Laidley

Re: Laidley - opportunity to get a gun tactician???

Again I don't care about the result, I care about where we are going. I will say again I don't think John has a plan to take us forward in the football sense on the field. Talent is one thing, but without direction it means shit.

Overview is that I am talking about John Worsfold the football coach, you are talking about the WCE getting low draft picks.

two different things and you can't see that.

So if Woosha doesn't have a plan to take us forward why are we now playing a midfield zone?

Why are we no longer clogging up our forward line playing one on one?

How come we are now dropping loose players back to help Glass out instead of leaving him one on one as in previous years?

Why are we getting as many games into the kids we can?

Why is Fletcher, Seaby and Hansen playing WAFL?

Why did we recruite Phil Walsh as a Strategy and Innovations Coach?

Why did we turn over three assistant coaches in the pre season?

Why did we get Daniher as our head of Football Operations?

Gee, we seem to have made a fair few changes in players, games plan, coaches as well as fast tracking the kids?

What other changes do you think the head coach should do GWS?

Hey champ, do you mind using the quote tool properly?

=greatwhiteshark

No I do not think another coach would have coached us to a flag in 2008. Did John or not declare in 2008 that his side was a top 4 side? He did not declare he was playing and coaching for draft picks.
:rolleyes: Are you playing dumb on purpose?

Let me be clearer (again:rolleyes:):

in 2008 you wanted Woosh out because you thought he was the wrong man. You wanted someone who could coach and who would more them up the ladder. This would mean no Naitanui, no shuey etc.

We'd be playing still with the 2008 list. And same again next year. Do you think another coach could develop this group to go on to win a flag without the low draft picks we have been getting?

It is rebuilding a list, not necessarily a side. But again I will say that this has not been the foundation of what Woosha has been on about. Again this year up until 2 weeks ago was sprouting about making the top 8.
You're not answering the question. Why is that? Why do you and that other fwit continuously ignore or avoid this question?

First of all champ you can't teach these guys to have good skills they either have them or they don't,
And clearly our list in 2008 was never going to be up to it going forward yet you wanted a coach who would not have given us low draft picks.

Can you please justify that?

And the game plan is a must. That must be in place whether you have your young players on the park or not.
Finally you have started to address the issue. Wasn't f***ing hard was it?

Now, next question. let's see if you can answer this within the month this time:

Average 2008 list, good gameplan, confidence up = 8th or 9th?

Where will that get us? Can you justify how that is better than picking up Naitanui and Shuey?

I can grasp the concept, I am saying John won't be able to do it. What part of that don't you understand.
1. No, you haven't fgrasped the concept.
2. I do understand what you're saying. I've told you this several times, and I've also told you several times my own jury is still out.

Forget the future and whether he can or can't. Look at now and last season. Is he or isn't he bringing us a swag of low draft picks?

Please justify, regardless of his coaching skills, how this is to the detriment of the club. Because you have CLEARLY indicated on numerous occasions you don't want these low draft pciks.

Explain yourself.

Agree with you there.
Great, so explain how this is an advantage to us. Your coach comes in last season and Hansen fires and Bones fires and Seaby fires. Why would he drop them? It's not like he can bring naitanui - we don't f***ing have him because your coach didn't take us to 15th.

You wanted this last year as well. Please explain how we would have been better off playing like that last year and missing out on naitanui and Shuey.

They did not know they were getting those two players, they could have got anyone.
Purposely being stupid again? Doesn't matter who the players are. We got picks 2, 18, 20 instead of maybe 8 and 25.

Now please have a crack an answering the question again. How is 8 and 25 a better option than 2, 18, 20? Because clearly that's what you wanted.

You know as well as I do that the sentimental thing on here is very obvious, you could not possibly think otherwise.
But I have made it clear that I don't think like that, and I have asked you and your stupid mate over 10 times to justify how not getting low draft picks is a better option. Conveniently, you and your stupid mate keep pretending I'm asking you something different.

You are therefor saying that Woosha is now employed to deliver low draft picks as his prioirity?
Not quite, but you're getting there (only taken you best part of a month to twig)

I'm saying (and I've said it over 10 times):

Regardless as to whether Woosha is doing it on purpose, the club is assembling a core of low draft picks. Hurn, Masten, Kennedy, Ebert, Naitanui, Shuey, Swift, and 1 or 2 top 5s in October. Modern football has shown us this is the most effective way of building a team capable of winning a flag.

Therefore, regardless of whether or not he can coach, and regardless if he is doing it without intention, it is the best scenario for us right now.

It's a pretty simple concept, see if you can grasp it this time. I've only told you 10+ times.

Gee mate you think I don't grasp it, fair dinkum.
I don't think, I know. You think my point is this:

Yet you want me to believe that Woosha is going into this year and last year with only low draft picks in mind.
But you are wrong. Please read above to see what my point is.

Again I will say, I am happy to rebuild the side, I don't think Woosha is the man to do it.
But clearly you're not. unless you think rebuilding and coaching are the same thing. or you think you can build a side of similar talent without top draft picks.

Its getting boring writing the same thing over and over.
I understand clearly your point. You don't understand mine. You are so ignorant you have mocked me and then told me what my point is (and got it hopelessly wrong).

It's getting boring trying to explain to you a very very simple point.

Yes it is a very simple concept, but get all the low picks you like. If they are not shown how to play a game plan, set up forward structures, shown systems etc etc then you are wasting your time.
We've already established you lack in the intelligence department so I will clearly point out your contradiction. I know it will be hard but see if you can follow:

You claim Woosh can'r coach and that no matter how good a side's talent is you can't win without game plan etc

SO HOW DID WE WIN IN 06?

Woosh can't coach, you said it 100 times. But our team won the flag. great side, shit coach. Clearly suggest talent is more important than the coach and gameplan does it not?

Again I will repeat I don't care about our results, I care about our plan, our systems and our structures and I see nothing in those areas. But you are not listening to that, you just keep mentioning draft picks.
:rolleyes:
Been listening from the start champ. Said right from the start that I'm a sceptical about Woosh's coaching ability. This disccussion isn't about Woosh's coaching ability. It's about whether or not he is the best person right now. I have proposed to you many times that there are other things other than systems and structures.

It is you who hasn't been listening.

Essendon have good kids too but they are learning from day one about a new plan and have embraced it and continue to run with it. they cop some beatings but they are on their way, they have not had the picks we had?
Do you think they have a list that can win a flag? They will fall short, just as we would if we had matthew Knight last year. He would have coached how you wanted, we wouldn't have got naitanui and Shuey, and we'd have false hope.

You are ignoring the question, what part of Johns game plan, his forward systems and structures, his stoppages, his defense clearances are you sitting there so impressed with?
We have never been discussing this. Ever. has the penny dropped yet?

Overview is that I am talking about John Worsfold the football coach, you are talking about the WCE getting low draft picks.

two different things and you can't see that.
They're very closely related. As I said, all you and your stupid mate do is when someone plays devil's advocate and says "yes, that's all well and good, but the repercussions of that are......" you both stick your fingers in your ears and go "la la la la la la, I don't want to consider anything that might change my viewpoint"

Seriously, you need to read through this post 20 times or so so that it sinks in. You have just never grasped what anyone else is talking about or how it relates.

Hey champ, do you mind using the quote tool properly?

=greatwhiteshark

:rolleyes: Are you playing dumb on purpose?

Let me be clearer (again:rolleyes:):

in 2008 you wanted Woosh out because you thought he was the wrong man. You wanted someone who could coach and who would more them up the ladder. This would mean no Naitanui, no shuey etc.

We'd be playing still with the 2008 list. And same again next year. Do you think another coach could develop this group to go on to win a flag without the low draft picks we have been getting?

You're not answering the question. Why is that? Why do you and that other fwit continuously ignore or avoid this question?

And clearly our list in 2008 was never going to be up to it going forward yet you wanted a coach who would not have given us low draft picks.

Can you please justify that?

Finally you have started to address the issue. Wasn't f***ing hard was it?

Now, next question. let's see if you can answer this within the month this time:

Average 2008 list, good gameplan, confidence up = 8th or 9th?

Where will that get us? Can you justify how that is better than picking up Naitanui and Shuey?

1. No, you haven't fgrasped the concept.
2. I do understand what you're saying. I've told you this several times, and I've also told you several times my own jury is still out.

Forget the future and whether he can or can't. Look at now and last season. Is he or isn't he bringing us a swag of low draft picks?

Please justify, regardless of his coaching skills, how this is to the detriment of the club. Because you have CLEARLY indicated on numerous occasions you don't want these low draft pciks.

Explain yourself.

Great, so explain how this is an advantage to us. Your coach comes in last season and Hansen fires and Bones fires and Seaby fires. Why would he drop them? It's not like he can bring naitanui - we don't f***ing have him because your coach didn't take us to 15th.

Purposely being stupid again? Doesn't matter who the players are. We got picks 2, 18, 20 instead of maybe 8 and 25.

Now please have a crack an answering the question again. How is 8 and 25 a better option than 2, 18, 20? Because clearly that's what you wanted.

But I have made it clear that I don't think like that, and I have asked you and your stupid mate over 10 times to justify how not getting low draft picks is a better option. Conveniently, you and your stupid mate keep pretending I'm asking you something different.

Not quite, but you're getting there (only taken you best part of a month to twig)

I'm saying (and I've said it over 10 times):

Regardless as to whether Woosha is doing it on purpose, the club is assembling a core of low draft picks. Hurn, Masten, Kennedy, Ebert, Naitanui, Shuey, Swift, and 1 or 2 top 5s in October. Modern football has shown us this is the most effective way of building a team capable of winning a flag.

Therefore, regardless of whether or not he can coach, and regardless if he is doing it without intention, it is the best scenario for us right now.

It's a pretty simple concept, see if you can grasp it this time. I've only told you 10+ times.

I don't think, I know. You think my point is this:

But you are wrong. Please read above to see what my point is.

But clearly you're not. unless you think rebuilding and coaching are the same thing. or you think you can build a side of similar talent without top draft picks.

I understand clearly your point. You don't understand mine. You are so ignorant you have mocked me and then told me what my point is (and got it hopelessly wrong).

It's getting boring trying to explain to you a very very simple point.

We've already established you lack in the intelligence department so I will clearly point out your contradiction. I know it will be hard but see if you can follow:

You claim Woosh can'r coach and that no matter how good a side's talent is you can't win without game plan etc

SO HOW DID WE WIN IN 06?

Woosh can't coach, you said it 100 times. But our team won the flag. great side, shit coach. Clearly suggest talent is more important than the coach and gameplan does it not?

:rolleyes: Been listening from the start champ. Said right from the start that I'm a sceptical about Woosh's coaching ability. This disccussion isn't about Woosh's coaching ability. It's about whether or not he is the best person right now. I have proposed to you many times that there are other things other than systems and structures.

It is you who hasn't been listening.

Do you think they have a list that can win a flag? They will fall short, just as we would if we had matthew Knight last year. He would have coached how you wanted, we wouldn't have got naitanui and Shuey, and we'd have false hope.

We have never been discussing this. Ever. has the penny dropped yet?

They're very closely related. As I said, all you and your stupid mate do is when someone plays devil's advocate and says "yes, that's all well and good, but the repercussions of that are......" you both stick your fingers in your ears and go "la la la la la la, I don't want to consider anything that might change my viewpoint"

Seriously, you need to read through this post 20 times or so so that it sinks in. You have just never grasped what anyone else is talking about or how it relates.

Firstly I have no idea about the multi quote thing and don't care, I tried it and it didn't work out right. No big deal is it.

Secondly I do get your point but your not getting mine. Yes John has delivered low draft picks. There you go I said it.

He is however not ****in employed to do that and if you think he is then so be it.

Mate we will go around in circles forever I think. You think only draft pics, I am talking about John Worsfold the coach. John should not or would not want any credit at all for delivering draft picks. I would have thought he would find that a little insulting because he knows that is not his job.

I will leave you with that yes we need draft picks. There you I said it again.
We will have 20 young blokes playing for us with no direction and not a clue what to do. But thats ok because we will keep getting draft picks.

So if Woosha doesn't have a plan to take us forward why are we now playing a midfield zone? We are trying to play it but have no idea how to.

Why are we no longer clogging up our forward line playing one on one? Because it didn't work, the current system don't work either whatever that is. Not sure there is a system.

How come we are now dropping loose players back to help Glass out instead of leaving him one on one as in previous years? This is good but should be anaturalo football response, not something you are told to do.

Why are we getting as many games into the kids we can? This is good to, just like every other club

Why is Fletcher, Seaby and Hansen playing WAFL? Because they are not good enough to get a game. Same as every other club

Why did we recruite Phil Walsh as a Strategy and Innovations Coach? If you have seen new strategy and any innovation at all please enlighten me. But granted yes he was employed.

Why did we turn over three assistant coaches in the pre season? Not sure? 2 of them were premiership assistants just a short time ago. So not sure if this was necessary.

Why did we get Daniher as our head of Football Operations? Please tell me?

Gee, we seem to have made a fair few changes in players, games plan, coaches as well as fast tracking the kids?

What other changes do you think the head coach should do GWS?

I will grant you that everything you have said above is true in a general sense. Does that change the opinion that John is an ordinary coach? No.
As I said to BB, he is not employed to deliver low draft picks, he is employed to coach our players and get them to fulfill their promise as players asap, he is there to put a game plan together that wins games of football.

I believe in continuity of coaching unless you have a dud coach, which Worsfold is clearly not.

However, GWS does raise an interesting point. Why should a coach be paid $700k+ (which is an incredible amount of money) to deliver 4 wins in a year?

If it is the West Coast Eagles board's belief that priority picks are the way to go, why pay an experienced coach $700k+ to deliver it?

Why not appoint a WAFL coach to serve two years on $150k p.a and save $1.1m?

After 2 years of bottoming out, look for an out-of-contract coach that has recently won an AFL premiership and offer them $1.1m more than would otherwise be the case.

Firstly I have no idea about the multi quote thing and don't care, I tried it and it didn't work out right.
Consistent with your IQ;)

I will leave you with that yes we need draft picks. There you I said it again.
But you wanted a coach last season and this season that would not deliver draft picks.

Are you saying we need them but you don't want them? Are you saying we need them but should sack the coach who will deliver and go and hire someone who won't deliver them?

You can't have both. Which one do you want?

We will have 20 young blokes playing for us with no direction and not a clue what to do. But thats ok because we will keep getting draft picks.
And in 2 seasons time if it's evident Woosha can't coach we replace him. But most importantly we have a team full of talent.

Again, why would you want to get rid of him now (or last season)?

Does that change the opinion that John is an ordinary coach? No.
half a second now champ. You didn't just say he's an ordinary coach, you said last season and this season you want him gone. For weeks i've tried to present you with the pros and cons about reaplacing him and you have only twigged now.

Your view has been:

"bad coach, must go, lalalalalalalal I don't want to hear any reasoning as to why that may end up being a bad idea." and "anyone who tries to reason me I will block my ears and assume they are saying Woosha is a good coach"

Do yourself a favour and see if you can unscramble this word:

simpleton

Consistent with your IQ;)

But you wanted a coach last season and this season that would not deliver draft picks.

Are you saying we need them but you don't want them? Are you saying we need them but should sack the coach who will deliver and go and hire someone who won't deliver them?

You can't have both. Which one do you want?

And in 2 seasons time if it's evident Woosha can't coach we replace him. But most importantly we have a team full of talent.

Again, why would you want to get rid of him now (or last season)?

BB just out of curiosity because you have said it many times you keep saying I said we want a coach to get us to mid table?

Draft picks come after a bad first half of the year, thats the outcome of it.
Are you telling me round 1 of 2008 and again in 2009 you thought the club was hell bent only on coming bottom 2 and gaining draft picks? is that what you truly believe was the goal at the start of the last two years by the club and the coaching staff, That was the mandate?

Even you could not sell that to me mate.

However, GWS does raise an interesting point. Why should a coach be paid $700k+ (which is an incredible amount of money) to deliver 4 wins in a year?

If it is the West Coast Eagles board's belief that priority picks are the way to go, why pay an experienced coach $700k+ to deliver it?

Why not appoint a WAFL coach to serve two years on $150k p.a and save $1.1m?

After 2 years of bottoming out, look for an out-of-contract coach that has recently won an AFL premiership and offer them $1.1m more than would otherwise be the case.
It's just how the cookie crumbles.

Say John, looks like we're in a rebuilding phase, we're better off bringing in Ken Judge for a season or two to make sure we finish bottom 4 to get picks. So you just sit tight being unemployed for 2 years and then we'll bring you back in. Not really going to work

If woosh has presented to the board and articulated where our list is at, and how he plans to build a flag winning team, and that there will be some pain on the way, and the board believes him, then they just got to pay him the wage. If it's a step towards the flag and they believe it so then it doesn't matter how many wins there are.

One thing I have noticed is clubs prematurely offloading dud coaches. Some of them should be given an extra year to increase the clubs chances of picking up some quality rookies.

BB just out of curiosity because you have said it many times you keep saying I said we want a coach to get us to mid table?
Yep. You have made it clear you wanted a coach last year and this year with a better game plan, better structure, better skills etc. That can only equate to more wins. That means you regret picking up naita and Shuey and whoever we get in October. You want our 2008 list with the addition of an approx 8 and 25 pick instead of 2, 18, 20.

Are you telling me round 1 of 2008 and again in 2009 you thought the club was hell bent only on coming bottom 2 and gaining draft picks?
I've actually clearly told you I don't think that at all. I told you you should read that previous post about 20 times so it sinks in. It's in that post. Go re-read it.

half a second now champ. You didn't just say he's an ordinary coach, you said last season and this season you want him gone. For weeks i've tried to present you with the pros and cons about reaplacing him and you have only twigged now.

Your view has been:

"bad coach, must go, lalalalalalalal I don't want to hear any reasoning as to why that may end up being a bad idea." and "anyone who tries to reason me I will block my ears and assume they are saying Woosha is a good coach"

Do yourself a favour and see if you can unscramble this word:

simpleton

Actually mate you can go back a lot further than that, when was the day he started? that would be a more accurate day.

No you have preached what you think is right and people have debated it with you, although most have not been as childish in some of the names and responses.

You have mentioned only the Pros of John, never once have I heard the cons. But I would like to without the silver lining on the end of them.

Knob Head, Fwit, Simpleton, cmon mate surely you can be a little bigger than that. Water off a ducks back, but is it needed?

Yep.

I've actually clearly told you I don't think that at all. I told you you should read that previous post about 20 times so it sinks in. It's in that post. Go re-read it.

Where did I say that?

All you talk about is draft picks and thats all we are interested in, how we play, structure, game plans etc etc mean jack shit and are not relevant for a year or two until we get the talent.

With that thought process we will be bottom 3 for ever

You have mentioned only the Pros of John, never once have I heard the cons. But I would like to without the silver lining on the end of them.
There are no cons. Our best possible scenario is finishing bottom 4 two years running. The fact that he may be a dud coach with bad gameplans, bad tactics, bad skills etc, is irrelevant. If you think that will have a long term effect on the players then you don't know much about footy.

If you're correct and he's a dud (and I have acknowledged there is more than a reasonable chance of this on numerous occasions) then we just go replace him. Gun players don't turn into crabs for the rest of their career because they had one dud coach.

But what you're definitely, 100%, unequivically wrong about is the notion that a good coach last season and this season would have put us closer to a flag. All he would have done is got a hack team playing good footy - which in the long run would never progress to a flag.

It's just how the cookie crumbles.

Say John, looks like we're in a rebuilding phase, we're better off bringing in Ken Judge for a season or two to make sure we finish bottom 4 to get picks. So you just sit tight being unemployed for 2 years and then we'll bring you back in. Not really going to work

If woosh has presented to the board and articulated where our list is at, and how he plans to build a flag winning team, and that there will be some pain on the way, and the board believes him, then they just got to pay him the wage. If it's a step towards the flag and they believe it so then it doesn't matter how many wins there are.

One thing I have noticed is clubs prematurely offloading dud coaches. Some of them should be given an extra year to increase the clubs chances of picking up some quality rookies.

But he didn't do that BB, he thought last year we were a top 4 side and this year we were a top 8 side.

Apparantly now he has put that to the club that we need to rebuild and they have been impressed with his presentation and that is why he will get an extension. I think thats a mistake, but many think its great.

But don't think that has been what he has been doing because it hasn't. It just turned out that his sides performed very poorly and he ended up bottom 3 . It was not his intention. You are giving him credit he probably does not want.

Who would you say falls into that category?
Lots of them. Any coach bottom of ladder who gets sacked midseason - usually a mistake. New coach comes in, pressure off, players get licence to be creative and they win games. I suspect Wallet might be the most recent example. He would have delivered a top 5 pick and a priority. Rawlings I suspect will win another 2 games.

There's heaps but none off top of head. I see it all the time and think - should have kept him and maximised your draft pick.

But he didn't do that BB, he thought last year we were a top 4 side and this year we were a top 8 side.

Apparantly now he has put that to the club that we need to rebuild and they have been impressed with his presentation and that is why he will get an extension. I think thats a mistake, but many think its great.

But don't think that has been what he has been doing because it hasn't. It just turned out that his sides performed very poorly and he ended up bottom 3 . It was not his intention. You are giving him credit he probably does not want.
Did you not read the bit where I said it doesn't matter what he has and is intending to do, it matters what is actually happening. I've said this over 5 times.

Seriously, how do you expect me not to pass comment on your IQ? Maybe you're taking the piss?

There are no cons. Our best possible scenario is finishing bottom 4 two years running. The fact that he may be a dud coach with bad gameplans, bad tactics, bad skills etc, is irrelevant. If you think that will have a long term effect on the players then you don't know much about footy.

If you're correct and he's a dud (and I have acknowledged there is more than a reasonable chance of this on numerous occasions) then we just go replace him. Gun players don't turn into crabs for the rest of their career because they had one dud coach.

But what you're definitely, 100%, unequivically wrong about is the notion that a good coach last season and this season would have put us closer to a flag. All he would have done is got a hack team playing good footy - which in the long run would never progress to a flag.

Why are you talking flags? all I have said is I want a better coach, now you are saying if we had a better coach then we would not of ended up with draft picks. We are sort of agreeing.

I am with you on the draft picks, I understand what you are saying. I have no issue with that.

I am looking at our coach as a coach. And I don't think he is the man for us.

Thats all.

Why are you talking flags?
err, because that's what footy is about? You know, clubs, coaches, players always working towards the ultimate. That sort of thing.

all I have said is I want a better coach,
So who you choose for a coach and the timing of the appoitment has nothing to do with making that decision with a view to a flag?

:confused:

now you are saying if we had a better coach then we would not of ended up with draft picks. We are sort of agreeing.
So why would you want a better coach?:confused:

Dude, seriously, go lick some windows or something.

Lick some windows???

Seriously mate.

We are on two different wave lengths, you have made your point.

I will make you happy and say you are right, you're the man.

Now take a chill pill and move on we are not going to agree on much by the sounds of it.

I thought this thread was about LAIDLEY??

This thread has proved more entertaining than watching 'Underbelly':D

Lick some windows???

Seriously mate.

Now take a chill pill and move on we are not going to agree on much by the sounds of it.
Perhaps it is you who needed to take a chill pill before bombarding this forum with "I want a better coach" for weeks on end without acknowledging the ramifications of such a move. And if you are still so simplistic as to think you can isolate such a concept without considering the bigger picture and how to effects the club, not to mention how it effects our flag chances then I suspect I won't be the only one heckling you in the future. you and your ABBA loving mate need to get with the program.

Lick some windows???

Seriously mate.

Your on the same wave length as Adelaide. :o