Kruezer Still A Chance ?

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

I know it is another draft related thread but I found this article to be quite interesting: http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22773229%5E20322,00.html

IT'S come down to a sexy choice between Matthew Kreuzer and Trent Cotchin.

Carlton chief executive Greg Swann confirmed last night it was a race in two for the No. 1 national draft position.

"Someone used the analogy that it's Megan Gale versus Jennifer Hawkins -- and you wouldn't mind if you got No. 1 or No. 2," he said.
Swann said his personal preference was Gale, but he would not reveal who her draft equivalent was.

Kreuzer is still favourite to be the No. 1 pick next Saturday, but midfielder Cotchin is believed to be a lot closer to the top than widely reported.

In 7 days time all this arguing amongst ourselves about whether to take Cotchin or Morton might just be a mute point. Just have to sit back and see what unfolds.

It will be Krezuer. Carlton don't have the cojonnes to do anything adventurous.

You could though make a case for 1. Cotchin, 2. Morton, 3. Krezuer.

Personally I have Cotchin as 4th best behind Masten, Morton and Kreuzer.

The club won't let us have Masten because he is just a rover. So Morton for mine ahead of the other two ... so I don't care what Carlton do.

I would take Morton before any of them....

Blues are certainties to take Kreuzer as their current ruck division is poor. He should walk into the senior side and play most games which is a rarity for young ruckmen.

I know it is another draft related thread but I found this article to be quite interesting: http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22773229%5E20322,00.html

In 7 days time all this arguing amongst ourselves about whether to take Cotchin or Morton might just be a mute point. Just have to sit back and see what unfolds.

Calrton has locked Kreuzer for the first pick. I wouldn't pay attention to what Greg Swan says about their clubs recruiting, it would be like our CEO (Steven Wright) saying that will be picking Morton with pick #2. Quite simply they have no say in the clubs recruiting.

Interesting that you rate Morton number two and behind masten.

I think this article is setting up another Richmond stuffed the draft article - if we pick Mortoan and he is good but cotchin shows better early form and he goes pick 3 or 4 watch the knives come out.

Interesting that you rate Morton number two and behind masten.

I think this article is setting up another Richmond stuffed the draft article - if we pick Mortoan and he is good but cotchin shows better early form and he goes pick 3 or 4 watch the knives come out.

Guaranteed no matter what happens PJ. Carlton could pick Patrick Bowden with 1 and we take Kruezer with 2, then when Paddy gets 13 possessions off the bench in round 1 and Kruezer is getting a feel for it at Coburg the back pages of all the papers will read "Tiges Make Wrong Choice - Again!"

We still cop it over Pettifer despite three good seasons and half those taken above him in the draft no longer playing in the AFL. Tambling may not be doing as much as Franklin but he's looking a lot more impressive than Roughead. We just have to put up with it until we get three or four years of finals behind us.

Meanwhile, interesting to see Weaver's top 4. Cheered me up.

i like masten and would love someone like him in the guts next to foley but there is no way he can be rated ahead of cotchin especially being a year older than him aswell

hags people dont bag pettifer because of where we got him in the draft more the fact that he is soft and plays like a girl

tambling more impressive than roughead?, seems like you dont rate 40 goals from a 20 yr old full forward:o

Swann's bluffing and just trying to reduce the pressure on Kruezer. Kruezer is the most talented in the draft by an absolute mile, and the Blues have already decided to pick him. The decision was made a while back. Swann is manipulating the media for Carlton and Kruezer's benefit. Nice work. :)

tambling more impressive than roughead?, seems like you dont rate 40 goals from a 20 yr old full forward:o

Man...Tambling comparisons never stop.

If you insist on doing it on stats alone.
In 2 less games Tambling had....
70 more disposals. 27 more marks. 43 more kicks. 13% better goal conversion. 13 more tackles. etc.

Stats can prove just about anything. I would still take Bling over Roughead ... am i biased? yes...so make of it what you will.

Swann's bluffing and just trying to reduce the pressure on Kruezer. Kruezer is the most talented in the draft by an absolute mile, and the Blues have already decided to pick him. The decision was made a while back. Swann is manipulating the media for Carlton and Kruezer's benefit. Nice work. :)

If Swann is trying to minipulate the media with his comments then not many people are falling for it. In an article from the Herald Sun last week mentioned that no club but Carlton has spoken to Kreuzer since draft camp. That is a pretty good indication that everybody knows that Kreuzer is going at #1.

True. IMO top-5 picks should always be made based on the best talent, rather than current team-requirements. Having said that, if we didn’t trade away Kennedy, it was going to be hard to play talls like Aisake, Hampson, Kruezer and Kennedy all close to the 200cm mark in the one team. When Kennedy’s trade was confirmed, the Kruezer selection was 100% locked in. Kruezer can fulfil Kennedy’s KP forward role, as well as playing ruck, or as an oversized midfielder/winger, and adds versatility to our list. Kennedy was pretty much a pack busting CHF only, albeit a good one. :)

We did something adventurous last year when we overlooked the highly rated Proud and Jetta to take Hampson. I'd be rapt if they took either of them, but every self-appointed expert would tear pieces off the club if they did it again.

But we're taking Kreuzer.
I'm sick of the lanky skinny boys.
Wayne Hughes board.

I'd take a Murphy, Hodge, Mclean, Kerr or Jones ahead of a lanky player like Grigg, Pendlebury, Bate and Embley nearly everytime.

Take Cotchin and keep him in Victoria. :thumbsu:

Man...Tambling comparisons never stop.

If you insist on doing it on stats alone.
In 2 less games Tambling had....
70 more disposals. 27 more marks. 43 more kicks. 13% better goal conversion. 13 more tackles. etc.

Stats can prove just about anything. I would still take Bling over Roughead ... am i biased? yes...so make of it what you will.

mate id still take bling over roughead aswell because i beleive he will come good as soon as he gets a bit more confidence in his body, i just didnt beleive in hags comments that he was a lLOT more impressive than roughead because he hasnt been

thats all it was

Trent Cotchin to Richmond

Reports are that recruiters rate Cotchin above Kruezer. I hope the tankers get Kruezer and we end up recruiting Cotchin.
He looks to be a Star in the making
quote from the Melbourne sunday Age " on the champion data stats sheet,turned the ball over with just three of his 80-plus kicks" i dont care if he is a few centimetres shorter than Kruezer it is what Richmond needs nuff said now go and get him tiges!!!

each to their own I say and my thoughts are that Cotchin will offer the Tigers a lot more than Kreuser - he may be found wanting at top level footy for some years where Cotchin will fit in nicely immediately. I think that Cotchin will be a star in the centre for us and add Foley and co and we have a pretty impressive midfield.

Kreuser may take years to progress and may not be much better than Fraser from the Pies - I dont want to wait that long for success, nor take that risk. Cotchins will be just what the Tigers need and we will match it with most other sides midfields with him there.

Let the blues have Kreuser as I dont have the same outlook on him adding value as I do Cotchins. The Age agree and think Cotch is #1.

Get him! :cool:

Guaranteed no matter what happens PJ. Carlton could pick Patrick Bowden with 1 and we take Kruezer with 2, then when Paddy gets 13 possessions off the bench in round 1 and Kruezer is getting a feel for it at Coburg the back pages of all the papers will read "Tiges Make Wrong Choice - Again!"

We still cop it over Pettifer despite three good seasons and half those taken above him in the draft no longer playing in the AFL. Tambling may not be doing as much as Franklin but he's looking a lot more impressive than Roughead. We just have to put up with it until we get three or four years of finals behind us.

Meanwhile, interesting to see Weaver's top 4. Cheered me up.

Surely u guys acknowledge your drafting has been bad recently.

From the Herald Sun

One of those was Kreuzer's teammate Trent Cotchin. Cotchin broke an ankle during the TAC finals, but will be taken very early in the draft.
West Coast would want him with the No. 3 pick it received from Carlton as part of the Chris Judd swap, but Richmond is expected to take him with the No. 2 selection.
"I got caught between one of the boys' legs from Calder (Cannons) on the ground and it (ankle) sort of got bent over to a point where it had never been before," Cotchin said.
"When I suffered the injury I thought the AFL mightn't want me to go to the camp and it would have also given someone else an opportunity. But they told me to come.
"I was looking forward to proving myself in the endurance and beep tests, but you can't do much about it at all.
"Hopefully, it won't affect my chances of being drafted."
Cotchin, a Geelong supporter, said that while he would like to stay in Melbourne, it was his lifetime dream to play in the AFL.
He admits it can be tough completing Year 12 and committing to give football enough time to perform at the highest standard without compromising either.
"Year 12 has been tough and you just get tired all the time," Cotchin said. "I got pretty run down when the footy season finished. I got pretty sick as well. I've just been trying to work through all that."
Richmond said it would be wrong to assume that just because it secured Mitch Morton from West Coast during the trade period that it would choose his younger brother Cale, who won the Larke Medal for the best player at the national under-18 championships this year.
Other clubs say the Tigers would be mad not to go for Cotchin, a talented midfielder, leaving Morton for the Eagles.

And the Age
1. Trent Cotchin
(Northern Knights. 17, 185cm, 80kg) Of all the players I've seen this season, Cotchin is the one who most screams: "star".
He has skills on both sides of his body, speed, and he's a real ducker and weaver (think Gary Ablett junior) who can kick goals and exert huge infl uence on how a game turns out.
Some have questioned his endurance, but Vo2max testing shows he has the capacity to run hard enough to play as a true onballer.
At 17, he's only just eligible for this year's draft but extremely driven.
What nudges him ahead of Matthew Kreuzer, Cale Morton and David Myers is the fact it is slightly clearer where he will play and what sort of player he'll be.

I also read somewhere in the Age that Collingwoods recruiting officer said he ranked Cotchin at 1. It seems with Kreuzer pretty much a cert to go to Carlton, the papers are shifting some of their speculation to who will go second and they all seem to be pointing to Cotchin.

doesn't really matter. The top 4 are standouts so who goes at 2 is irrelevant.

Remember judd went 3rd! if richmond dont pick Cotchin at second (carlton 1st pick Kreuzer) then they will be regretting it like hawks and saints the year judd went by (yes fatty hodge is a good half back flanker and 55 year old bally is serviceable).

Morton is a hack - just like his brother -i can remember the same hype about his brother and he is average at best.

Cotchin or bust for richmond...dont give weagles another superstar with pick three

West coast will not pick morton with thrid pick and I reckon he will go as high as 7th.

Good lck