Jericho30

Crows & Bloods
There's a guy I know who tried to tell me that Luke Jericho wasn't going to get a game all season, This guy likes to get me fired up so I don't know if he was being serious or not, He said "he's a good player but he doesn't fit the team's structure". What do you guys think? What are your opinions? I really hope he gets a game soon... I'm missing him! :p :confused:

Jericho_Rox said:
There's a guy I know who tried to tell me that Luke Jericho wasn't going to get a game all season, This guy likes to get me fired up so I don't know if he was being serious or not, He said "he's a good player but he doesn't fit the team's structure". What do you guys think? What are your opinions? I really hope he gets a game soon... I'm missing him! :p :confused:

This guy that told you...he has a direct line to the selection panel? If Luke's good enough he will get a game. If he aint...bye bye!

Jericho_Rox said:

The guy is full of it. Jericho will get plenty of chances this year, and we'll have to see how he goes.

andrew jarman had a big spit about him towards the end of last year. shot him down in flames by saying that he should only talk the talk if he could walk the walk... which he cant yet.

luke has the all the tickets to his own show apparently..

OH! That's SO disappointing, He's always been my no.1 since he first debuted :( I feel so sad!

he's a very good athlete (sprinter), but not a particularly good footballer.
if it were the reverse he could maybe make the grade eg the jarman brothers were not great athletes but were blooody fantastic footballers.

jericho will get delisted at season's end.

As I have said before, I am keen for young Luke to prove me wrong but I fear he will not. Every time I have seen him play he looks lost. I am actually bewildered how he even made it onto the list. For a player of his size and age he should be playing good football by now. There are plenty of other players from the 2003 and 2004 draft out there now playing good footy at AFL level. Jericho aint gonna make it.

lincsPJ said:
andrew jarman had a big spit about him towards the end of last year. shot him down in flames by saying that he should only talk the talk if he could walk the walk... which he cant yet.

luke has the all the tickets to his own show apparently..

If that's the case then the club should and might have, get Alan Stewart to get to him. He might need a mentor from the senior players to sit down with him. Its not too late unlike No. 40 apparently.

Luke has some of the tools to make it at AFL level. But speed and athleticism will take him only so far. His decision-making and attack on the ball is (at this stage) relatively poor, and if he fails to improve this then he will fail to make AFL.

I reckon he can make it, but he needs to start dominating SANFL games before he makes it into the AFL. I know he's young, but 1 or 2 goals (or low stats when in defence) every game is not good enough. He needs to do more, because his time is running out.

IMHO he has a very.. interesting attitude towards his football. When he came and played for us he was very disinterested and casual - I'd even go as far as to say he was a bit slack in his approach to the game. I can understand players not being comfortable playing in a team that they're usually opposing, but this was a completely different approach. It was just a walk in, help yourself, just another set of changerooms approach.

I'll admit he's a nice enough guy, but he seemed more interested in showing off in the warm-up and getting a massage than actually focusing on his football. Personally I think its up to him whether he succeeds at AFL level or not. At this stage it looks as if he's going to have to make some very tough decisions or someone's going to make them for him come years end.

drakeyv2 said:
A bit harsh. I would be surprised if he is delisted this year.
Agreed.

Jericho is one of only a small handful of players on our list that has than X factor. He could be a dead set star but he could also be a dud. Destiny is well and truely in his hands. He is good enough to play AFL and I would be bitterly disappointed if the AFC give up on him at year's end. He is only 20 and has shown in a few games last year that he is capable.

Stick him in the FP and he will kick you goals. He is raw and needs development but it would appear that people are very quick to write off younger players if they don't start performing consistently straight away. We have seen it with McGregor, Reilly, Hentschel and now we are seeing it with Watts and Jericho.

Just have patience.

I agree stiffy people have cut straight up - Its fiarly rare for a player to be a gun straight up - they don't say that players play at there peak 25-29 for nothing, It also could be that players have there Peaks at different times - Andrew Mcleods was earlier than others and didnt last all that long,

People bagging Watts is especially strange because he is meant to be a KPP and a tall one at that - isn't in common knowledge that the bigger players often take longer to mature ? (eg Kenny )

I have a feeling Jercicho will be put on my "possible delistings for 2006" list at the end of the year. I don't think the way he plays ( no aggression whatsoever ) fits in with Craigies game plan.

Stiffy_18 said:
Agreed.

Jericho is one of only a small handful of players on our list that has than X factor. He could be a dead set star but he could also be a dud. Destiny is well and truely in his hands. He is good enough to play AFL and I would be bitterly disappointed if the AFC give up on him at year's end. He is only 20 and has shown in a few games last year that he is capable.

Stick him in the FP and he will kick you goals. He is raw and needs development but it would appear that people are very quick to write off younger players if they don't start performing consistently straight away. We have seen it with McGregor, Reilly, Hentschel and now we are seeing it with Watts and Jericho.

Just have patience.
Stiff, you have obviously seen something in him that I havent. I tend to agree with those who reckon he'll get delisted. With Skippy, Shirley, Doughty and co stepping up in recent weeks I reckon Jericho's position on the list is looking precarious. You may wish to disagree but it seems to me he is pretty close to the back of the line for a game with the crows at the moment.

Stiffy_18 said:
Agreed.

Just have patience.

We may be in the minority, but I'm on your small team on this one Stiffmeister!! ;)

IMO he has got something to offer. He could play FP, HFF, wing, HBF or BP and if he gets a little harder ith his attack on the ball, do well in any of these. He has a great leap, can run like a hare, and kick like a carthorse.

If the stories about the size of his head are true, then like Ladhams his future will depend more on his attitude and approach, rather than straight ability.

I hope he makes it, because he does have something to offer.

I must say I have been surprised at the responses of this thread.
I cant remember who the first person in the thread to say that they think Jericho would be delisted but I just scoffed at the suggestion as someone who had a thing against him.
However this seems to be the general consensus of alot of people, I agree with Stiffy in the fact he does have the "x-factor" I think he needs to realise though that he is not invinsible and he needs to work his arse off to make it at AFL level but I for one think he can and he will not be delisted at the end of this year, if does not have a regular game in 06 I feel he should and will be delisted.
Even if he does get delisted I could see a team snapping him up pretty quickly so he could be used as trade bait.

I think he'll probably suffer from the Chris Ladhams syndrome. If he puts his heart into it, he could be a permanent fixture in the side and a pretty handy player. Has too much confidence in his own ability and thinks he can rely on that alone when a little bit of hard work wouldn't go astray.

maccas_no1 said:
He is a crap player with an over rated ego, will be delisted seasons end.
There are many worse players on the list. Jericho is still young & has great natural ability (needs to work on his toughness) - there is NO chance he will be delisted at the end of the season. Have you watched him lately?

Crow-mosone said:
but you'd delist all but about 8 players on our list if you had a choice? ;)

As you have been one of the more vocal/pedantic on this board when it comes to posters backing up their comments with stats/facts etc, please provide evidence of my requests for the delisting of 32 Crows players.

I look forward to your reply :rolleyes: