Knights
RFC appears to be looking at a rebrand.
I thought it might be a good idea to offer some advice/ideas/suggestions from the tiger faithful.
If you’re reading this STIG, then consider it free market research:).

If a new logo IS on the way I’m sure we all want it to be good, so please keep ideas constructive and helpful. If all that you have to offer the conversation is “Don’t change the old logo!” then start your own thread. As much as I love our current logo, I think a new logo for a new era isn’t a bad idea at all.

I have NO inside knowledge of the clubs intentions, so I’m just going to throw some ideas into the pot and if it helps RFC in some way or just gives them an idea/direction they wouldn’t have thought of otherwise then all’s good.

1. The yellow sash should feature somewhere in the logo. Its obviously a big part of our identity/history and distinguishes us from other ‘tiger’ clubs.

2. It’s a TIGER, it should look fierce! Don’t worry about scaring the kids (Richmond kids are tough:thumbsu:).

3. I’m a big fan of established dates on sports logos. Sometimes they don’t suit the design and that’s fine, but with a long proud history like ours why not celebrate it?

4. Logos don’t have to be simple. Sometimes the details are what make a good logo, and we live in the modern world with high quality printing/computerised embroidery/lazer etching etc. Don’t get me wrong, a good simple logo can be great (see NY Yankees) but it shouldn’t be a restriction either.

Anyways, here are two concepts I whipped up myself.
The first one is a very traditional crest style, and the second is more modern but with a traditional font (I just like serif fonts). Both incorporate the sash and established dates, and I tried to make the tigers look as angry as possible.
The second one is very detailed but I think it could work. I also like the idea of the tiger staring straight at you (like he’s locked onto his prey and there is no escape).

rfclogoconcept2.jpg

rfclogoconcept1.jpg

Well, thats all I’ve got for now. I’m working on one more idea that I’ll post later.

Throw your 2cents in.
mowse.

they both look more suited to an american college team or something, the first one looks more like a chinese symbol or something.

if they were to change the logo it should remain as frontwards facing tiger with Richmond on there somewhere. keep it simple.

personally i would rather no change

Mowse,

I reckon you're very talented. I'm in the industry aswell and I can tell you are.

Current Richmond logo
I really like the current Richmond logo. It's traditional, still relatively modern and I don't think it's needs a change. The only issue is the on field success (or lack of) associated with the logo.

Proposed Richmond logo found
No good. It's well done, they haven't got someone off the street to do it. But from a Richmond point of view and an AFL club point of view, no. The team with the worst current AFL logo is Adelaide. Their new one is awful. I see the proposed Richmond one along the same lines. It's similarities are how cartoony / vector it looks. I don't like the idea of a shield either. It's too Euro Soccer in style. Anyway, I wont go on too much about it so I'll leave it at that. It's just not suitable.

Your first concept
The head of the Tiger reminds me of the older early 90's logo:
logo_1991.jpg

...which I don't mind. I like those sort of subtleties. A circular shape isn't bad either but it does look a bit too much like a beer bottle label. I don't think a reflected Tiger really works and I don't think a tiger that old looks suitable for today.

Your second concept
Obviously a nice design. Like you, I think the sash should be implemented. This design, however, looks too tattoo parlor. It's in your style though because I've seen the work you do before.

Also, the text on the second one looks like an after thought.

I'm hoping to do a concept aswell Mowse but I haven't got around to it yet. But when I do you can abuse mine too. ;)

Nice job though. They're both nice but just not suitable in my opinion.

All good points rfctigerarmy. I agree with them all.
I'd like to see a more realistic tiger, but unfortunately I cant draw 'real'.

look forward to your concept.

Yeah that's OK. At least you can draw. I'm not the type of graphic designer who can draw very well!

That's also a reason why I like the current logo so much is because of it's realism.

I definitely look the idea of the eyes looking at you though. :)

I'm also more of a simple logo fan rather than killer detail.

My suggestion would be keep as is. I don't think we need a change, I reckon our current logo is one of the better ones going around.

OP- The logos look good, but I don't thing they are suited to an AFL team. The first one to me looks like something you would see on a historical english soccer team, which is great, but not really relevant to us.

The second one for me is a little too much for mine, as in a "simpler" tiger might look better. I know we don't want a pansy logo, but the tiger could be toned down a little lol.

You have talent though :thumbsu:

Love the first logo. I personally don't like a lot of change, and while I think RFC's proposed new logo is better than our currant one, I'd rather we had continuity and kept our current one.
I feel your first proposed logo has an ageless feel to it that would allow it to be kept for a while!

RFC appears to be looking at a rebrand.
I thought it might be a good idea to offer some advice/ideas/suggestions from the tiger faithful.
If you’re reading this STIG, then consider it free market research:).

If a new logo IS on the way I’m sure we all want it to be good, so please keep ideas constructive and helpful. If all that you have to offer the conversation is “Don’t change the old logo!” then start your own thread. As much as I love our current logo, I think a new logo for a new era isn’t a bad idea at all.

I have NO inside knowledge of the clubs intentions, so I’m just going to throw some ideas into the pot and if it helps RFC in some way or just gives them an idea/direction they wouldn’t have thought of otherwise then all’s good.

1. The yellow sash should feature somewhere in the logo. Its obviously a big part of our identity/history and distinguishes us from other ‘tiger’ clubs.

2. It’s a TIGER, it should look fierce! Don’t worry about scaring the kids (Richmond kids are tough:thumbsu:).

3. I’m a big fan of established dates on sports logos. Sometimes they don’t suit the design and that’s fine, but with a long proud history like ours why not celebrate it?

4. Logos don’t have to be simple. Sometimes the details are what make a good logo, and we live in the modern world with high quality printing/computerised embroidery/lazer etching etc. Don’t get me wrong, a good simple logo can be great (see NY Yankees) but it shouldn’t be a restriction either.

Anyways, here are two concepts I whipped up myself.
The first one is a very traditional crest style, and the second is more modern but with a traditional font (I just like serif fonts). Both incorporate the sash and established dates, and I tried to make the tigers look as angry as possible.
The second one is very detailed but I think it could work. I also like the idea of the tiger staring straight at you (like he’s locked onto his prey and there is no escape).

rfclogoconcept2.jpg

rfclogoconcept1.jpg

Well, thats all I’ve got for now. I’m working on one more idea that I’ll post later.

Throw your 2cents in.
mowse.

dont mean to offend but Id be horrifies at any of those being adopted. Try again somewhere between what has been canvassed by the club and current one

As designs, I prefer your proposed ones, but don't feel they would fit into the design brief given by the club, and would probably miss the target audience.

The first one is a very traditional (very soccer-ish) one, and is nice, but is way, way too big a jump from the current logo. It's an almost complete rebranding, whereas the club proposed logo is more of a minor reimagining and modernisation of it. The tiger is a little bit too abstract for my tastes as well, it would be difficult to make out when its resized or from a distance.

The second I actually love, but can you really see something like that appealing to all the 50+ year old female Richmond supporters? It would isolate basically everybody but the 15-25 y/o male group. Speaking as a 15-25 y/o male though, I want that on a poster.

dont mean to offend but Id be horrifies at any of those being adopted. Try again somewhere between what has been canvassed by the club and current one

not offended at all mate. its what the thread is for, to get an idea of what people like. I'm not suggesting RFC should use my concepts, just putting them out there for discussion and maybe spark an idea in someone elses head.

heres another (very rough) idea

rfclogoconcept3.jpg

showing the full tigers body could work well maybe?

I like one of Mowse's earlier attempts. I hope you dont mind but i have had this pic as my wallpaper on and of for nearly 3 years.

This thread just reminded me of it and i have now put it back on. It makes for such a great wallpaper !!:thumbsu:

As i tend to remember the latin loosely translates to Devour The Living ( Eat 'Em Alive )

VORO = Devour, To consume, To eat greedily, Swallow up, Gorge oneself.

VIVOS = the living

rfcrestwidescreen.jpg

I like this shot, Maybe if we decide to go for a profile instead of facing forward?

White_Tiger_by_sergey1984.jpg

Teeth are out, great silhouette of the head.

Maybe someone could work with this?

I like one of Mowse's earlier attempts. I hope you dont mind but i have had this pic as my wallpaper on and of for nearly 3 years.

This thread just reminded me of it and i have now put it back on. It makes for such a great wallpaper !!:thumbsu:

As i tend to remember the latin loosely translates to Devour The Living ( Eat 'Em Alive )

VIVOS = the living

rfcrestwidescreen.jpg

That's awesome.

not offended at all mate. its what the thread is for, to get an idea of what people like. I'm not suggesting RFC should use my concepts, just putting them out there for discussion and maybe spark an idea in someone elses head.

heres another (very rough) idea

rfclogoconcept3.jpg

showing the full tigers body could work well maybe?

i like that one mow, can you add some colour, I take it this kinda gig is your profession

It is definately time for change. People don't like change because they are scared to take risks. We need a NEW logo to associate with a NEW era. The current one is good but we need a new one to pave way for a new breed. We need to quit living in the past and pave our NEW identity. We aren't the tigers of OLD we are the tigers of NEW.

All I know is the club is going to make an awsome one I know it. I can feel it.

VIVOS = the living

rfcrestwidescreen.jpg
That is the best ive seen from any club. search over.

Here's a look at some examples of how others have used the Tiger as apart of their branding. Maybe some ideas or inspiration here?

01690ed3578df992fe6b5aad4e2fbefe_resized.jpg

TigerSwords-Tat-shield.jpg

Really like this one! Wonder if some could make it Yellow and Black and Footy orientated?

TigerSwords-Tat.jpg

logo_tiger_zh_web.jpg

TeamTigers.png

Im sorry to say this but most of these look shit house. I appreciate the efoort and skill in developing them however for our needs the new design the club / afl has registered looks much better than any of the ones presnted so far.

and making up some stupid latin motto??? what for why dont we put some vietnamise saying on the bottom to make our friends in Victoria St feel apart of the club