tico

seeing as though we have such a differing opinion on the coaching staff at fremantle, lets everyone make a prediction on what will happen next year.

e.g if CC makes the finals next year he can see out his contract and we will support him but IF he doesnt we will not follow him blindly not matter what rubbish he spews out every week.

come on people put your rep on the line and stick to it.

and then we can all bookmark this thread and see if everyone true to their word.

i will go on record as sayibg he doesnt deserve to be our coach anymore but seeing as though we have no choice if he doesn't make the 8 next year he has ONCE AGAIN underachieved and should be sacked ASAP.

Why is top 8 seen as a good season? We have a talented list laden with top ten picks, many over the 100 game mark. How many sides have a better first 22 than us? We are clearly a top 5 team on paper and it's only through poor coaching that we aren't currently in that position. If we had won 9 from 12 games at Subiaco, which is a very realistic expectation, we would be 5th.
On so many occasions over the last 44 games our team has come out disinterested, so obviously Connolly isn't motivating the players properly. That coupled with his frequent poor performances in the coaching box on game day makes him a poor coach.

If Connolly takes us to the top 4 and we perform well in the finals next season I will reassess my opinion of him. If we are in the same position at the split round he should be sacked midseason to give us the opportunity to lure a quality coack to the club. If we miss the finals in 2006 he deserves to be sacked and probably will. If we fail to win a final he should be sacked but won't.

dominguez said:
Why is top 8 seen as a good season? We have a talented list laden with top ten picks, many over the 100 game mark. How many sides have a better first 22 than us? We are clearly a top 5 team on paper and it's only through poor coaching that we aren't currently in that position. If we had won 9 from 12 games at Subiaco, which is a very realistic expectation, we would be 5th.
On so many occasions over the last 44 games our team has come out disinterested, so obviously Connolly isn't motivating the players properly. That coupled with his frequent poor performances in the coaching box on game day makes him a poor coach.

If Connolly takes us to the top 4 and we perform well in the finals next season I will reassess my opinion of him. If we are in the same position at the split round he should be sacked midseason to give us the opportunity to lure a quality coack to the club. If we miss the finals in 2006 he deserves to be sacked and probably will. If we fail to win a final he should be sacked but won't.

mate i am in total aggreeance with you but a balanced question is what is needed here otherwise i will be accused of being one eyed in the respect of CC not being there.

I think Freo were dumb in resigning him early in the year.

I understand their reasons ie keep the press at bay etc, and not have an Adelaide of last season when Ayres left, but I feel he is one of your main problems.

Adelaide are a good example of what a coach can do. I must admit I did not support the selection of craig as I would have preferred Eade,I thought we would finish around 12th, and am very suprised at our success noting we have only had one real pick up in Scott Thompson this year.

I think your in for another year of crap with CC, and if he is not performing by mid year take the financial hurt and sack him.

I have three dockers families around me and they are getting pretty ********ed off with the team, and I cant see how CC could possibly turn it around next year.

The players themselves would be getting jaded with him, and must be starting to loose faith with his game plans and training etc, as they would be more dissapointed than the fans

Well to answer your question. If we are anything less than top 6 by round 15 next year he will have failed.

If we scrape into the finals or miss completely I doubt anyone would find any reason not to sack him.

Ps. If you are not a Fremantle supporter you opinion means nothing in this thread.

dugrene said:
Ps. If you are not a Fremantle supporter you opinion means nothing in this thread.

Have a look where I live, I have three neighbours who are die hard freo fans and members, and I hate the eagles. I come from Adelaide so they will always be my main team however it doesnt stop me from having opinions on the dockers, and since when do you have to be a die hard to comment on any team.

I would take any comments from anyone with regard to the crows, except if your a port (feral) supporter, as one can not sink that low

I'm still on the fence.

I don't rate him much as a coach, but I'm not really prepared to support another untried coach either.

If we don't make the finals next season, it will be another monumental failure, but I'll still have a membership in 07.

There's my rep, its not much on the line but hey, it's pretty much the truth.

dicko said:
Have a look where I live, I have three neighbours who are die hard freo fans and members, and I hate the eagles. I come from Adelaide so they will always be my main team however it doesnt stop me from having opinions on the dockers, and since when do you have to be a die hard to comment on any team.

I would take any comments from anyone with regard to the crows, except if your a port (feral) supporter, as one can not sink that low

I appreciate you gave an informed opinion.

However the object of the thread is to see how Fremantle supporters see themselves and their reactions to the possibilities for 2006. Their will be plenty of opportunity to tell us how dumb our Club is between now and then.

Well if we don't make the finals then that would be a failure. The expectation is to make the finals and win one. That is the bottom line. If that doesn't happen then end of year, might be time to say goodbye.

I would never sack a coach mid year. stupid suggestion. it was dumb with Drum. did it enable us to get a better Coach because he was sacked midyear? we got CC which you guys bag. not only that but it is a disgraceful and unprofessional way to act as a club. You can look for a coach quietly. nobody is going to accept a coaching job midyear either.

Plus, look at this year. the Geaorges all calling for his head, and we just miss the finals. dumb

theGav56 said:
I would never sack a coach mid year. stupid suggestion. it was dumb with Drum. did it enable us to get a better Coach because he was sacked midyear? we got CC which you guys bag. not only that but it is a disgraceful and unprofessional way to act as a club. You can look for a coach quietly. nobody is going to accept a coaching job midyear either.

Plus, look at this year. the Georges all calling for his head, and we just miss the finals. dumb

Sacking Drum midseason should have allowed us first crack at a good coach, but as soon as Schwab was appointed CEO we were always going to have his best buddy as coach. There were several coaches appointed at the end of 2001. You would asume Fremantle would have decided on their coach first since we were in the market from round 9 onwards. But we were the last club to appoint a coach because Schwab had to pretend he was following due process before he gave his mate the job.

Thats another disappointing aspect about this season. All the clowns like George that have been putting the boot in since the wizard cup have been proven correct so far. Connolly will never get a fair run because the media hate to admit that they were wrong. Grant Thomas is a great example. His first year in the job he copped heaps and was written off as a dud. The saints got within a kick of a grand final last year but 9 months later when they were struggling the media had the knives out again. The problem for Freo is that not only have the media been critical of CC but a large proportion of the members are also losing faith. They may be bandwagoners but the people who have jumped on recently will cost the club a lot more than the 2 years left on Connollys contract if a large proportion of them jump off.

Putting it on the line - next year we'll finish somewhere between 7th and 10th. This will be another failed year under CC. For me, success this year was to win one final - nothing less with our squad. Next year, the bar goes up (more experienced players, bigger bodies, etc). Success in 2006 is to win two finals.

Under CC, I see we have next to no chance. What frustrates me the most though, is I'm not sure we've got too many alternative coaches. Even if there was a brilliant alternative, I have no faith in The Club's ability to find them. Big Rick and Schwabby have made an outstanding contribution in many areas - but in selecting and supporting the right people at the right time, they have failed.

Re-signing CC at the start of the year was gutless and inept. The window is closing and we are helpless onlookers.

PS. Anyone who is satisfied with this season is in esteemed company, as I'm sure The Club is satisfied as well. Therein lies the problem.

PPS. Anyone who accepts the performances this year because of injury, is again likely to be in esteemed company, .... Therein lies the problem.

purp_bling said:
Putting it on the line - next year we'll finish somewhere between 7th and 10th. This will be another failed year under CC. For me, success this year was to win one final - nothing less with our squad. Next year, the bar goes up (more experienced players, bigger bodies, etc). Success in 2006 is to win two finals.

Under CC, I see we have next to no chance. What frustrates me the most though, is I'm not sure we've got too many alternative coaches. Even if there was a brilliant alternative, I have no faith in The Club's ability to find them. Big Rick and Schwabby have made an outstanding contribution in many areas - but in selecting and supporting the right people at the right time, they have failed.

Re-signing CC at the start of the year was gutless and inept. The window is closing and we are helpless onlookers.

PS. Anyone who is satisfied with this season is in esteemed company, as I'm sure The Club is satisfied as well. Therein lies the problem.

PPS. Anyone who accepts the performances this year because of injury, is again likely to be in esteemed company, .... Therein lies the problem.

I'm not ready to make a indepth comment. But injury did play apart in our season but then it does in every team.

My concern lies in the difference between good and bad performances and performances against certain teams and occassions.

CC lost me last year , and nothing has changed for me ...

Firstly , they have renewed his contract prior to a ball being bounced this year (because they were scared of going zip-3 in the first 3 games) .

The bottom line is that since the last 4 rounds of 2004 and the completed season of 2005 , the Dockers are 11 wins from 26 games ... 42% , remember last season we needed only 1 win in the last 4 games . Could`nt do it ...

This season we recruited Black , Carr and Schofield to bolster our midfield ... Now we are hearing we need to bolster our midfield again :( .

The injuries excuses for this season are embarassing , considering the game tallies below ..
22 GAMES ;
Black
Hasebly
Josh Carr
Pavlich
Thorton
Parker
Medhurst :confused:
21 GAMES ;
Justin Longmuir
20 GAMES ;
Troy Cook .
19 GAMES ;
Grover .
Farmer .
McPharlin .
18 GAMES .
Bell
Sandilands
17 GAMES ;
Mundy
16 GAMES ;
Schammer
Dodd
15 GAMES ;
Headland
14 GAMES ;
Polak
13 GAMES ;
M Carr
James Walker .

To me , I think the majority of our top ten players have been there all season , compare our injuries to the Western Bulldogs and we have underachieved ..The Dogs took the challenge and played great footy , as they refused to use the injuries as a excuse . Our club leaders from CEO down to Coach all mentioned the injuries as being one of the reasons for us staying where we are ...

4 GAMES Cost us the finals .
Kangaroo`s (at home)
Hawks (at home )
Lions ( at home )
Essendon ( At Dome)

I look at the games above and a lack of passion and commitment cost us ...

11 WINS FROM OUR LAST 26 .... :eek:

Are fans and supporters going to accept average performances every season . Next season I want to hear CC say our aim is to play finals football in 2006 , none of this crap oh at Fremantle we dont mention finals .. Why not ??

I'm gonna stick with my opinion held this year that CC has until round 16 next year before I start jumping ship. I predicted we were a 6 - 10 team this year and although we ended up 10th, even a draw instead of a 1 pt loss in Tassie would have got us in the 8. My biggest concern was weak efforts agains v Ess, Hawthorn, Brisbane etc- similar to last year, in that they were games we should have won.

Putting myself on the line, by Rnd 16 next year we will be in 5th or 6th, so CC will be safe. Just missing the finals two years in a row MUST sting the occaisional mediocrity out of the players and they will finally understand that a game in Round 3, 6, 13 etc is just as important as those in Rounds 20 - 22. We finished more positively than last year definitely and blooded a lot more youth. Mundy, Crowley, Dodd, Johnson, Peake have all had the chance to play heaps of footy. That didn't happen in 2003 and 2004.

dicko said:
I think Freo were dumb in resigning him early in the year.

I understand their reasons ie keep the press at bay etc, and not have an Adelaide of last season when Ayres left, but I feel he is one of your main problems.

Adelaide are a good example of what a coach can do. I must admit I did not support the selection of craig as I would have preferred Eade,I thought we would finish around 12th, and am very suprised at our success noting we have only had one real pick up in Scott Thompson this year.

I think your in for another year of crap with CC, and if he is not performing by mid year take the financial hurt and sack him.

I have three dockers families around me and they are getting pretty ********ed off with the team, and I cant see how CC could possibly turn it around next year.

The players themselves would be getting jaded with him, and must be starting to loose faith with his game plans and training etc, as they would be more dissapointed than the fans
So when do uou see them train and what is the game plan? Do you know?

purp_bling said:

From Sat team only Parker and maybe Bell wont be around it 5yrs, so how is the window closing? The av age is between 20-24 wish our list was in such good shape going into the future

The way I see it is that the ages of the key players are around 23-24. Add another couple of years of being mediocre, another couple of years of settling in under a new coach and building finals experience, and we're starting to get too long in the tooth. It's not impossible (ala. Port last year), but it leaves our run very late and doesn't give us a long time at the top (ala. Port this year). And yes, we've then lost champs like Belly and Parks.

This is assuming that the players will want to stay and re-sign during this period. On the upside, if I was to highlight the most impressive thing about CC, it has been his ability to keep players at the club. He's sold the dream very well - and players have committed to it. This has provided exceptional stability off the field.

bee dee said:
From Sat team only Parker and maybe Bell wont be around it 5yrs, so how is the window closing? The av age is between 20-24 wish our list was in such good shape going into the future
You can add Black (26), M. Carr (26), Cook (29), Farmer (28), Walker (26) to that list of players who'll be gone in 5 years. Having said that, I agree that out list is in good shape for the near future, and thats why I expect to see results soon.

When I was at uni they had a concept of a conceded pass, which translated to "you failed, but we will let you go on to next year." Two conceded passes and you got kicked out. Connolly gets a conceded pass from me this year. For next year, we must make the 8, or Connolly has to go. If by some fluke we make the top 4, I might even praise him.

dominguez said:

How many sides have a better 22 obviously 9 other sides.

We are clearly a top five team on paper - clear to who and when are the games being played on paper.

I think these sort of comments are just a little silly given that Freo have "on paper" had a worse season than last year - look at the ladder.

Surely a mistake has been made with re-signing CC, time for the board to acknowledge and set him free. Time to recruit some speed into the mid -field.

Mutant said:
How many sides have a better 22 obviously 9 other sides.

We are clearly a top five team on paper - clear to who and when are the games being played on paper.

I think these sort of comments are just a little silly given that Freo have "on paper" had a worse season than last year - look at the ladder.

Surely a mistake has been made with re-signing CC, time for the board to acknowledge and set him free. Time to recruit some speed into the mid -field.

Thats' like saying there were 11 teams with a better side than the crows because they finished 12th last season. We now know that Ayres was the problem and with essentially the same side apart from Thompson coming in for Stenglein they will probably win the flag this year. Did those players go from chumps to champs in 12 months? No, they just needed an astute leader at the helm. The same applies to Fremantle.

You're first 3 paragraphs disagree with me and then you agree Connolly is no good?

dominguez said:
Thats' like saying there were 11 teams with a better side than the crows because they finished 12th last season. We now know that Ayres was the problem and with essentially the same side apart from Thompson coming in for Stenglein they will probably win the flag this year. Did those players go from chumps to champs in 12 months? No, they just needed an astute leader at the helm. The same applies to Fremantle.

You're first 3 paragraphs disagree with me and then you agree Connolly is no good?
Wrong Adelaide had a heap of injuries last yr and tis yr none, guess what happens without injuries