Life changing experiences

• Thread starter Thread starter PP34

I'm sure we're all old enough to have experienced some life changing experiences.

They can be bad or good, but to be a life changing experience they have to have a massive impact on your life.

Deaths and illnesses will obviously be the norm for many.

I'll share mine after I finish eating some chops. ;)

A 40 year old drunk woman told me I had a nice butt when I served her food as a 16 year old. The confidence that fat old slag gave me got me laid a week later and set me on a path to arrogance that changed my life forever.

Whenever I get rejected by a girl I think of my spirit animal and feel better.

I came to Melbourne in April 2006 to watch the Bouncing Souls play at the Corner Hotel.

That night I met a woman who I would eventually fall in love with, move to Melbourne to be with and we were together for 6 years.

We are no longer romantically involved, but we are in a band together and see each other regularly and are still very much best of friends.

I still live in Melbourne, and don't plan on moving back to Adelaide for any reason anytime soon

I think it's fair to say that night was a life changing moment

A 40 year old drunk woman told me I had a nice butt when I served her food as a 16 year old. The confidence that fat old slag gave me got me laid a week later and set me on a path to arrogance that changed my life forever.

Funny, something kind of like this happened to me. It actually seems fairly common.

CrimeAndPunishment.jpg
[/URL]

Reading this book made me study literature at university, do my Masters thesis on the book then move to Russia to teach English.

So wait got laid by the same 40yo woman or?

Probably the biggest life changing experience was this......

In July/August 2011 (can't remember), my old man is playing basketball on a Thursday night. I cracked it at my mum for some reason, but we got over it and wre eating dinner. Then the phone rings, and it's my dad's best mate, my dad has collapsed on the bench after subbing himself off. Mum rushed off to the basketball stadium without telling us what had happened and my sister and I were left there sitting in shock, and I was already of the belief that my old man was dead.

My cousins come over a bit later, and support us. My mum rings later, and tells my auntie/something (mum's cousins wife) the extent of the heart attack (she found out before me, as my mum's cousin also left to get to my dad). My dad had a heart attack, and an artery was blocked (again a bit sketchy on the details). They put a stent in and cleared it. He sat in a coma from around midnight Thursday until Saturday afternoon. Seeing your father laying there with things attached allover, a towel on his head, and his eyes opening and closing has to go down as one of the most confronting things you'll ever see I think.

He pulled through, and woke up from the coma on Saturday afternoon, and his first words were "heck". Classic dad. Very disorientated, forgetful, was unsure on the date, and in a fair bit of shock. I was meant to go to the footy with him that night to watch the Blues take on the Bombers, we didn't go, but the Blues got up and Andrew Walker took a ripping mark. Someone was on our side, those four days or so.

Dad was apparently angry at a referee, subbed himself off, and just fell forward, right next to his mate. Apparently he went blue, and I think he was gone at one stage. If it wasn't for the CPR from a teammate who was an ex-cop and the firefighters, he wouldn't be here.

Really puts your life into perspective, makes you cherish every day with your parents, and it has helped me to stop whinging about things that don't matter. Also shows who your true friends and family are. I'm not a religious person either, but someone was helping us at that time.

Definitely not something I'd ever want to experience again though.

I'd also say that the deaths of my grandmothers, my great aunt and two of my cousins (brother and sister) have changed my life significantly.

Since the age of eight I haven't really had anyone to talk to bar my parents (fell out with my sole grandparent, my mum's father).

Hopefully I can have some life changing experiences, that change my life for the better though.

I don't want to sound like a whinger either. I'm sure there are many worse off than me.

A schoolmate of mine died when I was 15 and it knocked me about badly. It was the first time I'd faced mortality amongst any of my peers.
It was also the first time I was forced to contemplate my own existence.
Jesus. That would've been terrible.

Death definitely does make you think about your own life. Last year I was always thinking about death. I've stopped now.

Yep. You usually exhaust every single thought about it after thinking nothing but death for a while. Then you just get over it, accept it, and the topic kind of bores you. Good part of growing up, actually. You feel better.

A schoolmate of mine died when I was 15 and it knocked me about badly. It was the first time I'd faced mortality amongst any of my peers.
It was also the first time I was forced to contemplate my own existence.

I had a similar experience when I was 14, when my father died. A week earlier he was talking to me about buying a ute and teaching me to drive.

That was when I first started thinking about how short life is.

Of course, now, I think life is too long. :/

Whilst in Africa, my father passed away in what many believed to be an accident. My uncle then married my mother, although I suspected he played a part in my father's untimely death. I ended up leaving the family for a while and befriended a meerkat and a warthog. Eventually I returned and defeated my uncle in a battle, avenging my father's death and taking my rightful place as King.

A wimba way. A wimba way.

I had a similar experience when I was 14, when my father died. A week earlier he was talking to me about buying a ute and teaching me to drive.

That was when I first started thinking about how short life is.

Of course, now, I think life is too long. :/
Awful luck. Hope you are coping okay now.

Thanks man. I think I have adjusted rather well. Still yet to learn to drive though.

Whilst in Africa, my father passed away in what many believed to be an accident. My uncle then married my mother, although I suspected he played a part in my father's untimely death. I ended up leaving the family for a while and befriended a meerkat and a warthog. Eventually I returned and defeated my uncle in a battle, avenging my father's death and taking my rightful place as King.

A wimba way. A wimba way.

Very amusing.

It wasn't until the 32nd word of that post that my suspicions were raised (at the 21st word I glanced at the post count and thought that maybe this was an alias for somebody to discuss something serious they wouldn't normally post about under their regular account). At the 46th word my suspicions solidified.

32nd = untimely, 21st = mother, 46th = meerkat (unless my counting is off, which it could well be).

At 15, I got my then girlfriend pregnant. I was a dad at 16. Its been one hell of a ride, but I'm now a very proud Grandad. At the time it was tough but I wouldnt swap it for anything now.
When I was 18, my sister was killed in a mass murder. That totally devastated our family. I dont think any of us really recovered from that.
I have lost my parents and other close family, but to loose someone like that eats at you for a long time. Still does.
I have just turned 50 and I had a massive heart attack a couple of months ago. Seemingly I'm lucky to be here. I have a large stent in there now. That kinda thing rocks your world. I still havent come to grips with it yet. I cant believe it happened!

Within a couple of weeks of most of our year group having our P plates in year 12 two of our class mates died in separate car accidents it totally shattered our year group as they were two of the brightest happiest people at our school. Going to two funerals in a month definatally changed many more lives than just mine that's for sure.

My long term girlfriend breaking up with me. It triggered a chain of events that led to me travelling when I finished University. In turn, that led to me meeting meeting my wife. I now live in a foreign country, have been married for 7 years, own a house, have a great career and a newborn son who is going to grow up having an accent to me :) One little act pretty much led to the whole life that I have now.

was working some moves on the dancefloor with this little blonde hottie. would have been about 5'1, maybe 40kg, but had **** you would just "get down and thank god you were man" for. anyhoo, we're dancing and grinding away for about an hour, when her boyfriend (who i was completely unaware of the existence of) kindly reminded my through a punch to the face that i was dancing with his girl

this obviously threw me back a little as i was unaware of any romantic involvements involving this girl. i hit the ground with what appeared to be a shiner to my left eye, while my mates took care of the guy (good blokes :thumbsu:). while i was on the ground reestablishing my composure, another girl comes up to me, with a napkin full of ice for my soon to be black eye. i looked to her to thank her, and got completely lost in her beauty

12 years later, i'm married to this girl and have 2 wonderful kids

if i hadn't been floored that night, i wouldn't have met my wife