Laycock- Gotta go

Mar 9, 2007
-
he lost us the game today, had 4 of 5 shots on goal in the last quarter, could have quite easily won us the game but failed. there were some very easy shots on goal and some more then gettable shots on goal and he screwed up, had less then 50% efficiency with his possessions..

he should be delivering by now and he is not... now that we pretty much have no chance of making the finals kick him out and give bellchambers the rest of the year. could not be more dissapointed with laycock right now

Same here, at least Slattery shown signs of improvement when every Essendon supporter was gunning for his head. Can't see the same thing happening to Jason.

He needs to go. Just like we knew that Johns had to go.

Football is cut throat business. Get rid of those that are destined to take us nowhere.

Jason wasnt good today. He is down on confidence but you cant solely blame him for our lose today. Leroy missed a certainty in the 1st qtr & a bad handpass to Scott in the square. Brent missing a set shot in the last min aswell.

Meh, I'd rather be angry at him missing goals like today then angry at him for doing nothing like other weeks...

honestly i would rather himi not get the ball then do what he did today

less then 50% efficiency, means he gives it more to the opposition then he does to us.

he should be gone...

Jason wasnt good today. He is down on confidence but you cant solely blame him for our lose today. Leroy missed a certainty in the 1st qtr & a bad handpass to Scott in the square. Brent missing a set shot in the last min aswell.

leroy also set up a few goals aswell and kicked 2 of his own, the exactly same thing for stanton..

i can take players having an okay game.. but laycocks was shocking...

fact is at his age and his opportunities he should be starting to play good footy, and he seems to be getting worse and worse

Why don't we blame Stanton for his miss or Hille for his mistake at half forward? Really there is little point in dropping him.

not really bellchamers could do as much as laycock is doing..

stanton also had 27 possessions set up afew goals and kicked 2.1 himself..
hille had 21 hit outs, 17 possessions.

i dont judge players on the basis of 1 mistake. laycock made way too many of them tonight and deserves all of this critisism.

if laycock had of done something else relatively good for the game i would take that into account but fact is that he has had more then enough opportunities and instead of kicking 1.4 he really should have kicked 4.1, they were all more then gettable goals in the last and he missed 3 of them... he is not worth his salary.
if bellchambers was in and did that, at least he is given the opportunity to learn, laycock seems to be just too stupid and has an inability to learn.

i know i may be getting a bit harsh but still

11 kicks,2 hand balls,3 marks, seven hit-outs and 1 goal 4. That's not a shocking game. That's a pretty good game for THE SECOND RUCKMAN. I think people forget that's what he is....

stats dont tell the story, only 1 or 2 of those hitouts would have been effective and he had a less then %50 efficiency with his disposals meaning the ball went more to the opposition then to us with his possessions..

We can't really unless we bring in another ruckman. Ruckmen are so hard to replace as they take 3-4 years to develop. Unless we are confident of picking up Naitanui or we get a trade done we have no choice.

Yeah your right, that's why I still persist with Jason even today.

But if an offer comes around, like a 3rd round pick. I will seriously look at it.

I was someone who always thought Laycock was gonna be great,
but today..today made me think twice.
His 'performance' was terrible..
had no choice but to keep him out there with Essendon being 3 players down.

We could of won,but didnt.
Still a great effort from the Mighty Bombers. :thumbsu:

adzarani, Andrew_5, Ants, ari18, AsianWithAFro, B-Bomber, BBSK, Ben the Gooner, Blue Dimension, Bomber4eva, bomberbastic, BOMBERSG8, Bombs Away, carnthedons07premiers, citizen-erased, DaSawx, dave_27, Duckworth, Enki, FOOT OF GOD, GoldenboyHird_5, High Ryder, Hirdismyhero, Jörmungand, KING-JAMES, magpies10, McManus2Waterhouse, Merv Neagle, nicko99, Not a Wellman, occy_2003, Palmer Stoat, RED AND BLACK SOLDIER, SAINTS 4 07 FLAG, Sam the RAMA fan, SOT4, Stants_24_Legend, Storyboy, Strike Swiftly, warney7, wasupwidat, Williams02, Willow_2000, windyhill, adamcf, BigScottyLucas, bomberandy, cAsEy_18, Couch Potato, DannyJames13, Darealrath, dodgyJim, donsman4eva, drew_j, Giggidy Giggidy, GoDons, hulld, Jono B, Kaiser Powser, larson, mojon95, nomad, rolandproducts, vantheman32

I guess all these people must be pretty poor judges less than 12 months ago then. They all said Laycock would be a better ruckman than Hille and now there are people saying get rid of him all together. He is usually a pretty good kick, obviously low on confidence at the moment but i still reckon he can become a pretty good 2nd ruckman for Essendon (and is the best option at the moment)

Some disgraceful characters on this board. I don't care how good a footballer someone is or isn't, noone deserves the treatment you are dishing out.

Critique or criticism of someones game is fair enough, but there are personal attacks here that are uncalled for.

Go somewhere else, please, where clubs can use your kind of 'support'.

Absolute dud, and agree that he has to go, but he wasn't the only one who lost us the game.
Jetta, Stanton and a few others had their opportunities, but they all wasted them and in the end of course in AFL footy, it was going to cost us.

A lot of you are frying Laycock because of his last quarter but what about Hille's? He was probably exhausted but in that last term when he was in the centre, we barely won a clearence. He also made that blue at the F50 when he had heaps of numbers but didn't give it off so he was pinned and in turn cost us a goal.
I guess some players just cop it every week no matter what...

Laycock- Gotta go