Life

Existential thread turns into a discussion about all-day brekkie and lattes. Very Melbourne.

FWIW during the week it's better to have a light breakfast and then on the weekends (when you've waited til 11am/hungover) a big breakfast with plenty of OJ and a couple of coffees is the ****.

Juice is such a gip. Even if you're making smoothies at home a lot of fruit is packed full of sugar, which is still sugar. A smoothie at home is banging a few times a week but calories are calories brutha.

I try and stay off the piss and eat vegetarian during the week and go bang on the weekends. Mostly because I just enjoy feeling light and without the guilt of bad food, but there's also something really really good about having four pints and a counter meal and not giving a shit about a cheeky Uber eats order on a Sunday night.

In a way those sort of low key goals and rigid regulations are actually important to basic happiness.

And tying into the original point of this thread, bad food makes us dreary and angry and depressed. Eating it is the system's way of keeping you in those states that again keep you buying into all sorts of shit.

Juice is such a gip. Even if you're making smoothies at home a lot of fruit is packed full of sugar, which is still sugar. A smoothie at home is banging a few times a week but calories are calories brutha.

I try and stay off the piss and eat vegetarian during the week and go bang on the weekends. Mostly because I just enjoy feeling light and without the guilt of bad food, but there's also something really really good about having four pints and a counter meal and not giving a shit about a cheeky Uber eats order on a Sunday night.

In a way those sort of low key goals and rigid regulations are actually important to basic happiness.

And tying into the original point of this thread, bad food makes us dreary and angry and depressed. Eating it is the system's way of keeping you in those states that again keep you buying into all sorts of shit.
Juice bars are owned, or were by former Premiershipmond Captain Tony Free IIRC. ???

Breakfast hey. On holidays nothing beats scrambled eggs and black coffee.

Otherwise don't eat it. I'm in that big a rush to get up and out the door with an early start I don't really consider it.

If they help you achieve what you want then sure. If they are imposed by obligation referred or otherwise it can go the opposite way.

Bad food can be addictive so it sells well. Don't know if it is the system or people getting into bad habits.

You keep going to this French thing but it's such a weird argument. Australia's main migrant population from Europe are Italians, Greeks, and Croatians, Serbians etc. with a fair few Portuguese and some German pockets in South Australia. I've seen clubs for countries like Latvia, Ukraine, and obviously the classic Italian Clubs but not once have I seen a French Club here – there's a fair few these days but they're mostly young people here for opportunities in hospitality, hair dressing, a few in business, stuff like that. There is a fair amount of French cuisine in bigger Australian cities but the sort of food it is, it's not especially cheap. Heavy peasant sort of food isn't especially trendy right now as lighter, healthier, less carby stuff is.

The one thing I wish we picked up from the Brits was the fried chicken shop. Love getting a yellow styrofoam full of chips, some sauce, and a simple burger with a few wings for like £5 and sitting in some dingy place. I always felt there should be one or two on Racecourse Road or something. That shit would take off. Not everyone wants to sit at a restaurant named after a southern US city or dead rapper and pay $35 for it and a craft beer. The other thing that I don't get is how some pom hasn't come out and opened some sick fish and chip shop like they have in the UK. I understand it'll never be as authentic as having drenched shoes after walking around a northern city all day or going there after drinking 500ml cans of Kronenburg, but there are so many out here (especially Perth) with fat gutses who could master it. Having a curry sauce, cheese, mushy peas... man...

Don't they call all coffee there café? I remember that. Sorry bra I did post this at midnight after a day at work.

I guess it's been in the last... six or seven years. Even small country towns, if they only have two cafés, one is usually fairly good. A lot is ******y but fundamentally it's the best coffee in the world and there's a reason Australian based breakfast has become huge in the UK and US in the last two years even. Someone told me Gloria Jeans on a resumé in New York is equivalent to like five years work at some well known Brooklyn joint/shithole so I could imagine having an actual coffee shop would be fawned over.

It's not just smashed avocado on toast either, which is pretty eh tbh. Lots of greenery, nuts, good usage of poultry, sauces. It can be as heavy or light as you want but it's generally revolving around freshness and not bangers and mash and fried to **** tomatoes. You could realistically walk into any coffee shop in even middle ring suburbs and expect the coffee to be good and the food to be good.

I would say the one issue is actual service. Service in the UK is piss poor and in the continent can be amazing as people don't turn up their nose at the idea of being a waiter forever – it's a familial thing and a pathway that's humble and just what you do for lots of people. I would say Melbourne is good but in trendier areas of Perth staff can be really ****in odd, cold, and smug campaigner*. Barista more important than the barrister, ya feel.

tl dr but you said you could get the best of any global cuisine you wanted anywhere in Australia so I just put up French to immediately kill it stone dead.

Eat at work. That's what I tend to do on weekdays. I never wake up hungry so usually eat around 9.

Yeah during the week breakfast is just microwaved porridge in a bowl at my desk

#slavingfordaman

tl dr but you said you could get the best of any global cuisine you wanted anywhere in Australia so I just put up French to immediately kill it stone dead.

The French are the kings of otherwise basic foods. They just get bread and pastry in a way most other places don't. The Americans are the polar opposite. They don't get bread at all.

There's nothing remarkable about a ham and cheese sandwich, but a baguette avec jambon et fromage from some boulangerie in France will be a lot better than the equivalent from Croissant Express in Perth let alone a regular ham and cheese sanger from the school tuckshop.

I had some nice memories of sitting on the Seine having £3 baguettes and drinks and sitting there for probably 45 minutes too long. Underrated place.

Err if you were paying in pounds it might have been the Thames mate

Had one of the best meals of my life at some little family run bistro walking distance from the Eiffel Tower.

Was doing the tourist thing wandering around taking photos etc. then stopped to get dinner. Soup and bread, roast lamb and vegetables, some kind of dessert and a beer or two and probably cost me about EUR20 in arguably the most touristy of all the tourist spots in the world.

Meanwhile a pub meal and a pint at a suburban Perth pub will be $30-40.

Had one of the best meals of my life at some little family run bistro walking distance from the Eiffel Tower.

Was doing the tourist thing wandering around taking photos etc. then stopped to get dinner. Soup and bread, roast lamb and vegetables, some kind of dessert and a beer or two and probably cost me about EUR20 in arguably the most touristy of all the tourist spots in the world.

Yeah I got in late on the Eurostar once and was staying out in the Monterparnasse (sp?) area so just found the closest bistro around for dinner - as always it was off the charts good for a place that looked no different from a 100 others in Paris where the food would have been equally delicious.

There is no doubt the food in France is great and it's possible to have a brilliant 3 course meal for around 20 euros, but the variety available is within the framework of French cuisine. Sure there is a few(not may) Indian or Sushi places but they are rare and very bland as the French dont do hot food(like chillies, curries ect) so you get a bit tired of the same menus over and over. We live pretty close to the border so we often pop over to Italy and find a small town and eat like Kings for 20 euros(while also picking up tobacco and booze on the way at 30% less).

Australia has far more variety on offer for cuisines from around the world. I put this down to it being such a young country and not actually having any food or traditions of it's own. All are inherited.

Bra sounds like you paid the exact same amount you would at a Perth pub.

Like, isn't €20 the definition of $AUD 30-40 and probably almost exactly in between?

Why wouldnt it cost more here? We earn more than them and there is less population.

. I put this down to it being such a young country and not actually having any food or traditions of it's own.

umm try again sweetie

21612_l.jpg

At the risk of out Silent Alarming Silent Alarm I now understand about the system grinding you down. I am metaphorically stuck on a treadmill and can't get off. The faster you run the more exhausted you get and you need to sprint flat out just to keep up.

It's easy to say just move/start a business/change jobs etc but it is not always practical or even achievable. The system as it is means you are typecast into a role and very few not only not make it to the top but struggle to break out of their patterns. Patterns as a result of their circumstance which in most cases are out of their control.

The above I guess comes down to choice but how much choice do we have. We are slaves to our DNA, circumstance and disposition. So you either have limited options or have to chose to do something against your basic nature. Tough one this old Life game.