Lapses costing the Blues: Houlihan

There you go that is all I want, commitment, courage and 100% for 4 quarters, none of us expect them to go win a flag in the next few years all I ask of them is to win 6 - 8 games and show commitment to the cause and to the CFC. I am not asking for much and I am asking them to win 26 games, I am just sick of the same all excuses and same old shit.
Dido never stop loving the mighty blues on hate that the old passion from the Princes Park days seems to on the other side of the world.

posted by I Love CFC
Just 4 Quarters thats all I ask for not 2.5 not 3.4.....4 that number should be an easy on given sticks used to wear and play hard for 4 quarters. Gibbs played 4 as well but we never ever do it as a team anymore.

so how do u define playing 4 quarters? Have we played 4 quarters when we beat our opponent over each quarter? IF that is what u meant then i wish they would play 4 quarters also b/c they would win every week. Just b/c they are losing on the field it does not mean they have dropped their bundle or they are not trying. IF that was the case then Essendon only played about 15 mins on the weekend and Melbourne hav not played one quarter in any of their first two games.

WHO TF do you think you are??? Go and barrack for a hack soccer team called AS Roma who can't even beat Cagliari!! To tell this bloke to go and barrack for Collingwood is simply not on. He's just angry like the rest of us. After 6 bloody long years, it is time for the playing group to step up. No more excuses, even from Houlihan now. Just put your heads over the ball and start playing some good footy, like they do for about 10 mins each week!!

This bloke is just expressing his anger, the anger that everyone has in them after all these years mate. Just lay off.

Thanks man like I keep saying and 95% of Carlton fans and supporters would say we don't expect much from them I don't mind losing but I want to see effort for 4 quarters. Not what Holla just said we try for 2.5 quarters, it seems to me that they keep feeding us this shit year in year out and we buy it. Thats why Saints, Richmond etc have done nothing for decades their supporters accepted the excuses and carp and look at them now. I don't want the same thing happening to our great club, six years is already too long.

WHO TF do you think you are??? Go and barrack for a hack soccer team called AS Roma who can't even beat Cagliari!! To tell this bloke to go and barrack for Collingwood is simply not on. He's just angry like the rest of us. After 6 bloody long years, it is time for the playing group to step up. No more excuses, even from Houlihan now. Just put your heads over the ball and start playing some good footy, like they do for about 10 mins each week!!

This bloke is just expressing his anger, the anger that everyone has in them after all these years mate. Just lay off.

1. It's AC Milan, not Roma.
2. I'm ****ing angry like everyone else is, but will the anger and negativity get us anywhere?
3. Player abuse is not on, especially Houlihan who has become a scape-goat over the years and his done little wrong so far this year. I don't care how angry you are he doesn't deserve to be a scape-goat.

As I said, most of Houla's replies in that article were typical media speak. What do you expect him to say?????

I don't think you'll find anyone who supports the Navy Blues to accept our performance over the last 6 years, but the last thing the club needs is for supporters to start abusing players and jumping off the ship. Especially after such a promising off-season. Chin up mate, that's all.

posted by Bolz

Bolz why don't u lay off. If your angry why don't u go and hav a shot at those that created the mess. It certainly wasn't these kids and they didn't ask to be brought into this rabble. They are trying their hardest. 6 long years, you sound like a sook. Can't handle the tough times eh?

So tell me nutcase what if we hear the same excuses in say 12 years will you still be so happy? Will you still make excuses for them? The problem is that these lame excuses are coming from the so called leaders, leaders who don;t lead when the chips are down, leaders who watch while Gibb's, Murphy are trying their guts out. It is pathetic that we keep putting up with this shit, I follow a great club, a club who never made excuses. But now when I look at them I see how truly pathetic we have become, I mean 3 duds winning the B&F says alot about where we are as a club

1. It's AC Milan, not Roma.
2. I'm ****ing angry like everyone else is, but will the anger and negativity get us anywhere?
3. Player abuse is not on, especially Houlihan who has become a scape-goat over the years and his done little wrong so far this year. I don't care how angry you are he doesn't deserve to be a scape-goat.

As I said, most of Houla's replies in that article were typical media speak. What do you expect him to say?????

I don't think you'll find anyone who supports the Navy Blues to accept our performance over the last 6 years, but the last thing the club needs is for supporters to start abusing players and jumping off the ship. Especially after such a promising off-season. Chin up mate, that's all.
but after 6 years, dont you think its time the players took just the slightest bit of responsibility in their play? A player like Houlihan even more so since he has been there throughout all this time.

pffft! its not hard to see why you were banned from the board with posts like these is it?

If the players truly tried their hardest, all game long on Saturday night, I guarantee we wouldve won with the way the saints played. Or were you watching with your eyes closed?

posted by Bolz
pffft! its not hard to see why you were banned from the board with posts like these is it?

If the players truly tried their hardest, all game long on Saturday night, I guarantee we wouldve won with the way the saints played. Or were you watching with your eyes closed?

nup i was watching with my eyes open. saw some really good signs from some of our young guys. who would hav thought that Waite and Thorton would hav done as well on their respective opponents. How about Murphy and Gibbs? Once those two start to really get going i guarantee u will see some improvement.
Unfortunately we still hav some major problems. Skills are atrocious (this is not related to effort) and the forward line is really struggling. I'm sure there are lots of reasons as to why. I don't believe lack off effort was one of them. Ranting and raving and scapegoating players will not accelerate the devleopment process.

As for why i wasbanned well i'm not going to comment. I believe you were all wrong abuot Pagan last year and i believe you are all wrong if u think the players are not giving it their all. i'm not going to back away from that.

cheer up everyone, i reckon we are going to get a win this week :thumbsu:

The views on this post are good reason why I havent been back for a while. Some of the long time posters are just so poor in their analysis of our current team list. There was a post not so long ago, which gave a run down of our first five games. So many posters said 4/5 or 5/5 wins. OMG, it was just sooo poor in terms of realism.

Fact is, over the last 3-5 years, Carlton's list was the worst...not by a short way, but by a long way. Move to 2008, our midfield is the real deal - not the best but somewhere in the top 8 teams. But people forget, we have a fwd line and a backline that is still a fair way off. We have a backline that is ranked 16th, no two ways about it. Our fwd line is fischer and Fevola; it would be fairly ranked in the bottom 6, most likely bottom 4. For the first time you see Fev under pressure of expectation. Funnily enough, under pressure he is failing to deliver, missing set shots etc. The guy is also his own worst enemy.

Posters are getting annoyed at the inconsistency of Carlton. You muppets. They are inconsistent, not in effort (most times), but in skill level and execution due to two reasons, young age and their REAL lack of ability when compared to their opponents. We have players like russell, Bentick, lots of others that wouldnt cut it elsewhere. The fact is, other teams better players make us look inconsistent. They beat us to the ball, they deliver it better. Our players ARE trying their guts out, they are just not rdy or good enough.

Wake up blues fans. Dont think they are not trying 100%. If they do get their heads down it is because they are beat by better players. We are 2 backs short (1 key position), and 1 key quality key position fwd off being able to beat another team over 4 quarters.
/end rant

PS Despite all the negativity, the bombers match comes at a good time. I think we are a good chance to steal the game if the midfield smashes the Bombers midfield. They have lost Lucas which is a big loss. Their fwd line is weak, even Lloyd is not what he was. If we can hold him, then their only chance of winning is midfield dominance, something we should have over them. Just hope for the best, and get off the players backs for consistency, they are doing their best.

posted by ALpha1
So tell me nutcase what if we hear the same excuses in say 12 years will you still be so happy? Will you still make excuses for them? The problem is that these lame excuses are coming from the so called leaders, leaders who don;t lead when the chips are down, leaders who watch while Gibb's, Murphy are trying their guts out. It is pathetic that we keep putting up with this shit, I follow a great club, a club who never made excuses. But now when I look at them I see how truly pathetic we have become, I mean 3 duds winning the B&F says alot about where we are as a club

of course not that is ridiculous. i think we need to wait until the elite young talents on our list at east turn 21. When Gibbs, Murph, Kreuzer, Hampson etc get to that age thats wheni expect we will really start going places.

I giv u credit for at least saying its the leaders who you think hav been letting the club down. I would argue that we don't hav as many leaders as other clubs but would probably get shot down. I think hoops has been far from our worse this year and as Tott1 said it was just media speak. As for our other leaders will Judd as we know is finding his feet. I am going to giv Stevo the benfit of the doubt for now also as he has had a years lay off.

What other leaders do we hav? Fev...ok he hasn't been to good. Is his head not right or are there other reasons? I don't know the answer. Bannister has been going ok. what other leaders do we hav?

Agreed with everything you said BluesGibbs2011.

If our list was a horse-race we would be coming back from right at the end of the field, near the carpark........ We are not near the front yet, but at least now we're in the mix with most of the field.

(if that makes any sense?) :confused::D

nup i was watching with my eyes open. saw some really good signs from some of our young guys. who would hav thought that Waite and Thorton would hav done as well on their respective opponents. How about Murphy and Gibbs? Once those two start to really get going i guarantee u will see some improvement.
Unfortunately we still hav some major problems. Skills are atrocious (this is not related to effort) and the forward line is really struggling. I'm sure there are lots of reasons as to why. I don't believe lack off effort was one of them. Ranting and raving and scapegoating players will not accelerate the devleopment process.

As for why i wasbanned well i'm not going to comment. I believe you were all wrong abuot Pagan last year and i believe you are all wrong if u think the players are not giving it their all. i'm not going to back away from that.

cheer up everyone, i reckon we are going to get a win this week :thumbsu:
then you would also have seen the very discouraging signs from the likes of Fev and Stevo. How much longer do we have to put up with this crap body language??

BTW, it seems that there are times when nobody can be stuffed offering a lead. Half the reason why we always turn it over imo

Agreed with everything you said BluesGibbs2011.

If our list was a horse-race we would be coming back from right at the end of the field, near the carpark........ We are not near the front yet, but at least now we're in the mix with most of the field.

(if that makes any sense?) :confused::D
not really!! lol. The carpark at Flemington is a fair way from the track!

[
QUOTE]
posted by BLueGIbbs2011
The views on this post are good reason why I havent been back for a while. Some of the long time posters are just so poor in their analysis of our current team list. There was a post not so long ago, which gave a run down of our first five games. So many posters said 4/5 or 5/5 wins. OMG, it was just sooo poor in terms of realism.

Fact is, over the last 3-5 years, Carlton's list was the worst...not by a short way, but by a long way. Move to 2008, our midfield is the real deal - not the best but somewhere in the top 8 teams. But people forget, we have a fwd line and a backline that is still a fair way off. We have a backline that is ranked 16th, no two ways about it. Our fwd line is fischer and Fevola; it would be fairly ranked in the bottom 6, most likely bottom 4. For the first time you see Fev under pressure of expectation. Funnily enough, under pressure he is failing to deliver, missing set shots etc. The guy is also his own worst enemy.

Posters are getting annoyed at the inconsistency of Carlton. You muppets. They are inconsistent, not in effort (most times), but in skill level and execution due to two reasons, young age and their REAL lack of ability when compared to their opponents. We have players like russell, Bentick, lots of others that wouldnt cut it elsewhere. The fact is, other teams better players make us look inconsistent. They beat us to the ball, they deliver it better. Our players ARE trying their guts out, they are just not rdy or good enough.

Wake up blues fans. Dont think they are not trying 100%. If they do get their heads down it is because they are beat by better players. We are 2 backs short (1 key position), and 1 key quality key position fwd off being able to beat another team over 4 quarters.
/end rant

PS Despite all the negativity, the bombers match comes at a good time. I think we are a good chance to steal the game if the midfield smashes the Bombers midfield. They have lost Lucas which is a big loss. Their fwd line is weak, even Lloyd is not what he was. If we can hold him, then their only chance of winning is midfield dominance, something we should have over them. Just hope for the best, and get off the players backs for consistency, they are doing their best.

agreed :thumbsu:

Thanks man like I keep saying and 95% of Carlton fans and supporters would say we don't expect much from them I don't mind losing but I want to see effort for 4 quarters. Not what Holla just said we try for 2.5 quarters, it seems to me that they keep feeding us this shit year in year out and we buy it. Thats why Saints, Richmond etc have done nothing for decades their supporters accepted the excuses and carp and look at them now. I don't want the same thing happening to our great club, six years is already too long.
Where did he say they only try for 2.5 quarters? Did we lose by 100 points as other teams did? We kicked 6 goals in the last, including one by Houla, so you can't say they- including him- stopped trying.

I hate this sort of article, the fans have to be patient says Houla, well guess what Houla? the senior players have to put in a bloody four quarter effort and have a red hot go instead of giving up every week midway though the second quarter!!

This is the mentality of our senior players after six years of beltings, theyre happy to keep waiting for something to happen and they continue to expect us hard working people to pay they're wages while they wait and do nothing, well i'm sick of it!!
Well don't bother.

Boo hoo they kicked 6 goals in the last quarter wow, haven't they been doing this shit for the last 6 years? Funny how we keep trying to look for positives and yet hacks and duds who have no respect for the CFC jumper run around leeching off the supporters and fans. And then they expect us to have patience with them? Well what the **** have we been doing for the last 6 years?

If you don't like it and think you're being leeched- don't bother.

This all sounds like ping pong to me.

The haves and have nots.

IMHO - Its all to do with body language, how the senior players and the younger players carry themselves on the field, it becomes a virus when people like Fev look disconsolate lack endeavor and lack heart. It spreads....Most of us understand that we are behind the eight ball...but at least go on the park and PROUDLY wear that jumper that champions of the past bleed for.

This all sounds like ping pong to me.

The haves and have nots.

IMHO - Its all to do with body language, how the senior players and the younger players carry themselves on the field, it becomes a virus when people like Fev look disconsolate lack endeavor and lack heart. It spreads....Most of us understand that we are behind the eight ball...but at least go on the park and PROUDLY wear that jumper that champions of the past bleed for.

Exactly thats all I want and I am sure 95% of the fans want.

I know as a supporter that we wont be a realistic chance for the finals until 2010 or 2011. But want i want to see is leadership from our experienced players out on the field e.g. Stevens, Fevola, Houlihan, Thornton etc.

My daughter asked me early in the first quarter if Stevens was stiff not to be our captain this year and I said possibly but I believe Judd is the right person for this role. In the second quarter Stevens after being free-kicked gave away a soft 50m penalty that resulted in a goal, then I said to my daughter thats why he isnt the captain. Sure one isolated incident but his body language on Sat night was crap. Look at Judd when a free goes against him or a poor decision, nothing is said by him to the umpire and his first instinct is to either guard the mark or find out where his opponent is.

I can cop errors from the Bowers, Hampsons, Jamiesons, Gibbs, Murphy's etc. These kids sometimes have to make mistakes to learn from them. What I dont like is when repetitive /chronic mistakes come from our so called leaders.

What I as a supporter expect from EVERY Carlton player is to show some passion / pride on the field e.g. run, chase, pressure, spoil, tackle, harass, talk (both encouragement and instructional) etc. Any player of any ability can do these things. I hate it when we dont do these things as anyone can do these.

I like all supporters am frustrated by our lack of success but it is important that we stick by our club and our playing list. We as supporters can sit on the fence and support from our computers but it is important that we get as many of us to each game and show our support for our team (and obviously buy our membership in the process).

As soon as Houlihan isn't our best player each week, is the time when Carlton starts moving up the ladder.

most of you thumbsuckers don't remember Robert Klomp, but the fact that Houlihan has hada longer career than klomp says alot about how bad this Carlton era is.

Lapses costing the Blues: Houlihan