Local Geelong Leagues Thread (GFL/BFL/GDFL)

ringo1 said:
Yeah I was up in Geelong and popped into Leopold for the last quarter and it would be fair to say that they were not competitive.St.Joes were pretty slick and very impressed with number 12-big guy playing at full forward.:thumbsu:

Aaron Greaves...former North Ballarat/Geelong VFL player and SJFC junior. Has been coach for a couple of years. Pushing 29, but very impressive.

Flat Track Bully said:
Aaron Greaves...former North Ballarat/Geelong VFL player and SJFC junior. Has been coach for a couple of years. Pushing 29, but very impressive.

So much for the rumour he was going to miss the season with a back injury. Reckon i heard that about 10 times, every person saying there was no way he was playing this year and that they heard it from a reliable source lol. :rolleyes:

sticko_64 said:
I see young Adam Marsland kicked 3 for the falcons Mr dcshoecousa. 17 possessions and 5 marks. Not a bad day for the young fella backing up from great performance last week for St Albans where he received votes in the addy.

No goals this week for you this week? Chance for you to kick a few this week though just having a look at your opposition for next round

Votes in the addy look where they come from!

lions_man1 said:
Maybe if they move them back to the BFL like they were going to do 5 years ago...then we wouldnt have to put up with this pathetic form they have given us over the past halfa decade...fair dinkim we have to go out and watch that ********

Obviously a disgruntled Ammos supporter! hahaha.... Joeys seem to be one of the better teams going around atm. They sit top but they haven't had much opposition in West and Leopold. Leopold will be alright this year. Better then Lara, West and St. Alban's. Sth Barwon look unreal. No team could match them player for player. Absolutly r*ped the buggery out of Lara on the weekend. Biggest raping since Canterbry Bulldogs footy trip!

South Barwon are going to be invincible this year. Some super players down there. Luke Buckland, Bidderscombe, both Rau's, Reid, Wells and Thompson.
Destroyed Lara and Colac. And does anybody know how old Lukes brother Trent is? whispers were that he is only 17? why isnt he at falcons? tore holes Lara. kickin wasnt great but he has the talent to go somewhere. Is this another Mick Turner blunder?

Anyone think anyone will challenge Sth Barwon come sept???

Grimmett said:
http://www.geelonginfo.com/readarticle.asp?articleid=19537

Junior footy fight drama

Monday, April 24
Simeon Bennett

TWO junior footballers have been suspended from the Corio Football Club after violence erupted at an under-16s game at Leopold on Friday night.
Corio under-16s coach Doug Whiteford forfeited the game at three-quarter time after a Devils player allegedly abused and threatened an umpire.

Umpire Kevin Plumb said the fracas started when the player abused another 16-year-old umpire for a decision against Corio.

``I've come in between the two of them just to stop him getting to the other umpire and all of a sudden he's had a go at me,'' Mr Plumb said.

``It took four kids plus a trainer to stop him from getting at me.

``He said he was going to put a foot on my throat. It was pretty scary.''

Plumb then red-carded the player and reported him for abusive language.

He will front the Football Geelong Tribunal next Monday night to answer the charge.

After the game the player was allegedly seen trying to get into the locked umpires' rooms.

Early reports of an all-in brawl proved unfounded.

The game was registered as a 15.13 (103) to 0.0 (0) win to Leopold.

Corio president Frank Posilovic later contacted Leopold junior co-ordinator Lori Dahlhaus to apologise for the scenes and inform her two players had been suspended from the club.

Last night Posilovic declined to comment on the incident, while Whiteford could not be reached.

But Leopold under-16 coach Brendan Thompson said he was full of praise for the way his opposite number had handled the situation.

``He was fantastic. I was very happy with the way that he dealt with it,'' he said.

``I was addressing my players about the incident and he came across and said `Do you mind if I have a word to your players?'

``He spoke really well to my players. He apologised to them and said, `I'm sorry, but I don't want anything to go any further.'

``He's trying to do a great job there and good luck to them.''

Thompson said he would be happy to help Corio build its junior structures, including assistance developing a code of conduct.

Whiteford, a local church pastor and former policeman, took control of the under-16s earlier this year with a mission to help change the club's poor reputation.

Meanwhile, Geelong Junior Football manager Michael Limb said the league would make sure the incident was dealt with properly by the club.

``There was an incident, it was not a good incident, but it was dealt with, and my understanding is that the coach of Corio took appropriate action and stopped the game,'' he said.
Why put that on there,i think we've all read the addy today !!!!

vannilaice4 said:
South Barwon are going to be invincible this year. Some super players down there. Luke Buckland, Bidderscombe, both Rau's, Reid, Wells and Thompson.
Destroyed Lara and Colac. And does anybody know how old Lukes brother Trent is? whispers were that he is only 17? why isnt he at falcons? tore holes Lara. kickin wasnt great but he has the talent to go somewhere. Is this another Mick Turner blunder?

Anyone think anyone will challenge Sth Barwon come sept???

Seriously thought St. Marys would but have been dissapointing. Who knows... Colac? Hay, McGuane, Kelly, Carmody? Joeys could be ones but could struggle if they get injuries or VFL selections. North Shore could but maybe a bit slow or old? Don't quote me on that, just an obsivation.

I think its fair to say no one....

Whispers said:
Seriously thought St. Marys would but have been dissapointing. Who knows... Colac? Hay, McGuane, Kelly, Carmody? Joeys could be ones but could struggle if they get injuries or VFL selections. North Shore could but maybe a bit slow or old? Don't quote me on that, just an obsivation.

I think its fair to say no one....

What about Grovedale or Bell Park? with young patty 'poodle' brown running amok in the forward fifty they really could smash anyone on their day!!

chooky chooky said:
Why put that on there,i think we've all read the addy today !!!!

Maybe not everybody reading this thread also reads the Addy website or is a local with access to the paper.
I actually thought the decision made by the Corio coach and his approach to the opposition deserved to be highlighted. It's easy to be negative about an issue like this but I think it was well handled by the Corio coach.

Heard Jimmy Allan only got 20 minutes with werribee this weekend, what a joke after 2 best on grounds in the first 2 round. Either Simon Atkins should be sacked or Jimmy should return to the snakepit

After watching North Shore in round 1 i cant see how you would say they are too old and too slow, they will be up there. As for Bell Park being contenders i seen them against Grovedale on the weekend and they looked under done and FAT. Dont think they can mix it Sth Barwon or North Shore

Anyone with half a brain can tell you, you can't win with your best player on the bench. Saw Jimmy Allan play against Willy, certaintly has got what it takes. 2 BOG performances for what reward. What was Atkins thinking about? Get your act together, play your best players and the Tigers might win more often.

caustic said:
After watching North Shore in round 1 i cant see how you would say they are too old and too slow, they will be up there. As for Bell Park being contenders i seen them against Grovedale on the weekend and they looked under done and FAT. Dont think they can mix it Sth Barwon or North Shore

In all due respect of your opinion, North Shore did play Leopold. Obviously that day they made majority of the play and never really challenged at any stage. Do you think they could cope with the fitness and hard running of top opposition teams?

Good to see no1 will touch the swans. but no1 answered my question...

Is Trent Buckland any good? good enough to go somewhere or will he stay at local level? And how old is he?

Whispers said:
In all due respect of your opinion, North Shore did play Leopold. Obviously that day they made majority of the play and never really challenged at any stage. Do you think they could cope with the fitness and hard running of top opposition teams?

North Shore are and always have been a top opposition team so i dont no why you think they cant cope

Whispers said:

Granted Nth Shore did play Leopold who are'nt the best team, but they do have two of the best midfielders in the league in Tony Brown and Cameron Wright and when you talk about hard running and fitness you do think of the midfield and they matched it with them no worries. they have also bolstered their backline with new players to combat Sth Barwons potent forward line, so yes, i do think they can match it with the other top sides

Geelong Amateurs Best and Fairest winner Ben Lavars has put in for a clearence to South Barwon.

He had been playing down at VFL side Werribee but must have been struggling for a game in their 2's and is going to South Barwon.

The kid can play and will be a good pick up for South.

caustic said:
Granted Nth Shore did play Leopold who are'nt the best team, but they do have two of the best midfielders in the league in Tony Brown and Cameron Wright and when you talk about hard running and fitness you do think of the midfield and they matched it with them no worries. they have also bolstered their backline with new players to combat Sth Barwons potent forward line, so yes, i do think they can match it with the other top sides

Great response... just looking at the ressies results also, looks like they have great depth also. Sutej, Pyle, McLean, Lockwood, Doggy Ryan, Posterino, Arcoraci (should be ones), Ivermee.... lol.. list goes on. When do you blokes take on Sth Barwon?

Just wondering which players have been selected to play in the GFL and BFL under 25 game?? Any players you believe should/shouldn't be in?