Gippy Power
I really feel for Kyle Martin. Bloke has largely carved up the VFL for 3 years now and has never really been given a sustained run in the seniors. With all the injuries we've had he still can't get a game ahead of Seedsman who was just average last weekend. Clearly has to be on the outer doesn't he / off next team. Might be the one that got away I reckon. Ideal replacement for Luke Ball in my view.

Thoughts?

Yeah it is a bit of a mystery why Martin hasnt been given a good run at the seniors. Kennedy is another one in this basket although has had a bit more time. Seedsman hasnt had a great year, injury affected, but seems to get a cal up pretty easily.

What chance Martin seeking another club?

IMV Seedsman is a far better proposition than Martin ever will be. Better skills, better pace, better kick and better shot at goal and is vastly more versatile.
If Martin isn't being selected then it is up to him to rectify that ...... and he has been given opportunities at senior level and been average at best.

I hope he stays and learns and becomes the player we all think he can be

I don't understand why we are rumoured to be going after Sumner, when we have a guy like Martin on the list.
He has proven he kick goals, run through the middle, tackle etc.
He is taller than Sumner also.

I don't understand why we are rumoured to be going after Sumner, when we have a guy like Martin on the list.
He has proven he kick goals, run through the middle, tackle etc.
He is taller than Sumner also.

Sumner has more pace, maybe thats why we r interested. I feel sorry for martin, been pumping out huge numbers for 2 years now and deserved more chances. Whether he is good enough to take those deserved chances we may never know at collingwood, but im sure some other club will play him

I really feel for Kyle Martin. Bloke has largely carved up the VFL for 3 years now and has never really been given a sustained run in the seniors. With all the injuries we've had he still can't get a game ahead of Seedsman who was just average last weekend. Clearly has to be on the outer doesn't he / off next team. Might be the one that got away I reckon. Ideal replacement for Luke Ball in my view.

Thoughts?

I tend to agree with you. If Martin gets a sustained run in the seniors somewhere he may make us look silly.
It's not like he hasn't shown us he can play.

I'm probably in the minority but I just think Kyle is a great VFL player. In his last senior game he played 20 minutes of game time and did not register a single stat. Not even a free kick given away in anger! In the other game this year he didn't really impress me much either. At his size he needs more weapons at AFL level.

I think that KM is now behind BK,JT, Broomhead. Who among these players should have been denied game time in favour of KM?

Marley/Blair will have more time in the mid field next year ahead of KM because they have more grunt especially now that LB has retired.

So in the absence of grunt, speed or X factor KM's attributes are sadly not strong enough to demand a start in the seniors.

IMV Seedsman is a far better proposition than Martin ever will be. Better skills, better pace, better kick and better shot at goal and is vastly more versatile.
If Martin isn't being selected then it is up to him to rectify that ...... and he has been given opportunities at senior level and been average at best.

I hope he stays and learns and becomes the player we all think he can be
Absolutely no way could you say he has been given a real crack. He came in v Adelaide and played at CHF against two Half backs as Pies played 7 man defence. Adelaide attacks off half back. Fair dinkum have a real look at situations. As for saying Seedsman a better set shot you may want to get the statistics on that. Kyle very rarely misses a set shot from any angle.

I'm probably in the minority but I just think Kyle is a great VFL player. In his last senior game he played 20 minutes of game time and did not register a single stat. Not even a free kick given away in anger! In the other game this year he didn't really impress me much either. At his size he needs more weapons at AFL level.

^this.

He has had a bit of a run in the seniors (ideally not the greatest sample size) but he has been far from impressive... and given that he is older than many of our other young smalls, you can see why they would be given a chance ahead of him.

Also, Bucks and Eade often talk about "markers" they are looking for in players... which are likely things that often don't show up on the stats that we would see as fans, and possibly even the types of things that we wouldn't even notice. (For example - we could look at all the times throughout his career that Maxy was maligned by the fans and people thought he wasn't in our best 22 - and yet those inside the club clearly knew his value... it just took the rest of us a lot longer to understand).

I think Martin's poor showing in the seniors could be a sign that the selectors were probably right in delaying his shot in the seniors.

People need to realise that the AFL and the state leagues are very different games - and being able to rack up stats in the VFL doesn't always translate into being a good player at senior level.

For me - Danny Stanley is someone who always comes to mind when I think about Martin - a guy who always performed well in the VFL, but was always on the fringes of our seniors - he was just never quite good enough. Went to Gold Coast, had a decent career there as a good, solid player... but never showed anything that we didn't know he had, and probably not someone that we "missed" at Collingwood.

I would like to see Martin kept on - he is good depth on the list, and I'm sure there are things that the club is asking him to work on that would give him more of a chance to be succesful at AFL level... and hopefully next time he can take his chance when given the opportunity.

^^^ Good post. I would have liked to see us give him another shot over the last couple of rounds so it could help us make up our mind about him. I think it's unlikely he makes it, but of course I am happy to be proved wrong.

Played forward pocket after coming on at start of last qtr. pretty sure if you wer
He played the last qtr in the forward pocket. Beat his man off at least 3-4 times. Dwyer missed him from 20 away, Marley took a pot shot and missed instead of hitting Kyle up, Cloke passed it to him but Elliot cut across (which you would expect him to do, leading goal kicker). Wouldn't you have thought Buckley would've played him through his natural position midfield to give him a chance to get involved??? Plenty of players have played forward pocket and not touched the footy, their time in game eventually comes and they take their chance. He wasn't happy he didn't touch it. But give me a spell using that as an example. Watch the last qtr again and tell me if you recon he didn't work hard to get dangerous. He was unlucky. As for weapons 27 goals from the midfield missing 5 games this year in the VFL not enough for you mate? Narrow minded supporters. I hope he does get a chance elsewhere to stick it up the doubters.

Thoughts?

Seedsman is a fricken jet..... The occasional brain fart aside, he breaks lines and has a devastating boot on him.
There is no way in hell that Martin should be picked before him. It's a travesty that both Seeds and JT haven't had more senior time this year.

Look I know we have to trust the club to make the right call on players. Martin seems destined to be de listed unfortunately at the end of the year which I think is such a shame given we have been so adamant in not giving him an extended run in the seniors. Clearly the club is seeing or not seeing something that many of supporters see as ability to make it at AFL level.

I hope this doesn't come back and bite us a little like the Ceglar delisting appears to be at the moment. Ceglar names at CHF tonight for Hawks in a team that is going to finish 2nd on the ladder with every chance of playing off in a GF. Yet could not get a game or even look in for the Pies.

He played the last qtr in the forward pocket. Beat his man off at least 3-4 times. Dwyer missed him from 20 away, Marley took a pot shot and missed instead of hitting Kyle up, Cloke passed it to him but Elliot cut across (which you would expect him to do, leading goal kicker). Wouldn't you have thought Buckley would've played him through his natural position midfield to give him a chance to get involved??? Plenty of players have played forward pocket and not touched the footy, their time in game eventually comes and they take their chance. He wasn't happy he didn't touch it. But give me a spell using that as an example. Watch the last qtr again and tell me if you recon he didn't work hard to get dangerous. He was unlucky. As for weapons 27 goals from the midfield missing 5 games this year in the VFL not enough for you mate? Narrow minded supporters. I hope he does get a chance elsewhere to stick it up the doubters.

Just to be clear I want him to do well, I've loved his performances at VFL level and our success in making the finals this year and last can be largely attributed to him.

But players (mids, especially) rarely get to perform in the exact same role when they step up into the seniors. He did not adapt to the role on the day, if he'd provided defensive pressure, anything it would have been a good sign. The ball was in our forward line plenty in that last quarter, too. And see my post above - not just willing to use this as an example, I would have liked to see him in the seniors over the last couple of games to give us more of a sample size to make a long term decision.

Just to be clear I want him to do well, I've loved his performances at VFL level and our success in making the finals this year and last can be largely attributed to him.

But players (mids, especially) rarely get to perform in the exact same role when they step up into the seniors. He did not adapt to the role on the day, if he'd provided defensive pressure, anything it would have been a good sign. The ball was in our forward line plenty in that last quarter, too. And see my post above - not just willing to use this as an example, I would have liked to see him in the seniors over the last couple of games to give us more of a sample size to make a long term decision.
He looks nervous in 1's and looks like he is unsure where he needs to be. In the twos he directs traffic. My question would be give him time to adapt to it. Like they have afforded other under performing players this year and last. Anyway everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

Given we can't have Thomas, Blair, Ball, Martin & Kennedy etc in the same side.
Ball has retired, it might be Marto's opportunity

Given we can't have Thomas, Blair, Ball, Martin & Kennedy etc in the same side.
Ball has retired, it might be Marto's opportunity

I see Adams as Ball's replacement, TBH

BTW if any of you ever get a chance to chat to McRae (Premiership Player AFL Level) ask him what he thinks of Kyle. I recon he is in a fairly good position to rate players

Martin won't be at Collingwood next year, he will either get sacked or ask for a trade or both. I am probably leaning towards both.

Great VFL player that just can't make take his form to AFL football.