Malthouse might 'coach' suspended dopers.

Believe the thinking is where was the AFL organised coaching for Saad, Crowley, O'keefe, Thomas etc.

Has any other organisation that has suspended participants for doping offences organised specialised training for those players whilst out of their competition?
I don't know, and who the **** cares? If you have an issue with it take it up with wada. It's their code that says this is ok

You'd think whoever trains them would be banned from employment at any AFL club in future.

Otherwise what is to stop EFC sacking someone then re-hiring them in 12 months? Having Mick train them, for minimal pay then hiring him for one season as some sort of special coach.

Having Mick keep in close contact with EFC coaching staff this year?

They have shown they are more than happy to play this sort of game in the past.
hahaha!!! So the rules should actually say that you can't be coached by any coach with any affiliation with the sport, and then further anyone who does coach them should never be allowed to work in that sport ever again!!

Hahaha!!!! Just wow :D :D :D

I think you're losing the plot on this one mate :D

I don't know, and who the **** cares? If you have an issue with it take it up with wada. It's their code that says this is ok
Is WADA the organisation that is organising this?
Hence why Jenny originally stated and am paraphrasing "Oh piss off AFL"

Why am I not surprised to see you don't have a problem with it?
I still want to know what exactly you have a problem with.

It's perfectly ok as per the wada code. Yet for some reason you lot have a problem with it, some calling for insanely draconian interpretations of a rule that is very clear.

And, as per usual, you can't even comprehend that if you have an issue with this, then the party you should actually be taking issue with is wada, as it's their code that doesn't say this is against the rules!

No no... But they say "hey MMs not doing anything, HE could coach them". Wonder where the money is coming from for this to happen eh? This is bullshit, pure and simple.
haha holy crap. You are becoming a parody of yourself.

Jenny Lovejoy

No no... But they say "hey MMs not doing anything, HE could coach them". Wonder where the money is coming from for this to happen eh? This is bullshit, pure and simple.
Sounds like your speculating Jenny or do you know for a fact the AFL engineered this? You seem outraged that people are wanting to train by the rules with a mentor to guide them along the way. Maybe you can give us a list of who you approve of and I will forward it to the AFL.

hahaha!!! So the rules should actually say that you can't be coached by any coach with any affiliation with the sport, and then further anyone who does coach them should never be allowed to work in that sport ever again!!

Hahaha!!!! Just wow :D :D :D

I think you're losing the plot on this one mate :D
That's cool, it's just the only way to stop the EFC from doing something shifty like this is to actually make a rule against it. They have proven they won't do the right thing, or even attempt to make it look like they are doing the right thing.

Hope Mick enjoys his free holiday to France in 2017.

I am sure Mick will all of a sudden be invited to EFC coaching staff meetings as an "unpaid observer", or at least exchange emails with them regularly, the better to have the players slot in easily when they return. All completely legal and totally within the spirit of the ban these players received for cheating.

That's cool, it's just the only way to stop the EFC from doing something shifty like this is to actually make a rule against it. They have proven they won't do the right thing, or even attempt to make it look like they are doing the right thing.

Hope Mick enjoys his free holiday to France in 2017.
just to be sure I'm following, from what I can make out your position is essentially that because EFC is such a vipers nest of immorality, dishonesty and outright cheating; then, despite the wada code specifically being a one-size-fits-all code, specific rules should be added to the code that are applicable specifically and only to the EFC, and what's more they should be applied retrospectively? That about the gist of it?

I am sure Mick will all of a sudden be invited to EFC coaching staff meetings as an "unpaid observer", or at least exchange emails with them regularly, the better to have the players slot in easily when they return. All completely legal and totally within the spirit of the ban these players received for cheating.
and to further clarify, even though this is a scenario you've made up, it's not wada you're upset at about this is it? It's EFC for some reason yeah?

just to be sure I'm following, from what I can make out your position is essentially that because EFC is such a vipers nest of immorality, dishonesty and outright cheating; then, despite the wada code specifically being a one-size-fits-all code, specific rules should be added to the code that are applicable specifically and only to the EFC, and what's more they should be applied retrospectively? That about the gist of it?
Not at all. The AFL can make up whatever rules it likes to override the WADA code.

Jade that's right isn't it?

The AFL would obviously want to ensure their integrity is not impugned, and enforcing a ban to the fullest extent is obviously one way to do that. Allowing a former coach to act as a go-between to keep the club in touch with the players to ease their return next season would be something the AFL would stop as soon as they got wind of it, and via any means possible.

Not at all. The AFL can make up whatever rules it likes to override the WADA code.

Jade that's right isn't it?

The AFL would obviously want to ensure their integrity is not impugned, and enforcing a ban to the fullest extent is obviously one way to do that. Allowing a former coach to act as a go-between to keep the club in touch with the players to ease their return next season would be something the AFL would stop as soon as they got wind of it, and via any means possible.
the hell did I just read?

no genius, wada is the organisation that makes the rules that say this is not a problem
So WADA is the one's who tapped Mick to coach the players?
I understand that there are no WADA rules to prevent it but in context to the original post of Jenny's which of AFL or WADA do you think responsible for organising Mick to coach the players?

In and of itself the whole getting Mick to coach them isn't that bad a thing.
It is however just another signpost (to me at least) of just how crook the whole AFL industry is at the moment.
Too much the boys club, too many done deals, not enough transparency or even trying to look like they are doing the neutral or balanced thing.
It's been said before but just imagine if this had happened to one of the smaller struggling clubs in the league, one with nowhere near as many friends in high places, and wouldn't effect the AFL's bottom line so much.

the hell did I just read?
Essendon's plan for their banned players this year.

Should Malthouse coach these players:

Anyone who thinks Malthouse won't be in close contact with EFC coaches this year is not taking account of the past behaviour of the club.

Anyone who thinks Malthouse will really be paid by the players is making the same mistake.

Anyone who thinks the AFL would stop this dodgy arrangement is, again, completely disregarding past behaviour.

But sure, let's live in a dreamland where the AFL has not done everything it can to help the players dodge the consequences of their actions.

As long as the EFC and AFL have had nothing to do with it and are not trying any sneaky tricks then I have no problem with the players hiring Malthouse and paying for him insurance etc.
Not that I trust the AFL to have any sort of integrity

Imagine if it was the Bulgarian weight lifting team/Chinese swimming team that organised a coach to assist them while banned. I think many people would smell a rat.

In and of itself the whole getting Mick to coach them isn't that bad a thing.
It is however just another signpost (to me at least) of just how crook the whole AFL industry is at the moment.
Too much the boys club, too many done deals, not enough transparency or even trying to look like they are doing the neutral or balanced thing.
It's been said before but just imagine if this had happened to one of the smaller struggling clubs in the league, one with nowhere near as many friends in high places, and wouldn't effect the AFL's bottom line so much.
I keep thinking if this was North, we'd be dead and buried by now, and all the rest of the AFL would be dancing on our grave and that includes the same people defending Essendon now.

Essendon's plan for their banned players this year.

Should Malthouse coach these players:

Anyone who thinks Malthouse won't be in close contact with EFC coaches this year is not taking account of the past behaviour of the club.

Anyone who thinks Malthouse will really be paid by the players is making the same mistake.

Anyone who thinks the AFL would stop this dodgy arrangement is, again, completely disregarding past behaviour.

But sure, let's live in a dreamland where the AFL has not done everything it can to help the players dodge the consequences of their actions.
god I love how you, as a carlton supporter, keep referring to past behaviours of clubs. It's exquisite.

What I find hilarious is because Malthouse is a "name" you lot are all catherine lovejoy about it. ANY person who coached the players is probably going to have some kind of contact with the club. Why wouldn't they? The wada rules don't have a problem with it. They simply say that players can't enter the club’s Tullamarine HQ and there can be no contact with coaches, club staff or players about their preparation or training while in forced exile. The rules say exactly zero about anyone who ISN'T affliated with the club themselves talking to people in the club.

The rules also say exactly nothing about who can or should pay the coaches. The EFC can pay them, and can pay them as much as they want, to work as a contractor, and they can do it entirely legally, entirely above-board, entirely honestly, whilst giving the HTB the big finger at the same time should they so choose.

I honestly can't stop giggling. You guys are SOOOOO emotionally invested in this that you are inventing rules in your head that don't exist, that go so far over and above what the wada rules actually say. Inventing these rules then coming on here and having a hissy fit that EFC are somehow under-handedly getting around the rules you have made up!!!! It's unreal!

So WADA is the one's who tapped Mick to coach the players?
I understand that there are no WADA rules to prevent it but in context to the original post of Jenny's which of AFL or WADA do you think responsible for organising Mick to coach the players?
who gives a ****!! Let's assume your little scenario is completely true, and it's got nothing to do with Malthouse wanting to work with AFL footballers, - I mean, let's face it, he's never been known for enjoying working with footballers has he, ****ing hee haw - let's assume the EFC have orchestrated this, in cahoots with the AFL and the stonemasons and the reverse vampires, then guess what? That's absolutely a-ok! It's totally allowed!

You "understand there's no wada rules to prevent it', but you're still having a sook about it!!! Hahahahaha mercy