also made some crackling noises when turning on/off. No such problems with the replacement though.

If anyone wants to know anything else, feel free to ask. All in all a decent Tv for the price, but not without its faults.

Argh.. Dont say this. I am so confused as to whether I should try my luck with one or not.

I am not big into the technology of plasmas/lcds at all and as for picture quality etc I dont think I would really be able to sit there and say whether its great or shit, which is why I dont want to spend $2500-$3500 or more on a big tv..

The main thing that is deterring me however is the fact if something goes wrong with it. I know on the DTV forum there were quite a few issues when trying to sort out problems that customers had with their units, but then you also hear plenty of good stories such as this one from you EP.

Have you watched much sport on it yet? Does it ghost at all? I would mainly want it for the footy, and my xbox 360, as well as movies I suppose, and it is really hard to go past them when they sell at the prices they have been.

Watched a bit of cricket but thats about it, only had it for a couple of weeks now.

PS3 is amazing, no problems with it whatsoever.

The actual 1 year onsite warranty isn't through Kogan themselves, but through UEE. (I work at a computer shop and we also sell these warranties with new systems, havn't heard any problems with them)

Dealing with Kogans customer service was pretty good, however if you ask them a question they don't know the answer to, instead of telling you they tend to ignore it, and you have to push them a little bit to get an answer.

If you do plan on buying one, your best bet is to scope a few out, the 46"'s ive seen have gone from anywhere between 1400 and 1950$, so if you decide to get one, try to hold off till you get a good price.

Watched a bit of cricket but thats about it, only had it for a couple of weeks now.

PS3 is amazing, no problems with it whatsoever.

The actual 1 year onsite warranty isn't through Kogan themselves, but through UEE. (I work at a computer shop and we also sell these warranties with new systems, havn't heard any problems with them)

Dealing with Kogans customer service was pretty good, however if you ask them a question they don't know the answer to, instead of telling you they tend to ignore it, and you have to push them a little bit to get an answer.

If you do plan on buying one, your best bet is to scope a few out, the 46"'s ive seen have gone from anywhere between 1400 and 1950$, so if you decide to get one, try to hold off till you get a good price.

Thanks mate. Much appreciated. I am now again leaning towards getting one. I have changed my mind a dozen times already.

If I do get one and it goes alright, at this price I'll be getting another one for the living area as well.

No worries, just so you know, pickup is in Carrum Downs.

Definately try to do this if you can, as they charge rediculous amounts for postage (160$).

If you can't get there to pick up, you can also organise your own courier (would be much cheaper i feel)

As i said, the tv's are great for the price, but that backlight bleed really annoys me for some reason (that said, if i had my time over again id still buy one)
Only has 1 HDMI input (which i rectified by buying a 4port hdmi switch) and the menu's extremely basic, not a whole lot of customization.

If you do get one, let me know how it goes and your thoughts on the TV. Everyone thats seen mine has loved it.