LCD V Plasma

LCD's for some reason (maybe it's something I don't know how to tweak) seem to blur at times. Watching a clear as day scene on a DVD there's a bit of a strange shade, it's damn hard to explain. Although it is very easy to spot when something moves fast onscreen. The shops always have the latest 3D cartoon playing to show off their LCDs and Plasmas - see if you can notice it.

Like I said, maybe it's just something I haven't turned pressed or plugged in on my new one. Still love it.

Plasmas I don't anything about.

They are these days are very even.

LCD will last longer
Plasma will cost less a year
LCD costs less up front
Plasma's come in bigger sizes
LCD goast
Plasma's burn

LCD would be the go i'd think...

From what i hear if the screen breaks in the lcd it is relativley easy to repair (dont know about cheap though) whereas if there is a problem with the screen on a Plasma you are up a certain creek without a paddle...

I happen to keep a close eye on certain kinds of technology. Here's what I know: :cool:

Quality: LCDs are improving in this area at a resonable rate, but plasmas still have it over LCDs. I suspect this will change in the next 12-18 months, but if you're buying now, plasmas visual quality > LCDs. It's worth adding though, that for smaller tvs the difference isn't too noticeable. The gap in quality widens with the size of the screen however.

longevity: Plasma screens die after about 18-20 years, so they say. Eventually the plasma particals will lose shape, resulting in a slow decay of picture quality. Personally, my plasma screen will be in the garbage bin long before that time anyway. LCDs are suppose to last for as long as the pixels stay 'alive'. No idea how long that is, but they say it's longer than a plasma screen's life. Therefore, for longevity, LCD > plasma.

Durability: This is hard to answer. Plasma screens can burn static images into them, whilst LCDs often have pixels that just seem to die. Not sure how you stop pixels from dying, but I know that if you make sure you don't pause movies and games for a long time with plasma screens, then images won't burn into the tv. People can be careless though.....
I guess you'd have to say LCDs > plasmas for durability.

Was looking at both at Harvey Normans the other day and i must say that for picture quality the Plasma kills the LCD.
The only LCD i was impressed with was the Benq.

Im The Gun said:
They are these days are very even.

LCD will last longer
Plasma will cost less a year
LCD costs less up front
Plasma's come in bigger sizes
LCD goast
Plasma's burn

LCD's cost more upfront... much more for a comparable screen. Plasmas ghost also.

You might want to read about Toshiba's latest tv first.

http://gear.ign.com/articles/679/679235p1.html - CREDIT!

CES 2006: Toshiba's Plasma/LCD Killer
Whoa! Imagine a flat-panel TV that one-ups CRT in all-around quality. SED is here and there's no going back.
by Matt Casamassina

January 5, 2006 - We use plasma sets and we use LCDs. We like them. They're stylish. And their respective picture qualities have gotten better and better over the years. Not quite up to the black levels or the response times of standard CRT setups, sure, but nevertheless pretty damned good. The new plasmas from Pioneer and Panasonic are particularly impressive. And yet, a new technology from Toshiba promises to do the unthinkable and combine the best of CRT with the best of flat-panel displays. If we hadn't seen this impressive new tech for ourselves at CES 2006, we'd be quick to shrug it off, but having beheld it, we're here to confidently state that plasma and LCD better watch out.

Toshiba is planning to release this new line of unbelievably accurate flat-panel sets in late 2006. The technology is called "Surface-conduction Electron-emitter Display" (yes, that's a mouthful) or SED for short. The electronics maker showcased prototype SED sets at CES and every IGN editor on-hand was in agreement: nothing else compares.

So how does it all work? SED sets use 6,220,800 electron emitters - or one for each color per pixel, to be precise - which cause red, blue and green phosphors to glow. That may not mean much to most, but the results will definitely matter. Toshiba's CES 2006 SED sets featured the deepest black levels we have ever seen on any television, including CRT - and these televisions are as flat as any plasma! Consider this: the typical plasma set sports a contrast ratio of 3000:1, but Toshiba's prototype SEDs offer a whopping 10,000:1 contrast ratio for truly unparalleled color and accuracy.

Toshiba took us into a dark demo room with three 42" SEDs inside. The sets displayed a variety of video, from a boat moving along the ocean at night to a woman examining a pretty artifact. We were continually amazed by how rich and deep the blacks were in these pictures, and always without sacrificing image detail. The graying effect commonly associated with low contrast ratios was not only missing from these videos, but the 16x9 "letterbox bars" were so deeply black that the pictures looked to be coming out of the nearby wall and not displayed on a television at all.

It gets better. The prototype SEDs on-hand at CES 2006 are far from finished, according to company spokespersons. The sets we viewed were running in 720p and not the standard 1080p that SEDs will accommodate later this year. Meanwhile, the 42" SEDs we saw will be axed in favor of a base size that begins at 55", Toshiba promises. The SEDs will also deliver a 1 millisecond response time, which guarantees that blurring or refresh issues will be a thing of the past. And get this - craziest of all, the final SEDs will ship with a contrast ratio of 100,000:1 to one. Yes, we wrote that correctly -- one-hundred thousand to one.

Toshiba reps are confident of SED, calling these sets the "new standard." And having seen them in motion, we agree. These babies are beautiful and nothing else that we've seen even comes close.

Unfortunately, the electronics maker was hush-hush on pricing for SEDs and would not even venture to give us a ballpark figure for these televisions. That noted, previous reports on the technology state that it can be mass-produced on a cheaper scale than competing plasma or LCD televisions.

We've grabbed a couple of images of the SED presentation we attended. Unfortunately, these dark shots do not do the sets justice so for now you'll just have to take our word that this tech is going to deliver big in 2006.

Mr Magoo said:
You might want to read about Toshiba's latest tv first.

http://gear.ign.com/articles/679/679235p1.html - CREDIT!

CES 2006: Toshiba's Plasma/LCD Killer
Whoa! Imagine a flat-panel TV that one-ups CRT in all-around quality. SED is here and there's no going back.
by Matt Casamassina

[snip]

Toshiba is planning to release this new line of unbelievably accurate flat-panel sets in late 2006. The technology is called "Surface-conduction Electron-emitter Display" (yes, that's a mouthful) or SED for short. The electronics maker showcased prototype SED sets at CES and every IGN editor on-hand was in agreement: nothing else compares.

I actually shelved my LCD/Plasma plans a few months ago on the premise that SED was coming soonish... i just hope its no too long...

55" minimum screen size?? Aww yeah.

I apologise if a more recent thread is available on this.

In 2009, heaps more AFL fans will have flat screens. I have always been really reluctant because my CRT has an almost instant response time so the high moving AFL action looks great. However, no widescreen, no hi-def and the screen is a little small :).

I wondered if people who are watching the hi-def free to air AFL broadcasts (and even FoxSports HD) on either (or both) types of flat screen could give me an honest account of their viewing experience in 2009? I'd be interested to know if your viewing of the standard def stuff is also any good on these flat panel TVs.

Also, I have heard that Panasonic Plasmas are the total G-O when it comes to high moving action - can anyone confirm that they see no motion blur or jaggies on their Panasonic Plasma or LCD when watching AFL?

I'd love to take the plunge, but still doubt the quality is there compared to my 15 year old CRT :). I am sure things have changed.

Thanks.

Evan.

Also, I have heard that Panasonic Plasmas are the total G-O when it comes to high moving action - can anyone confirm that they see no motion blur or jaggies on their Panasonic Plasma or LCD when watching AFL?

I'd love to take the plunge, but still doubt the quality is there compared to my 15 year old CRT :). I am sure things have changed.

Thanks.

Evan.

My last post in this thread my offer some help... a little dated though...

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=518378&highlight=plasma

Cheers
SKC

In 2009, heaps more AFL fans will have flat screens. I have always been really reluctant because my CRT has an almost instant response time so the high moving AFL action looks great. However, no widescreen, no hi-def and the screen is a little small :).

I wondered if people who are watching the hi-def free to air AFL broadcasts (and even FoxSports HD) on either (or both) types of flat screen could give me an honest account of their viewing experience in 2009? I'd be interested to know if your viewing of the standard def stuff is also any good on these flat panel TVs.

Thanks.

Evan.

Have the Panasonic 50ZP850 or something

If you turn off something called "intelligent frame creation" there is not a spec of blurring in any sports I have watched

One HD especially Golf, basketball and nascar is absolutely awesome

Australian sports shows telecast in HD are inferior to the American sports shows, must not show true HD.

Movies etc in HD are so realistic, the colour is truer than any other LCD/Plasma that was out there January, not sure what is out there now.

PS3 games and BR movies are brilliant

Honestly I am still in awe of the picture

can not fault it and people that know me would say I am a sceptic of all things :)

Thanks.

Evan.

I have a Panasonic Plasma and watching the footy on it is ****ing brilliant! I don't experience any motion blur at all. Just make sure you get 100hz or above and you'll be fine as far as that's concerned. Shelling out the extra coin for Full HD 1080p is worth it too, otherwise you wont be able to take full advantage of HD and Blu-ray and stuff like that.

I only get standard-def for the footy too (apart from the GF) because of where I live and it still shits all over the CRT telly's I've had in the past.

I have a Panasonic Plasma and watching the footy on it is ****ing brilliant! I don't experience any motion blur at all. Just make sure you get 100hz or above and you'll be fine as far as that's concerned. Shelling out the extra coin for Full HD 1080p is worth it too, otherwise you wont be able to take full advantage of HD and Blu-ray and stuff like that.

I only get standard-def for the footy too (apart from the GF) because of where I live and it still shits all over the CRT telly's I've had in the past.

I didn't think they plasmas needed that "over hertz" stuff, but I see some of the plasmas have that.

I looked at some flat screens yesterday. Plasmas do seem a lot more beautiful. It is true they look more cinematic whereas the LCDs I saw (even costing 3000 or more) looked more like an ultra-realistic computer game - a little too harsh and digital looking.

I think it's be a Panny 42" plasma for me too (I don't care what people say about that being too small, my current TV is 24" :).

Evan.

My friend has a plasma thats looks great on the HD and SD channels. When it goes to Foxtel though, the picture becomes a bit unclear and is no where near sharp compared to HD and SD.

NEC brand.

Solutions?

I think it's be a Panny 42" plasma for me too (I don't care what people say about that being too small, my current TV is 24" :).

Too small? Maybe if you have a massive lounge room. But for a standard size lounge room 42" will do just fine. If you have a huge room no doubt a bigger screen will look better and be a much better experience, but on the flip side if u have a huge screen in a smaller room you won't really get the full "effect" from it.

I have a 120cm Philips LCD (fantastic quality) and sit 3.3m from the screen and it's a perfect size for the distance.

My friend has a plasma thats looks great on the HD and SD channels. When it goes to Foxtel though, the picture becomes a bit unclear and is no where near sharp compared to HD and SD.

NEC brand.

Solutions?

The bigger the TV, the worse Foxtel looks unfortunately. It is heavily compressed and broadcast at a low bit rate.

You have 2 solutions to improve the PQ.

1. Use an SCART to component video cable (Foxtel comes with SCART to composite video cable)

2. Upgrade to Foxtel IQ2 with HDMI cable

Option 2 is the way to go if your mate doesn't mind paying for the upgrade

Have just bought a Sharp '46' LCD and set it up yesterday. Was watching TV toniight and noticed that the picture seems to drag.

Does anyone have a solution to this problem it is not only in sport but normal TV too, the tv is HD has a built in HD tuner i also have a HD panosonic dvd recorder with HDI cable connected.

Can anybody help

We have a 42" Pioneer, it is amazing, would strongly recommend anything from Pioneer. On a more budget friendly scale, the Panasonic TV's are just as good, you would only notice a difference if they were next to each other.

Have just bought a Sharp '46' LCD and set it up yesterday. Was watching TV toniight and noticed that the picture seems to drag.

Does anyone have a solution to this problem it is not only in sport but normal TV too, the tv is HD has a built in HD tuner i also have a HD panosonic dvd recorder with HDI cable connected.

Can anybody help

Sounds like you are describing poor motion handling or motion blur?

If so, its one of the reasons a lot of people don't like the picture on LCD TVs.

The problem of motion handling while being improved in LCD TVs every year is a problem inherent in LCD technology. For first-timers into flat panel TVs (and those with an untrained eye) its not something you will always notice straight away in store, especially when you have 20 TVs in front of you. Its something you tend to notice after watching your LCD TV for a little while.

What model Sharp is it? While Sharp is a world leader in LCD technology, they are not world leaders in LCD TVs. They have been very average TVs for a while now. Poor black levels, motion handling, colour representation and off-axis viewing are some of the pet hates.

For a TV, the best TV is still the Pioneer Kuro (however they are discontinued). The new Panasonic G10 and V10 are supposed to be near-Kuro for picture quality, and the new Samsung B series plasma's are receiving excellent reviews. The Panasonic & Samsung plasmas are the way to go in 2009 if you're looking for a TV for television, Foxtel, sport, DVD and blu-ray movies. If its mostly for games then look at the new Samsung LCDs (or LED back-light LCD)

Sounds like you are describing poor motion handling or motion blur?

If so, its one of the reasons a lot of people don't like the picture on LCD TVs.

The problem of motion handling while being improved in LCD TVs every year is a problem inherent in LCD technology. For first-timers into flat panel TVs (and those with an untrained eye) its not something you will always notice straight away in store, especially when you have 20 TVs in front of you. Its something you tend to notice after watching your LCD TV for a little while.

What model Sharp is it? While Sharp is a world leader in LCD technology, they are not world leaders in LCD TVs. They have been very average TVs for a while now. Poor black levels, motion handling, colour representation and off-axis viewing are some of the pet hates.

For a TV, the best TV is still the Pioneer Kuro (however they are discontinued). The new Panasonic G10 and V10 are supposed to be near-Kuro for picture quality, and the new Samsung B series plasma's are receiving excellent reviews. The Panasonic & Samsung plasmas are the way to go in 2009 if you're looking for a TV for television, Foxtel, sport, DVD and blu-ray movies. If its mostly for games then look at the new Samsung LCDs (or LED back-light LCD)

Some Sharps do have 120Hz Fine Motion feature. If the TV in question supports it, it may just need to be turned on. Otherwise, I'd swap it for a TV that does 100Hz, 120Hz or 200Hz (Sony Bravia).