melo_15

Draftee
Oct 8, 2007
The Candy Bar
Man Utd, Denver Nuggets
Whats up blue baggers?!! This has probably been done to death already but im curious as to how you guys think the ladder will look at the end of the season. Heres mine:

1. Geelong (Too good and too young)
2. Collingwood (w***ers)
3. Hawthorn (Good bet for the flag)
4. Port Adelaide (Always a danger)
5. Fremantle (Harvey will lead them to the finals)
6. St Kilda (Much improved from last year)
7. Adelaide (Still a threat but might not make it at all)
8. West Coast (Cousins AND Judd...Ouch!!!)
9. Sydney (On the way down)
10. Carlton (My opinion is finals in 09)
11. Brisbane (Strong team, always a threat, but not good enough)
12. Western Bulldogs (Lack of tall timber will hurt them)
13. Kangaroos (Dont know how they made finals last year)
14. Melbourne (Demons are no good, last four guaranteed)
15. Essendon (Shocking list and to many old farts)
16. Richmond (Worst team in the AFL by a country mile)

1. Geelong
2. Hawthorn
3. Port Adelaide
4. Collingwood
5. St. Kilda
6. Brisbane
7. West Coast
8. Fremantle
9. Carlton
10. Sydney
11. Western Bulldogs
12. Kangaroos
13. Adelaide
14. Melbourne
15. Essendon
16. Richmond

1. Geelong (Top 3)
2. St Kilda (Top 3 - expectation will drive them on like it did the Cats)
3. Hawthorn (So much quality on the list - only fickle youth losing direction will hold them back)
4. West Coast (Team will be united to prove they arent just Cousins and Judd. Could be 4-8th)
5. Collingwood (Filth - not 100% sure they will repeat form)
6. Western Bulldogs (Wake up, this team will rise. Has great quality + expectations to deliver now)
7. Port Adelaide (Always a danger 5-8th)
8. Brisbane (Always a threat, in fight with Sydney/Freo for last spot)
9. Fremantle (Last chance. Quality KPPs, slow paced)
10. Sydney (On the way down. Of course they could finish 4-12th)
11. Carlton (9-14th depending on injuries this year. Outside chance of finals)
12. Richmond (Will improve NO DOUBT. 7-14 is there slot)
13. Kangaroos (Dont rate them still, their turn to slide. Focus on survival)
14. Melbourne (Not sure about Demons - this team could finish 6-14th on rebound)
15. Adelaide (Gone for this season - home games stop a spoon finish)
16. Essendon (no midfield pace, or quality players with pace which is key)

1. Geelong (Easily the best team in the AFL)
2. Hawthorn (More experience gained by there list should see them move up even more)
3. Port Adelaide (No major changes to their list from '07)
4. Collingwood (Clement will be a huge loss, but they'll still be up there)
5. West Coast (Playing at Subi will still be a huge advantage)
6. St.Kilda (Will rebound after last year. No ruckman will hurt)
7. Fremantle (Harvey will make a huge difference)
8. Sydney (Still enough guns to make the finals - just)
9. Brisbane (Too just miss out in 2008. Jonathon Brown to carry them again)
10. Kangaroos (Cannot see them doing what they did in 2007. Aging midfield is a concern)
11. Carlton (Judd is a massive get. Rattens new style will also help)
12. Bulldogs (Lack of key forwards is a real worry, and Scott West is another year older)
13. Adelaide (Losing their only "focal point" up forward will hurt. Just don't see them doing much in 08)
14. Melbourne (Will be much the same in 2008 as they were in 2007. Most of there better players are getting on in years)
15. Richmond (Not a good list, but the Brown factor might keep them off the bottom)
16. Essendon (Terrible list, and no Hird and Sheedy. Enough said)

Heres mine...

1. Geelong (they were in cruise control last year)
2. Hawthorn (best Victoria prospect)
3. Fremantle (Harvey will make a huge difference)
4. St.Kilda (will rebound)
5. Brisbane (will surprise many teams)
6. Collingwood (Malthouse will produce magic, but I cant see the kids backing up)
7. Port Adelaide (great rotating mid - deepest midfield in the comp)
8. Kangaroos (dont know why they keep getting written off - solid list)
9. West Coast (Subi wont even help them make the 8)
10. Sydney (Aging list. I just cant seem them sneaking in)
11. Carlton (will prove to be the most promising list in the comp)
12. Richmond (young developing list - beginning to finally see some classy players coming through)
13. Bulldogs (too short)
14. Melbourne (not many positive signs from 2007)
15. Adelaide (their list is the worst in the comp and they will feel it this year)
16. Essendon (Cross roads - probably need to stay down if they want to play finals from 2010+)

FWIW here's my thoughts for you in groups of 4

Geelong - too much depth to fall too far - likely premiers
West Coast - you can never under estimate and will be better for Cuz gone
Fremantle - will rebound - its now or never
Collingwood - the remaining old heads need to stay injury free if they are to be as good as last year otherwise Hawks to take their spot

Port Adelaide - might struggle to repeat last year's effort
Brisbane - on the rise
Hawks - who cares really but they will be there or thereabouts - apart from a couple of games they were the most boring to watch last year
Kangaroos - no Archer now will affect them thus they are the weak link in my potential 8 with Saints probably most likely to replace them

Sydney - on the way down and past their best
Carlton - on the rise and their time will come and if they get a good start to the season confidence will build
Saints - hard to predict could make the 8 but are under achievers as much as Freo are
Melbourne - could slip to bottom 4 but I think their new coach will come with good ideas to lift them

Adelaide - gawn - but home ground advantage will ensure a few wins
Bulldogs - despite playing attractive footy have not recruited well enough over the years and thus depth is an issue but if Welsh fires could be higher
Richmond - their time will come but not for another year or 2
Essendon - hard to predict because can they play to the new coach's game plan - which is???

1. Geelong (Easily the best team in the AFL)
2. Hawthorn (Best team in Victoria, should see them move up even more)

3. Port Adelaide (No major changes to their list from '07)
4. Collingwood (Clement will be a huge loss, but they'll still be up there)
5. West Coast (Playing at Subi will still be a huge advantage)
6. St.Kilda (Will rebound after last year. No ruckman will hurt)
7. Fremantle (Harvey will make a huge difference)
8. Sydney (Still enough guns to make the finals - just)
9. Brisbane (Too just miss out in 2008. Jonathon Brown to carry them again)
10. Kangaroos (Cannot see them doing what they did in 2007. Aging midfield is a concern)
11. Carlton (Judd is a massive get. Rattens new style will also help)
12. Bulldogs (Lack of key forwards is a real worry, and Scott West is another year older)
13. Adelaide (Losing their only "focal point" up forward will hurt. Just don't see them doing much in 08)
14. Melbourne (Will be much the same in 2008 as they were in 2007. Most of there better players are getting on in years)
15. Richmond (Not a good list, but the Brown factor might keep them off the bottom)
16. Essendon (Terrible list, and no Hird and Sheedy. Enough said)

Does not compute.

Heres mine...

1. Geelong (they were in cruise control last year)
2. Hawthorn (best Victoria prospect)

Thanks to you and HBF for having Geelong finish top but you both realise don't you that Geelong is in fact located in the state of Victoria!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hahahaha. Kinda like Tassie, we forget about you. Although it's a bit hard to forget now after your 2007 campaign. Let me revise my Hawthorn comment to say they are the best Melbourne based prospect in 2008.

1. Geelong (Top 3)
2. St Kilda (Top 3 - expectation will drive them on like it did the Cats)
3. Hawthorn (So much quality on the list - only fickle youth losing direction will hold them back)
4. West Coast (Team will be united to prove they arent just Cousins and Judd. Could be 4-8th)
5. Collingwood (Filth - not 100% sure they will repeat form)
6. Western Bulldogs (Wake up, this team will rise. Has great quality + expectations to deliver now)
7. Port Adelaide (Always a danger 5-8th)
8. Brisbane (Always a threat, in fight with Sydney/Freo for last spot)
9. Fremantle (Last chance. Quality KPPs, slow paced)
10. Sydney (On the way down. Of course they could finish 4-12th)
11. Carlton (9-14th depending on injuries this year. Outside chance of finals)
12. Richmond (Will improve NO DOUBT. 7-14 is there slot)
13. Kangaroos (Dont rate them still, their turn to slide. Focus on survival)
14. Melbourne (Not sure about Demons - this team could finish 6-14th on rebound)
15. Adelaide (Gone for this season - home games stop a spoon finish)
16. Essendon (no midfield pace, or quality players with pace which is key)

Nice list BG. :thumbsu: Actually it is good to see that despite the obvious enthusiasm for this year we are mostly keeping a lid on our expectations - to the contrary of what many of talk back callers and posters from other clubs have suggested we think of our chances...

Reckon the young Hawks might be drinking a bit of their own bathwater, I tip them to be underachievers this year.... may just sneak into the 8, but wouldn't surprise at all if they missed out. A few early losses could see the wheels fall off and the rot set in. Clarkson would get the lemon and sars.

1. Geelong (great well-rounded team)
2. West Coke (still strong even without Juddy and less smack)
3. Saints (will they finally get it together?)
4. Freo (will be a turning point in 2008)
5. Whorethorn (continue from doped up & strong 2007)
6. Port (good young squad)
7. CARLTON (major changes and positivity - great year ahead)
8. Bullies (Fringes)
9. Ninthmond (enough said - another 9th finish)
10. Sydney (on downward spiral in ageing team)
11. Brisbane (there or thereabouts)
12. Filth FC (overperformed in 2007 - list will be found out)
13. Adelaide (down we go)
14. North (happy to be proven wrong)
15. Melbourne (rebuilding)
16. Essendon (worst list in the league, major draft picks required)

If I barracked for Carlton, (I actually hate them), I would want them to finish in the bottom 4 again so as to pick up another priority pick. Imagine what a power house you could be in 3 years time.

Imagine going to the 2008 National Draft with picks 4, 20, 21 and 37. Add that to what you have already got and you would be laughing.

If I barracked for Carlton, (I actually hate them), I would want them to finish in the bottom 4 again so as to pick up another priority pick. Imagine what a power house you could be in 3 years time.

Imagine going to the 2008 National Draft with picks 4, 20, 21 and 37. Add that to what you have already got and you would be laughing.

Thanks for that Hell-en. But I think most Blues fans have had enough poor finishes to last 100 years. This year despite the results, we are hoping for more than bottom four.

If I barracked for St Kilda (I actually want them to beat Geelong/Hawks this/next year) I would temporarily finish bottom this year to pick up 1 more decent defender and 1 more pacy midfielder which is where you fall short!!

Unlike the Saints who have a history of consistent repeated failure this is not acceptable for the Carlton Football Club. This is the year where the turnaround will happen

Whoa Whoa Whoa, slow down Charlie Brown... What? Unacceptable? By Carlton? Failure? This really isnt a troll post... And im not looking for shits and giggles this time round... but what? A team that pretty much accepted they tanked (well fair enough, good players in draft) but how can you back this quote up? Is it just me or haven't Carlton just been in a succession of consistent failure?
Yes I know Richmond have too, I am not denying that, but I am also not making these claims... Think smart before posting. I do not want other Carlton fans stepping in getting defensive, this is pretty much a question for Pie_squasher alone, and if he really thinks this of his club.

Whoa Whoa Whoa, slow down Charlie Brown... What? Unacceptable? By Carlton? Failure? This really isnt a troll post... And im not looking for shits and giggles this time round... but what? A team that pretty much accepted they tanked (well fair enough, good players in draft) but how can you back this quote up? Is it just me or haven't Carlton just been in a succession of consistent failure?
Yes I know Richmond have too, I am not denying that, but I am also not making these claims... Think smart before posting. I do not want other Carlton fans stepping in getting defensive, this is pretty much a question for Pie_squasher alone, and if he really thinks this of his club.

The Pie_squasher meant 100 years of underachievement. Obvious to us Carlton fans, just not to a troll. Both Richmond and Carlton have had temporary failure. It's all about scale Jisha. Now get lost.

Ladder