Kyle Matthews

brock sylvia

Whilst he may not be on our list, this guy deserves a mention for his comeback game on the weekend kicking 5 goals considering what he has overcome.

The sheer work ethic and desire to get back to the club he once captained is simply remarkable and if available at a late rookie selection i would strongly consider this kid to become part of melbourne's list. Well done Kyle!

Whilst he may not be on our list, this guy deserves a mention for his comeback game on the weekend kicking 5 goals considering what he has overcome.

The sheer work ethic and desire to get back to the club he once captained is simply remarkable and if available at a late rookie selection i would strongly consider this kid to become part of melbourne's list. Well done Kyle!
I've never understood why he has never been given a chance at AFL level. He's slight but I've never seen anyone put their body on the line like he does, with no McDonald he has all the attributes that we desperately need.

Even with the problems that he has had he should be looked at. Looking forward to see him hopefully tear up the finals.

I think I read somewhere that there is still a chance his brain injuries could reoccur if he gets another bump in the wrong place. He's also had otehr injuries this season that have kept him out. No doubt he'd be a fantastic footballer, but clubs just wouldn't want to take a punt on a bloke who could literally drop dead if he copped a bad bump.

Have I got this right? Once the journalist went on about Matthews memory loss he suddenly forgets Matthews name. Ironic
Yeah, WTF was that about? Had to read it a couple of times to make sure it wasn't me. Classic HUN!......... Morons.

The guys who gave him the brain injury were acquitted at trial, sounds like Kyle and his brother were itching for a fight (not a personal judgement just what I read in the article) and got one.

I hope all goes well for him and he can serve as an example of what can go wrong with the "footy lad" culture of drinking and fighting.

The guys who gave him the brain injury were acquitted at trial, sounds like Kyle and his brother were itching for a fight (not a personal judgement just what I read in the article) and got one.

I hope all goes well for him and he can serve as an example of what can go wrong with the "footy lad" culture of drinking and fighting.

Where was the article?

It does show that each case is very different. Sometimes we just sympathise with the victim. (not saying this is what happened as well)

Also it is very hard to prove in these cases as well. My brother was coward hit around 10 years ago in a night club. Broke his jaw etc. At the trial the lawyer just spun words to say they were drinking so they were drunk and how dark it was etc. The guy got off and not exactly sure of the details but later to find out this was his 4th time in front of the court for similar offences.

Where was the article?

It does show that each case is very different. Sometimes we just sympathise with the victim. (not saying this is what happened as well)

Also it is very hard to prove in these cases as well. My brother was coward hit around 10 years ago in a night club. Broke his jaw etc. At the trial the lawyer just spun words to say they were drinking so they were drunk and how dark it was etc. The guy got off and not exactly sure of the details but later to find out this was his 4th time in front of the court for similar offences.

Yeah I was just curious so I googled it today and saw an article on theage I think (I can't view Murdoch sites as I've got the Murdoch blocker app, so it couldn't be the HUN).

I was under the impression, from the things the club said and the media said at the time, that he was king hit while standing outside the pub. It's a lot different from that. He had already left the club and one of his team mates got in a fight with someone and got a big cut on his leg after he fell. Kyle came back and was apparently pretty boisterous out the front of the pub, him and his brother approached this other guy that was in a fight with his team mate, or one of that guys mates, one from the front and one from behind - Kyle said something (allegedly, it seems a bit confusing) and the guy just straight up punched him once in the face thinking he was going to get attacked. He fell and hit his head. Blood coming out of his mouth etc. Then his brother grabbed the puncher from behind and someone was hitting his brother at that point.

Just sounds like one of those stupid things, but it appears the two groups knew eachother somewhat. The Geebung Sunday sesh is a bit of an EFL stomping ground with players from heaps of different clubs, Kyle being from Ringwood would likely have known a few of the people there. Sounds like the guy who threw the punch knew a lot of the security guards too.

Testosterone and alcohol combined with the Aussie macho culture claimed a career by the sound of it. I just brought it up cause of the focus on things like the coward's punch lately. I reckon the focus needs to be on fighting in general, cause by the sounds of it this was more or less two "fair" fights that just ended badly for the footy players. I'm sure plenty of us have seen footy players on the piss and they can be agro dickheads at the best of times. Not saying Kyle is a dickhead, just saying fighting is ****ing stupid.

Where was the article?

Article here

Impossible to tell what was what really

Article here

The only thing I really take out of it, is that Kyle might have gone back to the pub looking for a stoush, and he wasn't hit from behind or king hit. He was punched in the face.

Oh and also that fighting is dumb.

The only thing I really take out of it, is that Kyle might have gone back to the pub looking for a stoush, and he wasn't hit from behind or king hit. He was punched in the face.

Oh and also that fighting is dumb.

Agreed mate, don't understand the penchant some have for fighting

Article here

I'm not a lawyer but I've watched enough episodes of Boston Legal and Suits to work out what happened here. As soon as the defense lawyers were able to get enough doubt about who was the aggressor and display that it was a punch from front on not behind then self defense was always going to win. There's a reason why defense lawyers make more than the prosecution ones isn't there.

Strange world we live in when grown men can both be so scared about getting punched that at the same time they deliver a punch with enough force to nearly kill a man. I suppose we can be grateful we don't live in America where a few texts at a movie theatre will get you shot dead.

I'm also wondering how the hell the judge let a conversation about killer kyle get in the court. That's bloody ridiculous. Absolute slander.

Anyway despite my proclamations about footy getting soft this is why we have (generally) strong suspensions for violence on the footy field. And why the AFL supports Step Back Think.