LVFL - 2011 PRE Season

I hear calival will be playing an unqualified player in th two's granny due to a league stuff up. They wanted to qualify him the same way bridgy did with ashman but were told by Arnell that no matter how many games they play on the one day it only counts as one qualifier. Because bridgy have got away with it Arnell has said it was his mistake and will allow him to play. Thought rules were rules but make them up as you go in this league apparently.

This is all complete rubbish. I ran into Trevor Arnel and asked him about it and he indicated that it was all above board they had researched the requirements with him before he even played a match. He needed 4 games and played 4 games end of story.

As for Dave Young influencing where games are played how silly is that call??? The finals venues were set before the finals series and if results were different Bridgewater would have played there. On top of the that Colleen Rogers is the league President not Dave Young so that's a poor accusation.

On another matter I heard that Inglewood are moving in on a new coach and if they can tie a few things up quickly it could be announced within a fortnight.

Congratulations to Luke Mitchell, Frank Harding Medal back to back. Always good to see a "real" LVFL player win this award, instead of a player that comes to the LVFL short term, money hunting. Cameron Carter runner up.

Reserves John Forbes Medallist, huge amount of votes for Jeffrey Cameron (31 votes). Runner up = Glenn Richards, both of Calivil.

Callum Williamson of Marong got the Steven Dowling Award, just clear of Inglewood's Tynan Hywood.

Well run Vote count, Dave Young did an excellent job as MC, congrat's to all from the LVFL for a well ran and professional event.

Id just like to say after reading the paper and editorial what an absolute disgrace for a senior coach to run onto the field after a game and abuse umpires......... Embarrassing for YCW.

Certainly not a great look for the club. How is it that he wasn't able to be restrained by someone? Given that he was reported 6 times for the same charge he was reported for earlier in the season I'd imagine he was looking at a hefty suspension. Jumped before he was pushed maybe?

Not a great end to what otherwise has been a terrific year for their club. At least he isn't trying to defend his actions and say he was in the right. He knows he is in the wrong and has decided that he should not put himself in that situation again so has stood down

I did not see Phil Walsh run out onto the ground after the game but this is a disgrace if it happened. I know football is an emotional game and that there was a lot riding on the result and he would have felt for his boys but to do that is wrong. I agree with one of the other posts that I thought that YCW had the better of the umpiring! There were a lot that got missed or went the wrong way. Inconsistent is the issue. I saw the incident where the YCW player was hurt but this looked like a good contest where the player going back with the flight connected with the YCW player? The player going back with the ball was limping after the incident and you could see that YCW player hit his leg. Overall the umpiring was not great but the issue is umpire numbers! Not everyone is putting up their hand to be an umpire and you will get this week in week out in our league. It won't get any better with numbers in decline or people not wanting to subject themselves to ridicule, it is a paid job but who really wants to subject themselves to this?

i did not see phil walsh run out onto the ground after the game but this is a disgrace if it happened. I know football is an emotional game and that there was a lot riding on the result and he would have felt for his boys but to do that is wrong. I agree with one of the other posts that i thought that ycw had the better of the umpiring! There were a lot that got missed or went the wrong way. Inconsistent is the issue. I saw the incident where the ycw player was hurt but this looked like a good contest where the player going back with the flight connected with the ycw player? The player going back with the ball was limping after the incident and you could see that ycw player hit his leg. Overall the umpiring was not great but the issue is umpire numbers! Not everyone is putting up their hand to be an umpire and you will get this week in week out in our league. It won't get any better with numbers in decline or people not wanting to subject themselves to ridicule, it is a paid job but who really wants to subject themselves to this?
seeing how he has quit coaching maybe mr walsh should take up umpiring-sounds like he is an expert.

This is all complete rubbish. I ran into Trevor Arnel and asked him about it and he indicated that it was all above board they had researched the requirements with him before he even played a match. He needed 4 games and played 4 games end of story.

As for Dave Young influencing where games are played how silly is that call??? The finals venues were set before the finals series and if results were different Bridgewater would have played there. On top of the that Colleen Rogers is the league President not Dave Young so that's a poor accusation.

On another matter I heard that Inglewood are moving in on a new coach and if they can tie a few things up quickly it could be announced within a fortnight.

Mate I bet if bridgy had to play at marong at the very least they would have been out there watering the bloody thing instead of leaving it a dangerous dustbowl. [unless they changed grounds] Or didn't anyone from the league realise it was that bad. Oh that's right Colleen Rogers from MARONG is the president and Youngs only senior vice president. Talk about shonky.

any report on the pyramid player that looked to wreck his knee in the sandpit on the far wing?

I'm not saying anyone's going to die on the ground. I would class dangerous as a risk to a player twisting a knee or ligaments trying to work through sludge. Mate it's not Marongs fault. I just reckon if they could work with the league and host it at another ground it's a win for everone. The league should realise this anyway. Gotta wonder if they have even checked out the grounds fit for finals footy.

So a few weeks back you were concerned about it being muddy, now too dry. I personally made sure that the ground was watered on Friday. The ground was ok'd by a league executive from YCW. Walsh walked the ground on Thursday and was happy to have his side play there.

Show's a fair level of ignorance if you believe that Colleen Rogers had any influence on anything to do with the ground.

The surface was attrocious, but don't think that this was a conspiracy to deliberately injure Bridgewater Grand Final opponants.

I'm sure lvfl officials were trying to get the best crowd for $$ reasons, eg close to Bendigo. Another consideration would be trying to fairly allocate grounds to clubs, so that we all can make some $$ from pies and beers and without providing a home ground advantage.

Agreed.

Those comments in the paper were a direct shot at the bendigo umpires, nothing short of disgraceful and detrimental when it is hard enough to get umpires so a game of football can be held.

Umpires didnt have the best day - neither did the players from both sides from what i saw. Everyone has off days.

Maybe this bloke could pick up a whistle next year and have a go at improving things, but its much easier to criticise others isn't it....

So a few weeks back you were concerned about it being muddy, now too dry. I personally made sure that the ground was watered on Friday. The ground was ok'd by a league executive from YCW. Walsh walked the ground on Thursday and was happy to have his side play there.

Show's a fair level of ignorance if you believe that Colleen Rogers had any influence on anything to do with the ground.

Anyway you look at it the ground was no good. You can polish a piece of crap (even put sprinkles on it) but at the end of the day it's still a piece of crap.

It's somewhat irrelevant what Walsh thought of ground he isn't the one signing off on it, but if you want to bring the coaches into it, what did Leigh Davies and Pyramid want to do? At one point they refused to play at Marong, but you don't mention that.

At the end of the day it was the league that somehow ignored most of the questions on the ground tick off sheet, and if the kid from pyramid is badly hurt because of that decision well i'd be on the phone to the league wanting answers.

Its a bloody good effort. I dont care how good you are and how good your team is, at the end of the day you still have to be the one putting them through the goals. Thumbs up for the young lad hope Inglewood do EVERYTHING in their power to keep him, or send him in the right direction for development:thumbsu:

James resides in Inglewood and is an apprentice butcher at meats on brooke street, i dont think it will be too hard for us to convince him too stay.

Delayed post haha.

The ground was simply an embarrasement to the league. If they are serious on improving the standard of the league, they have taken two steps back. They would have driven away potentail players who were thinking of coming to play out there. There were people laughing about the state of the ground who had come to watch the game.
What is the scenario if one team signs of on the ground and the other doesn't, do they forfeit the game?

Agreed.

Those comments in the paper were a direct shot at the bendigo umpires, nothing short of disgraceful and detrimental when it is hard enough to get umpires so a game of football can be held.

Umpires didnt have the best day - neither did the players from both sides from what i saw. Everyone has off days.

Maybe this bloke could pick up a whistle next year and have a go at improving things, but its much easier to criticise others isn't it....

If the sook doesnt front up to the tribunal and face the music then he should be banned from setting foot on a football ground for life until he receives proper punishment. Should be 12 weeks regardless in my eyes......

I was talking to one of the YC boys yesterday. Phil Walsh has not quit as coach. The addy rang him when he was not in the best state at the league vote count, he made a few smart remarks in jest, had a joke around with Luke West on the phone saying he had quit and wouldnt be going to defend himself and maybe he should just be president. He has always had a good relationship with Luke so he didnt expect it to be printed. Word has it him and Luke had heated words yesterday as The Addy knew Phil was joking. Phil apparently has admitted that what he did was wrong, and has always had full intentions of turning up to the tribunal. The yc boys said he has full support from them as well as the committee. Wednesday night could be an interesting result. He may have to coach half of 2012 from behind the fence.

Who gives a s#*t? There is a grand final this weekend!

I dont believe it but opinions vary.....

Given its the second report this year, as a coach, would have thought he might be very lucky to be coaching next year. Sets a good example at the club....

Maybe just me, but if I was tipping it money to the footy club as a sponsor or a member, I wouldnt be thrilled about seeing the senior coach (assume he gets some payment) carrying on like that.

But maybe thats just me.

LVFL - 2011 PRE Season