Looking at 2008

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

I know we are barely 1/3 of the way through the 2007 season but I thought I would throw up what changes I think could be happening at the end of the year. Basically I have gone through the list in jumper order and looked at who deserves a spot at present and who is looking shaky.

Keepers:
Newman, Deledio, Raines, Simmonds, Polak, Brown, Riewoldt, Edwards, JB, Richo, Polo, Pettifer, P.Bowden, Johnson, Tuck, Coughlan, Pattison, Peterson, JON, Tambling, Hyde, Tivendale, Hughes, White, Thursfield, Casserly, McGuane, Connors, Foley, Collins.

In doubt: Kingsley, Hall*, Krakouer*, Meyer*, Moore, Jackson, Knobel, Hatigan
* - possible trade bait.
Gone: Gaspar

If this was to happen we have basically turned over another 9 players or 25% of our list

Would like some serious dicussion on this subject as it gives us something to discuss as the rest of the year unfolds. I know we have the Draft thread running but this is looking more at who should be making way at years end so that the next batch of kids can be brought in.

I have posted this in a couple of other threads and thought it might be worth having as a stand alone thread as the others seemed to be hijacked to some degree.

Trade Bait 2008 and what we might get for them

Krakouer - Not alot, maybe a 4th or 5th rounder, or maybe a sweatner to add to another deal
Coughlan - 2nd round pick, or a direct swap ie; Johnson (Freo) for Cogs
Tuck - 3rd round pick
Knobel - See Krakouer
Hyde - See Krakouer
Jackson - Nothing
Moore - See Krakouer
Hall - See Krakouer
Tivendale - See Krakouer
Meyer - See Coughlan
Kingsley - See Krakouer
Pettifer - See Coughlan, maybe Tuck

I know we are barely 1/3 of the way through the 2007 season but I thought I would throw up what changes I think could be happening at the end of the year. Basically I have gone through the list in jumper order and looked at who deserves a spot at present and who is looking shaky.

Keepers:
Newman, Deledio, Raines, Simmonds, Polak, Brown, Riewoldt, Edwards, JB, Richo, Polo, Pettifer, P.Bowden, Johnson, Tuck, Coughlan, Pattison, Peterson, JON, Tambling, Hyde, Tivendale, Hughes, White, Thursfield, Casserly, McGuane, Connors, Foley, Collins.

In doubt: Kingsley, Hall*, Krakouer*, Meyer*, Moore, Jackson, Knobel
* - possible trade bait.

If this was to happen we have basically turned over another 8 players or 20% of our list

Would like some serious dicussion on this subject as it gives us something to discuss as the rest of the year unfolds. I know we have the Draft thread running but this is looking more at who should be making way at years end so that the next batch of kids can be brought in.

I have posted this in a couple of other threads and thought it might be worth having as a stand alone thread as the others seemed to be hijacked to some degree.

as long as Hyde, Pettifer, Tivendale and P bowden are in the keepers we will be in the cellar. ;)

Those closest to the club should make a decision on Raines and Tuck before they lose trade value.

If they genuinely think they can actually improve and not go backwards then keep them. Otherwise pick whoever you want from Freo or the Kangas and let's get rid of them.

Coughlan will not be traded, he is up there in the elite inside tough midfielder category and when he makes a decision he sticks to it. He came close to retiring earlier this year but made up his mind that it's his passion to get back out there and he will do it.

He will return and put his body in the best possible shape to be a star once again, but at worst he will be a solid player. Atm he is at the lowest value of his career, give him a year to find form and if he gets a few 30 possie games he would be worth 2 first rounders.

Depending on if we trade for a ready made ruckman Ray Hall may get another year as insurance for injuries. He would be very helpful if fit right now. Also, is Kel Moore contracted until 2008?

Those closest to the club should make a decision on Raines and Tuck before they lose trade value.

If they genuinely think they can actually improve and not go backwards then keep them. Otherwise pick whoever you want from Freo or the Kangas and let's get rid of them.

Coughlan will not be traded, he is up there in the elite inside tough midfielder category and when he makes a decision he sticks to it. He came close to retiring earlier this year but made up his mind that it's his passion to get back out there and he will do it.

He will return and put his body in the best possible shape to be a star once again, but at worst he will be a solid player. Atm he is at the lowest value of his career, give him a year to find form and if he gets a few 30 possie games he would be worth 2 first rounders.

Depending on if we trade for a ready made ruckman Ray Hall may get another year as insurance for injuries. He would be very helpful if fit right now. Also, is Kel Moore contracted until 2008?

Hall has played 2 great games in 7 years. Delist

Krakouer - Not alot, maybe a 4th or 5th rounder, or maybe a sweatner to add to another deal
Tuck - 3rd round pick
Knobel - See Krakouer
Hyde - See Krakouer
Jackson - Nothing
Moore - See Krakouer
Hall - See Krakouer
Tivendale - See Krakouer
Meyer - See Coughlan
Kingsley - See Krakouer
Coughlan, Pettifer and Tuck wont be traded this year. The others are there abouts but really you wont get much for them and if the best you are hoping for is 4th/5th round picks better off just delisting them and getting those picks anyway as that is what you end up with. You don't get extra 2nd/3rd round picks just by delisting.

as long as Hyde, Pettifer, Tivendale and P bowden are in the keepers we will be in the cellar. ;)

I have listed them as keepers based on we need cover for injuries. Add those 4 to the 8 already looking at being shown the door and suddenly you are removing 12 players in one year. Do that and this year will look like a picnic compared to the carnage next year would bring.

Trading Raines and Tuck makes no sense at all. With those 2 you know what you have got players that will put their head over the ball and get it moving our way. It might not be the prettiest footy to watch but it does have its merit. You need to have those grunt guys around the packs to lay the shepard and create space for the better players to make use of possession.

Coughlan will be back but wont be the player you hope for Benny. 2 reco's is going to hamper even the best intentions he has. Trade wise he is not going to bring a lot at present as clubs would want to see what he comes back like. Therefore I suggest we keep him on the list and give him a one year deal and see how he does return. If he comes back and goes well you can renegotiate if not then unfortunately it would be time to move him along.

Hall needs to have a very good second half of the season if he wants to be there next year. Has put himself behind the 8 ball by getting into strife while in rehab and unless he really comes out and shows something then his time is up. Finally with regards to Moore he might be contracted but it didn't hinder us giving Rodan the flick.

Coughlan, Pettifer and Tuck wont be traded this year.

Disagree with Pettifer not being traded. He was close to AA last year and if he starts performing at that sort of level in the 2nd half of the season he will be worth a lot as trade bait. We have Meyer, Riewoldt, Peterson and others gunning for his spot. He would be worth trading if the right price came along. Maybe a trade up on our 1st priority pick into the first round.

Would like to see it happen just don't think it will though. Seems the coaching staff like him too much. Performed porrly during the first 5 games and was given ample time to find some form. 2 games he stodd out in we were out of before the first change i.e. last 2 weeks. I think Meyer will be the one to go before Petts purely based on with Petts you know what you get when he is firing. Meyer we are yet to see anything of the sort.

Would be very disappointed if we traded Meyer unless he was desperate to go home. The match last year against geelong he showed what he was capable of. Pettifer had questions over his attitude for ages and still is yet to find consistency. i think Danny has greater potential then Petts.

IMO i wouldn't be suprised to see Tuck at Geelong next season..

Krak - must go, been a passenger for far to long.
Cogs - Keep, wont get more than a third round pick from a guy with a double knee.. shame too he could have been something.
Hall/Knoble/Tivendale - can't see the club including these guys in the teams long term future. a seond round for Hall and Tivendale, 3rd for Knoble?

Cogs - Keep, wont get more than a third round pick from a guy with a double knee.. shame too he could have been something.
Hall/Knoble/Tivendale - can't see the club including these guys in the teams long term future. a seond round for Hall and Tivendale, 3rd for Knoble?
Would happily take one of Bartel/Chapman/G.Ablett/Hawkins for Tuck:thumbsu: . But seriously what makes you suggest that some sort of inside info or pure speculation?

Tuck - 3rd round pick
Knobel - See Krakouer
Hyde - See Krakouer
Jackson - Nothing
Moore - See Krakouer
Hall - See Krakouer
Tivendale - See Krakouer
Meyer - See Coughlan
Kingsley - See Krakouer

I think you're pumping up Lame Pettifer's tyres.
Pettifer (on current form) would not get a place in any side other than Richmond.
Why would Kingsley be worth a 4th round pick? - we picked him up in the PSD - no other Club wanted him, he'd be playing VFL or retired if we didn't pick him.

Krakeour would be worth a pick around 30.
Knoble is worth nothing.
Hyde is worth bugger all.

Geelong's midfield is big bodied but has been called slow by some. I would have thought that you'd be after pace in the midfield.

I'd definately like to have the HB flanker - Wodj... Wojud... (that guy that runs real fast) at Richmond.

Agree with the other comments.

Keepers:

In doubt: Kingsley, Hall*, Krakouer*, Meyer*, Moore, Jackson, Knobel, P.Bowden
* - possible trade bait.
Gone: Gaspar and Krakouer

If this was to happen we have basically turned over another 8 players or 20% of our list

Why is Patrick a keep?

Keepers:

In doubt: Kingsley, Hall*, Krakouer*, Meyer*, Moore, Jackson, Knobel
* - possible trade bait.

One guy who you forgot to mention is Hartigan. He looked "promising" in his first season but injuries have kept him back ever since. Sometimes his disposal is ordinary too.

I think that if we dump guys like Petts, Hydey, P. Bowden, Kraks, Knobs, etc in one foul swoop we will struggle for depth and may become the next Fitzroy. Every club has it's average players and Terry seems to love his "battlers" anyway. He had almost a whole team of them at the Doggies (except Grant, West, Darcy, Johnno, Browny) before he brought in all those young guys in that couple of drafts. In saying this I would be annoyed if Kraks, Kinglsey & Knobel were there next year. I was a huge fan of Tivers years ago but that was like I said ,"years ago".

I haven't been a member for a few years. Being in Tassie means I don't go over to the footy much and my membership was becoming a "donation" really. I would hate to think that if I became a member ago some of my hard earned dollars would be used to recruit the next Sziller, Knobel or Kinglsey.

I think you're pumping up Lame Pettifer's tyres.
Pettifer (on current form) would not get a place in any side other than Richmond.

Pettifer would be a very good player in a good side. I think he would add an extra dimension to adelaides foward line. If west coast traded for players he would do very well there.

I'd definately like to have the HB flanker - Wodj... Wojud... (that guy that runs real fast) at Richmond.

Why would we want another fast HBF?? We already have deledio, casserley and JON and to a lesser extent Raines and Moore who currently play that position.

Why is Patrick a keep?
As I mentioned before it is purely for depth purposes at this stage. Unless he starts to perform to the standard he did in 06 then thats all I can see him being until the kids pass him by, which on current form, you would suggest some of them have.

As for the guy mentioning Hartigan at this stage I have placed him in the In Doubt group. Needs to get back on the park and show something otherwise I think it will be the end. Unfortunate that injuries have kept him out but I don't think we are in a position to be carrying too many injury plagued players. We have Cogs, Brown, Knobel, Hartigan on that list at present and it really only Brown and Cogs that you would keep on.

Tuck wont be traded, we need him to much.
As long as we keep Tivendale we will stay where we are. He will be like others we have offloaded, he is a great receiver and in a better side will probably flourish. We still need bigger bodies in key possies and we should use draft picks to pick up some ready made players.

As I mentioned before it is purely for depth purposes at this stage. Unless he starts to perform to the standard he did in 06 then thats all I can see him being until the kids pass him by, which on current form, you would suggest some of them have.

As for the guy mentioning Hartigan at this stage I have placed him in the In Doubt group. Needs to get back on the park and show something otherwise I think it will be the end. Unfortunate that injuries have kept him out but I don't think we are in a position to be carrying too many injury plagued players. We have Cogs, Brown, Knobel, Hartigan on that list at present and it really only Brown and Cogs that you would keep on.

If guys like hartigan were actually given a go then I'm sure you would see they are an asset to the team. You cant expect every team to be made up of superstars - there are only a couple of superstars in every team.

Considering how bad the tigers are going, it's about time terry actually started giving everyone a go instead of the same old favourites every week! If we drop all of these players then what are we left with? and where do you suggest their replacements come from? we are supposed to be rebuilding with what we have, not bringing in heaps and heaps of new players so that the boys have to 'gel' with everyone again!

It just amazes me how everyone is quick to jump on here and bag players just coz we are losing at the moment (what about the coaching staff -using a '5 year plan' as an excuse for not winning!!)- richmond supporters may be passionate but they are pretty quick to jump off the bandwagon and take a dig at the players!

Johnson is worth more than a 2nd round pick, and unless Coughlan has a clean bill of health, which seems unlikely, he is worth less than a 2nd round pick.

I can't see Johnson going anywhere at all. If you were targetting a Freo tall there are other more plausible targets, but given that you guys don't trade picks, and don't have players to trade, you are in PSD territory again, or at least the threat pf PSD.

Maybe if one of Murphy or Campbell are clearly not getting a game they may be worth discussing, but they aren't damaged goods like Polak, and would be sought after.

To me

Knobel will have to go if he can't get on the track (again) this year.
Either Tiv or Hyde should be traded. I would think Tiv has more value (3rd rd).
Krakouer should also go, again there should be a trade for him (2nd round).
PBowden or Kingsley should go, whomever is worse performed.
Gas has gone already
Jackson or Moore whomever is worse.
Hartigan if he can't show something this year.

Thats 7:
6 in the National draft- I'm assuming we come last (1, 17,18, (26)Krak,34, 44(tiv))
1 in the PSD

We would then need a ruck in the PSD, and another as a 1st or second rounder. A fullback type and the rest mids.

Either Tiv or Hyde should be traded. I would think Tiv has more value (3rd rd).
Krakouer should also go, again there should be a trade for him (2nd round).

6 in the National draft- I'm assuming we come last (1, 17,18, (26)Krak,34, 44(tiv))
1 in the PSD

For the millionth time, Krakouer is not worth a 2nd round pick! Tivendale is 27 and is not worth much at all, he has been shopped for a couple of years as has Ray Hall, with no interest. Players of Hyde's type are a dime a dozen, why trade for him when each club has developing flankers on their list and can find two each in any draft.

If guys like hartigan were actually given a go then I'm sure you would see they are an asset to the team. You cant expect every team to be made up of superstars - there are only a couple of superstars in every team.

Considering how bad the tigers are going, it's about time terry actually started giving everyone a go instead of the same old favourites every week! If we drop all of these players then what are we left with? and where do you suggest their replacements come from? we are supposed to be rebuilding with what we have, not bringing in heaps and heaps of new players so that the boys have to 'gel' with everyone again!

It just amazes me how everyone is quick to jump on here and bag players just coz we are losing at the moment (what about the coaching staff -using a '5 year plan' as an excuse for not winning!!)- richmond supporters may be passionate but they are pretty quick to jump off the bandwagon and take a dig at the players!
Hartigan has spent the best part of the last season on the injured list. I am a fan of his and would love to see him make it as he is a straight at it player not afraid to put his body on the line, however if he is going to spend more time in the medical room than on the ground playing then perhaps the club should cut its losses and get another 18 year old on the list. Better yet if they cut as many as I think then save 2 picks for the PSD and go after a couple of mature aged ruckmen or a KP defender. Look at filling gaps on our list. In the draft itself we should be looking at getting a young ruckman, KP defender, KP forward and a couple of inside mids if possible.

Would happily take one of Bartel/Chapman/G.Ablett/Hawkins for Tuck:thumbsu: . But seriously what makes you suggest that some sort of inside info or pure speculation?

What makes him suggest that you ask? all i can say is dont do drugs......

not beacuse i think Tuck is crap or anything like that, is cause simply the guys you pointed out to trade from us are our better players and they have the same type of game as Tuck(in and under mids)...so why would we need of those types?!

i take tampling though, cops a lot of heat from every man and his dog but he be very good player.