lyon too stubborn

TheLastEmperor

ross is too reactive and when he reacts, it seems to be too late.

clarke isn't in our best 22 and hasn't been so his whole career.

mcqualter has been down on form since midway through last season and still keeps his spot.

dawson gets bagged by fans (saints fans included) and experts every week and still keeps his spot. why doesn't ross get it when the whole footbal community does?

keeps luke ball off the ground for the whole last quarter of last years grand final after he was bog at half time.

kept dawson over goose and then goes and trades goose lol. edit: delisted him!

experts and st kilda fans have been asking for stanley to get a go. ross doesn't agree even no we have issues up forward.

steven gets a run, kicks goals in both his matches and then gets dropped.

lyon is the most stubborn coach getting around and sometimes i think he lives in a fairy land thinking everything is ok when it cleary isn't. and ross thanks for trading away most of our early draft picks since you've been there.

Not the dumbest, but a contender. I'm curious, are you one of these self-appointed 'experts' you keep referring to?

Because an expert would know we didn't trade Maguire for starters.

Not the dumbest, but a contender. I'm curious, are you one of these self-appointed 'experts' you keep referring to?

Because an expert would know we didn't trade Maguire for starters.

yeah he was delisted, even worse..

definitely a good move picking dawson ahead of blokes like hudgeton and goose.

i agree with the Stanley elevation why are we waiting and he trained all pre season with Nick. By sounds Armitage and Steven look like being the whipping boys. Peake should have played both games i know the blues flogged us but is pace to either play forward or back may have helped. overall we have many defenders just no forwards.

My take is thar Lyon has become too over-reactive to the loss of Riewoldt. It's like he has no confidence in the rest of his team. It's one bloke, albeit a real good one, but you don't get to where you are on the back of one player. The current game plan is stifling you. Other sides have worked it out (except Rocket..lol!). Attack more, bring the strengths of your other very good players into it. And, if the ball move s quickly forward Kosi and the small forwards will be way more damaging.

it can't be good for the players if our coach is thinking that way. i reckon we're missing some polish. ross has generally gone for the experienced bodies for his tough contested style. i reckon we need a bit of zip and flair but then that doesn't fit with ross's gameplan. he's a bit of a one-trick pony and needs to come up with something different that's for sure. and don't get why he rotates so many of our backs through the forward line. why didn't he just keep sammy fisher there, he was doing great.

That is the dumbest post I have ever seen.

Why don't you go stick your head in your arse.

Seriously.

why's it the dumbest thing you've heard????????
he is spot on!!!!!!!!!!
why is goose running around at brisbane gatherin 20 or more possies weekly???????????????
why is bally doin the grunt work for the pies????????????
why is peake on our list??????????
why is jesse smith on our list??????? (delisted goose cos of injuries)
why is lovett on our list???????
why isnt mark williams on our list when we were prepared to give up pick 16 for lovett which the bombers used to pick him up.
WHERE THE BLOODY HELL ARE OUR YOUNGSTERS????????????
ill answer that one we dont have any we've bloody traded our picks for a bunch of dudds.....
The sooner u fellow sainters realise how much of a f**k up our off season was the better and guess wat we are now payin the price.......
NO REIWOLDT NO SAINTS.... losin to essendon proves so....
ROSS LYON YOU MAKE ME SICK

I think Lyon has been too stubborn in terms of selection and playing style.

It worked great for us last year when we had a full playing list including Riewoldt and we were winning every week. However we aren't winning now and changes in personnel and playing style need to be made.

I've been saying all along we should have been playing Stanley as a forward marking target at CHF, unless he has fitness problems I can't understand why he hasn't been selected. Pinch hitting with the likes of Fisher, Gwilt, Blake and Gilbert up forward hasn't worked and didn't work again tonight.

We need to get the ball in quicker to our forward line too with tall targets like Kosi, Gardiner and Stanley (if he plays) and get Milne and Schneider feeding off the scraps if they don't mark it. We are way too conservative and slow going forward with this chip it around style waiting for the perfect pass into the forward 50. All that does is allow defenders to swamp our forwards and sweep it out of defence.

Too many players down on form ATM. The main thing that is glaringly obvious to me is the drop off in defensive pressure from last year. We're not tackling any where near as ferociously or as often as last year. Some guys have held their spot in the side based on last years efforts. Zac Dawson is not a AFL standard key defender. His effort to try find Ryders body in the third quarter in that marking contest was woeful. I'd like to see Stanley and Steven definitely come into next weeks side and maybe even Tommy Walsh. I know he's still really green but even still, i think he'd do better than Zac.

Do you seriously hate him that much, that you bag him even we he doesn't play?

what are you, his number one supporter? gees mate there's a reason why he cops flack you know. i understand there are a tight little group of raph clarke supporters but at the end of the day i just want a flag just like you and all the other saints fans. he isn't up to it and is one of the stumbling blocks towards achieving ultimate success and ross should have realised that years ago (imo). i don't accept mediocrity, in which has been the st kilda tradition over their long history and is something that blokes like aaron hamil and nick riewoldt have been trying to stamp out.

Stubborn, or backing guys that should be playing better?

This is form related, the loss of Roo is just exposing it more.

Thought we played into some form this week, I'd actually be annoyed if he was reactive and made changes. The signs of life were there, started to see glimpses of players returning to the sort of form they had last year.

Ross, please don't tinker with the side to much, continue to back them in and let's hit some form heading towards September.

It's not like we are struggling outside the eight, show a bit of intestinal fortitude.

PS - I realise changes will be need to be made to cover Gram (inj) and Dawson/Mini (Susp)

Good Point s4e, its disapointing to loose again but there were players that improved this week. We killed the Dons in every stat exept the one that matters the most. Our ball movement isn't working properly ( we miss a healthy Gram badly ). In the end of the day. Were not playing any where near our best. Were missing the best player in the comp and lets face it the Dons were pretty good. They thrashed Hawks, just missed against Port last week. They ran into some form and got us in a slump and in the end it was only 2 goals.
Its not an excuse for loosing but we should just put this into perspective.

We did play better, I agree

Much better style of Footy to watch than the other stuff but he seems to do one or the other, I think theres room for a bit of both (like when Ess destroyed us in the 3rd) even though it isnt great to watch

Dont know why he is sooo stubborn with Stanley???????

A fit Gram badly badly missed IMO......Dawson looked a bit better as did Kosi...just still dropping some easy marks (going straight through his hands) then he takes some hard ones:confused: :confused:

Peake Must be in next week, Big ground needs his run and he knows the ground, T Walsh playing well at sandi i hear???

We cant afford to lose next week at any cost MR ROSS LION, Us members dont need us falling away from last years form in 8 rounds....NOT happy Jan,..Well Im not happy Ross

Better team on the day just couldn't put it on the scoreboard.

No need to worry.

We're not invincible without Riewoldt and it sucks :(

Still not much more we could've done except kick straight.

Lyon is not too stuborn. This attack is rediculously inappropriate for the man that masterminded our second best season ever. I am a bit suprised that he has taken us to such a negative place with the game plan but rest assured he has thought about it more than the over-reactive bigfooty experts.

Stanley is not the answer. A few good marks in the preseason does not mean you will kick 6 if ou have to lead from the centre square. If Kosi could play from the goal square then he would kick a few more.

They players need to get the hunger back to implement our game plan. It is the mist demanding one in the league. I recall one of our mids being destraught after the grand final due to the amount if effort that went into the season. It is no suprise that at this stage we are struggling with getting the correct amount of energy into the match. This will change after the mid season break. We just have to hope we van turn it back on then. Still, it would be nice to see us slightly more positive in attack. We can reset the zone once the ball is in the forward line, not before it has even been bounced.

I want to really see the boys taking delight in depriving the opposition of the football.

322 was good but not good enough. They got too much use with the footy and didn't waste oppotunites.

We mucked around with the footy and missed shots.

I'm just happy we got our hands on it so much, Carlton barely let us touch it :(

what are you, his number one supporter? gees mate there's a reason why he cops flack you know. i understand there are a tight little group of raph clarke supporters but at the end of the day i just want a flag just like you and all the other saints fans. he isn't up to it and is one of the stumbling blocks towards achieving ultimate success and ross should have realised that years ago (imo). i don't accept mediocrity, in which has been the st kilda tradition over their long history and is something that blokes like aaron hamil and nick riewoldt have been trying to stamp out.

I wish we had never drafted him. And deep down so do you.

So we lose and yet it's Raph who we blame despite not even lacing them up.

Very sharp brothers. Doing lots for your credibility.

So we lose and yet it's Raph who we blame despite not even lacing them up.

Very sharp brothers. Doing lots for your credibility.

from what i've heard raph clarke is a top young kid and thats probably why he has so much support from a core group of saints supporters. i'm not here to blame him for losses especially if he didn't even play. pretty sure my comments had nothing to do with playing or not playing just the fact that he's been given ample opportunity and maybe the bloke just isn't cut out for the afl. my original post was saying that ross has given him too many opportunities, that's it.

When you have been successful (I know we didn't win the flag) you have to back yourself.Thats all Lyon is doing, backing himself and his players to execute what is required. It worked for all bar about 5 minutes and a lucky toe poke last year. Hence very hard to change your beliefs and systems that have worked upto very recently. He is working through options and basically trying to get it right, it takes time. Noone not even the coach realized how important Roo is to the team. We would have thrashed the Bombers yesterday with him in the side. So again it takes time, no need to panic, all though that is the main emotion after the expectation we all had coming into this year.
All is not lost, we are 1/3 of the way through the season, we looked better yesterday than the previous couple of weeks, score board pressure is just not falling our way, but Karma has a way of working these things out. I just hope we didn't use it all up last year.

ross lyon is currently the reigning coach of the year whats up with you people knocking him
field kicking missing targets and below level set shots at goal are the biggest reason we have dropped a couple of games
have a look at the big picture, i think everyone will get their wish and stanley will get a game this week, we cant keep on robbing peter to pay paul