linchpin

Bullants
Last night, I thought this bloke played a terrific game. I thought he put his head over the footy and had a real crack. I noticed that he copped heaps in the outer last night. Obviously I am happy with the way my boys went, but saying that, I would like to know why he is the whipping boy down at Punt Rd?

Prior to last night, I thought he had not done much, but I rated his effort guys.

Happy with his effort, he should have been put on the ball a lot earlier in the game, he was wasted in the forward 50 for half a game.

I would take Tambling, I think he just needs a change of scenery. Maybe he don't fit the game plan of the RFC?.

I think he has been unfairly burdened due to the fact that Richmond drafted him instead of Buddy in 04.

He tried last night and has been improving. He is the sort of player that wouldn't be out of place even in a premiership side. I hope he has a good year.

Its good to see others actually thought he played well last night, im sick of him getting crap even if he has a good game. One of the few players to play well last night, blues just destroyed us and thoroughly deserved the win. They played great we played shit.

I reckon if Tambo was at the Hawks,Blues,or Port I reckon we would see a different player all together.For some reason we cant develop our kids like others and it comes down to management.

I thought he played ok last night. He was just about your only player who had the balls to take us on.

He directly set up one of your goals in the third or fourth by backing himself. He looks very good laterally with good evasive skills and could be a good outside mid.

The only critical aspect I can find is he doesn't find enough of the ball and goes missing a bit.

I think he has been unfairly burdened due to the fact that Richmond drafted him instead of Buddy in 04.

He tried last night and has been improving. He is the sort of player that wouldn't be out of place even in a premiership side. I hope he has a good year.

Unfortunately it seems the lad will wear that for his entire career. He is a good player that I believe will become very good. I watched him play when he was a kid in Darwin and I said then he was better than X Clarke and I think even now he is better than X and Rioli. It's not a change of environment it's a change of fortune thats needed for young Tambo.

I too hope he has a good year and becomes Richard Tambling - Star not Richard Tambling - controversially selected ahead of Lance Franklin.

You sure you watched the match truetiger? :cool:
I like Tambo and think he's slowly improving each year. H'e better than half the players in our 22

yeh was one of only 5 players that atleast held his own, came in hard a couple times eg into waite and looks like all the criticism has got him fired up.

other 4 to play ok: richo, white, morton and riewoldt.

Look to all the Tigers supporters who keep bagging him, if you guys don't want him I will take him at Carlton. I just don't think he suits your style of game play. I have plenty of time for Tambling, he will probably turn into one of those late bloomers.

I agree that he is unfairly maligned - he tries hard performed reasonably well last night, not his fault that he was drafted at 4, and has too much expectation imposed on him because of this. Plenty of worse players last night.

I'v always liked him. Obviously franklin has done alot more but how can you judge back then. Last night he was probably our best player. Tiger fans who got into him are ill informed and probably never played the game.

Good thread. Tambling was good last night and has improved every year. The number at which he was drafted is completely irrelevant. It's very interesting how Griffen is perceived in the media in comparison to Tambling. Their career stats are almost identical - Griffen averages slightly more possessions, Tambling more tackles. But you'd think that Tambling was vastly inferior the way they write about the two players. Perception seems to be everything, even if it's obviously inaccurate. When you consider how long it takes most indigenous players to settle in to the massive changes in lifestyle, Tambling would appear to be tracking pretty well. Bateman is rated highly at Hawthorn and it took him ages to establish himself.