Lonergan

tomthabuddah

Re-Watchng Lonergan slot his 2nd goal from 50 v carlton reminded me of Embley from WCE.

He seems to be tall but play more of a wingman role.

Longeran is fast, agile and a great kick at goal. not the answer to a key forward but could be a really good player.

tomthabuddah said:
Re-Watchng Lonergan slot his 2nd goal from 50 v carlton reminded me of Embley from WCE.

He seems to be tall but play more of a wingman role.

Longeran is fast, agile and a great kick at goal. not the answer to a key forward but could be a really good player.

My worry is that for a player of that size you need to be able to take a good overhead mark whether you're playing CHF or playing an Embley type role. I haven't seen him do this yet. Still, seems to have a touch of class so I'm willing to give him time. NAB cup is perfect for this.

Had his chances tonight. Last year I thought we had finally found someone who could kick straight, hopefully tonight isn't an indication of how his kicking will continue.

Tonight's performance certainly goes against the grain of his earlier shows last season in the seniors and magoos.

Unlike last week he led well and took a few good grabs, but his kicking let him down. Hopefully it was because the ball was sticky from the heat. Played better lastnight than what he did against Carlton, but kicking was shocking. Dropped 1 or 2 easy marks, but definatly had more of a presence at CHF which someone talked about after the Carlton Game.

I still think he could be good. Keep him anyway as a back-up as i think McCarthey has done his dash with injuries unless he plays atleast 8 matches this year.

Anyone ever seen Lonergan take a mark over his head? Serious question - I can't recall seeing it. I ask because last night he dropped two easy chest marks which should have been taken in the hands. Not a good sign for a potential KPP.

catempire said:
Anyone ever seen Lonergan take a mark over his head? Serious question - I can't recall seeing it. I ask because last night he dropped two easy chest marks which should have been taken in the hands. Not a good sign for a potential KPP.

I saw him take one last night... A rather good one in fact.

nananana catman said:
I saw him take one last night... A rather good one in fact.

I'll have to watch the replay cos I clearly missed it.

In general, what do you make of his overhead marking skills?

catempire said:
I'll have to watch the replay cos I clearly missed it.

In general, what do you make of his overhead marking skills?

I was a frequen VFL-goer last year, so I have seen a fair bit of him.

I think he uses his body quite well and is a good overhead mark, but the problem is his very skinny and at AFL level he will be spoilt a lot more because of this.

It will be a persistence thing IMO, if he can get stronger quick enough I think he'll be ok.

nananana catman said:
I was a frequen VFL-goer last year, so I have seen a fair bit of him.

I think he uses his body quite well and is a good overhead mark, but the problem is his very skinny and at AFL level he will be spoilt a lot more because of this.

It will be a persistence thing IMO, if he can get stronger quick enough I think he'll be ok.

Rightio. From what (little) I've seen of him I got the impression he prefers to take it on the chest (a bit like the Duke). Hopefully that's not the case because I think to be truly successful as a key forward you can't just rely on chest marks.

footyfanatic007 said:
Ive played footy with him a fair bit, and he can take them over the head no worries ;)

That's very comforting. By the way > I can take an overhead mark against the next door neighbour when he's in his wheelchair.

cats2rise said:
Unlike last week he led well and took a few good grabs, but his kicking let him down. Hopefully it was because the ball was sticky from the heat. Played better lastnight than what he did against Carlton, but kicking was shocking. Dropped 1 or 2 easy marks, but definatly had more of a presence at CHF which someone talked about after the Carlton Game.

I still think he could be good. Keep him anyway as a back-up as i think McCarthey has done his dash with injuries unless he plays atleast 8 matches this year.

Was there on Sat night. Admittedly was humid - but fair dinkum the conditions were superb. No wind, surface like a billiard table. Was champing at the bit to get out there myself!!!! You would not get better conditions to show off your skills. Lonergans kicking skills - or lack there of - could not be put down to conditions IMHO.

cats2rise said:

Agreed. I think he's certainly worth perservering with. He did drop some marks he shouldn't have, but I did like the fact he played in front all night and led well. He's only played 3 or 4 senior games so I wouldn't write him off just yet. Needs to bulk up though, much like Mackie and Nathan Ablett.

Remember though, he's unlikely to get a game when Ottens, Playfair and Johnson come back. All in good time.

dutchman said:
Was there on Sat night. Admittedly was humid - but fair dinkum the conditions were superb. No wind, surface like a billiard table. Was champing at the bit to get out there myself!!!! You would not get better conditions to show off your skills. Lonergans kicking skills - or lack there of - could not be put down to conditions IMHO.
Ok thanks for that report, jsut thought it might have beena factor as it was in Cairns and was soemthing like 27 degrees..?? or did i get that wrong? Cant remember. Anyway, i still think keep him. Has shown in limited appearances and from what i have heard in the VFL, he does an allright job!