Mead

Eagles
Let me just say i am very very very pissed off with the magpies eagles result. In the end, a PATHETIC an umpiring decision lost it for us. A collingwood player, in the clear, handballs it twenty metres straight and the boundary line. Ball in??? Give me a break. It wasn't a case of the umpires not seeing it, since they were standing right there looking at it... if you aren't going to call deliberate in those circumstances, when do you? A player, in the clear, with a clean possession runs straight at the boundary line and handballs? What the $%$^???!!! Thankyou very much. Anyone want to take money on it being darren gold**** who made that call?!
I generally try not to get mad at poor decisions, but when you're down by 1 point and an umpire makes a bad decision just outside your fifty metre, and refuses to award a kick which could give you the game, its hard not to wonder. Right now i'm pretty devastated by the way this turned out- later on i'll write my thoughts on the game, but for now i'm looking for hitmen in the yellow pages.

:( :( :( There was another occasion when Those ****nuckle umpires should have called deliberate when that prick collingwood guy handballed it out!!!!!! Phill Matera and I were going ape****!

You have got to be joking.
That umpire decision didnt loose you the game, the only reason you were in it was the pies unable to make full use of there early dominance.
Consider it good fortune you got anywhere near that close.

And I will enjoy seeing Phil Matera and your coach front discplinary hearings this coming week.

Originally posted by Mead
Let me just say i am very very very pissed off with the magpies eagles result. In the end, a PATHETIC an umpiring decision lost it for us. A collingwood player, in the clear, handballs it twenty metres straight and the boundary line. Ball in??? Give me a break. It wasn't a case of the umpires not seeing it, since they were standing right there looking at it... if you aren't going to call deliberate in those circumstances, when do you? A player, in the clear, with a clean possession runs straight at the boundary line and handballs? What the $%$^???!!! Thankyou very much. Anyone want to take money on it being darren gold**** who made that call?!
I generally try not to get mad at poor decisions, but when you're down by 1 point and an umpire makes a bad decision just outside your fifty metre, and refuses to award a kick which could give you the game, its hard not to wonder. Right now i'm pretty devastated by the way this turned out- later on i'll write my thoughts on the game, but for now i'm looking for hitmen in the yellow pages.

IMO plain cheating by the umpire. There cannot be a clearer case of deliberately putting the ball out.

Also, that foul oun Braun that was played on and would have been a definate goal (inside their 50m) woth no opponent) and then brought all the way back for Braun to take his kick.....geeesh

There was no doubt that when Clement had the ball he handpassed it straight to the boundary line... was there a player anywhere near the boundary line?? No!! That means he was aiming deliberately for the line

Some pretty stupid decisions near the end there

:mad: :mad: :mad:
I tell ya theres a conspiracy against us!!!! A huge prictorian based conspiracy. Eddie is at the centre of it!!! Those 3 so called umpires need the sack!!!!!

And there I was thinking how well we'd done to be that close, and that in the end some of our own errors were what cost us.

originally posted by sabre_ac

And I will enjoy seeing Phil Matera and your coach front discplinary hearings this coming week.

I'm bitterly disapointed that Woosha didn't lay that smarta$$ Collingwood bloke out. Where and what were the body guards doing?

Originally posted by scmods
And there I was thinking how well we'd done to be that close, and that in the end some of our own errors were what cost us.

Yep, have to agree there. Our errors late in the 3rd qrt cost us the game. Having our better players off didn't have much to do with it. Just a couple of bad errors (Brauny how could you? :( ) and the Pies were back. Then it was catchup footy for the last qrt and we just failed. Yeah the umpires were **** but you can't pin it down to one incident.

Like that goal we kicked from a ball thrown out of the centre square by one of our players?

Umpiring goes both ways and whinging about it does you no credit.

Originally posted by carlyp
BULL **** SCMODS!!!!!!! Absolute crap! Umpiring cost us the game! We were in it and then a few very shonky decisions took us out of it!

I've found the best way is to beat the **** out of something (in my case pounding the floor resulting in quite sore hands) and then try and think logically. There may have been a free in the last few seconds but plenty of others were missed. It didn't come down to one decision, there was the rest of the game to consider.

Well the umpiring cost us but unforced turnovers cost us at least 8 goals. We have to work on that disposal, particularly to the half forwards.

What about that foot slip by Cuz that cost a goal. Bit of bad luck that........but the commentator said that slips like that were the things that made footy the best game in the world...........perhaps Man Utd and Arsenal players ought to start falling over and missing the ball a bit more and elevate the status of that code :D

After that shocker of a third quarter we DID get back...1 point if I remember midway through the last quarter then we had some SHONKY decisons and we lost. oth sides made era's but luckily we were still in it! Then the umpires made there decisions and we happened to go down!

Like that goal we kicked from a ball thrown out of the centre square by one of our players?

Umpiring goes both ways and whinging about it does you no credit.

Watch that isn slow motion. It 'may' have been a throw but there was a fist touching the ball when it was disposed.

Now if it's going to be called a throw then Essendon would get called a dozen times a week.

Im surprised that Woosha kept Braun on Holland the whole game, reason being is that Braun was making some major turn overs at playing deep in the back line, a mistake like that can cost a goal... which happened a few times today

*shrug* errors certainly cost us big, but lets just recoup. One minute to go, collingwood player makes an OBVIOUS infringement. Umpire stands right there and refuses to call it, in a situation where a west coast free kick would have given us the game, or at the very least, a pretty high chance of a point for the draw. By and large i try not to go on about umpiring, but in those circumstances, well it just hurts like hell to see that happen at that stage of the game. Forgetting everything which went before it, an Umpire made an obviously incorrect non call, where a correct one probably had a sixty/seventy percent likelihood of changing the result of the game.

Lets get a handle on things here

If we hadnt played so poorly in the first quarter, and hadnt had players make some shocking decisions at crucial points in the game we may just have won. The umpiring decisions were no-where near the bad level I have seen in other games. We were our own worst enemy today when it all boils down to it. Terrific fightback and character shown by the side but when you take it all into perspective we committed some absolutley terminal errors that in many cases were unforced. Unacceptable at the elite level of AFL footy, if we want to progress up the ladder these mistakes must be ommitted from the game or at the very least kept to a bare minimum.

Isn't this amazing ? Not long ago many Eagle fans were far less ambitious. Some even said that if we win (fill the low number) games they would be happy. How things change and in a way rightly so. Now I can see that Eagles supporters are becoming more ambitious by the day. At end of the season, I can forsee some people getting angry because we didn't make the first four places on the ladder :-) Calm down people. There will always be reasons for losing games. Players errors, coach tactical mistakes, bad umpire decisions, etc. However, everybody can see now that the Eagles 2002 has absolutely nothing to do with the WCE of the last two years. Slowly but surely we are getting back the respect that we deserve. Anybody in Melbourne who think they are facing the last two years West Coast, will be sadly disappointed. We may not be yet the team of the mid 90's but we are already in our way up. And there is more. Subiaco oval this year will become hell on Earth for most teams playing against us.

Just look at all those bigfooty members that predicted WCE for the spoon this year. Even the TAB had us as favourites. But opinions are changing. Now the TAB has us 3rd favourite for the spoon with Freo and Geelong behind us.
How opinions can change so quickly.

What goes around comes around, and I think that if you`re fair dinkum you`ll agree that in the course of a match there are many debateable free kicks given and received.

I reckon the boys were great today, in that they didn`t just give it away as they would have last year, but gave it heaps. Some shonky skills and decisions made were more at fault than the umpires IMO.

I reckon we should all be proud of them, and surely the look on the face of that moronic Collingwood supporter when Woosha faced him , has got to be worth something!!

I dont think we lost because of the umpires as they make mistakes all day, there only human but i must admit that 2 calls really really really!!! PISSED ME OFF!

The BLATANT deliberate out of bounds by Clement which would have someone kicking it into the forward line from around 60 to 70 metres out. Could have won the game if that call was made which it should have been called. Very obvious.

The other was no advantage on the Braun free kick in the back pocket....Embly flying down the wing, delivering it to Gardiner just outside 50, probably would have resulted in a goal. Instead the umpire says no advantage?????? Then Braun kicks a mongrel that goes straight to Collingwood and they get a goal. Definite game turner that one.

Umpires certainly did have a say on that game but all in all it was our bad play at the start of the game and having no small backmen to shut Holland up that cost us the game.

Still they were shocking calls.

** My first Point. See how pi$$ed Woosha was walking down the race when that cretin collingwood supporter was in his face. Make no mistake, Worsfold & the eagles went their to win. None of this "we'll give it best shot". Woosh has set the bar at a lofty hieght and is driven to succeed. We will get better.

My second has escaped me but it had something to do with heart. We showed plenty off it - Oh Yeah I remember. Sabre you Wally - saying that we were lucky to come that close is complete crapulence. Through our own mistakes we lost that game but I feel we did dominate play after the first quarter.

They were the lucky ones ..

There was also a push in the back behind play. Usually not awarded, but this guy not only floored our player (bugger if i remember who it was) but pretty much laid on top of him after he fell down. Naturally the umpire didn't see it, he was too busy concentrating on running backwards (looks silly if you ask me).