Leading Teams

Cowboys
The AFL sites 'pre-season snapshot' of our team says "the Tigers took Leading Teams" to NZ. I've heard of this before, a fair few other clubs use it however I'd like to clarify what it is (or who?) and what it means for our team.

Have we had Leading Teams in previous seasons or is this our first adoption? Also, how do you see it benefiting our club over traditional schemes. Akermanis was highly critical of Leading Teams during his controversy and the fact not every club uses it means at least some don't see it as worthwhile.

There is a great article written by Jon Pierik on BackPageLead on "Leading Team" back in August.

Here's a sample. Interesting read.

Mick Malthouse thinks it is “degrading”. Jason Akermanis say it’s akin to bullying. Matthew Lloyd says it can be frustrating. Wayne Carey has questioned it. But the likes of Tom Harley and Paul Roos swear by it.

It, of course, is the Leading Teams’ leadership program, designed by former high school teacher Ray McLean that offers sporting clubs the confrontational – and controversial – “360-degree feedback style”, also known as the "stop, start, keep” program.

http://www.backpagelead.com.au/afl/2105-leading-teams-fad-or-fab

The AFL sites 'pre-season snapshot' of our team says "the Tigers took Leading Teams" to NZ. I've heard of this before, a fair few other clubs use it however I'd like to clarify what it is (or who?) and what it means for our team.

Have we had Leading Teams in previous seasons or is this our first adoption? Also, how do you see it benefiting our club over traditional schemes. Akermanis was highly critical of Leading Teams during his controversy and the fact not every club uses it means at least some don't see it as worthwhile.

Like most others have heard their name used more than once but I don't really know the real nitty gritty of the way they go about developing leadership or what they see leadership as?? Anyone have any insight into their program???

Once again thanx Equus the site helped. From what I know of leadership development. This type of program can be a very helpful tool. It's no magicfix all though and it depends on the skill of those using it. For me these tools can be used to genuenly promote all to take responibility or they can be used by a small number to bludgen others over the head. For me the over riding idea for success is simply RESPECT & CARE for all those involved in the process. If this is lost or pushed to the background it can degenerate into bullying. The ground work needs to be laid early with the involvment of all and those who are a little unfamiliar with speaking to the group need to be given the chance to develop those skills or they just disappear into the background. Anyway thats my 10 cents worth. P.S I have had experience in this area.

To the best of my knowledge there are two streams to what is now assumed the leading teams package !!
The thought is Leading teams gained it's reputation on the back of developing leaders and then branched out to team environment work which has possibly rightfully gained critiscm !!
Don't think there has been much if any critiscm of the leadership development work it's just the belittling of players "" team environment " concept which isn't liked ???

One of my cricket teammates, Craig Biddiscombe, is highly involved with Leading Teams and I think it is a great concept. Would love to see us more involved with this organisation. They have great results. Geelong took it on board before their 1st flag and it didn't do them any harm.
As far as I'm concerned, if criticism is delivered constructively and with the intent on improvement, then everyone's a winner. If someone doesn't want to hear constructive criticism, then they have something to fear I reckon.

Its a high risk high return strategy. When it works, it works very well. Not necessarily winning premierships, but by far getting more out of the individuals than what they would normally get. There are various levels between complete successful implementation and complete failure where you lose your "best" players and have too much infighting with mediocre players.

IMO, those who don't embrace it (or fear it) know they have something they should change, but don't want to change.

Regarding the article, I can see why Aka doesn't like it, he is too individual, and knows he wouldn't like the feedback he would get. Now apply the Leading Teams principle to the Brissie in the years 2001 and 2003, and its hard to imagine them getting more success. But thats pure speculation.

Regarding Cuz, i think one of his strong points was being able to deliver good feedback to players in an inclusive way. Him telling Jack to pull his head in, and his good feedback to DC in Sydney ;).

One of my cricket teammates, Craig Biddiscombe, is highly involved with Leading Teams and I think it is a great concept. Would love to see us more involved with this organisation. They have great results. Geelong took it on board before their 1st flag and it didn't do them any harm.
As far as I'm concerned, if criticism is delivered constructively and with the intent on improvement, then everyone's a winner. If someone doesn't want to hear constructive criticism, then they have something to fear I reckon.

Its a high risk high return strategy. When it works, it works very well. Not necessarily winning premierships, but by far getting more out of the individuals than what they would normally get. There are various levels between complete successful implementation and complete failure where you lose your "best" players and have too much infighting with mediocre players.

IMO, those who don't embrace it (or fear it) know they have something they should change, but don't want to change.

Regarding the article, I can see why Aka doesn't like it, he is too individual, and knows he wouldn't like the feedback he would get. Now apply the Leading Teams principle to the Brissie in the years 2001 and 2003, and its hard to imagine them getting more success. But thats pure speculation.

Regarding Cuz, i think one of his strong points was being able to deliver good feedback to players in an inclusive way. Him telling Jack to pull his head in, and his good feedback to DC in Sydney ;).

totally agree !!:thumbsu::thumbsu:
constructive two way critiscm with the intent of improvement is wonderfull, unfortunately in some teams, politics is played between some mediocre players to undermine better players, for personal gain .:thumbsd::thumbsd:

Absolutely Tugga could'nt agree more! It's one of those things that needs to be declared early and kept at the forefront as part of the groups guidelines in the process. As long as it is done along with a few other things it should'nt go pear shaped. Also if players do have a genuine gripe with other players there should also be a method to resolve it respectfully and not allow things to degenerate.:thumbsu:

Eqqus dunno where you find (and remember!) these articles but they're a treasure trove.

From the sounds you'd think this program is perfectly suited to our club, young and confident. There is no oppressive 'veteran' presence that might intimidate some of the younger players from speaking up and we already know Cotchin has made an inclusive pact with the young brigade they will stick together and reach success which is itself an embodiment of the leading teams 'involvement' philosophy.

Interesting to note Luke Darcy's lament that Terry Wallace was too insecure to use the system, I do remember reading that column. I also remember Rance gave an interview this year where he spoke of the coaching environment and said it was nice not to be 'shouted down' for speaking up in team meetings. Dovetail this with Jack Riewoldts comments that the club is becoming 'more professional', this looks to be a promising program.

Gents

Happy new year from Ho Chi Minh City. Only a short stay.

As regards the NZ trip, basically Leppa and Brendon Lade were running the show. They may have been using a leading teams framework but I wasn't aware of any leading teams personnel in the group. There was a party of 60 so I may have missed someone. The club invested in the Leading Teams framework about two years ago. It's not a recent initiative. I personally have doubts about it.

Everyone holds Geelong out as being the greatest advocate for it, with collective empowerment and 360 degree feedback being some of the core elements. If the elements hold true, I find it really hard to believe that the player group at Geelong didn't take G Ablett aside at some point during the season just gone and ask "are you staying or going?".

Gieschen actually. And I blame his arse off.
It was too. **** the Giesch. What a piece of vile filth he was. Bidders wasn't the greatest player in our history. But I take my hat off to the bloke when he played 80-odd games of AFL footy over 8 years. He either bluffed a lot of people or got the utmost out of himself.

any way... back to the subject ;)If it is anything like the "stop, start, keep" system then its not as bad as all those would make you believe. It's all about the delivery \ participation I guess. Wat I got out of the way Aker explained it was 1 bloke stands up front & them every1 has a say on him (which could be intimidating for both for parties) The "stop, start, keep" system is a group discusion while the subject is not around & then presented to him in a more controlled manor. Therefore giving that person a true reflection of how the majority of his peers perceive him.

It was too. **** the Giesch. What a piece of vile filth he was. Bidders wasn't the greatest player in our history. But I take my hat off to the bloke when he played 80-odd games of AFL footy over 8 years. He either bluffed a lot of people or got the utmost out of himself.
I don't blame Biddescombe, he was an ok player. I blame the ********s who traded pick 8 for him.

**** me, I was young back then and had no idea that happened:(
How the ****ing hell did that clown get a job with the AFL after clearly showing how useless he is when he coached us.