Strategy Let's talk tagging!

Don't think you need pace to be a tagger, but endurance is a must. Ling, Crowley, kornes etc all had it.

Not sure if tagging is necessarily the answer either. I think the bigger problem is the timing of our moves and the lack of courage from our coaching staff to make the game day calls.

I get the whole "backing in our system" thing but the best coaches seem to know exactly when it's time to try something different. It's obviously a fine line between making a move too early and one too late, but that's what separates your great coaches from your average ones.
By backing our system we essentially left Matt Crouch/Brad Crouch/Richard Douglas to go head to head with Dangerfield/Joel Selwood/Duncan. I don't think it matters how good the system is, it was like bringing a knife to a gun fight.

Kelly probably has the endurance to do it too
http://www.afc.com.au/news/2016-12-05/kelly-crosses-line-first

With the 3 losses so far this midseason, it's a good position we're currently in for a tilt at the major rounds. Certainly we can't rest on our laurels, and the whole team still needs some improving. Since in the midfield is where the game is won and lost, there are 2 glaring themes we need to work on:
1. Sloaney needs some ideas to help break the tag. Pound for pound, I have no doubt he is one of the toughest players on the field. However, he doesn't have the most explosive pace to break away from a congestion (unlike Dangerfield or Judd), so what other ways can he deal with a heavy tag, or at times, a 'Sloaney sandwich' (2 players on either side of Sloane)?
2. We seem to be missing a player who can do a full game tagging role. 'Team defense' is the cliche of the day, I get it, but sometimes you got to focus on one or two men of the opposition. The question is, do we need a full-game tagger on our side? And the subsequent question is, who is the best person to fit in this role?
Re-Point 2
We do have a suitable player to fill a full time tagger role i think; Kelly would do that well but i highly doubt our coaching staff would ever see it that way.

This thread title had such a different meaning in the mid to late 1980's when I was in high school.

:D

Thompson doesn't need to play again. He should have retired last year, we don't owe it to him to find a spot for him.
There is no place in a professional AFL team for a guy who is past it. If Thommo wants to play footy he can try for a SANFL spot or go play in a local club.

View attachment 380809 It would be robbing us of his attacking flair, but I think Charlie has the mongrel, strength speed and tackling to go head to head with Danger to minimise his impact.

I recon this would be good when the heat is on if we get a break on the opposition free him back to his normal role. Maintain the tag longer if needed. I wouldn't like to lose all of Charlie's attack to a tagging role.

Cameron is the best option for me too, but don't know if he has the endurance.

I'd like to see us go after Ed Curnow next year as a cheap pick up. Seems to do a good job when he is given a task. I really think we should be trading for someone....I've seen Kerridge do some good tagging roles before
We used to have have him and delisted him doubt he would come back

How about Gallucci in a tagging role. Has the athletic ability, endurance and determination. What he lacks is experience - there's an idea...what about McKay in that role

You need to be a fit and tough nut to be a tagger. If you can be brushed aside easily, then it's pointless to be a tagger ie. Mackay doen't fit the tagger's mould. Galluci looks more like an attacking playmaker something like a Dangerfield type, so he probably doesn't fit the mould either.
I actually like the idea of Greenwood trialling as a full-game tagger at some stage. Hope to see more of this fella get more experience with games.

If we have to go down this path it has to be someone who is aggressive, has a physical presence, can get agro but also stay in control. With this in mind I would go for Greenwood. I have been a fan of Greenwood and I like the physically that he brings.....just disappointed that we would lose him from his current inside role which is something we need also.

I reckon there are two types of players who you would tag. The inside Joel Selwood and the outside Stephen Hill. The benefit of using Gallucci on the outside type would be that he gains experience on where to run, what the best players do to get into the game and thework rste required

Tagging fell out of favour a few years ago, with people saying 'it doesn't make your team any better, just makes your opposition slightly worse'. But now it's coming back, and though I'm a fan of attacking football, I think you need to tag against certain opposition. It's now been clearly demonstrated that it's much easier to beat Adelaide by tagging Sloane, and much easier to beat Geelong if you tag Selwood. If a technique is ugly and negative but materially weakens your opposition, do it.

Against good midfields that rely on a big star like Selwood, our midfield needs the help of a tagger.

Not sure if I'd be willing to 'waste' Cameron's speed and attacking run on the tagging role though. I say, try a big lad like Beech or Greenwood in the role.

Before the season started it was mentioned by some, including me :), that as we lacked A grade mids the best way to counter that is to even up the ledger and take out one of theirs by tagging.

Its now pretty obvious not having developed one is going to hurt against the best midfields in the comp. We should have a player able to tag a Selwood, Kelly or Bont especially as we watch Sloane get tagged out.

Now we also read a bit on here that we know jackshit as we are only BF numpties, now when we can see something this obvious and our coaches cant, what does that tell you? Who are the real numpties?

Before the season started it was mentioned by some, including me :), that as we lacked A grade mids the best way to counter that is to even up the ledger and take out one of theirs by tagging.

Its now pretty obvious not having developed one is going to hurt against the best midfields in the comp. We should have a player able to tag a Selwood, Kelly or Bont especially as we watch Sloane get tagged out.

Now we also read a bit on here that we know jackshit as we are only BF numpties, now when we can see something this obvious and our coaches cant, what does that tell you? Who are the real numpties?
I disagreed with you and still do to a point.

However I do see the way Greenwood plays in the middle as a bit if a tagging role in that he is not concentrating on one player but disrupting the flow of play in the middle among the opposition's best mids with his physical presence.

He is also good at winning clearances himself.

I thought this set up worked well against Geelong. Where it was not their mids that killed us but our inability to stand up against the total physical contest across the ground they applied. That and some poor defending.

But Greenwood did do some good work in not allowing the Dangerwood show go so smoothly.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

I disagreed with you and still do to a point.

However I do see the way Greenwood plays in the middle as a bit if a tagging role in that he is not concentrating on one player but disrupting the flow of play in the middle among the opposition's best mids with his physical presence.

He is also good at winning clearances himself.

I thought this set up worked well against Geelong. Where it was not their mids that killed us but our inability to stand up against the total physical contest across the ground they applied. That and some poor defending.

But Greenwood did do some good work in not allowing the Dangerwood show go so smoothly.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
Yeah nah, you obviously didn't watch Selwood and Danger. They killed us even with the role you invented for Greenwood.

Fancy that . West coast tagging joel selwood and hes only had nine possessions in the first half and geelong really struggling. Bit different to when we just let selwood do what he liked.

I reckon Hampton or Kelly are the ones.

Kelly would be ideal, but I reckon Geelong would get in his head through Danger. Hampton is big, fast, a good tackler and can hurt the opposition the other way...

Hampton for mine. He could really hurt someone if he had the mindset and hit them at top speed.